BMW 520d Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 520d.

Do you Drive a BMW 520d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 520d better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (154) 93% 92% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Kleber Dynaxer HP4 (6) 93% 87% 88% 75% 90% 93%
Michelin Alpin 6 (17) 89% 92% 84% 84% 83% 90%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (65) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (17) 91% 79% 83% 81% 80% 82%
Nokian WR (8) 76% 91% 79% 76% 88% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (238) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 80%
Falken Azenis FK510 (116) 90% 88% 82% 82% 74% 78%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Maxxis MA iPro Victra iPro (18) 89% 77% 83% 84% 67% 77%
Nokian Hakka Black 2 (2) 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 50%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Premiorri Solazo S Plus (5) 84% 64% 70% 68% 85% 76%
Premiorri ViaMaggiore (6) 68% 58% 68% 68% 86% 55%
Bridgestone DriveGuard (23) 86% 86% 79% 75% 45% 72%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Jinyu YU61 (46) 80% 65% 68% 63% 73% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (57) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (8) 87% 81% 82% 59% 47% 86%
Nitto NT555 (6) 75% 63% 70% 72% 65% 67%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Nankang NS2 (208) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 RFT (10) 65% 56% 66% 66% 67% 65%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (50) 74% 68% 62% 61% 64% 55%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%

BMW 520d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
I have this tires fitted on my 2009 BMW 5 series in 225/50/17 size. After two summers and almost 30k miles with them, it is my favourite tire so far. Excellent grip in both dry and wet. I drove them on a good and pretty equal mix of motorways, country roads, city and national roads, performed incredibly well in all conditions. Under 10 degrees Celsius’s and cold asphalt, the grip is still good on dry but the tire gets a bit hard, which I think is normal for summer tires. They still have about 4mm of thread left, which will be good for another summer then definitely I'll buy them again or next generation of GY F1 Asymmetric Eagle. They don't seem to be noisy at all. I putted a 245/45/17 set on an 2013 E Klasse 220CDI. The handling is predictable in all conditions which gave me confidence every time I was at the wheel.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-20 13:54:22
Writing about the Nokian Hakka Black 2 given 79% (245-40-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6200 easy going miles
Got these tires on the car when purchased used, have driven about 10.000km with these tires (tires have maybe been driven 2k-5k by previous owner). Most of my km is with a caravan behind, so not that much of sporty driving. Although when driving sporty, there are no issues with grip in dry or wet. The tires are awesome in the wet, no signs of aqua planing at legal speed limits + a few km/h. But they are loud and on our car they are “tracking”. Not sure what the proper English term for it is, but they feel unstable on “grooved” tarmac (because of studded tire wear on the tarmac). Measured thread after 10.000km is around 5.5-6mm. The “tracking”, noise level and price (can get Goodyear asy 5 and pirelli pz4 for €20-40 less per tire) is the reason why I’m considering other tires when the time comes to replace these.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-08 21:10:38
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Do a lot of miles and am always conscious of my tyres. I bought a new car that had these on it and they have performed well. Lots of motorways and spirited driving. Tyre has even wear and good on all aspects. In 100,000 miles I have only been through two sets!
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-26 11:49:21
Writing about the Premiorri Solazo S Plus given 99% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Perfect on dry and wet road, very comfortable. The best tyres for this money.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-03 19:33:43
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 6 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have them for a few hounders of km now. Ss soon as I put them on the car, the mud appeared on the road and the tires did their job properly. Even if they are mounted on a BMW 5 Series 520d automatic gearbox, RWD, with only 163 hp, on dry asphalt I managed to make them squeak at hard starts. The road feadback is great, as is the grip on wet and cold asphalt. I tested them in about 15-20 cm of freshly fallen snow, they did their job brilliantly, without slipping and giving me the impression of maximum safety. On a slope with a slope of 15-17%, the snowy road, I climbed with 50-60 km / h while others barely climbed with 30-40 km / h, even with front-wheel drive cars. After 4-5 sets of Pirelli WinterSottoZero and SnowControl Serie 2, a set of Dunlop Sport4D on different tyres, I switched to Michelin and I don't think I will change the brand of winter tires too soon. With these tires I feel safer than ever. I will update my review after I will drive them even more.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-22 05:41:09
Writing about the Kleber Dynaxer HP4 given 84% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-02 21:20:44
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
Given that this is a winter rated summer tyre I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well they handle in the wet and ice. Only driven once in snow but were way better than normal summer tyres on my rear wheel drive BMW 5 series. Not as good as some tyres in the dry but completely manageable. Comfort levels felt unchanged from the previous Pirelli tyres fitted by BMW.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-28 23:02:11
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Just bought 4s GY Asymmetric 5XL this spring for my 5 Series, in 225/50-17, was a hard decision when I started to look for tires but after reading the reviews from your site and look at test results, GY was the only option. Maybe I would take into consideration the PS4 also, but as they not available in 17'... the minus for Conti was the price and the reviews of the PC6 from the website. Most of the users were disappointed about the wear of them and mm of the "meat". I did a few thousand miles with GY, and I am very happy with the decision. They are silent, very good grip in both dry and wet conditions(caught some summer storms on the highway, at speed, and I felt very comfortable and safe with this. In the past I also had GY Efficient Grip on an F20 118d, for 2.5 years and 40-45k miles, and I was happy with them also. What I would like to see more in your reviews is talking about Treadwear. It is a very important characteristic for tires, especially for UHP. The GY that I bought have treadwear 300, which is a pretty big number for a UHP tire, most of them have 180 to 240 treadwear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-21 08:45:01
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 56% (225-55-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Those tyres lasted me about 6 months and I paid nearly £600 for 4 run flat tyres, the worst lasting tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-21 18:06:49
Writing about the Premiorri ViaMaggiore given 55% (225-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-02 09:53:48
Writing about the Maxxis MA iPro Victra iPro given 71% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I am using Maxxis Ipro in Thailand with 520d and 320i. The tyre is amazingly having great handling ability, especially on dry road. I normally drive fast but with this tyre, I am assured with the safety given from the tyre because it gives me honest feedback to the steering wheel and to the car chassis. This tyre is not soft like Hankook V12 Evo2 but with its higher stiffness, I am more pleased when driving because it goes straight just as I expect it to go when I turn the steering wheel.

With its economical price, I am absoloutely pleased with this tyre. In my opinion, it perform even greater than my Bridgestone S001 RFT given with the car because I-Pro gives my more honest road feedback than S001 RFT.

Only not outstanding part of I-Pro for me is the wet road grip. It is not unacceptable, but on wet road, I am not dare driving in high speed on them because it tends to understeer and the turn is not at the most accurate level with I-Pro on wet but only I slowdown just a bit, I can drive with joy.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-26 07:36:59
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Great tyres

In the mountains on dry in the summer i coudnt make them to loose grip at all. Amazing grip on dri and wet. I have th RUNFLAT ones wich i think it counts on curves.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-26 14:32:25
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre