Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

The new ZE310 tyre is the successor of the ZIEX ZE914 ECORUN, winner of numerous awards from testing organisations. It offers outstanding traction and grip on both wet and dry roads coupled with low wear.

Tyre review data from 99 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 571,214 miles driven, and 24 tests with an average result of 7th.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 80%
Wear 77%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 78%

First On MarketDecember 2017
Wheel Size14 - 19"
Width165 - 265mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)67 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun is ranked 42nd of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken ZIEX ZE320.

Tests Included

24

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

7th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 Motorhome Summer Tyre Test
8th of 10 tyres
  • Balanced stable driving behavior on dry surfaces, good safety margins in aquaplaning, low rolling resistance, affordable price level.
  • Understeering behavior on wet surfaces, delayed steering response, average deceleration on dry surfaces.
View Full Test >>
2024 AZ Summer Tyre Test
6th of 9 tyres
  • The Falken ZIEX ZE310 Ecorun is a decent tyre for everyday driving, offering a comfortable ride and reasonable performance in both wet and dry conditions. However, this older model suffers from high rolling resistance, meaning it will use more fuel than its competitors.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tyre Tests

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/60R14 82 HCA67
15 inch
195/65R15 91 HCA67
195/55R15 85 VCA67
195/55R15 85 HCA67
185/65R15 88 HDA67
195/65R15 91 VCA67
16 inch
205/60R16 96 W XLCA69
205/60R16 96 V XLCA69
205/60R16 96 V XLCA69
215/60R16 95 VDA67
215/60R16 99 H XLCA69
205/55R16 91 WDA69
205/55R16 91 VCA67
205/55R16 94 V XLCA69
205/60R16 96 W XLDA70
205/55R16 91 VCA67
205/55R16 94 W XLCA69
205/55R16 91 VAA71
215/70R16 100 HDA67
17 inch
225/45R17 91 WDA69
225/50R17 98 W XLCA69
225/50R17 98 W XLDA70
205/50R17 89 VDA69
205/50R17 89 WDA69
225/60R17 99 VCA67
225/45R17 94 W XLDA69
225/45R17 94 W XLDA69
215/45R17 91 W XLDA69
205/50R17 93 W XLDA69
205/50R17 93 V XLDA69
215/55R17 98 W XLCA69
215/55R17 94 VCA67
18 inch
225/40R18 92 Y XLDA70
225/40R18 92 W XLDA69
255/35R18 90 YDA70
245/40R18 97 W XLCA70
225/40R18 92 W XLDA69
245/45R18 100 W XLCA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun >>

Questions and Answers for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

2018-12-31 - I’m looking to replace a set of bridgestones which came with my Skoda Fabia Monte Carlo from new. It seems to be an awkward tyre size at 215/40/17. I was hoping for all seasons, but there’s only a choice of 2. So I decided on summer tyres. I’ve sort of narrowed it down to the Falken ZIEX ZE310 and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Which would you recommend ?

Both are excellent tyres, getting great reviews. The Hankook might have the edge in wear, but overall they're very similar tyres.


2019-08-05 - Is the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun suitable for a SUV 4x4 which is only used on road? My car is a 2014 ford Kuga 2.0 titanium powershift. 235 x 55 R17 tyres

As long as you meet the load index required by your SUV, there's no reason not to use the ZE310.


2019-09-18 - I have a Golf 7 1.4TSi 122BHP with 205/55 X16 German OEM Dunlop Blue Response tyres. These are internally noisy and have very soft sidewalls leading to sloppy handling. I am proposing to chage them to other 205/55 X16V tyres. Falken ZE310, Hankook Prime 3 K125 and Bridgestone T005 have been suggested as possible replacements. The Falkens have a very low external noise performance but I not convinced that this is a reliable guide to the internal noise. I had a very bad expeiuence with German OEM Dunlop tyres on a new BMW 316i in the past and I wonder if the Blue Response tyres are of the same ilk? i.e. poor OEM tyres. Internal noise & wet grip are the most important parameters for the replacements and I am willing to trade off ride comfort with slightly stiffer sidewalls. Any comments you have would be much appreciated. Many thanks for the most helpful web site.

Unfortunately all modern tyres have soft sidewalls as it reduces rolling resistance. You are correct in thinking there isn't necessarily a correlation between external and internal noise, but there is often a link. I have no personal experience with the ZE310 but I have seen tests note it's a good handling tyre for its class, so maybe worth a try! One thing worth remembering is that stiffer sidewalls will transmit more vibration through to the chassis increasing internal noise.


2020-09-17 - I have a VW Passat 59 plate and need new tyres. Should I go for the Falken Ziex ZE310 Ecorun or the Falken Azenis FK510? Both look like good mid range tyres and recommended by your website.

If your priority is comfort, the ZE310, if it's sporty driving, the FK510 is the correct tyre.


2020-11-07 - The group test of the 205/55 X 16 tyres was really good. I have a Golf 7 1.4 with this size of tyre and am contemplating a change to Falken. VW fitted 205/55 X16 91H tyres to this car in late 2014. Could you please tell me why 94V Falken ZIEX ZE310 tyres were used in the test? Did Falken recommend them or were they the only ones available in this size? The 94V version is available locally at a very good price. Thanks BJ

This was the recommended size by Falken, but the 91H version has done well in other tests too.


2022-10-23 - Are these a good bet for a Lexus NX300h in 225/60/18?

If you can find the correct size and load rating I'm sure they'd be a very good match.


2022-12-29 - I’m looking for a the most sporty tyre in the not very popular 205/50r15 size, so that means no Michelin/Continental/Goodyear or even Maxxis Primetra. I’ve narrowed it down to the Falken ZE310 Ecorun and the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2. I’m not worried about noise or comfort, just subjective handling. Which would you plump for?

I've not tried the Hankook but I would never recommend the ZE310 for a sporty feel.


2024-06-07 - What can you tell us, if anything, about the replacement for this? The upcoming ZE320. Cheers!

As of yet there is no official information about the ZE320, and it's not yet appearing in the EPREL database.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/45 R16 £86.50 - £92.22 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £101.38 - £102.95 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/40 R17 £91.70 - £97.62 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/45 R17 £105.60 - £110.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £80.59 - £91.31 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £81.99 - £96.32 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 77 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

Given 78% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
New silica and new model tyre. I have bought them a few days ago.
Very silent. Most silent tyres I had the last 20 years.
Nice handling.

Cheaper than most other brands.
(30euro cheaper than dunlop and 50 euro cheaper than michelin)

Euro label - C A A 67db for 195 65 15
Helpful 375 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018
Given 68% while driving a Citroën C2 VTS (205/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Brought these in 205/50/R15 to fit my new "15x7 alloys (5.9kg per alloy), and in this review I'm comparing them to my old Yokohama Advan Fleva V701, Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, and Avon ZV7's in 195/45/R16 on "16x7 alloys (9.7kg per alloy), so bare in mind this slightly skews my comparison.

For context, I brought lightweight flow-formed alloys as the TU5JP4S engine in my C2, though a brilliant, 8k-revving NA bundle of fun that it is, struggles with low-end grunt, and cutting approximately 8kg of unsprung weight on the driven-wheels, and 16kg total is a significant upgrade on a small ~1000kg car. 205/50/R15 after careful consideration was the perfect dimension for my car, though I'm disappointed that this is a rare size especially for premium performance-orientated tyres, with only dated Continental PremiumContact 2's, Hankook Ventus Prime 3's, and Yokohama Advan Fleva V701's being the only respectable options in this size, though for some reason this size is 30% more expensive than those identical models in similarly sized 195/50/R15, 195/55/R15, or 195/45/R16 accordingly...

...which leads me to the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun tyres; relatively recent design, V-rated, and a reasonable price tag of ~£90 per corner fitted; virtually identical in price to the same offering in 195/55/R15 and 195/45/R16, as it should be given the dimensions are really similar. This honest pricing combined with it being a modern design/compound is what sold me, despite it being a Premium Summer Touring tyre as opposed to UHP.

300 miles in, I think these are an excellent 'control tyre' in the sense that they are very neutral tyres in all fronts; they don't give off a 'wow-factor' in any given category of measure, but at the same time there's nothing that makes me think these are terrible tyres at all, which in itself is a complement. I can't see anyone being disappointed in these, especially at the price-point, whether you're an old grandma in an MPV seeking comfort, fuel efficiency, and safety, or a spirited driver (myself) in a warm/hot-hatch seeking performance. They're very predictable tyres which is good for any kind of driver.

They are very quiet and smooth on bumpy surfaces and motorway driving as a strength, however I would've preferred a stiffer sidewall as they offer very little sensation through the steering wheel, though once your senses adjust to it, you can feel the sidewalls twisting between the road surface and the rims when quick-flicking the steering wheel, giving a delay between steering input and direction change. For a spirited-driver, these tyres reward smooth, Prost-like steering inputs, and as long as you drive like that, you can carry pretty impressive speed in the bends, though it must be said there is more confidence-inspiring tyres out there. You can push them in the wet without feeling unsafe in the slightest. Naturally, going to a bigger aspect ratio tyre means a loss of steering response is expected, but I do think there is realistic room for improvement in this area. With that said, these are classed as a 'Premium Summer Tyre' rather than UHP, but I had little choice in this size. I would've brought the Yoko's again but I don't think paying 30% more for the same tyre in an extremely similar size is fair pricing.

On another note, can premium tyre manufacturers stop ignoring the demand for UHP tyres in sizes for old school hot-hatches and neo-classic cars? We all know that modern performance cars don't offer the engagement that old analogue cars do, yet modern performance tyres have come a long way over the past 15-20 years. A set of PS5's or Eagle Assymetric 6's in my size would be a dream, though of course in a proportionate price compared to the other sizes offered (take note Yokohama)

TLDR: Not a bad tyre but not a special tyre either, adequate enough on all fronts. Respectfully priced for what it is. Won't disappoint nor wow anyone. A safe choice of tyre to avoid disappointment.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2023
Given 77% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
A good overall budget tyres
Have them on Kia Rio car
Drive them about 1000 now and they are replacing Ze914 that was installed for more than 6 years on car and treads were fine (tyre began to crack..)
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2023
Have you driven on the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun >

Latest Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

Given 84% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Overall great tyre in every sort of weather condition, apart from snow obviously. Really good long lasting trend wear for a sub 200 hp hatchback that’s driving spiritedly.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2024
Given 76% while driving a Ford Fiesta (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Only had these for about 20,000km - but still 5mm tread left.
Very reliable in wet and dry, decent feedback and comfortable as well as decent MPG return - I would definitely buy these again.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 10% while driving a (205/55 R16) on for 0 miles
Only just bought them. They are extremely noisy
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2024
Given 89% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Fairly sporty tyre with plenty of grip in wet and dry conditions. Much better all round than previous set of Pirelli P7 Cinturatos. Despite being responsive and sporting, quite a comfortable tyre. Fuel consumption seems pretty much the same as Pirellis. Decent value if you shop around.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2024
Given 95% while driving a Ford (205/50 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Set of 310s amazed at how much better than the Goodyears they replaced. Quite, comfortable and good road feel. Have no idea the wet hasn’t rained in two months here! We will see but most impressed at the moment!
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2024
Given 73% while driving a Jeep compass (225/55 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Bought the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun for the Jeep Compass 1.4 170hp 4x4 2019. Driving in this car is not sporty by any means so was looking for a mid range tyre for the daily commute. Drove around 10k kilometers and overall impressed especially by the aquaplaning results and wet weather handling. Always felt in full control even through heavy rainfall. Live in a mountain region so a lot of B road driving and poor quality roads, the tyre was pretty comfortable and more geared for an easy commute rather then more aggressive driving, going faster you are always in control however just does not have the grip. The tyre size and car itself do not help however previous hankoook ventus prime 3 felt better when pushed. Wear is average, a fair bit of difference in depth between the rear and front, got to take into account the 1.8t car weight does not help. I would recommend the tyre due to good price and safe handling in wet for a daily commute.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Opel Astra H 5T 1.8l (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 25,200 easy going miles
The tires lastet about 42.000km before they were replaced because one of them blew. I dont see that as the tires fault because its likely that I have damaged the sidewall on a forest road myself.

As a road tire, they are good vcalue for money. At the time when one of them failed, they had about 4.5mm of tread left, so they were not worn yet. The wet grip went a little worse at around 6mm, however it was not too terrible, still better than my winter tires (Fulda Kristall Montero 3)
Dry grip was excelent, I have never managed to break them loose. However, I am a relaxed driving, with spirited driving you probably can.

As mentioned, these tires were also driven on forest/logging roads. As any summer tire I know, this works kinda decent in the dry, but depending on the soil, its like ice skating in the wet. However as this is not what the tire is intended to do, I ignored this when rating this tire.

Noise and comfore were both absolutly fine, the car was very stable when driving on the autobahn (usually Cruise controll at 120km/h) Cant say much about higher speeds because I dont go fast very often.

Fuel consumption was ok, however tire tests indicate that this is not the most efficient tire you can get.

I would have bought these again, however they were not avalibale fast enough. They were replaced with Pirelli Cinturato P1, wich are significantly louder inside the car.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2023
Given 51% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
The fuel consumption is high and they wear fast. After about 14k miles they have 3mm left.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Just had a fresh set of these fitted after I wore through the previous one.
Yes, this is my second set of these. I liked them so much I bought them again.

Phenomenal value for money.
Good grip in the dry.
Great grip in the wet.
Comfortable yet reasonably sporty and good dynamics.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2023
Given 81% while driving a BMW (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres are very interesting indeed. They have good grip and are very smooth and comfortable. They feel like soft running trainers have been fitted your car. They are certainly not 'Track day tyres' The sidewalls are soft and they squish, this gives plenty of feedback to suggest you are finding the limit.

But for tuning in HARD on a race track they are NOT the kind of tyre you want. For spirited driving on the roads however they are a perfect compromise of grip comfort and feel. I would recommend them to lower mileage users in modestly sporty vehicles. They work perfectly on my standard 325i E46:
If your car is modified with uprated suspension and brakes you should be spending more than twice this amount on a road / track day tyres.

If you go on the motorway all day go and buy some horrible hard tyres and don't buy these and moan. They are too soft for daily motorway use and people who expect 10000 mile on a set. I hope this is helpful.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2023
Given 76% while driving a BMW 116d SPort (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Positive: Safe tyre in dry and wet roads with good handling in wet and high milage.
Negative: Confort, dry handling with poor feedback.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2023
Given 98% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
In the spring of 2022, I put the Falken ZIEX ZE310 in the TOYOTA YARIS DIESEL that I have for the summer, specifically the reinforced High load ones since it has two types.

As soon as I walked them on I was disappointed by their relaxed feel with no sporty elements! Wrong tire you will tell me, but I have stayed in the old days, when tires like BRIDGESTONE-DUNLOP etc. traditionally had hard frames, which gave a lot of pluses to the sporty feeling, due to very good steering precision from the hard frame. Now I've noticed that even traditional brands like the ones I mentioned have softened their frame too much with corresponding negative consequences, at least for my taste.

But let's get back to FALKEN!
Yes I found them to be soft, but that gives comfort and peace. Quite expected this! But what surprised me tremendously is their progressiveness and friendliness to the limit!!! I have never driven a tire like this before. It finds traction (within reasonable limits) even on the slippery road surface of the cities we have in Greece, in places that I NEVER had traction with whatever I wore in all my cars, sports or not!!!

I haven't really pushed it in the rain, so I have no opinion.
I also don't have an opinion on wear yet, one I've done somewhere around 9000 km, about 5000 miles.

I highly recommend them!
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2023