Nankang Sportnex AS2+

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 71%
Wear 66%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 67%

The Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Nankang AS2

Show All

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 91,210 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test - 13th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - None mentioned.
  • Negative - Poor dry and wet grip, high rolling resistance.

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 39th of 45 tyres

2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - None mentioned.
  • Negative - Poor dry and wet braking, poor balance during emergency maneuvers.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

Questions and Answers for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

2019-06-05 - Are the 265/30 20 runflats?

Your chosen tyre retailer will be able to indicate whether the size of the Nankang Sportnex AS2+ will be runflat or not, as run flat models are tyre size dependant.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £49.79 - £84.90 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £48.80 - £74.90 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £47.69 - £103.66 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £75.60 - £97.25 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/30 R20 £118.40 - £121.30 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R18 £95.50 - £97.90 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R20 £153.10 - £156.80 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 66 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 miles
These tyres are made from recycled banana skins treated with a generous amount of grease. In the dry they are fine. But if the road is slightly damp you would be safer dressed all in black trying to walk across eight lanes of the M25 at midnight whilst wearing a blindfold. The ABS kicks in whilst braking gently and traction control is regularly activated in 2nd gear if attempting to accelerate at any speed greater than the acceleration of your average snail.
Aquaplaning - I was aware of this phenomenon but had never experienced it in over 20 years of driving until I had these, now I can aquaplane with the best of them. In rain the car handles worse than Bambi trying to navigate a glacier after ten vodka red bulls. Yes, I know they are advertised as a summer tyre, but unfortunately I had no choice in this tyre purchase. If you live in an area where it never rains and the temperature never drops below 20 degrees then this is the ideal tyre for you. But if you live in the U.K. and value your life then do not buy these tyres. If you are a fleet manager purchasing tyres for Sun, Daily Mail journalists or Piers Morgan then get your cheque book out immediately.
85 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2017   
Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
The review below made by the guy who used 205/65R17 on his Mondeo is very misleading. The AS-2+ product doesn't include this exact size in the size range, and the size doesn't fit correctly on Mondeo either!

According to the dealer where I replaced tyres, the nankang tyre is tested in European proving grounds to live up to the European tyres standards, and as-2 plus is also certified by TUV SUD in Germany.

From my first experience of the tyres, it works unexpectedly well on wet road. Even if driving on motorway at high speed, the tyres offer stable control through water at ease. The way how tyres fit on the 18" rims looks nice as well. Would recommend to friends.



22 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Bought these as I was looking for something mid range and mid price. Have read some good and bad reviews. Fitted them to my Octavia VRs on the front around 3000 miles ago. Have driven through the winter in the wet and ice and I can say they have behaved impeccably There's plenty of feed back and not once have they felt as if there was a loss of grip. In the dry they grip well also and even when driving spiritedly there's very little scrubbing. They are quiet compared to the Michelins that came off and so far wear seem reasonable. I will probably get 2 for the rear when needed.
8 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2017   
Have you driven on the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus >

Latest Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (265/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Size: 265/30/20 I’m not one to usually post reviews but after seeing the amount of negative reviews the nankangs are recieving, I had to tell you about my extremely positive experience. Honestly, these tyres are some of the best value for money / performance you can buy. I own a Audi A5 (Quattro) and the tyres perform brilliantly in wet, dry, summer and winter. Handling and feedback is very good, economy as well. I put four new ones on my car for £400.00 (£100.00 each) and got 30,000 miles out of the front pair. The backs will need replacing soon (I expect about 34,000 miles). Given they ‘cheapest’ premium tyre (Dunlop/Mitchelin/Conti) will set you back £220.00 per tyre, you really cannot complain for the performance and wear on the nankangs. I have to question some of these reviews about their performance, any tyre will slip in the wet if you’re driving like an idiot. Says more about your poor driving! If you’re debating getting these tyres, I cannot recommend them highly enough - new pair on order as I’m writing this!
2 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Driving a Mercedes w212 3.0d sport by far a superior tyre to the continental mo tyres I had previously, purchased them at half the price of the the originals as the Conti's didn't like potholes. Far better in the wet only time will tell how they wear.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 55% while driving a BMW 1 series 2.0l Diesel (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Lethal in wet! Driftlube (rain) = waves the back end like a dog in every corner and roundabouts
2 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Buy a set of four for my Peugeot 308 sw. They handle quite well in dry and wet . Its a very rigid tyre because is a very low profile tyre. Altough it gives excelent feedback to the stering wheel. Worns very fast . Definitly buy again
1 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2020   
Given 43% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (265/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I bought the car with these tyres already on it (although have driven the same model with a different brand tyre). Due to these being on the car when I purchased it, I cannot say what milage is on them. These have good grip in the dry but aren't good in the went, and despite the 4 wheel drive they like to skid a bit without trying! Road noise is also very noticeable. Won't be buying these!
3 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2020   
Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
No issues, great in wet, can take power from heavy right foot. Great price. Not sure why some users have had such a bad experience.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (205/50 R17 V) on for 8,000 miles
Bought these to replace Continental Sport Contact 5s and they are a much better tyre all round, Dry grip is improved around bends although setting off quickly they aren't as good but its not night and day. Wet grip is greatly improved over the conti's I feel confident going into bends knowing the tyre will go where I want it to. In terms of wear I have done 8k on them so far the fronts have 4.8mm and the rears are on 6.2mm so I think they are wearing quite well. I would purchase again or an equivalent all season tyre from Nankang.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2019   
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen Golf R estate (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
These were fitted after trying some of Nankang's track tyres (NS-2R) on a different car which I thought were excellent. I thought it was only fair to give some if their UHP road tyres a go.

They've been on for a week and they're coming off already. Never before have I experienced a tyre that has changed the characteristics of a car so much (for the worse).

To start with they weigh a ton which was never going to be a good start. They make the car feel like I’ve fitted run flats. But the real change is in the precision and feedback from the steering which has just vanished. Turn in is vague. The accuracy around the straight ahead is woolly at best and as you increase steering angle they weight up hideously. All confidence in the front end has gone and I'm going round corners noticeably slower than I was on the Contis as I simply haven't got a clue/don't trust what's going on underneath me.

Add to that every tiny imperfection in the road is transmitted to the cabin making for a less comfortable and more fidgety ride. Some people will say that's feedback, but premium tyres somehow seem to give you what you need and filter out the rest. These just send absolutely everything to the steering wheel and your backside.

I haven’t even driven them in the rain. I can’t be bothered to wait for some. They’ve ruined a brilliant car and on that basis alone they're coming off.

Are they dangerous? I wouldn't go that far. If you have no interest in driving and only ever buy budget tyres then you're not going to notice their dynamic shortcomings. Nankang should also be applauded on their Road Hazard Lifetime Tyre Warranty where they'll replace the tyre on a sliding discount scale (excluding fitting and disposal) dependent on how much tread is left on your non-repairable tyre. However for anybody that possesses sensory receptors in their fingers and backside, these are going to fall a long way short.

I never expected the AS-2+ to stand up to the CSC6, but I didn't expect them to be this far off either.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 9,960 average miles
Purchased these tyres in January 2018 for my Ford Mondeo ST TDCi Estate. They replaced my previous tyres (Avons) which had lasted for 17,000mls and we were recommended these Nankangs as a good performance tyre which would easily last as long as the Avons. It is now October 2018 and we have just had the MOT and the tester has put an advisory that all 4 tyres are on the 1.6mm warning markers.. The milage from fitting in January to the Advisory is 9,960mls. I have never had a set of tyres which have lasted so poorly even the Pirelli P Zero's notorious for wearing quickly gave me 16,000mls. I have no issues with the tyres on the road perfomance wet or dry they aquitted themselves just fine and in fact the wear is perfectly even on the tyres with little shoulder wear which is usual on these vehicles. But the fact is they have work to UK Minimum in under 10,000mls which I feel is very poor and I would never buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2018   

See all 14 customer reviews of the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (newest first) >>