Viking Protech Newgen

The Viking Protech Newgen is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 53,020 miles driven, and 5 tests with an average result of 31st.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 77%
Wear 90%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 85%

First On MarketJune 2018
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width175 - 295mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)70 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Protech Newgen is ranked 33rd of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Tests Included

5

Best Result

16th

Worst Result

42nd

Average Result

31st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65 R 15 91 VCB71
195/65 R 15 91 HCB71
195/55 R 15 85 VCB71
185/65 R 15 92 T XLCB71
185/65 R 15 88 HCB70
185/65 R 15 88 TCB70
195/65 R 15 95 T XLCB72
16 inch
205/60 R 16 92 VCB71
215/60 R 16 99 V XLCB72
205/60 R 16 92 HCB71
215/70 R 16 100 HDB71
205/55 R 16 94 V XLCB72
205/55 R 16 91 WDB71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLCB72
205/55 R 16 91 VCB71
17 inch
205/50 R 17 93 Y XLCB72
225/60 R 17 99 VCB71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLCB72
215/55 R 17 94 YCB71
225/45 R 17 91 YDB71
225/45 R 17 94 Y XLCB72
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLCB72
215/55 R 17 98 W XLCB72
215/45 R 17 91 Y XLCB72
18 inch
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLDB72
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLCB72
255/35 R 18 94 Y XLCB73
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLCB72
235/60 R 18 107 W XLCB72
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLDB72
20 inch
245/35 R 20 95 Y XLCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Viking Protech Newgen >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Viking Protech Newgen. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Viking Protech Newgen Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Subaru XV Crosstrek (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
I was buy the tires 1 month ago. Good grip in dry and wet conditions, smooth and comfortable ride, low rolling resistance, fuel economy, good dry and wet braking, weak handling.
Helpful 116 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2019
Given 87% while driving a BMW 520d (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Coming out from some great Michelin Primacy RUNFLAT tyres I opted for these Viking ProTech NewGen, as one of my friends with a Mercedes E Klasse recommended them to me as reliable for normal use. I can say I like switching from RUNFLAT to normal tyres as they are not so loud and are softer on normal city roads with the car suspension. After cca. 9000 miles or 13000+ km I can say the tyres are reliable and a great choice for the money (I paid ≈ 75 EUR/tyre). They feel great, braking is good in dry and wet, handling just find in rain. The only thing I can say they are a bit loud on the highway driving at 130 km/hr or 80 miles/hr. Took them on long roads for summer vacation, 2500 km round trip and no complaints here. Would definitely consider them again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2023
Given 56% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I replaced the previous set of Michelin Primacy 3 runflats with these Protech Newgens from Continental's budget brand; formerly Norwegian made but my tyres were made in Portugal. The price offered from Delticom for this recently updated tyre design was so low that it even undercut some of the chinese brands- I had to try them. I think these tyres are identical to the Gislaved Ultraspeed 2, at least the tyre pattern is the same, also Conti-owned. As for my experience with the Vikings driving wise, they have been absolutely adequate -but one can tell they are not a premium offer -quite noisy for an standard non runflat tyre and the grip is fine to a certain degree, then it vanishes rather quickly. But the fantastic upside is treadlife: driving a RWD BMW 330d Touring with 258hp and 560 Nm one is used to the car wearing out (especially rear) tyres quickly, but these have lasted for 3.5 years so far, with plenty of tread depth left - and that is AMAZING.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2023
Have you driven on the Viking Protech Newgen tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Viking Protech Newgen? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Viking Protech Newgen >

Latest Viking Protech Newgen Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Audi A6 (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Have driven around 4,000 km with these tires, excellent dry and wet grip. Very good handling and solid braking but let's remember they aren't premium. Overall I am very satisfied with this Tyre, my comment is that when cornering harder they do feel a bit flimsy, but are very predictable. When going over bumps or specially dents you can feel these are overall very soft. Mine are XL. Not a heavy solid tire, rather more a well made light tire. Visually they browned a bit faster than I would like but I am still very satisfied! Mine came from the newest factory in Portugal just a few months after opening it!
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Renault Clio Mk2 Fase 2, 1.5 dci, 65 hp (185/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought a set of these tyres for my car. The fast fitter suggested these tyres as he only had these in stock at that moment. Initialy I was hessistent to take them because I wanted an A brand. Yet I took them. On dry roads the tyres behave very well. Good grip even when pushed to the limit. Wet grip and behaviour is also very good. I feel confident when driving on very wet roads. Noise is OK but could be better. Not that comfortable. The tyres don't really absorb bumps on the road that well. But this being said: good tyre for a budget price. It's part of the Continental Group and made in Slovakia. No China crap. Cannot comment on wear yet after 5k kilometers. They do not seem to have lost a few mm however.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 78% while driving a SEAT Altea (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Fitted these in late August 21 so still new & limited mileage but so far very pleased as replaced Goodyear efficient grip 2 tyres that cracked badly after only 2 yrs use. Though had fair bit of tread left. So far finding these good all round tyres. Sporty handling & good grip for most roads, in our Seat Altea mpv, which is 1.9 TDI type. Defo good on economy too as no drop in mpg from Goodyear's. Time will tell on mileage. Would recommend these for good all round sport/touring tyre.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2021
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Hi Astra man back again, I had to let my Astra go this month as I had a lot of engine trouble that couldn't be cured so she had to go, but I am really gutted I couldn't take the tyres off and transplant them on to my newer Astra because its got bigger alloys so they had to go with the car. All I can say is about the Newgens is they were brilliant top marks for the time I had them.. for wet and dry work they never missed a beat on bends and wet motorways and wide fast roundabouts not once did they every let the car down, they would have gone very well on mileage but I cant say to what now, at the time they had a lot of tread left front and rear and they kept their pressures well. We still have them on the rear of my miss'es astra hatchback and exactly the same they are handling very well, I didn't put them on the fronts because I didn't want order again from Germany online as that's the only place I could find them and its a pain so Primacy 4's went on they're easier to get hold of. Newgens are not cheap tyres they cost the same as the Michelins on the 205/55r16 size. My review of these tyres is solely on my astra what they will be like on a different car I don't know. I will continue to put my opinion on my new tyres on my new car here, I took off the ones that came with the car and got Kumho HS51 on 215/50r17 so far they are very good,,but then they are very new. ATB
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2021
Given 78% while driving a (245/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 120 spirited miles
Surprisingly good wet performance. Dry grip is good but lacking abit feedback. Also sidewalls appear to be on the soft side, comfort rather than feedback. Tires on Tesla Model S - heavy car. Only driven 200km approx., so initial feedback.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Well hello.. looks like nearly only me has bought these tyres not many reviews on these again. Any way its has been a good journey on these tyres, they have gone through the cold weather very well, in the rain they have been very safe my Astra estate, unladen my Astra is very light in the rear and when pressed onwards has stayed well planted on the road in all weathers. I would like to find fault with the tyres but so far that has been impossible..on my car. The wear still is good at both ends they are 94 load rating and 420 treadwear, if that has helped well great. After using these I am now happy to fit them to my miss'es Astra hatchback she needs 4, it is a shame I have to get them online though as they are difficult to buy locally. ATB
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2020
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Hi Astra Estate man here again just to do a quick update. Over the last 2 weeks we have had some heavy rain and happily I have had to drive in it. These Newgens have performed very good in the rain and I mean the heavy stuff they have cleared the water very well and I feel perfectly safe driving on them,

One day I pushed them on an empty wide road well above the conditions just to see if they would aquaplane but they stayed well footed, a bit risky I know but I have straight line aquaplaned in the past and knew what to expect and how to get out of it...but also the tyres are still at full tread depth.
As it stands I am still well pleased with my purchase for my car, the wear rate is still too early to rate.
ATB
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2019
Given 90% while driving a (205/55 R16 V) on for 0 miles
Hello, I fitted 4 of these to my Astra estate in 205/55r16 94v. My previous front tyres were Firestone Roadhawk and were the worst tyres I have on the front my review on those is available to read... they were awful. My rears were Marshall KH35 and were brilliant but I cant get them anymore so i opted for the Viking Newgen's to try out.

I have to say these tyres have been great to drive on in the last 900 plus miles, they feel like they are actually made out of rubber compared driving on the Firestones, they do not squeal on corners or bends they hold the car true and the are extremely comfortable. In the wet they are very good on the road and the dry grip is spot on, my driving style is press on and I do push the car a bit.

I went for the extra load for a change and I run the pressures 3 psi above base around town.

I cant comment on the wear yet but I will when the time comes for that, new the tyres are 8.3mm deep. Last week we came back from a long week end down in Cornwall and did just over 670 miles the tyres preformed very well on all types of roads and high speeds on the motorway dry and wet.

Now then the Viking website does need updating and needs to show more information, finding reviews was quite hard so I had to search more into European drivers to get what I needed before I chose them.

All I can say so far on my Astra they are very good and I am well pleased with my purchase, this might change as the miles build up but I will report that as well.
ATB
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2019