Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro.

Do you Drive a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A5 2.0TFSI Quattro better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (92) 87% 88% 83% 75% 88% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (15) 87% 65% 77% 71% 66% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (62) 86% 67% 76% 72% 68% 68%
Rovelo RPX 998 (26) 80% 65% 71% 65% 61% 73%
Kumho IZen KW27 (30) 75% 75% 73% 71% 80% 83%
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (35) 72% 44% 62% 62% 76% 68%
Nordexx NS9000 (11) 69% 52% 55% 53% 69% 55%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%

Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho IZen KW27 given 30% (215-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
The previous owner fit this tire to the car the winter before I bought it. So they were pretty new when I started with them. The tyre itself is quiet compared to the SportContact 6s I have for the summer. But after fitting them back on the car the road feedback is very lacking and the wet grip is so bad it made an Audi with Quattro spin it’s wheels! The most shocking thing is the balance of the car and the braking distance. Driving on motorways it’s floating around all over the place and the braking distance feels dangerously long. All in all then, the noise level is the only good thing I have to say about the tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-11 23:41:53
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 88% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Only done 5 k mls in cold temps, no snow or ice yet. Use cc and cc+as winter tyre on spare set of wheels, as used 830 p the same way
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 19:05:42
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 75% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Tyres cracked, replaced f o c by cc+
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 18:59:16
Writing about the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus given 86% (265-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Size: 265/30/20 I’m not one to usually post reviews but after seeing the amount of negative reviews the nankangs are recieving, I had to tell you about my extremely positive experience. Honestly, these tyres are some of the best value for money / performance you can buy. I own a Audi A5 (Quattro) and the tyres perform brilliantly in wet, dry, summer and winter. Handling and feedback is very good, economy as well. I put four new ones on my car for £400.00 (£100.00 each) and got 30,000 miles out of the front pair. The backs will need replacing soon (I expect about 34,000 miles). Given they ‘cheapest’ premium tyre (Dunlop/Mitchelin/Conti) will set you back £220.00 per tyre, you really cannot complain for the performance and wear on the nankangs. I have to question some of these reviews about their performance, any tyre will slip in the wet if you’re driving like an idiot. Says more about your poor driving! If you’re debating getting these tyres, I cannot recommend them highly enough - new pair on order as I’m writing this!
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-24 15:54:53
Writing about the Nordexx NS9000 given 20% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
Do NOT buy these! I've used budget tyres before, mostly because I can't drive worn or 7+ year old tyres due to safety and the law! These were horrible in just about every way, they overheat way too easily and loose traction whenever you try to do a quick maneuver, they aren't track tyres but not being able to turn in roundabouts??? Come on! And the mpgs you're getting is just as bad as sport tyres with a lot of rolling resistance. The noise is the worst part though... They're way too loud, I've used tyres with 73 db rating and they seemed quieter.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-26 01:48:18
Writing about the Rovelo RPX 998 given 90% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 240 easy going miles
got 19 inch rims,full set premium was touching £600,shopped on line and found these rovelo tyres,got them fitted at national tyres the fitter told me with the miles i do every year approx 3,000 and imno speed king the tyres should last 12,000 miles cost was £240 a big saving,everything seems ok just see how long they last if its four years ill be very happy.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-17 18:41:18
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport 2 given 83% (275-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Great value for money tyres. Was hesitant initially when comparing against premium brands for safety but proved to be my best choice. Was on Pirelli P-zeros and the Achilles are way more silent and comfortable all round after almost 3000km. And only one third the price of the Pirellis, which by the way had rubber pieces break off inside side wall of one tyre around 30000km, and dangerously exposed wire mesh
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-26 08:43:12
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 42% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre if in the wet you are amused by wheelspin, sliding around and ESP systems going crazy. Fine in the dry but downright dangerous in the wet. You effectively are forced to drive everywhere at the pace of your stereotypical 80 year old Rover driver in order to make safe progress.

Had these tyres on the rear of my car for approximately 8 months, car has always been extremely tail happy in the wet which I found puzzling for an AWD car. It was only when my front tyres needed replacing and I moved these Autogrips to the front did I realise how shocking they are. My previous front tyres were absolutely nothing special at all but I got caught out a few times plowing into the opposite lane driving at my normal driving speed after moving these to the front. You do not have to be driving like a maniac for these to slide, it's genuinely impressive that they managed to make a tyre this awful and is still legal. When they were on the back of my car I've no doubt people have seen me sliding around thinking I'm the local boy racer when in reality I'm just trying to get to my destination.

Positives are they are fairly quiet, and don't seem to have worn down at all since fitting them. I suppose if you were doing motorway driving (and only motorway driving) they would probably be fine if you really can't afford another £20 a corner for something decent.

In short, they are great if you want the excitement of near death expreiences every time it rains, not so great if you like being able to keep up with traffic without crashing.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-13 00:54:08
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 96% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 average miles
These were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 Quattro.

I have had ~21,000 miles out of the fronts, with a mixed style of driving.

I would have expected much less, due to being low profile tyres, being on a relatively big / heavy car and a mix of driving style. I am very impressed with the wear rates.

I have no complaints with the grip levels provided in wet or dry. They are a great combination with Audi's quattro system.

I would have been tempted to change to the Michelin Pilot Super Sports as the fronts have recently worn out. However from reading up on the Quattro system and mixing patterns front and back, I have decided to keep the keep the front and rear tyres the same. Do your research and make your own decision on this...

Great tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-28 10:12:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre