Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

The new ZE310 tyre is the successor of the ZIEX ZE914 ECORUN, winner of numerous awards from testing organisations. It offers outstanding traction and grip on both wet and dry roads coupled with low wear.

This tyre replaced the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 79%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 75%

Tyre review data from 81 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 388,814 miles driven.

The ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun is ranked 42nd of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - High aquaplaning resistance, stable wet handling, short braking distances, dynamic dry handling, low noise.
  • Negative - Very high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 5th of 44 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The ZE-310 has safe handling however it has high rolling resistance and average comfort.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 5th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 15th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 9th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 10th: 2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 6th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

    Questions and Answers for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

    2018-12-31 - I’m looking to replace a set of bridgestones which came with my Skoda Fabia Monte Carlo from new. It seems to be an awkward tyre size at 215/40/17. I was hoping for all seasons, but there’s only a choice of 2. So I decided on summer tyres. I’ve sort of narrowed it down to the Falken ZIEX ZE310 and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Which would you recommend ?

    Both are excellent tyres, getting great reviews. The Hankook might have the edge in wear, but overall they're very similar tyres.


    2019-08-05 - Is the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun suitable for a SUV 4x4 which is only used on road? My car is a 2014 ford Kuga 2.0 titanium powershift. 235 x 55 R17 tyres

    As long as you meet the load index required by your SUV, there's no reason not to use the ZE310.


    2019-09-18 - I have a Golf 7 1.4TSi 122BHP with 205/55 X16 German OEM Dunlop Blue Response tyres. These are internally noisy and have very soft sidewalls leading to sloppy handling. I am proposing to chage them to other 205/55 X16V tyres. Falken ZE310, Hankook Prime 3 K125 and Bridgestone T005 have been suggested as possible replacements. The Falkens have a very low external noise performance but I not convinced that this is a reliable guide to the internal noise. I had a very bad expeiuence with German OEM Dunlop tyres on a new BMW 316i in the past and I wonder if the Blue Response tyres are of the same ilk? i.e. poor OEM tyres. Internal noise & wet grip are the most important parameters for the replacements and I am willing to trade off ride comfort with slightly stiffer sidewalls. Any comments you have would be much appreciated. Many thanks for the most helpful web site.

    Unfortunately all modern tyres have soft sidewalls as it reduces rolling resistance. You are correct in thinking there isn't necessarily a correlation between external and internal noise, but there is often a link. I have no personal experience with the ZE310 but I have seen tests note it's a good handling tyre for its class, so maybe worth a try! One thing worth remembering is that stiffer sidewalls will transmit more vibration through to the chassis increasing internal noise.


    2020-09-17 - I have a VW Passat 59 plate and need new tyres. Should I go for the Falken Ziex ZE310 Ecorun or the Falken Azenis FK510? Both look like good mid range tyres and recommended by your website.

    If your priority is comfort, the ZE310, if it's sporty driving, the FK510 is the correct tyre.


    2020-11-07 - The group test of the 205/55 X 16 tyres was really good. I have a Golf 7 1.4 with this size of tyre and am contemplating a change to Falken. VW fitted 205/55 X16 91H tyres to this car in late 2014. Could you please tell me why 94V Falken ZIEX ZE310 tyres were used in the test? Did Falken recommend them or were they the only ones available in this size? The 94V version is available locally at a very good price. Thanks BJ

    This was the recommended size by Falken, but the 91H version has done well in other tests too.


    2022-10-23 - Are these a good bet for a Lexus NX300h in 225/60/18?

    If you can find the correct size and load rating I'm sure they'd be a very good match.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/45 R16 £64.19 - £103.50 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/55 R16 £73.89 - £113.90 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/40 R17 £77.99 - £111.90 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £49.69 - £100.90 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £68.49 - £112.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R16 £97.59 - £145.99 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 87 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

    Given 78% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    New silica and new model tyre. I have bought them a few days ago.
    Very silent. Most silent tyres I had the last 20 years.
    Nice handling.

    Cheaper than most other brands.
    (30euro cheaper than dunlop and 50 euro cheaper than michelin)

    Euro label - C A A 67db for 195 65 15
    Helpful 332 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018
    Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
    Just had set fitted and hate them. Horribly noisy. Never had such noisy tyres. Shall not buy again and wish that I could get them replaced.
    Lots of feedback for Falken is from petrol heads running them on track days. This is not what the average road user wants. I had run Kumho for years and they are a good value, safe, durable, quiet and comfortable tyre. Do not buy Falken.
    Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2018
    Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
    Dry grip is excellent, wet grip also. Much better than my old set of Fulda Ecocontrol HP. What I observed from the beginning is the highest level of comfort that they provide. Lowest rolling noise I've ever heard. On bumpy roads, they provide a level of comfort very close to a winter tire. In the future, I am very curious about wear. I'll write another review sometimes in the future.
    Helpful 63 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2018
    Have you driven on the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun >

    Latest Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

    Given 10% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    This tyre had only 7mm tread depth from new, compared with the normal 8mm. In fact, I had the tyre fitted at the same time as the MOT, and the examiner recorded 7mm tread depth and "84% tread remaining" even though it was brand new. On that basis the tyre is 16% less value than an 8mm new depth.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2022
    Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen Passat estate 2.0 TDI 110 kW (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
    Overal good tyre: Wet handling very well Dry handling just good Brake distance nice The only very bad thing is that I replace the tyres for winter ones and when I calculate the depth was 5mm new when I buy them 7,8mm So after 6 months and 10.000 thousand km mostly on highway
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 75% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    this is the third tyre in my car - stock : dunlop enasave - 2nd tyre : pilot sport 4 so i was looking for primacy 4 because it seems to fit my needs. pilot sport 4 is a very good tyre but unfortunately its too stiff for horrible road condition here. but finding a michelin here is just so difficult and after looking around i ended up with falken ze310 that cost way less than my budget before. - rolling resistance are pretty bad. who cares about this - not exactly comfortable tyre, pretty similar to my previous pilot sport. + this thing is just awesome in the rain and water puddle. its actually made our journey very safe + its very quiet tyre, surprise considering my previous falken ze912 are noisy. + very good road feedback and responsive handling for touring tyre + dry braking and grip are pretty good to be honest my wife expect more comfortable tyre than pilot sport 4, but this tyre failed in that aspect. overall i like this tyre, its cheap but its actually good for someone who often replaced their tyre before the thread is gone. i barely put a lot of miles into my car.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    PRICE PERFORMANCE TIRE. MEETS EXPECTATIONS. THANKS FALKEN.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 2.0 tdi 170 (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
    Bought these tyres several years ago for my Leon FR. They were recommended to me by a trusted source and i haven't looked back. Brilliant tyre. I've so far put around 30k miles on them and they are just starting to get into the window of where i'd start to consider replacing them. Would certainly buy again. Wet and dry grip are both excellent, i'm yet to have any doubt in the tyres ability to grip the road.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Hyundai Avante (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    This tyre is one of the quietest I had. It dispels the notion that comfort tyres do not have good wet grip. Both dry and wet grip for this tyre are excellent, especially in the wet where it shines. Grip is good even though going through puddles of water at 80-90km/h. To top it off, the price of Falken ZIEX ZE310 ECORUN are cheaper than comparable tyres.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2022
    Given 85% while driving a Rover 75 (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 300 easy going miles
    I changed all four tyres to these Falken. I immediately noticed three things. 1. They are very very quiet. 2. The ride is very noticeable better than the tyres I removed (avon). 3 the rolling resistance must be low, because the car rolls very easily with these fitted
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Porsche 924S (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I really like this tire on a factory Porsche 924S in size of 195/65r15. Performs better in the dry at cornering, braking and steering response than Continental PremiumContact 6 that I also tried. Feels like driving on rails in the dry.. Cornering in the wet can be challenging though with this tire.. at least on an oldtimer Porsche..
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2022
    Given 86% while driving a Renault Trafic (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,500 average miles
    Very good tyre Have them on my Renault traffic Good wear rate very good braking to
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2022
    Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    These have good grip on both dry and wet tarmac. The car feels planted, almost pressed down on the road. Steering and handling are slightly vague but solid overall. Road feedback is good without being uncomfortable. They're extremely silent, made my Civic feel like a luxury car. However, the high rolling resistance is a dealbreaker and I'm getting rid of them. Fuel consumption is similar to studded tires and there's a choking feel when accelerating, the engine is clearly working harder than normal.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.6 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Used to have Avon Zv5 on the fronts, those were moved to the rear and these fitted to front end. Instantly noticed much less road noise at 50-70mph. Enough to turn the speakers down. Other than that on the comfort front I couldn't feel much else different but I do have higher profile tyres than most would. On the grip front from what I can tell on a old zafira on a couple of b roads the grip was much better and turn in was sharper which i expected given reviews and the tyres they were replacing. Haven't had a chance to try in the wet yet. Definitely would recommend over cheap eco tyres especially since they're only a couple quid more. Was able to get them mail order for £40 each and don't feel like I'm missing anything vs more expensive tyres. Get them for a daily or if you've got a car that you don't feel the need to put Primacy 4's or EfficientGrip 2 tyres on, plus you won't have to spend almost double doing so.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2022
    Given 85% while driving a Citroën C5 Tourer (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Bought them because they were the most cost effective choice on paper. Driven for almost 5000km/3000miles and now i can say the following. Comfort: Comparing with the Michelin Primacy 3 and Kleber Krisalp HP3 winter tires they seem a bit on the rough side. You can definitely feel every pothole and crack on the road. It feels like seating on a park bench with plastic wheels at times, but they seem quiet. More than the Michelin or the Kleber ones. Highway travel is peace and quiet, city and county rough but quiet. Handling and breaking: Wet and dry very good. Firm lane changes, cornering like on rails and breaking is very positive as described in every test that i could find. All in all better than the mentioned ones on dry roads, but on wet roads close to the Kleber ones when new. Fuel consumption: Awful. From an average of 7 L/100km on winter tires to 10 L/100km is a big jump that was not expected. I had the car inspected by my mechanic and did a wheel alignment, but the high fuel consumption is persistent.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2022