BMW 520d Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 520d.

Do you Drive a BMW 520d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 520d better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (106) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 84%
Kleber Dynaxer HP4 (4) 93% 88% 88% 90% 88% 95%
Michelin Alpin 6 (14) 89% 92% 88% 87% 83% 91%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (63) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (200) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 81%
Falken Azenis FK510 (102) 90% 89% 83% 83% 76% 79%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (17) 91% 79% 83% 81% 80% 82%
Nokian WR (8) 76% 91% 79% 76% 88% 79%
Michelin CrossClimate (120) 88% 86% 84% 80% 85% 91%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Maxxis MA iPro Victra iPro (16) 88% 74% 81% 82% 66% 76%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Premiorri ViaMaggiore (5) 72% 66% 70% 74% 83% 64%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Bridgestone DriveGuard (23) 86% 86% 79% 75% 45% 72%
Goodyear Excellence (117) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Jinyu YU61 (46) 80% 65% 68% 63% 73% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (227) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (56) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (207) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (8) 87% 81% 82% 59% 47% 86%
Nitto NT555 (6) 75% 63% 70% 72% 65% 67%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (89) 75% 62% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Nankang NS2 (205) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (48) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 56%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 RFT (10) 65% 56% 66% 66% 67% 65%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%

BMW 520d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin 6 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have them for a few hounders of km now. Ss soon as I put them on the car, the mud appeared on the road and the tires did their job properly. Even if they are mounted on a BMW 5 Series 520d automatic gearbox, RWD, with only 163 hp, on dry asphalt I managed to make them squeak at hard starts. The road feadback is great, as is the grip on wet and cold asphalt. I tested them in about 15-20 cm of freshly fallen snow, they did their job brilliantly, without slipping and giving me the impression of maximum safety. On a slope with a slope of 15-17%, the snowy road, I climbed with 50-60 km / h while others barely climbed with 30-40 km / h, even with front-wheel drive cars. After 4-5 sets of Pirelli WinterSottoZero and SnowControl Serie 2, a set of Dunlop Sport4D on different tyres, I switched to Michelin and I don't think I will change the brand of winter tires too soon. With these tires I feel safer than ever. I will update my review after I will drive them even more.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-22 05:41:09
Writing about the Kleber Dynaxer HP4 given 84% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-02 21:20:44
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
Given that this is a winter rated summer tyre Ive been pleasantly surprised at how well they handle in the wet and ice. Only driven once in snow but were way better than normal summer tyres on my rear wheel drive BMW 5 series. Not as good as some tyres in the dry but completely manageable. Comfort levels felt unchanged from the previous Pirelli tyres fitted by BMW.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-28 23:02:11
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Just bought 4s GY Asymmetric 5XL this spring for my 5 Series, in 225/50-17, was a hard decision when I started to look for tires but after reading the reviews from your site and look at test results, GY was the only option. Maybe I would take into consideration the PS4 also, but as they not available in 17'... the minus for Conti was the price and the reviews of the PC6 from the website. Most of the users were disappointed about the wear of them and mm of the "meat". I did a few thousand miles with GY, and I am very happy with the decision. They are silent, very good grip in both dry and wet conditions(caught some summer storms on the highway, at speed, and I felt very comfortable and safe with this. In the past I also had GY Efficient Grip on an F20 118d, for 2.5 years and 40-45k miles, and I was happy with them also. What I would like to see more in your reviews is talking about Treadwear. It is a very important characteristic for tires, especially for UHP. The GY that I bought have treadwear 300, which is a pretty big number for a UHP tire, most of them have 180 to 240 treadwear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-21 08:45:01
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 56% (225-55-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Those tyres lasted me about 6 months and I paid nearly £600 for 4 run flat tyres, the worst lasting tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-21 18:06:49
Writing about the Premiorri ViaMaggiore given 55% (225-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-02 09:53:48
Writing about the Maxxis MA iPro Victra iPro given 71% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I am using Maxxis Ipro in Thailand with 520d and 320i. The tyre is amazingly having great handling ability, especially on dry road. I normally drive fast but with this tyre, I am assured with the safety given from the tyre because it gives me honest feedback to the steering wheel and to the car chassis. This tyre is not soft like Hankook V12 Evo2 but with its higher stiffness, I am more pleased when driving because it goes straight just as I expect it to go when I turn the steering wheel.

With its economical price, I am absoloutely pleased with this tyre. In my opinion, it perform even greater than my Bridgestone S001 RFT given with the car because I-Pro gives my more honest road feedback than S001 RFT.

Only not outstanding part of I-Pro for me is the wet road grip. It is not unacceptable, but on wet road, I am not dare driving in high speed on them because it tends to understeer and the turn is not at the most accurate level with I-Pro on wet but only I slowdown just a bit, I can drive with joy.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-26 07:36:59
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Great tyres

In the mountains on dry in the summer i coudnt make them to loose grip at all. Amazing grip on dri and wet. I have th RUNFLAT ones wich i think it counts on curves.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-26 14:32:25
Writing about the Bridgestone DriveGuard given 56% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 easy going miles
Bought/fitted these tyres an 4th January, 2018. Completely BALD by the end of October, 2018 having covered 13,078 klms (8,0126 Miles) of gentle driving on the rear of our BMW 520D E60. We have two cars, this 9 year old low mileage 520D for longer comfortable journeys and hybrid Yaris for shorter / town journeys so the 520D only gets used on longer, occasional journeys mostly driven by my wife - both of us are more interested in MPG these days than MPH. They were bought to replace a set of Pirelli tyres because of the superior grip of these Bridgestone Drive Guard in the wet/frost etc. On this front, they did score well, better and more responsive grip/steering in poor winter conditions but in fifty years of driving, I've never had a set of tyres wear so quickly and so completely. I do some work/standing in for a local car dealership and customers often ask for recommendations for tyres (we sell BMW Audi Merc, Jaguar etc) Bridgestone WON'T be featuring on my recommended list :-(
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-14 12:07:05
Writing about the Pace Toledo TL1000 given 49% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
Avoid these tyres. They are absolutely awful in the wet, I’d go so far as to say unsafe. I cannot trust the car at all in the wet. I have these on the front, fitted by the previous owner. They still have around 6mm of tread left after >20k miles, so they are extremely durable but that’s only a good quality if they provide you with decent grip! I noted the speed these stopped gripping on a wet roundabout the other day: just over 20mph with a fairly gentle lateral load.
In fairness to them, the dry grip is not terrible, just a little spongey and feedback is fairly numb. Noise is reasonable but that might be more about the car than the tyre.
Despite having so much tread left, I will be replacing these soon for something that I can actually rely on in poor conditions - well worth £100+ a tyre in my view.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-04 14:30:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre