Continental ContiMaxContact MC5

The Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 80%
Wear 78%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 84%

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 559,860 miles driven.

The ContiMaxContact MC5 is ranked 27th of 147 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a BMW 525D (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
spirited driver and i do intend to test my tires..first thing i did when i put these tires on my 5 series...shift to sport mode and put my foot down, peeling out...doing 160~180km dodging all the cars ahead...making sudden lane change with hard cornering...what a great set of tires!!! i had to drive under 130km during heavy rain, felt uncomfortable doing 150km...
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2020
Given 80% while driving a Hyundai i20 (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
Great tyres with great wet and dry grip but wears out faster if you are frequently driving enthusiastically on corners . Rest everything about the tyre is great
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2023
Given 42% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Worst tyre i’ve ever had in my life.. Used over 1000 miles in my civic 17 model with worst road grip, thinking to switch to UC6 or pilot sport 3
Helpful 85 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2018
Have you driven on the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 >

Latest Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors Kia Optima K5 (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 21,000 average miles
Kia K5 original fitment. Front tyres worn out in 19,000km. A mixture of highway and local driving. The rear tyres are still good at 35,000km.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Hyundai i20 (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
Great tyres with great wet and dry grip but wears out faster if you are frequently driving enthusiastically on corners . Rest everything about the tyre is great
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
ii had conti mc5 since day one on my civic 2018 done 78k and i got ot changed to michelin primacy 4. Just drove to kl n back from jb felt the road handling not as good as continental. Feel bumpy. less noise. Thinking about changing back to continental.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Ford Ecosport (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I drive a ford Ecosport 2015 diesel. It came with Indian MRFs and those lasted about 75k kilometres which mostly was cardio in the car on indian roads. The MRFs had barely any grip because of the very hard rubber and it was difficult to stop the car. Skids were usual. Switching to MC5s was the best decision. The car has been driving very good although the tyres are very prone to punctures post 4mm of tread. These are comfortable and very good on high speeds. wet grip is amazing as well. sadly they dont make em anymore. I'm switching to UC5 which should be good.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
The tyre performed really well throughout in wet and dry conditions in high speeds as well. But at 80000 kms (50000 miles), one fine day on motorway, a tyre just burst. If possible, i can add a picture of the burst tyre.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Honda 1.8 VTi (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Amazing tyres so soft like cotton.great handling while over taking at higher speed.tyres gives great grip on the road no bumpy ride on brakers its muaah
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2019
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
They were a great tire especially at the price point. My biggest issue with them was how they gave way quickly when pushed rather than being progressive. If you don't plan on pushing your car to the limit then these are an incredible tire for the price.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2019
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Harrier (235/55 R18) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Better than I thought. Used Bridgestone Dueler, and Yokohama Geolandar with this
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 41,000 spirited miles
I purchased a Civic 1.5T back in mid 2016 and they came with Continental MC5. First time using Conti, I didn't know what to expect and thought of just using it and till it wears out. What I do know is that the MC5 was launched in the earlier part of this decade and the tire technology would have improved a fair bit since then.I have used several brands during the last 20 years of driving the and I have to say these are tires that perform well in all aspects. Pricing, performance (wet & dry), comfort, durability....you name it. I have a tendency to have spirited drives 50% of the time and do lots of high-speed cruising on the freeway. Even with some hard cornering's, it holds it's line well and will give you ample warning before you go over it's limit. Remarkably and after almost 2 years and 65K KM, the tires are about done and about to reach the main wear indicator. This is the highest mileage I've gotten out of a set of tires and still holds reasonably well in the wets albeit at slower speeds. All 4 tires are evenly worn as I rotate them at every 10k intervals. To get the max performance out of them, I inflate them on the harder side (cold tires, 36-38psi) as I find the recommended 32psi just too soft for my liking. The sidewalls are on the softer side, hence the logic of inflating them harder - but not too hard till it performs badly in the wets!!!

In short, i'm happy with the tires and will recommend them to anyone who wants a slightly above mid priced performance all-rounder tire. The MC6 was launched late 2017 and I will be purchasing the evolution of the MC5 in a couple weeks time. Earlier reviews of the MC6 shows promising results and cant wait to try on the new shoes!!!
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2018
Given 81% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (195/50 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
Replacing my old Kumho Ecsta ku23 with these Conti MC5 was the best decision made for my Jazz. This tires bring a whole new level of confidence to the car. Hard breaking no longer activate the ABS in wet or dry. cornering at the limit is more gradual not abrupt like before.Road feedback is so-so but the ride is comfortable. Front tires center pattern is already gone but no noticeable drop in performance. I expect this set to last at least another 40000 Km.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Altezza RS200Z (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Had these tyres for just over a year now. Very happy with dry & wet grip vs. cost. I previously had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy2 but didn't really need that level of performance anymore. They're as good in nearly every aspect as the F1s, probably even better resistance to aquaplaning, lower rolling resistance & quieter on smooth seal but do lack outright lateral grip when pushed. The side walls seem to be a lot softer but they do give you warning you're at the limit.
I've probably done about 7000 km on them now but they're not showing any signs of wear & still had approx. 7mm of tread on my last WOF (MOT) check done recently. I'll be happy if I get 40-50K km out of them.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2017
Given 96% while driving a Subaru XV Crosstrek (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just had this on after using Yokohama geolandar that written after 46000km which made my AWD car skid few times at round about. Hopefully I made the right choice with this. It's just initial review so hopefully will add more feed back as I get along.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2017