Michelin Energy Saver

The Michelin Energy Saver is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Energy E3B and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy Saver Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 71%
Wear 85%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 130 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 2,918,508 miles driven.

The Energy Saver is ranked 60th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear and excellent rolling resistance. Short braking distances and precise handling in the dry.
  • Negative - Poor curved aquaplaning, high purchase price.
View Full Test >>

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 - 2nd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, top marks in the wet, low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2011 Finnish ECO Touring Tyre Test - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent rolling resistance
  • Negative - Poor wet performance
  • Overall - Its the usual story for the Michelin Energy Saver - excellent rolling reistance but at the expense of wet performance. This tyre is due an update.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/65 R15 88H XL * B A 68 6.68kgs
175/65 R15 84H * C A 68 6.68kgs
185/65 R15 88T   E B 68 7.18kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68 7.80kgs
185/65 R15 88T MO C A 68 7.55kgs
195/65 R15 91T MO B A 70 7.40kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 70 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91H MO B A 70 7.30kgs
195/65 R15 91H AO C B 70 7.45kgs
195/55 R16 87H * E A 70 8.35kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C B 70 7.94kgs
195/55 R16 87V * E A 70 8.18kgs
195/55 R16 87W * B A 70 7.80kgs
195/55 R16 87H G1 C A 70 7.90kgs
205/55 R16 91V MO B B 70 7.68kgs
205/55 R16 91V * C A 70 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H MO B B 70 7.70kgs
205/55 R16 91H * C A 70 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H   E B 70 8.20kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E B 70 8.22kgs
205/55 R16 91W MO B B 70 7.65kgs
205/55 R16 91W * B A 70 8.05kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70 9.30kgs
195/60 R16 89V MO B B 70 8.00kgs
205/60 R16 92W * B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92V MO B A 70 8.75kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 70 8.70kgs
205/60 R16 92V * B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92H * E A 70 9.00kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C B 70 9.59kgs
225/60 R16 98V   C A 69 9.70kgs
215/55 R17 94H   B B 71 8.80kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Energy Saver

2019-03-29 - Hello Tyre Reviews! I wonder if you can help me please? I need to replace the two front Michelin Energy Saver tyres on my Mini Cooper 1.5 which came with it when new (195 55 R16 W). Is this the best tyre do you think? I've seen some reviews saying they're not very good in the wet. I don't mind paying the high price for Michelin. But are there any other worthy alternatives that I should consider please? Many thanks for your time and help! Ian

Check out the second half of our tyre recommendation video here.


2020-08-25 - How many years this tires can stored under normal weather condition ( I’m from Sri Lanka, so it’s basically summer all around year) , before use. (Rubber in tires started to hardened after some years, that’s why I asked this question)

Tyre manufacturers recommend 2 years before selling, and a total of ~5 years before the tyres age out and need replacement.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Energy Saver Prices

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £67.00 - £118.90 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £76.90 - £92.77 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £106.75 - £166.90 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 10 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Energy Saver Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Opel Corsa D 1.4 (195/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Original tyres fitted to the car. Driven the remarkable 91000km (56000miles) with these tyres, of which 20000km (12500miles)were in the Uk's hard tarmac. The rest have been covered in bumpy and slippery as hell Greece. Not the best to drive at the limit but for an average driver like me are a respectable choice. Replaced them this week; with Michelin Energy Saver of course.
105 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
these tyres replaced the original bridgestone b 391
they felt an upgrade over the original bridgestone b 391 cause the bridgestone were at the end of their life
they michelin was more comfortable and had better grip giving better feedback the wear however was worse
23 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017   
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.2VTi (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 52,500 average miles
This is my ens of life review of the Michelin Energy Saver tyres OEM fitted on my Peugeot 208 driven in the Netherlands.

The Energy Savers are an excellent tyre that didn't disappoint. At no time I had an unsafe feeling and had plenty of grip on both dry and wet roads in all situations. The tyres felt a bit hard on uneven roads and handling was good but clearly not a performance tyre. Tyre life was amazing, 5 years and 84500km (52500 miles) later they still had 3,5 mm (front) and 5,5 mm (back) thread depth on it. They did however got cracks around the sidewall and that was a major reason for replacement.

I gave a 6 for buy again, not because I was unsatisfied but in 2017 there are better options available. I changed to Michelin CrossClimate Plus (see my initial review). When we compare the Michelin Energy Savers and CrossClimates I would say grip levels are about equal in the dry and wet while the CrossClimates have superior comfort, handling and road feedback with winter performance as a welcome bonus.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy Saver tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy Saver? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy Saver >

Latest Michelin Energy Saver Reviews

Volkswagen (205/55 R16) on for 21,000 miles
The Energy Saver tyre has one significant weak link - poor wet grip. When pulling out onto wet roundabouts or T junctions, I experience very poor grip which is quite concerning at times. In dry conditions the tyre is great and very long lasting. We have done 21k miles and the tyre is now at 3mm. I can't stand them any more so swapping now.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Citroën berlingo (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I bought the car a year old. This tyre was the factory default. They did just above 10,000 miles. The front tyres were almost on marker. 3 out of the 4 tyres were badly cracked at the base around the threads so much they would have failed MOT. I have looked this up and found many had similar issues, they say due to the soft compound. When I drove it in light rain it felt like I was skating, was literally so bad. I have joined an fb group for this car and half of the owners complained about the same. They said it was OK brand new but as it wore down it got terrible. Basically all of them opted for different tyres when they nedded/decided to replace. Don't get me wrong I am not against the brand, I had winter tyres a few years back of it and they were brilliant, but I'd say being a premium tyre with premium price this particular tyre is not worth it. Also bear in mind I had them "used" so my experience and rating is for that, I didn't drive them brand new. Also the car is a 7 seater almost van like family car so not driven in a sporty fashion. I have mid range tyres on my other car which overall perform way better.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.6 vti (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 36,500 easy going miles
I bought a four years old car with only 10.000 km and the original tyres. I travel 50.000 km since then and the tyres thread still have few millimwters. I believe the rubber become old and hard (8 y.o.), infact the adherence and traction in wet is now very poor. My driving style is mostly quiet, except very very few times on mountain roads. I appreciate the confort in term of noise and the ability to absorb road roughness. The fuel consumption was also very low, but also due to my driving style.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2021   
Given 76% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Been using these tires for 2 months and 10,000 kms so far. the weather is too hot and sunny all year round with bad roads and asphalt (a big challenge for any tires). grip Was very good initially but dry and wet grip deteriorated after only 10,000 KMs. Exceptionally silent tires so far, they almost cause no sound. soft side wall, good for unpaved and harsh roads. will see how would they survive as i wont replace them before completing 70,000 more kms
0 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2021   
Given 95% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
These were fitted on my car when I bought it, they had about 6mm of tread (they were made at the start of 2019). After 24000 miles I must say I’m impressed, they are now at 3mm. They have dealt with all sorts weather really well and there has been no noticeable loss of performance. The only criticism is that there are nascent small cracks appearing in the side wall. I would buy them again as I’ve got lots of miles out of them.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2021   
Given 29% while driving a Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres dated from 2013 to 27th week 2015. All have cracked really badly. Wet grip awful. Failed an mot bad. All 4 being replaced tomorrow. My mot man advised never to buy Michelin tyres as they crack. Last tyre purchased cost £83.50. Waste of money. Totally gutted. I run a merc on continentals. No problem whatsoever. My astra is getting well rated budget tyres tomorrow. All 4 for £210 inc fitting. Avoid Michelin at all inflated cost!
1 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I've used these tyres for 3 years on my car, and they are overall good, but there's a flaw I have to mention: for the first 2 years I didn't notice any problem in any conditions, but at the end of their life the wet performance decreased by much, and the last times I drove them in rainy conditions the grip simply wasn't there, I had to go much slower to prevent dangerous situations. I did not expect that from a tyre rated "A" for wet grip. I've been able to drive the new model (Energy Saver +) on my dad's car, and I have to say that is much better in the wet at the end of its life.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 35,000 average miles
I bought these tires after reading very positive ADAC test review. They wrote these tires are really good in all conditions and will also last very long. I've never had tires that are both good and longlasting, it's usually one or the other and I would not believe it if was just a manufacturer promo claim. Since ADAC also confirmed it on their testing ground I believed. My experience is that these really are extremely longlasting, comfortable and low noise tires. But also terrible for me in the wet, I have 0 confidence in them on the wet motorway. I corners car feels so light, slightly drifting to the outside with me being scared to turn more not to lose it. There is quite a lot of "meat" above the wear markers, but I have to change them.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2020   
Given 54% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
For fuel saving, it did great job. However, not fun, grip and feedback not good. Noisy after 10k.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a BMW F30 320D (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have these tyres for 3 years now on my summer wheels. They are ok for most drivers, but they are quite bad on wet surfaces when it’s below 15 Celsius. They also feel a bit unsecure at higher speeds (over 160 kph - 100 mph). My Skoda Octavia with Goodyear Eagle F1 gsd3 feels a lot better at high speeds than the 3series with Michelin Energy Saver. The fuel economy compared to the winter tyres that I use (Goodyear ultragrip 8) is not so different. Probably 0.2 l/100km less on the Energy Saver. During colder mornings the back of my car goes sideways quite fast if I accelerate a bit harder. Conclusion: I will go for other tires next season.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2020   
Given 45% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 6N (215/65 R16) on for 100 miles
It is the worst tire that I have ever used. It came with VW Polo stock, and I ve changed them Continental All Season. Michelin Energy saver is especially bad on wet roads in both ways handling and braking. I do not recommend this tire
1 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Volvo V60 D2 (205/60 R16) on mostly town for 100,000 average miles
Tires are quite good, they last more than other brands, but tread deterioration tend to appear after 50% of the usable tire.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2020