Maxxis Premitra HP5

The Maxxis Premitra HP5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Maxxis PRO R1.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 73%
Wear 64%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 796,455 miles driven.

The Premitra HP5 is ranked 84th of 138 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 14th of 44 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Maxxis Premitra 5, which has already won two awards in our tyre tests, is highly recommended. In the wet it is extremely grippy and safe, but this comes at the expense of efficiency.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 15th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent aquaplaning resistance, short wet braking, well priced.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, high wear, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 14th: 2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 15th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 7th: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 7th: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 9th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 10th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 11th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 4th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2019 Mid Range Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 5th: 2019 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 17th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 20th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 20th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test (235/50 R18)
  • 10th: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 14th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 15th: 2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 18th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

    Questions and Answers for the Maxxis Premitra HP5

    2020-04-21 - Is this tubeless?

    Yes, all modern tyres are tubeless, including the Maxxis HP5.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/45 R17 £87.99 - £116.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/50 R16 £72.19 - £96.50 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £56.39 - £86.60 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/60 R16 £85.00 - £122.50 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £72.49 - £99.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R16 £84.99 - £118.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1,2 2013 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    Applied this Maxxis HP5 on my wife's Suzuki Swift for 6 weeks/2500KM. At the first week these HP5 surprised me very much, I can even drift the little Swift at 80Km/hr on corners without braking it and no tyre crying noise. However, after 1500 KM, I found loud ZZZ noise up the highway driving at over 80Km/hr. Other than bad noise comfort, I actually feel the grips on wet/dry are quite above average. Recommended only for racing enthusiastic people who do not mind the noise. Me I cannot stand it cause it really trigger my tinnitus.
    Helpful 206 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2016
    Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz C350 RWD (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Normally always run continental contact sport 5, but they wear out extremely fast. So decided to go for the hp5 after reading its excellent reviews and ratings for the wet. I always enjoy driving hard in the rain where its safe to do so. (yes i may be a nutter) but i enjoy good grip and traction while doing so. These tyres have mininal slide on full acceleration, can accelerate out of bends too without the car fishtailing but pushed hard enough there is good feedback from the tyre before it wants to fully let go into a drift per say. Very similar to the tyres i have ran before but abit more spongy when throwing the car around. But quality and grip for money, i have ran these tyres down to almost the bead but if driven sensibly i would assume near double the millage that i have done. I will be replacing these tyres with the same set they suit my driving stye and car very well and and cheap isnt the word compared to top tyre manufacturers tyres with almost the same drivability. If you are a spirited driver with a budget these are definitely the tyres to go for
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2018
    Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 407 4 door sedan 2.0 petrol (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    By the price compare to its performance and durability, I feel this tire sort of underrated at many aspects. I am very satisfied and will place again
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019
    Have you driven on the Maxxis Premitra HP5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis Premitra HP5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Maxxis Premitra HP5 >

    Latest Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews

    Given 42% while driving a Mitsubishi FTO (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
    Hp5 maxxis Once I hit the chip seal on nz roads they are loud and leads to a terrible ride very disturbing .radio doesn't help.i read somewhere very quiet bs .only quiet on good tar Sealed roads.. wish I never got them.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
    Bought a Honda Civic with these tyres fitted, and covered 25,000 miles since. Could throw the car into bends in the Scottish mountains, in the rain the grip is great and never aquaplain. Was quite skeptical abour these tyres and was going to replace them with Continentals but these have impressed me so much that I have ordered them again!
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Mitsubishi (205/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 150,000 miles
    I don't know where I got the fact that these were quiet tyres off some website but these are noisy. Waste of money and dearer then the Nexen cp7 I wanted in first place but harder to get. Don't get if you like quiet tyres. As soon as you hit the chip seal it's like rumble in the jungle
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
    Couldn't get hold of Falken tyres, so opted for these as they were rated high for wet grip and fuel efficiency. They are OK, feel a little soft, pretty good in the wet, but at speed they are awful. I have a Volvo S80 D5 (twin turbo), I can always drive with one hand on the steering wheel at speed on the motorway, but with these tyres no chance. The car tries to break away when cornering at speed, the tyres have a sliding feel and although I can manage speed with these, they keep you on your toes and keep both of your hands firmly on the the steering wheel. It almost feels as if you are fighting with an invisible force. I would not recommend these and I can't wait until they wear out.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Citroën 2.0 HDi 110 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Theese tyres are excellent in all conditions except in hard wet braking on bad asfalt. I am driving 2 and half years and they are still good.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
    My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 170,000 spirited miles
    My 2017 Clio 1.2 Turbo GT Line came out of the factory on Michelin Primacy 3, which was a very pleasant tyre but only lasted about 17.000 km. The Maxxis HP5 is very close to the Michelin both in dry and wet, really only a few % off. Noise levels and drive comfort same story. But the Maxxis HP lasted 26.000 km, which is quite astonishing for my sporty driving style. HP5 isn’t the sportiest tyre but I value the comfort as well. Only negative om this tyre is the end-of-live performance, more sudden oversteer (when asked for
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,700 average miles
    Based on various factors and personal experience, this is a good tire. In terms of parity
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2021
    Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Bought for a Vito to replace the old "van tyres". Night and dry difference, and now the Vito is quieter and much more comfortable. Massively cheaper than the other options, but no negatives compared against more expensive tyres that I've used. Too early to tell about the wear rates at the moment.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2020
    Given 77% while driving a Honda Prelude (205/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 11 spirited miles
    I've had these tyres on my car for a year now and thought it would be a good time to give some feedback. Firstly, I'm surprised to see so many mixed reviews on the HP5. I bought them before going on a road trip across Europe and these tyres came highly recommended from my local tyre shop that I've always trusted. I've found the HP5 to be an excellent tyre in all conditions, especially for the money. It's not the sportiest tyre in the world, so if you're looking to do track days or have a very aggressive driving style, then look elsewhere. But they do exactly what any good summer tyre is supposed to do. It's a safe tyre, that offers predictable handling characteristics in all types of weather, and excels in hot temperatures and even heavy downpours. I've noticed many complaints about the wear on the HP5, but so long as you don't drive like a maniac they'll hold up just fine. I've done over 11,000 miles in the last 12 months across Europe, including autobahn driving with some very high speeds, and these tyres never felt at their limit. My local garage thinks there's plenty of driving still left in them so I'm happy with my purchase a year later. I've had company cars fitted with premium brands, such as Dunlop and Perelli in the past, and the Maxxis perform just as good for an excellent price. Will definitely buy again.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2020
    Given 24% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 (195/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Without a doubt the worst tyres I’ve ever had. I usually run Avon’s but when they’ve been in short supply I’ve used unknown budget ones - I recently went from
    Budget ones to these maxxis and they were notably much worse. Wet grip fairly problematic , handling poor but worst of all they did less than 10000 miles (9 months ) before running to cords.
    Will never ever buy Maxxis again
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2019
    Given 76% while driving a Ford S Max (245/45 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Not at all bad tyres for the price. Paid £400 for 4 when I was in a pinch, been pleasantly surprised since. Can be pushed and are quite progressive. When they do let go it's nice and controllable. Traction is not so good, let go quite readily in 2nd and sometimes 3rd in the wet (remapped 170 bhp 450nm, 1.7 tonne people carrier - I'm sure on a smaller car they'd be better). Dry handling is good, wet is sure but not amazing. Wet braking however is pretty impressive. All in all a very good tyre the price. Seem to wearing quite well to boot!
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2019