Mazda Mx5 2008 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda Mx5 2008.

Do you Drive a Mazda Mx5 2008? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mx5 2008 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon CS8 (10) 87% 82% 83% 75% 85% 86%
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78%
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (165) 89% 85% 83% 82% 59% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (47) 89% 66% 84% 85% 72% 55%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Three A P606 (45) 79% 72% 69% 68% 73% 77%
Primewell PZ900 (59) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Haida HD919 (9) 39% 26% 30% 28% 36% 23%

Mazda Mx5 2008 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
When you read online feedback (for anything, not just tyres) people tend to do it very early on, you do wonder how the product faired long term. Tyre was a 225/45/17 on a Mk3 MX5 so not a very heavy car. We never ran these in very hot conditions, both times about 15'c ambient. My experience of these is on the first time out on track they were fine, they take a couple of laps to warm up and the rear could step out until they were up to temp, but after that were ok. Second time out on track on a different date they were pretty useless. Just very little grip no matter how long we ran them. The suspension setup was the same, but we were softening the damping all day to try and find some grip. They're also very noisy on the road, not only normal tyre roar from having a lot of rubber and less groove, but also they make a throbbing noise like a bearing or the diff was on the way out. They are at least half the cost of any other track tyre out there and it shows, I won't be using them again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-10 07:53:28
Writing about the Haida HD919 given 30% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Quite the worst tyres I have ever had on a car and they were fitted to the car when I bought it. Grip in the dry is adequate but wet grip is really poor. These tyres are fitted on the rear of my car. On a damp dual carraigeway my car will start spinning the wheels at 60mph as it hits peak torque in 3rd gear. In a way they are at least predictable because you know its likely to happen. Similarly on cornering in the same conditions there is almost no lateral grip. The ride is harsh and there is a lot of road noise. As regards wear I won't wait to find out. They owe me nothing and I will replace them, probably with Bridgestones to do justice to the car and for my own self preservation
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-02 15:45:32
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS8 given 79% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 27000 average miles
After 43k I must say that they hold on pretty good. I think that they could at least last another 20k. Dry and wet grip are still safe but not as good as new. Traction is I think where they have lost the most. Comparing to the Dunlop rt I used to have these are holding on better. I had to change the dunlop after 3 years and 35k. If I had to choose between them I would get the Cooper's
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-20 19:53:22
Writing about the Three A P606 given 67% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I bought these as a comfort/winter runaround tyres for my MX5. I have been surprised by the grip in both wet and dry, comparable to good quality Falkens for example. Turn in is definitely softer than sports tyres but this is to be expected. These tyres do have very soft sidewalls so wouldn't take well to abuse such as kerbing and might be more subject to damage from sharp edged potholes, they do however give a very comfortable ride without noticeable tyre noise. All in all a good alternative at the low price and much more capable than other "cheap" Chinese tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-12 18:37:48
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A11A given 89% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I went through 2 sets of these the last 70.000 km. Ages really well. Road feedback is very good, and the sides rigid. Grip is ok (not exceptional) in the dry, maintaining easy control, while offering the opportunity for some rear-wheel drive fun. On wet tarmac you need to be careful, especially during braking.
Not availiable any more, too bad cause I had gotten used to its quirky nature. I will go for a Michelin PS3 , since I can't seem to find a better opyion in these dimensions.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-21 07:23:54
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 2 given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
I got rainsport 2 fitted to my wife's mx5 after she complained that the car felt as though it was sliding on bends in the wet. I took car for a run in the wet and the car was a death trap the Mazda dealer had fitted nexen tyres to car they were okay in the dry but deadly in the wet. I went straight to the garage and got rainsport 2 fitted this completely changed the car awesome tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-30 20:53:58
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given NAN% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
After 3 years and 45000km there is no real wear but it seems that they have become hard because dry and especially wet grip is now bad. A very nice tire when new but now they need replacing
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-20 21:18:41
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 89% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
After 45000km it still grips reasonably well and still has at least 20000km worth of tread. In my case the wear is good althought I mainly drive in town with occasional fast bursts. The only negative i find is soft side walls and slow steering response
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-28 16:22:55
Writing about the Mohawk M112 given 39% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
The only tyres iv ever had that i would actually say were bad. The grip in the dry is ok but only ok but as soon as the road turns even a little bit damp they have as much grip as a greased eel! Worse is the fact that they will completely let go with no warning what so ever useless and even dangerous tyres! Also frequently needed air in despite no slow punctures. A full set of these mockeries was fitted new to my car when i bought it 2nd hand but have now replaced all 4 with some avon zv5's before the mowhawks kill me! Avoid like the plague
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-18 21:48:13
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 40% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Awful. I have a MX-5 and if it wasn't for the traction control id be dead in the wet. Anything other than 100% dry condition and you have no grip, I've accidentally had the rear end out at 15mph!!! I'm not a fast driver and these should not be legal. Now its coming in to winter these are getting replaced with something that actually grips in the wet. I've driven racing slicks in the wet and they are on par with them. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-29 14:02:49
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I think it is a good tyre but can't say a lot because I only have an old set of yokohama to compare them with. I would like to inform any future buyer that un till they bed in (400 miles) they can be quite slippery
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-23 18:48:44
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 86% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
On my MX-5 the Bridgestones were not very good, the Goodyear GSD3's were good but these are better. Makes the car handle better by far and is good in the wet - until they wear down of course. Good mileage, around 16,000 on the fronts and 14,000 on the rears. So happy am having more fitted on the rear today.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-26 10:08:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre