Achilles A/TR Sport 2

The Achilles ATR Sport 2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 72%
Wet Grip 45%
Road Feedback 62%
Handling 63%
Wear 73%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 57%

Tyre review data from 42 tyre reviews averaging 63% over 252,812 miles driven.

The A/TR Sport 2 is ranked 107th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 51st of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 20th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - None mentioned.
  • Negative - Long braking distances and poor lateral stability in the wet (safety issue), long dry braking, unstable rear during dry handling.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 51st: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 20th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Achilles ATR Sport 2

    Questions and Answers for the Achilles ATR Sport 2

    2016-10-07 - Can I use these in New York in the winter?

    The ATR Sport 2 is a summer tyre so will offer very little snow and ice grip during the winter months.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Achilles ATR Sport 2 Reviews

    Given 40% while driving a BMW 320 d (245/35 R19) on for 5,000 miles
    Do not buy these tires unless u habe a deathwish.
    In dry performance is good but in weth terrific! I
    Helpful 835 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2017
    Given 71% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (275/30 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    These tires are GREAT. For under $100 for 245/35/20 front 275/30/20 rear. You cannot beat the performance for the price. Note! These tires have to warm up a bit to get full grip, but when they do, amazing.
    I have experience snap oversteer at the extreme limit a couple times but usually very progressive.
    Wet - With RWD can be slippery on tight corner exiting.

    I'd recommend for anyone looking for good performance on a bought.
    Helpful 66 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2016
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 540I (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,500 average miles
    We drive daily 100km on these tyres at or about 100km/hr.
    The car sits on the road briliantly, wet or dry, overtaking or cornering. The cabin noise is low and the steering wheel feel is good at all times.
    We have yet to try frost or ice but we have to wait for winter for that :)
    Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2017
    Have you driven on the Achilles ATR Sport 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Achilles ATR Sport 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Achilles ATR Sport 2 >

    Latest Achilles ATR Sport 2 Reviews

    Given 59% while driving a Toyota Scion tC (/45 R17) on mostly town for 14,000 spirited miles
    Amazing Dry Grip, exceptional wet grip, don't expect $200 performance out of a $50 tire, but pretty close for what it is. It really struggles in wear; I ate through 2 tires in about 14k miles, not the greatest.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
    Given 49% while driving a Honda S2000 (255/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Dangerous! Impassable in my car when wet. When it's dry, the rear also goes away as soon as you want to accelerate through a tight bend. Unfortunately, the previous owner had brought it, apparently only for sale, since the tires still look like new. At first I thought it would be a shame to change it directly, but it has to go as soon as possible. It might be enough for a city polo, etc., but on the Honda S2000 it's just suicide if you want to drive it ambitiously. But that's what the car was built for and it's a shame to devalue the car so much in terms of performance.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2022
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 44% while driving a Subaru 04 WRX (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    dry grip ok wheel starts to shake around 100km/hr on the freeway dangerous in the wet sliding around roundabout at 30km/hr only good thing is the treads never wears out will not be buying again
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2022
    Given 44% while driving a BMW 335i (/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
    Great Value economy tire, sport appearance without the performance. Its just an average tire: not good, not terrible... you get what you pay for. Sidewalls are a weak point. Under-inflated driving will quickly damage this tire.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2022
    Given 57% while driving a Toyota Scion tc (275/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
    Pretty decent and grippy when dry. Not too loud. Very unstable at highway speeds in wet conditions. I would only suggest for cheap dry track day tires.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2022
    Given 83% while driving a Holden Ute SS (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Bought these again for the ute which is cammed, otr, exhaust, higgins heads, 3.9 diff gears with 387rwkw with staggered Simmons.... Of course any V8 will light these bad boys up but i paid AUD$90 each and they are awesome in the dry. Any car putting out big power will drift easy in the wet. Nice and quiet and much better than the Federal 595's they replaced. Read comments that some people have bad handing in wet, maybe slow down. Also comments of poor wear and noise. Maybe its the tyre mob who fit them because mine are awesome. Happily buy again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2022
    Given 25% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTLi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Ultimate crap tyres, fitted on my 2004 Toyota Celica GT-S. I didn't buy them, so must've been a previous owner's work. It's impossibly cheap, they DON'T GRIP WELL IN WET OR DRY and are absolutely rubbish to drive with. They're noisy, and might result in brown pants if you're speeding with them. Absolutely do not buy.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2021
    Given 46% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    First 1000 miles are a death scare... Once they get broken in, they are alright. They have very hard sidewalls so the performance is pretty good, responsiveness is good. Balancing is a problem at high speeds, steering wheel shaking/feedback. I came off Brigestone tires which I was pleased with but were too expensive. Tried going cheaper, but got what I paid for with these tires. Probably won't purchase again. Overall, sweet looking tire, performance is OK, but don't trust them at high speeds. Good for a everyday driver if you aren't going to push them to the limit. If your looking for a cheap tire to drive moderately, they will work. Just don't expect them to be a high performance tire.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2021
    Given 37% while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 CGI Estate (225/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
    Please dont buy! You will get killed whit those tyres. In wet are 0!!!! Michelin Sport 4 on the way.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2020
    Given 21% while driving a BMW 330i (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Wet grip was very terrible. Driving during raining and/or wet surfaces are not recommended by using this tyre. Extremely dangerous and no confident in taking corners even with a speed of 50 km/hr. Side wall soft. Very regret puchasing this tyres. Will not buy again!
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2020
    Given 81% while driving a Mazda 6 MPS 2.3L V6 Turbo AWD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Have been using these on my cars for years; not the best in terms of high performance but a bargain when looking for a performance tyre for your daily driver. Have run them on VZ Commodores with no problems, now on an modded and tuned Mazda6 MPS. Awesome off the line grip and corner capability. 10/10 would recommend.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2020
    Given 51% while driving a Holden Ls3 vf2 (275/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I have had these tyres for 15000km, 275 rear, 245 front, tyre wear is great. Traction in dry is good, but they are absolutely horrendous in the wet, so bad im replacing them as they are dangerous. Will never put these on a car again.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2020