Subaru XV Crosstrek Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru XV Crosstrek.

Do you Drive a Subaru XV Crosstrek? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XV Crosstrek better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (111) 88% 86% 82% 74% 88% 87%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (42) 89% 81% 80% 80% 79% 86%
Viking Protech Newgen (13) 80% 78% 66% 76% 90% 79%
Viking Wintech (15) 82% 76% 77% 74% 80% 82%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (22) 82% 74% 76% 75% 75% 81%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (65) 80% 65% 75% 74% 73% 69%
Yokohama BluEarth E70 (11) 72% 64% 60% 64% 71% 46%
Kumho Solus TA31 (8) 71% 61% 66% 61% 57% 71%

Subaru XV Crosstrek Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth E70 given 87% (225-60-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 19000 easy going miles
We bought a crosstrek in 2022 and we have done 19000km. The tyre version is E70gz. After 19000km it looks like new. I have rotate once. In wet and dry had no problems. Had to break once hard in dry and the tyre stopped the car fast. In wet grip is good and I'm confident in highway with speeds around 120km. Highway dry sometimes 140+ the tyre is very confident. The only downside is that is a bit loud and not so comfortable. I don't know why so many bad reviews. Is a good tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2024-06-16 18:58:19
Writing about the Kumho Solus TA31 given 47% (225-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Comfort tire, but not good at stability control, also it lose pressure more than usual.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-05 13:20:22
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth E70 given 43% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22 average miles
These tires generate noise when new. After a week I noticed it's a very quite tire, even quiter than the Michelin Primacy 4, the quitest tire I ever purchased & very good rolling resistance too. I realized why did Subaru choose this tire as OEM tire which is more to focus on comfort & fuel economy. However, handling is very sad. 3 times experienced with tire slipped through corners (not a very tight corners). Even at 70° angle of speed corner @74km/h, the tire was screeching & slighly slipped 1 time before I make steering correction. Even at 54km/h & 64km/h corners (but not very tight corners) the tire was understeer. 2 times experienced with minor aquaplanning with rear tire (1 time on the left tire & 1 time on the right tire) @ 80km/h on rainy days (not during a heavy rain). No problem to drive fast on straight highways (I used to drive them between 130 to 140km/h) but the problem is on dry handling or steering feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-08 09:27:21
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth E70 given 61% (225-70-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 31 average miles
Subaru XV original tyres on rural Australian roads for 50,000 km. Very worn but a few millimetres of tread depth left. Overall an adequate tyre, certainly better than Geolanders on a previous Forester. Road-holding okay dry and wet. But noisy (and hard riding?). Better tyres around for the same price.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-27 20:39:59
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 74% (225-55-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
I write this review from Malaysia, which is a tropical country with lots of rain & summer days. I have heard a lot of reviews from oversea and decided to try these tires fitted for my 2015 Xv Crosstrek and it seems my bet is worth. These tires seems to work better in hot & humid condition and it is very comfortable to drive both on & light off-road conditions, going thru mud area and heavy rain is non issue and what i found out if driven on a hot day like over 35C, the tires grip, handling & braking performance improve compare to lower temperature like below 30C in the morning or night. I suspect the rubber compound & the treads works differently on different temperature, due to fuel efficient & long lasting in mind i believe when below 30C the rubber compound become harder to help improve the rolling resistant & treadwear (But also sacrifice handling & braking performance in the process) that why i believe why some owners complain of poor handling or braking performance in icy or wet cold condition at oversea. So overall i personally believe it is more suitable to be sold as a versatile Summer Touring SUV tire with some off-road capability.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-10 10:04:27
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 87% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 34000 average miles
I drive a Subaru XV. Two years and 34,000 miles later, the tyres still have several months of life in them. My vehicle is used both for both commuting and for work and driven on motorway, urban and rural roads on a daily basis. In comparison with the Subaru specified Yokohama Geolanders, the cross climate has superior ride comfort, reduced tyre noise inside the car, much better grip in the snow and ice. The only negative being that handling is slightly inferior.

I rotate the tyres every four or five months and have an annual four wheel alignment check carried out so to conclude, the Subaru symmetrical all wheel drive system paired with the Michelin Cross Climate tyres make a formidable combination.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-21 08:27:53
Writing about the Viking Wintech given 86% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
For me all in all, very good tyres if you have a low budget. Can recommend!
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-29 04:19:20
Writing about the Viking Protech Newgen given 80% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
I was buy the tires 1 month ago. Good grip in dry and wet conditions, smooth and comfortable ride, low rolling resistance, fuel economy, good dry and wet braking, weak handling.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-17 09:25:52
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth E70 given 50% (225-60-17-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 easy going miles
The vehicle gets a lot of tyre noise and I find does not give me comfort when driving. This did not show up when I tested the car. I am seriously thinking of changing the existing tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-08 12:08:22
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth E70 given 30% (225-60-17-H)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
Bought 2018 subaru xv. Only done so far 150km. First impression is tyres are noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-30 04:10:51
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 73% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Tyres are quiet, soft and comfort and i would like to think it is more towards Touring SUV type tyres compare to what it is marketed as performance type. Anyway value for money for it's price range.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-24 02:30:29
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 96% (225-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just had this on after using Yokohama geolandar that written after 46000km which made my AWD car skid few times at round about. Hopefully I made the right choice with this. It's just initial review so hopefully will add more feed back as I get along.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-23 07:59:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre