Michelin Energy Saver

The Michelin Energy Saver is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Energy E3B and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy Saver Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 71%
Wear 85%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 134 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 3,052,708 miles driven.

The Energy Saver is ranked 66th of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear and excellent rolling resistance. Short braking distances and precise handling in the dry.
  • Negative - Poor curved aquaplaning, high purchase price.
View Full Test >>

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 - 2nd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, top marks in the wet, low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 3rd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced tyre, scores well in all safety related tests.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/65 R15 88H XL * B A 68 6.68kgs
175/65 R15 84H * C A 68 6.68kgs
185/65 R15 88T   E B 68 7.18kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68 7.80kgs
185/65 R15 88T MO C A 68 7.55kgs
195/65 R15 91T MO B A 70 7.40kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 70 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91H MO B A 70 7.30kgs
195/65 R15 91H AO C B 70 7.45kgs
195/55 R16 87H * E A 70 8.35kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C B 70 7.94kgs
195/55 R16 87V * E A 70 8.18kgs
195/55 R16 87W * B A 70 7.80kgs
195/55 R16 87H G1 C A 70 7.90kgs
205/55 R16 91V MO B B 70 7.68kgs
205/55 R16 91V * C A 70 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H MO B B 70 7.70kgs
205/55 R16 91H * C A 70 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H   E B 70 8.20kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E B 70 8.22kgs
205/55 R16 91W MO B B 70 7.65kgs
205/55 R16 91W * B A 70 8.05kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70 9.30kgs
195/60 R16 89V MO B B 70 8.00kgs
205/60 R16 92W * B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92V MO B A 70 8.75kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 70 8.70kgs
205/60 R16 92V * B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92H * E A 70 9.00kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C B 70 9.59kgs
225/60 R16 98V   C A 69 9.70kgs
215/55 R17 94H   B B 71 8.80kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Energy Saver

2019-03-29 - Hello Tyre Reviews! I wonder if you can help me please? I need to replace the two front Michelin Energy Saver tyres on my Mini Cooper 1.5 which came with it when new (195 55 R16 W). Is this the best tyre do you think? I've seen some reviews saying they're not very good in the wet. I don't mind paying the high price for Michelin. But are there any other worthy alternatives that I should consider please? Many thanks for your time and help! Ian

Check out the second half of our tyre recommendation video here.


2020-08-25 - How many years this tires can stored under normal weather condition ( I’m from Sri Lanka, so it’s basically summer all around year) , before use. (Rubber in tires started to hardened after some years, that’s why I asked this question)

Tyre manufacturers recommend 2 years before selling, and a total of ~5 years before the tyres age out and need replacement.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £69.29 - £115.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £77.89 - £142.20 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/65 R15 £200.29 - £207.20 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 11 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Energy Saver Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Opel Corsa D 1.4 (195/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Original tyres fitted to the car. Driven the remarkable 91000km (56000miles) with these tyres, of which 20000km (12500miles)were in the Uk's hard tarmac. The rest have been covered in bumpy and slippery as hell Greece. Not the best to drive at the limit but for an average driver like me are a respectable choice. Replaced them this week; with Michelin Energy Saver of course.
Helpful 110 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2015
Given 90% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
these tyres replaced the original bridgestone b 391
they felt an upgrade over the original bridgestone b 391 cause the bridgestone were at the end of their life
they michelin was more comfortable and had better grip giving better feedback the wear however was worse
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.2VTi (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 52,500 average miles
This is my ens of life review of the Michelin Energy Saver tyres OEM fitted on my Peugeot 208 driven in the Netherlands.

The Energy Savers are an excellent tyre that didn't disappoint. At no time I had an unsafe feeling and had plenty of grip on both dry and wet roads in all situations. The tyres felt a bit hard on uneven roads and handling was good but clearly not a performance tyre. Tyre life was amazing, 5 years and 84500km (52500 miles) later they still had 3,5 mm (front) and 5,5 mm (back) thread depth on it. They did however got cracks around the sidewall and that was a major reason for replacement.

I gave a 6 for buy again, not because I was unsatisfied but in 2017 there are better options available. I changed to Michelin CrossClimate Plus (see my initial review). When we compare the Michelin Energy Savers and CrossClimates I would say grip levels are about equal in the dry and wet while the CrossClimates have superior comfort, handling and road feedback with winter performance as a welcome bonus.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy Saver tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy Saver? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy Saver >

Latest Michelin Energy Saver Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 43,200 easy going miles
The tyres came with the car, after 7 years of use and 69500Km (43200 miles) they started to show signs of dry rubber from the wear itself whey would probably last for more than 100000Km (62000 miles), the car was not parked in a garage, but at a relatively sheltered and covered location, for my drive style these are perfect.

On the dry they are perfectly fine, on the wet they never gave me any scares or surprises. When being pushed they don't give away the grip suddenly making them quite predictable.

Being 185/65R15 the comfort is quite good, but road feedback is quite tame, you can feel if they are gripping well, but they are quite cushioned.

I often drive in highway and, while I don't have a comparison, I believe that they helped quite a lot in the fuel consumption, time will tell if the replacements will achieve such consumption.

I replace them with what was available at a reasonable price, sadly these are not longer available and their replacement, the Energy Saver Plus, are not easily available and are really expensive, Primacy 4 are somewhat expensive as well, in the end I went for the Continental UltraContact UC6 as they were quite cheap (when compared with the previous alternatives) and well regarded, hopefully these will last at least 50000Km.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Fiat Qubo (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
This tire came with stock. I used 4 years 45000km. Threads not wear to much, however after 3 years it is started crack on sides. And after 3 years it started tearing teeths. My last trip, over 2000km it is cracked on threads. Same things happened my father’s car too. So, nice tire but not long last. I order Crossclimate 2 for replacement. I am thinking not use anymore my Blizzak for winter.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 63% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 65,000 average miles
OE tyres on Skoda Superb Combi 2015 1.6 TDi GreenLine. Tyres had a long lifespan, and performed ok, but a lot of that is overshadowed by the dry rotting that these Michelins have. To make matters worse, the left front tyre got a broken belt in the middle of the thread! Very dangerous stuff! Btw the dot code was from 2014 and this happened in 2020. I don't like to recommend these, although this is a old tyre replaced by the Energy Saver +, which in turn have kind of been replaced by the e.Primacy. The ES+ is still made in some smaller sizes, but I dont recommend buying them.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
Volkswagen (205/55 R16) on for 21,000 miles
The Energy Saver tyre has one significant weak link - poor wet grip. When pulling out onto wet roundabouts or T junctions, I experience very poor grip which is quite concerning at times. In dry conditions the tyre is great and very long lasting. We have done 21k miles and the tyre is now at 3mm. I can't stand them any more so swapping now.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2021
Given 53% while driving a Citroën berlingo (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I bought the car a year old. This tyre was the factory default. They did just above 10,000 miles. The front tyres were almost on marker. 3 out of the 4 tyres were badly cracked at the base around the threads so much they would have failed MOT. I have looked this up and found many had similar issues, they say due to the soft compound. When I drove it in light rain it felt like I was skating, was literally so bad. I have joined an fb group for this car and half of the owners complained about the same. They said it was OK brand new but as it wore down it got terrible. Basically all of them opted for different tyres when they nedded/decided to replace. Don't get me wrong I am not against the brand, I had winter tyres a few years back of it and they were brilliant, but I'd say being a premium tyre with premium price this particular tyre is not worth it. Also bear in mind I had them "used" so my experience and rating is for that, I didn't drive them brand new. Also the car is a 7 seater almost van like family car so not driven in a sporty fashion. I have mid range tyres on my other car which overall perform way better.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2021
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.6 vti (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 36,500 easy going miles
I bought a four years old car with only 10.000 km and the original tyres. I travel 50.000 km since then and the tyres thread still have few millimwters. I believe the rubber become old and hard (8 y.o.), infact the adherence and traction in wet is now very poor. My driving style is mostly quiet, except very very few times on mountain roads. I appreciate the confort in term of noise and the ability to absorb road roughness. The fuel consumption was also very low, but also due to my driving style.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2021
Given 76% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Been using these tires for 2 months and 10,000 kms so far. the weather is too hot and sunny all year round with bad roads and asphalt (a big challenge for any tires). grip Was very good initially but dry and wet grip deteriorated after only 10,000 KMs. Exceptionally silent tires so far, they almost cause no sound. soft side wall, good for unpaved and harsh roads. will see how would they survive as i wont replace them before completing 70,000 more kms
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2021
Given 95% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
These were fitted on my car when I bought it, they had about 6mm of tread (they were made at the start of 2019). After 24000 miles I must say I’m impressed, they are now at 3mm. They have dealt with all sorts weather really well and there has been no noticeable loss of performance. The only criticism is that there are nascent small cracks appearing in the side wall. I would buy them again as I’ve got lots of miles out of them.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2021
Given 29% while driving a Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres dated from 2013 to 27th week 2015. All have cracked really badly. Wet grip awful. Failed an mot bad. All 4 being replaced tomorrow. My mot man advised never to buy Michelin tyres as they crack. Last tyre purchased cost £83.50. Waste of money. Totally gutted. I run a merc on continentals. No problem whatsoever. My astra is getting well rated budget tyres tomorrow. All 4 for £210 inc fitting. Avoid Michelin at all inflated cost!
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2020
Given 69% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I've used these tyres for 3 years on my car, and they are overall good, but there's a flaw I have to mention: for the first 2 years I didn't notice any problem in any conditions, but at the end of their life the wet performance decreased by much, and the last times I drove them in rainy conditions the grip simply wasn't there, I had to go much slower to prevent dangerous situations. I did not expect that from a tyre rated "A" for wet grip. I've been able to drive the new model (Energy Saver +) on my dad's car, and I have to say that is much better in the wet at the end of its life.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2020
Given 69% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 35,000 average miles
I bought these tires after reading very positive ADAC test review. They wrote these tires are really good in all conditions and will also last very long. I've never had tires that are both good and longlasting, it's usually one or the other and I would not believe it if was just a manufacturer promo claim. Since ADAC also confirmed it on their testing ground I believed. My experience is that these really are extremely longlasting, comfortable and low noise tires. But also terrible for me in the wet, I have 0 confidence in them on the wet motorway. I corners car feels so light, slightly drifting to the outside with me being scared to turn more not to lose it. There is quite a lot of "meat" above the wear markers, but I have to change them.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2020
Given 54% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
For fuel saving, it did great job. However, not fun, grip and feedback not good. Noisy after 10k.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020