Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat

The Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 367,086 miles driven.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 74%
Wear 71%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 57%

The Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat is ranked 55th of 77 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental SportContact 2 SSR Run Flat and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £157.51 - £157.51 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat Reviews

Given 91% while driving a BMW F11 520d (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought these tyres as a replacement front set to the previous set of BF Goodrich over 2 years & 30,000 miles. Such an improvement. The car feels and handles so much better, turns in sharper and much more grip. I havn't noticed any significant drop in comfort with the run-flats over standard tyres, maybe a few more minor bumps but barely noticeable.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2023
Given 97% while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Lasted 22k on a rear wheel drive car, excellent in the dry and wet although a bit harsh but what run flat tyre isn't.
Helpful 104 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2014
Given 97% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
faultless and 50,000 miles
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2020
Have you driven on the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat >

Latest Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat Reviews

Given 76% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Ultra sharp and fast steering. Perfect fit for Mini Cooper S Cabrio's character.
Road feedback and handling is great!
Very good dry grip, good wet grip.
Not comfortable as these are not the latest generation runflat tyres.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2019
Given 36% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
If you don't want any teeth by the end of the year get these run flats! seriously, on a car with any kind of sporty ride these are un-livable with for a daily driver on most Uk roads, and possibly even dangerous imo. My car has developed 2 new rattles since these were fitted, but it's not just a problem on bumpy / potholed roads, on a flat motorway they tramline into grooves and in the wet they just feel super nervous, like they could snap on you. My car has a heavy sports steering, with just mild hydraulic assistance for lots of feedback, but all you feel with these is like you are connected to the road via a hard plastic toy car wheels, there is just no give or progression they just feel very 'skate-y'. You get understeer in the dry because they just hop across any road imperfections instead of gripping. Absolutely hate them. Swapping them next week already for a massive loss but I cannot wait to get literally anything else (non run flat).
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 53% while driving a BMW 530d F11 (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 15 easy going miles
Fitted to BMW F11 530D SE Touring.

Whilst this is the first car I have had with run flat tyres I am not overly impressed. The car originally had 19" rims but when I bought the car I had the garage change the wheels to 18" as British roads are now so bad.
Firstly ride comfort. You feel the shock of every potholed road imperfection. I had to replace front wishbones at 50,000 miles (Driving for a living I have never had to do this on any other car!) and a buckled front wheel.
My driving is 80% motorway driving style for economy so tyre wear is disappointing. Considering the continentals were new when i bought the car, in 30,000 miles i have had two sets of rear tyres and will shortly need a third set and am on my second front set. When driving Miss Daisy I expect better mileage! I have just put Bridgestone Driveguard on the front and will see how they perform. Front tyres lasted 28,000
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2018
Given 43% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (270/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Continental SSR3s on a 2013 BMW 520D M Sport, Rear runflats lasted 13500 miles with careful driving. Front wear lo but new shuddering ate motorway speeds. fronts been off and balanced and still as bad, tracking is perfect as done by a hi performance local company that does all expensive motors as it was not set up from BMW new when I got it. Wet grip on SS3s scary.. Driven for 30 plus years. Getting rid and going to non runflats. Beautiful car ruined by badly wearing runflats. 245 45 18 front and 275 40 18 rears.... Drives very straight and quick in dry, corners fantastic, grip is amazing,,, but when it rains... slow down to micra speed. Its so bad I don't like my wife driving it in wet greasy roads... My 120D has Turanza ER300 runflats and is so good in the rain !!!!!!! moving to Goodtyear Eagle Assy 3 as recommended by a local hi performance workshop.

Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2017
Given 44% while driving a BMW X5 (315/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
Appalling tyre, noisy, hard ride with no compromise ..traffic jams have become a pleasure ! Will replace asap with Dunlop Sport Max or better still, non-runflats.
Sadly made the X5 a torturous SUV to drive on sub-standard English roads - all OK in Germany of course where they would have be developed ...never again !
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2016
Given 78% while driving a BMW 520d (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Car was delivered new with Bridgestone Turanza and I am pleased to be back on Conti SC3s, having had them on my last 5 series. Car feels much more agile and road nose reduced. Have now run Ptenza, Turanza and Sport Contacts on the same 18 inch wheels over the years and think the Sport Contacts are best of the bunch (Obviously none of them are acceptable in Snow so I swap to Dunlop Winter tyres on 17 inch).
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2015
Given 60% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
ive drive a BMW 323 and run flats would be the only option for the car as it has no spare tyre nor a compartment for it. if not for the fact that i have to use it i`ll definitely change to another type of tyre. Average grip on dry surface and i must say very poor wet grip , the car slips and aquaplane everytime it rains here in Malaysia(it rains a lot here btw).i drive between 60 to 100km/h and no more if it rains as im not really confident about the grip. one must think that well it must be only good for 1 thing and that is RUNFLATS. here the story ive puncture my tyre once and drove it to the nearest tyre shop which is about 30km and drove around 60km/h. arrived at the tyre shop only to discover the tyre is unusable anymore its almost shredded beyond repair. BMW please no more RUNFLATS. its pricey , bad wet grip and driving while having a puncture would mean a replacement WTH???
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2015
Given 57% while driving a BMW 530d F10 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
NOT BAD BUT STILL NOT COMFORTABLE
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2015
Given 47% while driving a BMW (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Way too hard, get thrown about all over cab on our Ozzie roads and always possible to get marooned due to lack of availability in the bush

Come on BMW we dont all live next to an autobhan
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2014
Given 44% while driving a MINI Factory JCW 2009 (59 Plate) (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 31 average miles
Not bad tyre but it's not perfect for bumpy roads like we have in Portugal. Nice on high ways and main roads. Not so good on wet because they are really rush and hard. Thinking change to Pirellis Pzero run flat. Who advice me to do this ? Is it the best run flat tire for my mini jcw ?
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2014
Given 73% while driving a BMW Z4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Coming from Bridgestone Potenza RE050, the conti tyres have been a major improvement. Good traction on dry road, good feedback and progressive at the car's limit, with as it seems after 10000Km, no significant wear.

The performance on the wet appears not to be great. By saying that, the tyres are being used in Greece were road traction can be a joke-minimal. However, it has happened to lose briefly the front of the car after passing through a wet strip on the road. In wet tarmac with 4th gear the cars rear slides if generous with the throttle. I would have expected better, but as I said the roads play a key role as well.

Also the car feels quite stiff/harsh when driving through uneven roads.

Overall it is a decent tyre in my opinion, but I would like to try something else as well.

Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2013
Given 71% while driving a Audi (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 15,000 easy going miles
I feel that these are good tyres, although the road noise is higher then I would expect and the comfort is terrible (very hard ride). I understand that run-flats won't have the best ride but honestly; for 250 euro a tyre - some type of comfort is expected!

The ride is so harsh that your are delighted to stop the car and on the plus side, I now enjoy traffic jams.

I wont buy these again. I expect better for the money!
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2013