Nankang Sportnex AS2+

The Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nankang AS2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 72%
Wear 67%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 64%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 130,710 miles driven.

The Sportnex AS2+ is ranked 89th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good grip in the wet, high aquaplaning resistance, quietest tyre on test, excellent levels of comfort, low rolling resistance, low purchase price.
  • Negative - Poor grip in the dry with oversteer balance.
  • Overall - The Nankang Sportnex AS-2+ punched above its price category, beating the more established brands of Kumho and Toyo. The tyre might not have been the most dynamic in the dry, but it performed well in all the wet testing and had good levels of comfort, low noise, and low rolling resistance. The AS2+ does seem more comfort than performance bias, but it's still an impressive set of results for the price point.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Mostly safe in the wet, with an understeer balance, excellent aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - No sporty driving with sluggish inaccurate steering and poor grip. Relatively long braking distances and weak cornering grip in the wet.
  • Overall - The low cost SportNex AS2+ just shines in aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 39th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test (255/35 R19)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test (275/35 R19)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 13th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 39th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 14th: 2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 24th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

    Questions and Answers for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

    2019-06-05 - Are the 265/30 20 runflats?

    Your chosen tyre retailer will be able to indicate whether the size of the Nankang Sportnex AS2+ will be runflat or not, as run flat models are tyre size dependant.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R17 £56.99 - £88.44 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £53.29 - £113.70 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £50.79 - £119.20 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/35 R19 £87.19 - £108.41 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/40 R18 £78.37 - £92.80 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/35 R18 £96.42 - £125.80 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/35 R20 £108.49 - £142.50 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 79 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

    Given 46% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 miles
    These tyres are made from recycled banana skins treated with a generous amount of grease. In the dry they are fine. But if the road is slightly damp you would be safer dressed all in black trying to walk across eight lanes of the M25 at midnight whilst wearing a blindfold. The ABS kicks in whilst braking gently and traction control is regularly activated in 2nd gear if attempting to accelerate at any speed greater than the acceleration of your average snail.
    Aquaplaning - I was aware of this phenomenon but had never experienced it in over 20 years of driving until I had these, now I can aquaplane with the best of them. In rain the car handles worse than Bambi trying to navigate a glacier after ten vodka red bulls. Yes, I know they are advertised as a summer tyre, but unfortunately I had no choice in this tyre purchase. If you live in an area where it never rains and the temperature never drops below 20 degrees then this is the ideal tyre for you. But if you live in the U.K. and value your life then do not buy these tyres. If you are a fleet manager purchasing tyres for Sun, Daily Mail journalists or Piers Morgan then get your cheque book out immediately.
    Helpful 101 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2017
    Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    The review below made by the guy who used 205/65R17 on his Mondeo is very misleading. The AS-2+ product doesn't include this exact size in the size range, and the size doesn't fit correctly on Mondeo either!

    According to the dealer where I replaced tyres, the nankang tyre is tested in European proving grounds to live up to the European tyres standards, and as-2 plus is also certified by TUV SUD in Germany.

    From my first experience of the tyres, it works unexpectedly well on wet road. Even if driving on motorway at high speed, the tyres offer stable control through water at ease. The way how tyres fit on the 18" rims looks nice as well. Would recommend to friends.



    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017
    Given 86% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (265/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    Size: 265/30/20 I’m not one to usually post reviews but after seeing the amount of negative reviews the nankangs are recieving, I had to tell you about my extremely positive experience. Honestly, these tyres are some of the best value for money / performance you can buy. I own a Audi A5 (Quattro) and the tyres perform brilliantly in wet, dry, summer and winter. Handling and feedback is very good, economy as well. I put four new ones on my car for £400.00 (£100.00 each) and got 30,000 miles out of the front pair. The backs will need replacing soon (I expect about 34,000 miles). Given they ‘cheapest’ premium tyre (Dunlop/Mitchelin/Conti) will set you back £220.00 per tyre, you really cannot complain for the performance and wear on the nankangs. I have to question some of these reviews about their performance, any tyre will slip in the wet if you’re driving like an idiot. Says more about your poor driving! If you’re debating getting these tyres, I cannot recommend them highly enough - new pair on order as I’m writing this!
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2020
    Have you driven on the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus >

    Latest Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

    Given 61% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Take my review with a pinch of salt since I have 225/35 r18 on a 8.5” rim - so a very slight stretch. My car has all oem sport suspension apart from eibach lowering springs.

    My driving is on a mix of regional roads and motorways with a bit of occasional spirited driving thrown in. I average about 600 miles/week.

    Positives: The grip once these tyres get warm is very impressive. I can chuck my car around corners with confidence, braking is nice. Weight of the steering is perfect for me.

    Wet grip is excellent, I can drive through standing water without aquaplaning at all.

    Wear seems to be alright 5000 miles in. I have proper alignment/camber and it’s worn the inside a bit more than I would have liked, but it’s still fairly good.

    Negatives: The biggest problem I have is the road noise. On anything other than a billiards table it is just ridiculously loud. It seems to be a bit higher pitch than other tyres I’ve had, which just adds to the annoyance. Transmits every little crack on the road into the cabin. I actually thought my suspension top mounts were the issue and took them out to check - nope, it’s 100% the tyres.

    Tyres seem to tramline and follow any divets in the road very easily so you have to pay attention on backroads or roads lorries use a lot.

    The initial turn in of the car seems a bit dulled but once loaded up the feedback is decent.

    Cold performance is a bit sketchy. Definitely would not chance using them too late into Autumn.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2022
    Given 56% while driving a BMW 325ci M Sport convertible (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
    good if you like spinning out in the rain. good in dry
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2022
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
    Bought a set of 4 of these tyres not long after buying the car to go on new alloys. Overall quite impressed with the handling in all conditions, good feedback through the steering wheel and good traction under braking. They give what I would say is a solid ride and cope well with the often uneven surfaces of the country lanes. I cannot really compare road noise or fuel efficiency as I've not had long enough with a different set to gauge any difference. I get the top end of my expected fuel economy which makes me happy and it's quiet enough in the cabin to chat with my kids in the back which makes them happy. Buy them again? Possibly, though I may go for something different (budget dependent). Recommend to a friend? Definitely!
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2022
    Given 82% while driving a BMW 520d (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    I left a review before on the AS 2 but my tyres are the new AS2 Plus - my error! So I have 19'' wheels and tyres are large 275's at rear.....got to say so far so good. Had Falkens before and liked them but local garage said try these - and have to say they ride well / noise no issues / wet so far so good but have not been on really wet roads yet. Tyre wear can't comment yet either but will do later. So in summary for £170 runflats on a 5 Series 19'' wheels I'm delighted........yes you get what you pay for but you can also get good value for money and these tick that box.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2022
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Have this tyre on my Focus ST Mk3. A honest budget tyre, not bad but a sporty car deserves better. Low grip on full throttle, smears in hard cornering and also gives understeer. The tyre is ok in wet conditions. In overall a good choice for smooth everyday driving. If your style is sporty, go for a better one. Just as I do.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a Renault Megane Coupe 2.0 dci 160hp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Bad grip when tyre is cold, but when tyre is hot grip is very good for the price. On rain very good. Only down side in 2 years about 15000-20000km tyres went from 7.5mm to 4.5mm but I drive fast 90% of the time so wear is reasonable.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Driving a Mercedes w212 3.0d sport by far a superior tyre to the continental mo tyres I had previously, purchased them at half the price of the the originals as the Conti's didn't like potholes. Far better in the wet only time will tell how they wear.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2020
    Given 55% while driving a BMW 1 series 2.0l Diesel (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Lethal in wet! Driftlube (rain) = waves the back end like a dog in every corner and roundabouts
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Buy a set of four for my Peugeot 308 sw. They handle quite well in dry and wet . Its a very rigid tyre because is a very low profile tyre. Altough it gives excelent feedback to the stering wheel. Worns very fast . Definitly buy again
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2020
    Given 43% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (265/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    I bought the car with these tyres already on it (although have driven the same model with a different brand tyre). Due to these being on the car when I purchased it, I cannot say what milage is on them. These have good grip in the dry but aren't good in the went, and despite the 4 wheel drive they like to skid a bit without trying! Road noise is also very noticeable. Won't be buying these!
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2020
    Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
    No issues, great in wet, can take power from heavy right foot. Great price. Not sure why some users have had such a bad experience.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2019
    Given 83% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (205/50 R17 V) on for 8,000 miles
    Bought these to replace Continental Sport Contact 5s and they are a much better tyre all round, Dry grip is improved around bends although setting off quickly they aren't as good but its not night and day. Wet grip is greatly improved over the conti's I feel confident going into bends knowing the tyre will go where I want it to. In terms of wear I have done 8k on them so far the fronts have 4.8mm and the rears are on 6.2mm so I think they are wearing quite well. I would purchase again or an equivalent all season tyre from Nankang.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2019