Maxxis Premitra HP5

The Maxxis Premitra HP5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Maxxis PRO R1.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 74%
Wear 62%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 508,455 miles driven.

The Premitra HP5 is ranked 79th of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Best aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking distance, good comfort, low price.
  • Negative - Slow steering and understeer in the dry and wet, long wet braking.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.
View Full Test >>

2021 ViBilagare Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent stability and steering response in the dry, good levels of grip in the wet with a neutral wet balance, best aquaplaning resistance on test, well priced.
  • Negative - Mid pack stopping distances, average comfort.
View Full Test >>

2021 Camper Van / SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Average balanced performance in all categories.
  • Negative - Slightly slow steering response and slowest dry handling.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

Questions and Answers for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

2020-04-21 - Is this tubeless?

Yes, all modern tyres are tubeless, including the Maxxis HP5.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Premitra HP5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £82.79 - £86.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £51.63 - £58.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £68.38 - £81.00 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £70.88 - £78.00 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.74 - £95.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R16 £71.79 - £102.40 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1,2 2013 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Applied this Maxxis HP5 on my wife's Suzuki Swift for 6 weeks/2500KM. At the first week these HP5 surprised me very much, I can even drift the little Swift at 80Km/hr on corners without braking it and no tyre crying noise. However, after 1500 KM, I found loud ZZZ noise up the highway driving at over 80Km/hr. Other than bad noise comfort, I actually feel the grips on wet/dry are quite above average. Recommended only for racing enthusiastic people who do not mind the noise. Me I cannot stand it cause it really trigger my tinnitus.
198 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz C350 RWD (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Normally always run continental contact sport 5, but they wear out extremely fast. So decided to go for the hp5 after reading its excellent reviews and ratings for the wet. I always enjoy driving hard in the rain where its safe to do so. (yes i may be a nutter) but i enjoy good grip and traction while doing so. These tyres have mininal slide on full acceleration, can accelerate out of bends too without the car fishtailing but pushed hard enough there is good feedback from the tyre before it wants to fully let go into a drift per say. Very similar to the tyres i have ran before but abit more spongy when throwing the car around. But quality and grip for money, i have ran these tyres down to almost the bead but if driven sensibly i would assume near double the millage that i have done. I will be replacing these tyres with the same set they suit my driving stye and car very well and and cheap isnt the word compared to top tyre manufacturers tyres with almost the same drivability. If you are a spirited driver with a budget these are definitely the tyres to go for
36 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 407 4 door sedan 2.0 petrol (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
By the price compare to its performance and durability, I feel this tire sort of underrated at many aspects. I am very satisfied and will place again
26 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   
Have you driven on the Maxxis Premitra HP5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis Premitra HP5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Maxxis Premitra HP5 >

Latest Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
3 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
3 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,700 average miles
Based on various factors and personal experience, this is a good tire. In terms of parity
1 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2021   
Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought for a Vito to replace the old "van tyres". Night and dry difference, and now the Vito is quieter and much more comfortable. Massively cheaper than the other options, but no negatives compared against more expensive tyres that I've used. Too early to tell about the wear rates at the moment.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Honda Prelude (205/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 11 spirited miles
I've had these tyres on my car for a year now and thought it would be a good time to give some feedback. Firstly, I'm surprised to see so many mixed reviews on the HP5. I bought them before going on a road trip across Europe and these tyres came highly recommended from my local tyre shop that I've always trusted. I've found the HP5 to be an excellent tyre in all conditions, especially for the money. It's not the sportiest tyre in the world, so if you're looking to do track days or have a very aggressive driving style, then look elsewhere. But they do exactly what any good summer tyre is supposed to do. It's a safe tyre, that offers predictable handling characteristics in all types of weather, and excels in hot temperatures and even heavy downpours. I've noticed many complaints about the wear on the HP5, but so long as you don't drive like a maniac they'll hold up just fine. I've done over 11,000 miles in the last 12 months across Europe, including autobahn driving with some very high speeds, and these tyres never felt at their limit. My local garage thinks there's plenty of driving still left in them so I'm happy with my purchase a year later. I've had company cars fitted with premium brands, such as Dunlop and Perelli in the past, and the Maxxis perform just as good for an excellent price. Will definitely buy again.
17 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2020   
Given 24% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 (195/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Without a doubt the worst tyres I’ve ever had. I usually run Avon’s but when they’ve been in short supply I’ve used unknown budget ones - I recently went from
Budget ones to these maxxis and they were notably much worse. Wet grip fairly problematic , handling poor but worst of all they did less than 10000 miles (9 months ) before running to cords.
Will never ever buy Maxxis again
18 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Ford S Max (245/45 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Not at all bad tyres for the price. Paid £400 for 4 when I was in a pinch, been pleasantly surprised since. Can be pushed and are quite progressive. When they do let go it's nice and controllable. Traction is not so good, let go quite readily in 2nd and sometimes 3rd in the wet (remapped 170 bhp 450nm, 1.7 tonne people carrier - I'm sure on a smaller car they'd be better). Dry handling is good, wet is sure but not amazing. Wet braking however is pretty impressive. All in all a very good tyre the price. Seem to wearing quite well to boot!
9 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2019   
Given 27% while driving a Citroën DS5 2.0 Hdi (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Great for the first 6,000 miles or so, then it got cold... In anything less than 3 degrees ambient, they grip then slip - Most noticably on full lock. More so than I have ever noticed or seen with others, it's really weird. Almost completely worn at 12,500 miles on the front (front wheel drive), and the single one on the back is about half worn - Even on the back. Most disturbingly they have a lot of cracks in the tread, and the edges of the tread looks ragged and shredded in places. Fortunately it's now summer again so atleast they've gone away from being ditchfinders until I get a chance to replace them.

Always given regular air if they needed it, and not used any nasty chemicals whilst cleaning the wheels. Just not really the mid-range tyre they are advertised as unfortunately.

Paid £78 a corner on offer. Could be worse for a years' use I guess.
12 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2019   
Opel (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 8,700 average miles
in the highway the tyre is perfect but, when you reach a bit damaged surface of the road you feel like you hit a stone. its very stiffnes in high speed.They have very nice hadling in the mid speed (usually they go with 40km, in 60km the car slip 100% and with this tyre i can reach 50km without problem and i can go more) and aggressive cornering. in 14.000 kilometers its about 50% wear at back tyres but i got camper on it.
11 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2019   
Given 43% while driving a SEAT Leon 2.0 TFSI (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Good grip in the dry, but not great grip in the wet. They are not ditchfinders like some budget tyres in the fact that they won't throw you off the road a the sight of a wet roundabout, but they still spin up easily or make the car understeer when moderately provoked. My other car is fitted with Goodyear Eagle f1 Assymetric 3's which are leagues better.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2018   
Given 60% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Mondeo front tyres bought 30/05/2018 will last approx.3000 miles . Very dissapointing
18 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018   
Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2012 (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Maxxis HP5 is good in the wet. I suppose it can be used for 40000~45000km.
It's a high cost/performance tire.


3 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2018