Opel Astra G Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Opel Astra G.

Do you Drive a Opel Astra G? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Astra G better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Dunlop Winter Response 2 (10) 86% 90% 92% 82% 87% 93%
Lassa Snoways2 Plus (2) 100% 100% 80% 85% 90% 85%
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (31) 87% 93% 85% 81% 72% 83%
Tigar Hitris (9) 88% 90% 78% 83% 73% 76%
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Ceat Formula Winter (1) 80% 90% 70% 70% 70% 90%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Sava intensa uhp (15) 83% 74% 79% 71% 78% 76%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (112) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 79%
Infinity Ecosis (9) 82% 74% 71% 66% 69% 78%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Debica Navigator 2 (4) 73% 53% 70% 63% 68% 70%
Firestone F700 (8) 84% 61% 74% 73% 71% 69%
Pirelli PZero Nero (134) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (14) 75% 61% 64% 61% 84% 71%
Nexen N Priz 4S (14) 78% 59% 65% 66% 65% 76%
Semperit Speed Life (10) 69% 61% 67% 59% 52% 66%
Triangle WinterX TW401 (1) 80% 80% 60% 60% 60% 60%
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport 30 (4) 75% 58% 58% 53% 53% 40%
Mentor M200 (1) 20% 50% 50% 60% 80% 40%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%

Opel Astra G Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Triangle WinterX TW401 given 58% (195-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
after ~7000km of use - stay away from snow. 95% of the time I were driving on snow less roads. Didnt have much snow this winter but I did buy these TRIANGLE WINTERX TW401 becouse they did show good result on wet/ice in 1 and only test I found. Yes, they were realy ok on these. I knew they wont be excelent with deep snow - and I guess it right, but still driveable. My guess - after 3000km they do lose his best rubber for snow preformance. Now on the dry and wet they still ok, (the wear of fronts is 3mm). There is no way I will swap axles for the next winter. Just - keep going all summer or buy summer tires. Dont use/buy it if u are a line to line quick changer. They have soft sidewalls. I was expecting stronger sidewalls as they are made for middle europe winters. I would recomend these tires for down side england or channel island weathers in winter.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-25 22:00:41
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 94% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
I am already at the second set of CPC5, I took the first set in 2015 and they lasted 4 years and about 40k km. I have never been disappointed by them regardless of the road and abuse :) I recommend them with confidence to those who want to go on a well-established model that offers you security and a smile on your face when necessary.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-28 19:29:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 88% (195-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
i have lm005 for 3000 miles now and it s great, i m waiting the snow to see how it performs
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-28 17:31:35
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 89% (190-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-01 15:07:57
Writing about the Infinity Ecosis given 100% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I have now 15k Kilometers I'll buy it again. I don't change other brand again
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-04 15:43:19
Writing about the Mentor M200 given 50% (185-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15 average miles
Mentor M200 is tyre for artic winter. Dry grip is very bad, this is truly, old type of winter tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-01 16:45:12
Writing about the Lassa Snoways2 Plus given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 4500 average miles
Great tyre!
I will buy it again for sure. Driven all winter in town, and one road trip to a mountain without any problems! Going up the mountain without chains on snowy road...
Definitly will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-25 00:59:24
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 94% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
normally heard is not a good wet tire is wrong etc, from my experience I think it is more question of the tire of the car in general, in my case the T1R is approved for my car and phenomenal performance gives much grip in dry and wet (rain) can run at the same speed as dry, curves and roundabouts included .

Heat up quickly even at temperatures near 0 degrees (12km).

optimum grip even close witness including wear wet. cons of this is that if the tire loses skinny smooth be drawing near, what happens before the central design, the car cornering and lane changes when it rains tends to go straight as it has no support, so you have to put a new one, so if someone drives without flank and the car loses traction not it is the fault of the tire but poor maintenance of the driver, of course there will be better tires but for my astra g z18x are perfect with Bilstein B6 I have 6 sets of tires and I think about half repetir.

wear 18,000 km without rotating because the flank wear and It becomes dangerous if it rains
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-27 18:14:38
Writing about the Debica Navigator 2 given 64% (185-70-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-01 18:17:06
Writing about the Nexen N Priz 4S given 43% (185-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Honestly, the tyre is comfortable, but, in wet road is like to drive in a cloud, you feel flying and is almost impossible to brake. If you value your life, please dont buy this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-13 21:26:53
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Response 2 given 84% (185-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
I wanted a winter tyre with good snow properties and low rolling resistance. It's hard to find something which matches your expectations, but fortunately that's what I got.
I bought them because I wanted Dunlop tyres for the car's OEM Dunlop steel rims, and the tread design looked strange for me, so I wanted to give them a shot despite the controversial test results (good in 185/60, bad in 195/65, so buying 185/65 was nothing but a gamble).
The test results said that wet grip is where you might be let down, but I think my set is good enough in rainy conditions. Dry grip is good as well, but I believe these properties could have been a bit better. That said, the dry and wet grip levels are still much higher than what I would call unsafe.
However when it comes to snow and ice, the Winter Response 2 starts to shine like a diamond. When the white stuff came, I had to act like a yobbo to get them misbehave.
The rolling resistance seems to be worse than the 195/60 Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (my summer set, read my review of them), but only a tiny bit. But at least I got more road feedback, which is good when the conditions are tricky. Yes, the ride is a bit harsher as well, but it's a price I can live with.
One other thing: these tyres are very sensitive to tyre pressure. According to my experience in this size 5°C change in ambient tmeperature means 0.1 bar change in tyre pressure, so if you set your tyres to 2.5 bars in 0°C to get the best out of them in snow, it becomes 2.7 bars in 10°C. Combine the pressure increase with the out-of-comfort-zone temps, and you will get a car with much less traction. This might happen with other winter tyres as well, so I don't really blame my Dunlops, but more experiments are needed to be more accurate on this.
Overall, I have to say these are not the best all-rounder winter tyres out there, but if you want excellent snow and ice performance, it's a very good choice. For continental Europe I believe the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 or the Nokian WR D4 should be better because of their better all-round performance, but if you can get the Winter Response 2 for a good price, you shouldn't be disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-05 22:11:32
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 79% (190-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
Imagine a date with a nice, cute girl who is easy-going, and makes you fell comfortable from the very first moment. And this date is getting even beter as the situation gets wet...
Okay, let's get a bit more scientific. If you're switching from a high-rolling-resistance tyre, the first thing you'll notice is how easy the car rolls on these Goodyears. Because of the hectic trips I've done on these I can't really tell how much fuel you can save, but I experienced a side effect of low rolling resistance: if you lift the throttle, the car won't slow as much as it used to, so brake wear will be higher as you have to use it more. It can be a bit annoying in town, but after you got accustomed to this, you will be able to think ahead.
And there are more good news: the grip limits are very high. You can throw the car into a corner at any reasonable (and even a bit more than reasonable) speeds whitout saying a little prayer before, and you will come out on the other end in one piece. And it applies to wet conditions too. These tyres grip like hell in rainy conditions. Considering that these are eco tyres, I believe miracles have happened when they designed them.
Other reviewers mentioned how comfortable these tyres are, and I strongly agree with them. The soft sidewalls do the trick well and make the ride very smooth which is useful if there are bad roads in your country. If you really like a plush ride, put them on a Citroën with hydropneumatic suspension (that's something I really would like to try).
Any drawbacks? Well, since nothing is perfect, there must be something. And there is. Because of the soft structure the road feedback is gone almost completely of the already not-so-communicative Astra. I wouldn't put these on a driver's car (by which I mean nothing more than a Ford Focus in this review). They soak up pretty much everything coming from the road, which is not always bad, but most of the time I miss the lost information.
A few reviews earlier someone with the same car with same tyre size said these tyres are good in terms of progressiveness, but I disagree. I believe the Firestone F700s I had earlier are better in this area (read my review if you want to). Even the 185/65 Dunlop Winter Response 2s (my winter set, you can read my review of them too) are better. Without the feedback I can't really feel when they are gone. Luckily the grip keeps you out of trouble, but if you want to find the limits, get your reflexes ready to get everything sorted again because it won't warn you when it gets too much.
Conclusion: if you want a tyre which has low rolling resistance, grippy and comfy, look no further, this is the perfect choice. But if you aren't looking for the travelling pleasure, but the driving pleasure, forget the EfficientGrip Performance. Would I buy them again? Well, I believe they suit the car well, and Rational Me loves them, but Petrolhead Me wants to get rid of them. To make peace, I'd chose the ContiEcoContact 5, and Dunlop's SP Sport BluResponse seems to be a good option as well, but I won't throw this set away. Instead I'll try to enjoy the benefits. And no, I didn't regret buying them, so they will go with the car (if they last long enough).
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-05 21:27:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre