Viking Wintech

The Viking Wintech is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 97,000 miles driven, and 5 tests with an average result of 22nd.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 74%
Wear 80%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 76%
Snow Grip 83%
Ice Grip 78%

First On MarketApril 2017
Wheel Size13 - 20"
Width145 - 275mm
Profile40 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - E
Wet GripC - C
Noise (dB)71 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Wintech is ranked 35th of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

Tests Included

5

Best Result

11th

Worst Result

41st

Average Result

22nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test
19th of 22 tyres
  • Affordable winter profile with good snow performance.
  • Limited wet grip, low safety reserves during aquaplaning, extended dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80 R 13 79 TEC71
14 inch
185/60 R 14 82 TEC71
185/70 R 14 88 TDC71
175/65 R 14 82 TEC71
165/70 R 14 81 TEC71
15 inch
195/65 R 15 95 T XLDC72
195/65 R 15 91 TDC72
195/65 R 15 91 HDC72
185/65 R 15 88 TDC71
195/55 R 15 85 HDC72
185/65 R 15 92 T XLDC71
16 inch
215/70 R 16 100 HDC72
215/60 R 16 99 H XLDC72
205/55 R 16 91 HDC72
205/55 R 16 94 H XLDC72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLDC72
205/55 R 16 91 TDC72
17 inch
205/50 R 17 93 V XLDC72
235/65 R 17 108 H XLDC72
225/60 R 17 103 H XLDC72
225/50 R 17 98 V XLDC72
225/45 R 17 94 V XLDC72
225/45 R 17 91 HDC72
215/55 R 17 98 V XLDC72
18 inch
235/60 R 18 107 V XLDC72
245/45 R 18 100 V XLDC72
225/40 R 18 92 V XLDC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Viking Wintech >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Viking Wintech. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Viking Wintech Reviews

Given 58% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TDi R Line Estate (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 spirited miles
I thought they were good tire but on one of then a chunk delaminated
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I was about to buy all-season tires on this car too but if i go to the mountains i don-t know if that is the best choice. I have on my golf 2017 GTD 225 40 18 all-season Hankook, they are very good in the dry and wet but never tested it on hard snow to make me buy it again. This new tire from Viking is best for you, cheep and its good, for me it has excellent grip in all conditions and it is quiet at 100km/h. Ok you don-t buy winter tires to go fast and do laps in the cold but they are good for normal driving conditions. I did not mark the wear because the tires are new and i don-t know how they will perform in time.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2023
Given 80% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
Usually I buy midrange tyres, but this time I didn't want to spend too much on an old car. Also wanted to see if I can tell the difference between budget and more expensive tyres. So it turns out yes I do - while handling is quite good and predictable, there is a noticably longer cold wet braking distance. Snow and dry is ok.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2023
Have you driven on the Viking Wintech tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Viking Wintech? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Viking Wintech >

Latest Viking Wintech Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Fiat Punto evo 1.6 MJET (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Budget tyres, average grip in the wet and dry but snow perfomance is great, great tyres for snowy areas
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Opel Vectra C Stationwagon 2.0 DTI, DIESEL 100BHP (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Back again, year is 2023, the wear is not an issue, stil not at the winter wear mark, doing a good job in the winter months even without the snow, mostly dry tarmac during the winter and the Viking holds on. Fitted 4 more on my wife's Mondeo estate. Hope the Continental will improve them and keep them available, it is a tyre I do not want to see replaced by some shittier quality new one. Bought them for the 2017 winter , rotated them only in the last 2 years, 100% they will be on next winter as well.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Fiat Punto Mk2b Sporting 1.4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
After 3 seasons of using them, these tires are showing a lot of problems in areas that they were excellent at before. Although the wear of the tires is excellent, they are seriously lacking performance in wet and snow after 3 years of using them (only using them over winter months). Tires are hard as a rock now even though they have about 5.5mm depth still on the threads. Still, they never failed me so far unlike other brands that I used before, so for a budget tire, I am giving them huge thumbs up
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Skoda (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Excellent value for money... a bit noisy...
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2020
Given 76% while driving a BMW 116d (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Very nice rolling and low noice, overall high comfort. Soft Overall feel when driving fast but predictable, not the sharpest steering. Only had very short time on snow with new tyres and the grip was very good. Average behavior in the wet.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Opel Vectra C Stationwagon 2.0 DTI, DIESEL 100BHP (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I had to buy winter tyres on a buget and Viking Wintech fit it best. They proved to be ok until one day. This year on the 24 of January.
Imagine exiting a village, road just wet, raining but not a lot and in front of me just 100 maybe metres away cars half on the road, half in the ditch on both side of the road. ICE. Hit the brakes, car slows down, slid a little and stopped. On ICE. It was incredible. There was no other choice, I had too much speed to try to stop in any other way, to change the direction of the car was not a choice on that ICE. Then I drive 30km on this icy road, first gear, raining, strong wind from side mostly because this road is on the open field. I made it home in one piece and the car too.
They have proven to be good on dry and wet and crazy good on ice.
This size is also comfortable on bad roads.
Fuel consumption is an extra 0.5 l compared to my summer Michelin Primacy 3.(so the car computer shows)
Wear is ok, I have used them for 2 winters, this is the third and they look good.
Vectra C Caravan /wagon is a heavy car, 1,6t without passengers and luggage. The tyres are not affected by the weight of the 2.0 DTI engine, I kept the same 2 tyres on the front wheels with no problems.
When they will be worn out, maybe by 2022, I will buy a new set.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa C (155/80 R13) on mostly country roads for 3,000 miles
We put these tyres on our second car,Opel Corsa C 2006y 1.0 Z10xep in 2017. Very good budget tyres,best quality in this mid-range class,exceptional for smaller cars,in everyday use - for kids to school and on regional roads city-village and back. Wear is very good,good grip in wet and dry,very good in snow. But,this is only for normal driving. Only thing that I can say that they were very nice and soft in first season of use,now they are a little bit harder but this is not a problem, they are same as Barum and Matador in this case. In this dimension they are made in Romania,other dimensions are from Puchov Slovakia We didn't push them to the limit and never will...drive carefully.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2019
Given 86% while driving a Subaru XV Crosstrek (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
For me all in all, very good tyres if you have a low budget. Can recommend!
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2019
Given 77% while driving a Fiat Punto Mk2b Sporting 1.4 (185/55 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Very good budget tyre. Excellent grip in dry, wet and snow. Wear seems pretty good.

Only downside for me is the noise.

Recommend this tyre if you are on a tight budget.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2019
Given 70% while driving a BMW E46 328CI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
You can't compare these tyres with an A brand like Conti or Michelin.
For a low budget these Vikings are the best winter tyres I have driven.
Excellent comfort, and wet grip.
Road feedback and handling are nowhere near the A brand tyres, but not as bad as I make it sound.
Wear is good.

Only thing I didn't like was the road noise they make, energy label is also pretty low. Not very economic tyres.

All in all, very good tyres if you have a low budget. Can recommend!

Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2018