Volkswagen Polo 1.2 12V Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Polo 1.2 12V.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 12V? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Polo 1.2 12V better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (46) 89% 90% 84% 87% 83% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (235) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Momo Outrun M2 (9) 88% 91% 77% 74% 71% 79%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (177) 88% 85% 79% 76% 61% 83%
Barum Polaris 2 (4) 80% 78% 75% 68% 83% 70%
Michelin Energy Saver (134) 83% 72% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 (15) 80% 56% 65% 74% 80% 83%
Bridgestone B250 (48) 66% 55% 61% 62% 70% 64%
Davanti DX390 (22) 67% 57% 59% 57% 60% 64%
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45%

Volkswagen Polo 1.2 12V Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 given 71% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-22 15:37:26
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I know i know. We've all read fake reviews. So why are youn reading this. Anothyer put up(Note the spelling mistake intentiamnaol) to show you you Im real. Anyway These Davanti tyres are fantastic/superb etc. I inherited a crap VW polo via the missus. The ride was awful. The barstards had not only not looked afetr the car but the tyres were shot. They thought theyd given me a gift. Asholes. Anyway to cut a long story short when the full servive became due (which included drilling out the fucking sparkplugs as they were welded into the head!!!!!) i asked the vw team to fit new tyres. I was offered a premium brand and the Davantis. I opted for the Davantis due to their low db rating . . 68 if I recall. The result was was a transformation of a terrible car into a comfortable motor. I don't ask much of life but these tyres are well designed to give a superb driving experience. In other words they are the dogs bollocks! i suppose the edited version wont have the chrisma of the original text. I have just had Davantis fitted to my campervan so look out. Love to all Roberto
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-22 21:50:31
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 61% (185-60-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Bough these tyres for my wifes Polo, all was good with them until i got a slow speed wobble on the steering wheel, tracking & suspension checked & all good, spoke to a mechanic i know who had his own garage and as soon as i said they were Goodyears he said the tyre is out of shape, he's had this a good few times before, i changed out the the 2 front tyres and the steering wobble had gone, i've said 5000 miles these were on, but can't think it even being that much.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-17 16:31:58
Writing about the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun given 76% (185-65-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
These tires are bit of a mixed bag for me, so I'll start with whats good with these;
Mid corner traction is very good, so good that I dont even lift off the gas on curvy sections of my every day commute. Initial traction feels really good, absolutely no tire spin at all even on very steep hills. They perform really good on rain, I had couple of downpours while driving on highway and it didnt felt like car was losing traction or acting different.
Things I dont like; braking, dry or wet no matter what I do I cannot get these tires to brake as good as my previous Bridgestone B250s, ABS kicks in so early that I had couple of emergency handbrake stops just because I couldnt stop from 70kph. Tramlining is a big issue with these tires, especially if the road surface is grooved, car gets extremely unpredictable getting off those grooves almost feels like trying to get out of a ditch while doing highway speeds. I have only done around 6K kms on these and I have a feeling these tires are going to last me a long time, I am expecting atleast 40-50K kms.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-30 15:39:31
Writing about the Wanli S1086 given 30% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
On a car I have just bought for my daughter. Poor grip in the dry and worse in the wet in a front wheel drive VW Polo. Road noise is virtually intolerable. I would imagine they will wear quite well as the rubber compound must be hard for them to grip so poorly. Little to no feed back through the tyres. I will be swapping them as soon as possible.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-02 17:20:07
Writing about the Momo Outrun M2 given 51% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
those tires provide Good traction and good braking but that's all.

when it comes to cornering, the steering response is numb and the sidewall is too soft to handle the car weight. We have tested at the track on a peugeot 106 and VW polo and the top half of the "Momo" engraved on the sidewall had been shreded on the ground.

it's not a bad tyre for city driving and daily driving cars, but for the track, is terrible.

Running on a Vw Polo 1.6 8v 150cv.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-14 04:06:38
Writing about the Bridgestone B250 given 51% (175-70-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17000 average miles
These tyres came with my VW Polo, great motorway tyres, they last quite a while and not too loud however they are not grippy, they perform fine for urban usage but most definitely not for steep hills or rain.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-25 16:51:52
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 91% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
These are the best tyres I've ever purchased. I can't comment about wear as they have only been installed for about 2000km however, I've recently discovered that Wet Grip is better than dry. I tried some 60-0 and the ABS kicks in a few times before coming to a stop. Yesterday I did the same in soaking wet (crap) roads and the car stopped in a shorter distance than dry and without ABS kicking in. I still can't believe how that is possible. To give you a better perspective, I slammed on the brakes and the car felt like it's going to do a wheelie at the back. THAT'S how good these tyres are.

I had Nexen CP661 which where great, but these, these are a whole new level of good.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-04 20:04:37
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 99% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-08 17:55:52
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 86% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just replaced Pirellis P6000s with these tyres and WOW...the ride, comfort and grip are all very impressive...so much so my car feels like a better car for it!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-03 02:35:15
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 74% (175-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
A really good tyre which has transformed the handling of my VW Polo.

Previous I have fitted a range of Budget and 'Mid' priced tyres to my car including some Kuhmo's and Matador (Stella 2) tyres. These [mid priced and budget tyres] made the wet weather handling very unpredicatble, the car would understeer and 'wash out' at very low speeds on most roundabouts and when driving on motorways in very wet weather hitting standing water made the car 'float' and aquaplane, breaking away with no or little warning. The ABS warning light would come on regularly too with my previous tyres on anyhting but a dry surface.

What a HUGE difference these tyres have made!!!! Wet weather driving is no longer a heart in the mouth experience, and now I feel very confident in my car and tyres.

Wet weather handling is now predictable, although a little compromised on dry weather handling and breaking.

1000 miles done (I will report back on tyre wear later), and I would highly recommend these tyres.

tyre reviewed on 2011-02-19 17:36:56
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 83% (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Decent for an Economy tyre, replaced the OEM Firestone F590's on my VW Polo and they inspire much more confidence in grip levels. Dry grip is great, I can feel the car can holds much more on demanding bends than my previous tyre which tends to give out slightly. Wet grip is OK, though too much standing water at high speeds (i.e. Motorways) will aquaplane the car slightly but never beyond control.

Snow and Ice is surprisingly decent for a Summer Economy tyre in my experience as it coped the recent heavy snowfalls but that's probably down to the setup of my car (lightweight FWD supermini). Though too much untreated ice on the roads and it can slip, so they're still no substitute for Winter tyres.

Comfort-wise it is a bit more nosier than my original Firestones, its probably down to the harder compound of the tyres. But the trade off is that it has good longevity, almost approaching 10,000 miles and it still have plenty of tread left.

Overall while a bit pricey, they're great tyres and would consider re-purchasing again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-19 16:58:38
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre