Matador MP 44 Elite 3

The Matador MP 44 Elite 3 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 71%
Wear 81%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 88%

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 65,313 miles driven.

The MP 44 Elite 3 is ranked 24th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 23rd of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2016 Market Overview - Braking Test - 20th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 11th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good grip in the wet and dry
  • Negative - Low level of comfort
  • Overall - Matador tyres success in its segment is easy to predict,the Slovak company Matador is 100 percent owned concern Continental. Previously, the Matador and produced by the joint venture Matador Omskshina in Omsk, but now the company will produce for the Continental part of Russian models at its plant in Kaluga, and part - supply of Slovakia. According to the brake test on wet roads, the Matador is in third place! And on the road handling can go fast. Slightly quick transition to slip, but the car remains under control. On dry pavement tyres Matador also work perfectly: good braking characteristics, the turns can go quickly and without fear of slides - the car continues to uniquely respond to the steering and traction. Noise and smoothness - average. Overall a very good combination of price and quality. Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Matador MP 44 Elite 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Matador MP 44 Elite 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Matador MP 44 Elite 3 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Gt sport Tdi (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I am lost for words excelent tyres through an through great grip in the wet an dry i just cant not rate these tyres high enough!!!
wish i had gone with them long time ago.
got mine in tyres direct ni in lurgan who are the only matador dealers in the whole town.
i was reassured by the sales person and since have visited the tyre center again to thank them on the great recommendation,
8 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2012   
Given 77% while driving a Opel Astra H GTC (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Good tyre, made some research, this page convinced me to buy them, very good in dry, good in wet, not bad on wear, litle bit noisy. Excelent price, for 205/55 r16 some 45 euro/piece with install. Driving style not agressive, but sometimes on the open road and corners a bit speedier, allways confident with this tyre. Some 20000 km on them, still good.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2017   
Given 96% while driving a Renault Megane (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
MP 44 Elite 3 tires are great for a reasonable price! Drove 2000 km and I am very pleased with their behavior, both dry and wet. Good job Matador!
3 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2014   
Have you driven on the Matador MP 44 Elite 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Matador MP 44 Elite 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Matador MP 44 Elite 3 >

Latest Matador MP 44 Elite 3 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Volvo S40 1.8SE (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Excellent tyres. Fantastic wet and dry grip! Quiet as well with sufficient road feedback. They are excellent value for money and perform very well.

Highly recommended.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2013   
Given 91% while driving a Nissan Note SE (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
For the money these Matadors have proved to be an excellent buy. I was running on Kumho Solus KH17 and I found they wore out quickly and weren't great in the wet. I researched these at length and I'm well pleased with the end result.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Rover rover 200 turbo coupe (195/55 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
on the back of an old rover 200 turbo coupe(nexens reviewed for the front)
good honest tyre and no complaints
on all but something special a fellow would not know the difference between these and much more fancy tyres
+ i would not say the turbo is slow either and older fashioned handling(hrumph)
1 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Vauxhall Omega (225/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Incredible grip most of the time wet or dry, amazingly seem to need to warm up. In cold weather for the first mile there's no grip.

Give good feedback, but when you keep pushing they let go quite quickly. I got XL ones as its all they had in stock. Supposed to take 95 load rated was a disaster on the 93's I had when I got a set of Michelin's. The XL ones are taking there toll on jelly mould chassis of the Omega but at long last its fun to drive with these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall corsa sport (165/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
these are the best value tyres on the market , excellent grip in the wet and the dry and surprisingly grippy in the frost , i would recommend these tyres to anyone .
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012   
Given 80% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (205/50 R16) on mostly town for 300 spirited miles
I have just fitted those tyres in my 2007 Mazda mx5.

First impression is very very good grip in slippery dry roads.
Also, i feel that those tyres feel a bit harsh comparing to my old Michelin Pilot Exalto but with much more feedback!

I’m very happy with them so far.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2012   
Given 53% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 13 average miles
Previous tyres lasted over 25,000 mixed miles before wear was near limit. Tyre fitter said these were good and went with them. From the off the tyres felt slow and heavy with loads of road rumble and thumps from minor imperfections!! Grip is fine but after less than 14,000 miles wear is getting close to limit!!
Bad choice, won't be getting these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Citroën XM 2.0 TCT Prestige Auto (205/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I bought these for my XM as I wanted something value for money but also a decent tyre. These were recomended to me by my chosen tyre supplier as fitting that description. They also said that Matator is owned/part of Continental and having had good experiences with that brand before, I bought these MP44s.

I have only covered around 2500 miles since fitting them to the front, however there is no noticeable signs of wear yet.

I usually fit Michelins to my Citroens and have another XM with Michelin Energy Savers, which suit the car well. However, these Matadors are quite hard to tell apart from the Michelins, in terms of grip, road noise and ride, its all very good.

I had trip around Wales just after fitting these, it was very wet and flooded but the tyres never gave any worries. Wet grip is pretty excellent for the price you pay for these tyres. I do tend to be a bit of a spirited driver and they did not let me down on the soaked and twisty country lanes.

They seem to be a step up in quality from older Matador tyres, the siewall looks more upmarket. Alone with the legal 1.6mm tread markers they also have ones slightly higher at 3mm, which is referred to as the recommended tyre change thread wear. Along with this safety feature there are numbers which appear in the tread itelf, as the tyre wears lower numbers are exposed which give a rough guide to how many mm of tread is left, a great idea! Mine are just starting to show 6mm of tread.

Its not a sporty feeling tyre but for my car that is not what I was wanting. Its a very good alrounder which grips very well in the wet and dry, gives a good ride, low road noise and seems to wear quite well. Impressive for the money, glad I didn't pay twice as much on some Michelins!

I would recommend them and will consider them again.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2012   
Given 89% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Dealer fitted on the car when purchased. Was ready to get them swapped for "proper" tyres (Bridgestone Turanza ER300 or T001), but having driven on the Matadors I don't think there's any reason to change. In fact, I think I might try and source more of these tyres in the future, rather than my normal Bridgestones.

Recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
had continentals on the back and Falken 452's on the front of a golf GTI. Just swapped for an entire set of these. They grip the road so much better especially in the dry, and suprising in the wet. No understeer squeel, little road noise on motorways and wearing well. Would definately buy again
1 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2011   
Given 90% while driving a Opel Astra G (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
This tyre was an extremely nice surprise for me. They have a very good grip on both dry and wet surfaces. I would definately buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2010