Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response

The Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP3000a and this tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop Sport BluResponse.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 77%
Wear 76%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 78%

Tyre review data from 103 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,412,351 miles driven.

The SP Sport Fast Response is ranked 30th of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 ACE Touring Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 14 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Overall - One of the sportier tyres on test, the Dunlop showed a strong balance between wet and dry performance. At the noisiest tyre on test, it was just beaten to 3rd by the Nexen
View Full Test >>

2012 Autoreview Touring Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Quick steering response, very quiet, high resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Due to the quick steering, can be difficult to control in the wet
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R15 88V AO E B 68 8.77kgs
175/65 R15 84H XL   C A 67 7.02kgs
195/65 R15 91T XL MO C C 69 7.75kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AOE E C 68 10.18kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AO C C 68 8.95kgs
185/55 R16 83V XL   E B 68 8.24kgs
185/55 R16 87H XL   E C 68 8.24kgs
205/55 R16 91H MO C B 67 8.33kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 69 8.93kgs
205/55 R16 91V MO C B 67 8.62kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C B 68 10.47kgs
225/55 R16 95W MO C C 70 11.01kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   B B 68 10.22kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL MOEXTENDED E B 69 10.56kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL AO C B 68 10.12kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL AO E B 69 10.05kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   E B 70 9.17kgs
205/55 R17 91V XL * E B 69 9.75kgs
215/55 R17 94W XL   E C 71 11.10kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response

2016-07-27 - I have always had "Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response" tyres, fitted to my Vectra 2.2. My local dealer now only supplies "Dunlop (BLUE) Response" tyres. Is the (Blue Response) Tyre a better or direct replacement, or can I still get the "Fast Response" Tyres?

The Dunlop Sport BluResponse is Dunlops latest tyre in this segment so can be used to replace the Dunlop Sport Fast Response.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Sport Fast Response Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £73.00 - £79.90 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.89 - £107.78 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Very good tyres, but I was dissapointed they worn out in a couple of seasons.
64 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2016   
Given 97% while driving a Toyota Auris (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
35,000 miles and on the tread wear blocks, motorway and A,B Roads exceptional wear and performance.
29 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2016   
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Awesome tires!
Im a sporty type of driver,fast turns,hard brakes...these tires are my heroes.
Dont know about the "C" category of wet braking/
handling because these tires brake excellent on wet surfaces and feel very adherent.
20 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2017   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 18,000 average miles
205 55 r16 Dunlop SP sport fast response
lot of feedback, maybe too much, not very comfort but great in handling
pirelli r17 is more comfortable
they were old and after my 18000km they lost some pieces
3 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I recently bought a set of second hand wheels. They came equipped with these tires. They have dot 20.11 and still have a few mm on them.
After several hundreds of kilometers on the highway, I can say that they do well for 8 years old tires.
I'm going to buy new ones, but I'm not sure what to buy ...
12 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14,500 average miles
[Mazda3 mk1 1.6 petrol TS2 4dr saloon, 55/Jan 2006 plate]

I bought these tyres when my car was 6yo as the previous OEM Bridgestone ER30s where very noisy (only after 6 months from new) and had got very poor in the wet, even if they had lasted very well (still 4-5mm all around).

The new Dunlops were far better on these fronts, and very good in the dry as well, as well as holding up nicely: 5-6mm on the fronts, 6mm on the rears (7mm when new). Just as economical (mpg) as the (hard) Bridgestones were - I'm still getting 40-41mpg average over the year on a similar journey profile.

A good, solid all-rounder, and good value for money (£72 [each] fitted price back in Aug 2012 at local fitter, sourced via national online retailer [delivered to fitter] + 4x Tesco pts).
17 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2016   
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
I have these tyres for 4 year with ~50.000 km. I'm not sport's driver, living in region were we have snow in winter and hot days in summer meaning I have to change tyres to winter/summer season. So my opinion for those who prefer comfort and security. As new these tyres were perfect, good grip, not so noisy, 180km/h was stable on road, and no additional noises. 160km/h in the German Autobahn was the same, so I liked these tyres. But. After few year usage, with ~35.000-40.000 km, after few changes I have notices strange sound like bumping, like unaligned wheel sound. I was told one the tyres is not equaly weared, like with corners (remember, no hard brakes, high speeds only occacional). Also noise appeared from all tyres. So now my winter tyres are less noisy. Also realised that turning wheels demands more power than turning with winter tyres. So, good tyres after few year became not so good and costed me few visits to garage. Cannot recommend such tyre for such price.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a Volvo S40 2.0d (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on my Volvo on front axle. They replaced Goodyear's Efficient Grips tyres. After 11.000 miles they were down to 3mm. Got them replaced even if I didn't have to, because they became noisy by the end of their life and slippery as weel. When they were new I was happy with them.
Dry cornering was very good, braking as well. On wet they were very good too. Wear rate is bad, but it is with any soft sport tyre compound.
Would I buy them again? No. Don't get me wrong, the are good tyres, but there are better choices now.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I consider these tyres a medium choice.Most times they did well both on dry and wet ecxept from demanding braking on motorways when the car stability was not that good. Now that they are at 40k klm they fell slippery.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompessor Coupe Auto (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had these for 2 years and got about 30000kms will tread still to use. Last changed tyres because changed rims and had to go to dunlop sportmaxx which aren't as good.
Dry grip was great in the dry and wet grip was still good, hard accelerating comfortably in the wet.
noise was minimal which is appreciable on my car.
Wear was reasonable and even for occasional spirited urban driving and well aligned car.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2015   
Given 87% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer Type S (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Great touring tyre. It quiet (and was quiet for all its lifetime), comfy and has very good grip on dry and also in wet. Also mileage is very good, over 30.000 miles.
I have got MFS 91W version, with the rim protector which is great and I miss it at the new bluresponse tyre at 16" size.


On the other hand I drove 15" fastresponse on diesel focus (15" H) and the mileae was very poor (15000 miles I guess). Probably depends size to size.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2015   
Given 96% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 48 easy going miles
A superb tyre, worked well, went the miles and covered all requirements. Drove for around 48,000 on the fronts. Worked well in the snow, wet and dry.
Only reason for replacememt was due to a puncture, so side wall could be improved to be more resistant to punctures.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2015   
Given 74% while driving a Ford c max (225/45 R16 V) on mostly town for 237 average miles
these tyres seem very good for the money normally buy mitchelin but money very tight at the moment
0 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Renault Megane (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
My driving style is very various depending on how I’m feeling…so I was tested this tyres in almost all conditions. First of all what I want from a tyre is to be comfortable as long as I don’t have a sport car… And unfortunately this model isn’t comfortable at all. The noise is not so far away from my Firestone Winterhawk 2 which is an winter tyre !!! The noise is really bad at this tyre and I was cheated by the EU label which evaluated at 69db and just one line from 3…
In the rest the tyres are very good in the curve and progressive driving, very good on hot (not just warm) weather but very very low performance if the temperature decreases bellow 15C…
I recommend those tyres just for the south of Europe or northern Africa weather and just if you don’t care about the noise.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A3 Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
Had these on for 2 years / >25000 miles and are only down to 4mm. (Rotated once).
Mainly motorway miles. Yesterday I encountered a relatively high speed blowout (NS rear) on the A1, where the complete tyre except the walls around the edges shredded off. I guess the solid walls of the Tyre saved any worse damage and I managed to safely get into the lay-by.
All the other Dunlops have been checked this morning and a Infinity tyre installed temporarily. Therefore, I reccomend this tyre. It has certainly proved its worth, and I guess the blowout was a one-off.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2014