Maxxis Premitra HP5

The Maxxis Premitra HP5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Maxxis PRO R1.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 75%
Wear 66%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 808,455 miles driven.

The Premitra HP5 is ranked 77th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Maxxis Premitra 5, which has already won two awards in our tyre tests, is highly recommended. In the wet it is extremely grippy and safe, but this comes at the expense of efficiency.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 15th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent aquaplaning resistance, short wet braking, well priced.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, high wear, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 14th of 44 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 14th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 15th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 7th: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 7th: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 9th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 10th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 11th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 4th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2019 Mid Range Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 5th: 2019 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 17th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 20th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 20th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test (235/50 R18)
  • 10th: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 14th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 15th: 2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 18th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

    Questions and Answers for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

    2020-04-21 - Is this tubeless?

    Yes, all modern tyres are tubeless, including the Maxxis HP5.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1,2 2013 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    Applied this Maxxis HP5 on my wife's Suzuki Swift for 6 weeks/2500KM. At the first week these HP5 surprised me very much, I can even drift the little Swift at 80Km/hr on corners without braking it and no tyre crying noise. However, after 1500 KM, I found loud ZZZ noise up the highway driving at over 80Km/hr. Other than bad noise comfort, I actually feel the grips on wet/dry are quite above average. Recommended only for racing enthusiastic people who do not mind the noise. Me I cannot stand it cause it really trigger my tinnitus.
    Helpful 242 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2016
    Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 miles
    Very pleased with performance vs price for these tyres.
    Having previously used premium and scary budget tyres these definitely perform toward the premium end of scale.
    Although Taiwanese made these tyres are being used as oem by many manufacturers which confirms my experience.
    Would definitely buy again.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Switched to this brand after 6 years of going through more than a set of Bridgestone Potenza RE03s per year. I’m a spirted driver as I like to get the most out of my MX5 roadster at legal speeds by throwing the car into corners and still aiming to drive safely.
    I run them at 38psi as I need to travel over a windy hill to and from work every that has an 80kph limit and not good camber in the corners.
    I found the Potenzas to be a bit soft in the sidewalls which caused uneven wear on the rims and would occasionally feel the back of the car could fishtail if I’d pushed 5kph too much in the corners.
    Absolutely no such problem with these Maxxis tyres and they are wearing evenly after about 5000ks of use. I absolutely will be buying them again.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2023
    Have you driven on the Maxxis Premitra HP5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis Premitra HP5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Maxxis Premitra HP5 >

    Latest Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Hyundai Lantra SE 1.8 (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    After watching the tyre reveiw on these tyres it perked my interest. I have run Bridgestone RE003's on my previous car which i was impressed with. Being that i wanted a more budget friendly option for my daily driver and it isnt a performance vehicle I was interested to give these Maxxis tyres a go. I also found an australian magazine review on the HP5' s which it won the tyre test. Over the past 6 months since purchase, I have been very impressed with the dry and wet grip these deliver, they have great feedback and on highway driving they have minimal noise. For the price point I would be recommending them for anyone who has a daily driver, family vehicle. For a more powerful perfromance vehicle, these may not give you the grip you require.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2023
    Given 79% while driving a Holden SS Commodore (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Throttle control is no longer necessarily needed
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 42% while driving a Mitsubishi FTO (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
    Hp5 maxxis Once I hit the chip seal on nz roads they are loud and leads to a terrible ride very disturbing .radio doesn't help.i read somewhere very quiet bs .only quiet on good tar Sealed roads.. wish I never got them.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
    Bought a Honda Civic with these tyres fitted, and covered 25,000 miles since. Could throw the car into bends in the Scottish mountains, in the rain the grip is great and never aquaplain. Was quite skeptical abour these tyres and was going to replace them with Continentals but these have impressed me so much that I have ordered them again!
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2022
    Mitsubishi (205/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 150,000 miles
    I don't know where I got the fact that these were quiet tyres off some website but these are noisy. Waste of money and dearer then the Nexen cp7 I wanted in first place but harder to get. Don't get if you like quiet tyres. As soon as you hit the chip seal it's like rumble in the jungle
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
    Couldn't get hold of Falken tyres, so opted for these as they were rated high for wet grip and fuel efficiency. They are OK, feel a little soft, pretty good in the wet, but at speed they are awful. I have a Volvo S80 D5 (twin turbo), I can always drive with one hand on the steering wheel at speed on the motorway, but with these tyres no chance. The car tries to break away when cornering at speed, the tyres have a sliding feel and although I can manage speed with these, they keep you on your toes and keep both of your hands firmly on the the steering wheel. It almost feels as if you are fighting with an invisible force. I would not recommend these and I can't wait until they wear out.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Citroën 2.0 HDi 110 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Theese tyres are excellent in all conditions except in hard wet braking on bad asfalt. I am driving 2 and half years and they are still good.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
    My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
    Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
    My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,700 average miles
    Based on various factors and personal experience, this is a good tire. In terms of parity
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2021
    Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Bought for a Vito to replace the old "van tyres". Night and dry difference, and now the Vito is quieter and much more comfortable. Massively cheaper than the other options, but no negatives compared against more expensive tyres that I've used. Too early to tell about the wear rates at the moment.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2020
    Given 77% while driving a Honda Prelude (205/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 11 spirited miles
    I've had these tyres on my car for a year now and thought it would be a good time to give some feedback. Firstly, I'm surprised to see so many mixed reviews on the HP5. I bought them before going on a road trip across Europe and these tyres came highly recommended from my local tyre shop that I've always trusted. I've found the HP5 to be an excellent tyre in all conditions, especially for the money. It's not the sportiest tyre in the world, so if you're looking to do track days or have a very aggressive driving style, then look elsewhere. But they do exactly what any good summer tyre is supposed to do. It's a safe tyre, that offers predictable handling characteristics in all types of weather, and excels in hot temperatures and even heavy downpours. I've noticed many complaints about the wear on the HP5, but so long as you don't drive like a maniac they'll hold up just fine. I've done over 11,000 miles in the last 12 months across Europe, including autobahn driving with some very high speeds, and these tyres never felt at their limit. My local garage thinks there's plenty of driving still left in them so I'm happy with my purchase a year later. I've had company cars fitted with premium brands, such as Dunlop and Perelli in the past, and the Maxxis perform just as good for an excellent price. Will definitely buy again.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2020