Maxxis PRO R1

The Maxxis PRO R1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Maxxis Premitra HP5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 63%
Wear 64%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 53%

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 85,500 miles driven.

The PRO R1 is ranked 92nd of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 28th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis PRO R1
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Maxxis PRO R1. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Maxxis PRO R1 Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
My previous tyres was continental sportcontact 3. I had them for 77000 happy kms. Then for price reasons i skipped to maxxis r1. Compared to continentals softer ride, less noise,less responcive and with a feel of extra movement fro the car in the corners. The garage told me it is due to softer sides if the tire that makes it move a bit on the rim... and less grip than continentals more in dry and much much more in wet. Tyre wear extreme... after 12000km swithed front to rear tyres. An tis week after a hit on a hole in the rodad the inner sidewall of the front tyre failed. Continentals much much more endurant than maxxis. Never buy again. Concluded maxxis costed me more with worse characteristics. Their upsides were that they were more comfortable and less noisy.
18 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota soarer 4 ltr (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have used Maxxis tyres on my 4 ltr toyota soarer for 10 of the 11 years I have owned it and for a "budget" tyre it is better than most and certainly better than celera tyres sold by bathwick tyres which I had changed to maxxis after only 600 miles, they were lethal in the wet, it probably depends on the car/tyre combination as to how tyres react to conditions but sure as hell maxxis pro r1 suit mine.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2014   
Given 66% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Good budget tyre. Good dry grip qualities, like most budget tyres. OK-good dry grip qualities. Nothing exceptional on price or performance. Wouldn't buy again.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015   
Have you driven on the Maxxis PRO R1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis PRO R1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Maxxis PRO R1 >

Latest Maxxis PRO R1 Reviews

Given 29% while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (200/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I found these tyres shocking. My car slides when changing lanes on the motorway over the white lines. I found no grip when driving in the rain and absolutely no traction in snow.
When the weather is dry, it's not so hairy. The traction is better but living in Manchester, it's more wet than dry. I'm changing over to Uniroyal Rainsport 3. I need confidence in my tyres & these just don't give it to me. They make my car feel dangerous. I drive a Ford Puma. They are a fun car to drive. It's not fun with these tyres & I miss being able to corner safely at reasonable speeds. I definitely would not recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2016   
Given 70% while driving a Land Rover freelander (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Ok on the road and good general handling. These were fitted to my second hand Freelander 1 and I have driven about 2000 miles in wet and dry conditions. If I was a SUV softy and stayed on the road I would consider buying them again. I had an occasion where I drove along a progressively more muddy track and only got through due to the intelligent anti slip technique on the car. No use if you do anymore than drive over a wet grass field.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 77% while driving a Renault clio 197 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
all round very good tyre for the price . less than £300 for 4 fitted n comes with guarantee .
0 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2014   
Given 96% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (225/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Excellent tyres , can't fault them
0 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2013   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
Harsh and noisy ride. Grip and wear passable. Tyre was oversized and kept going down. Garage said it was a tyre problem but wholesaler wouldn't budge. Steer clear - poor quality control. Worst tyre bought in over 50 years of motoring.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2013   
Given 54% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Not a great tyre for wet conditions. Found the car under steered in the wet. Dry grip good. Tyre wear was far too quick. They only lasted about 7k miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2013   
Given 73% while driving a Ford S Max Titanium X Sport (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
good tyre for the price
0 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2013   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I have had Debicas and Marshalls on the same car and expected the grip, comfort and durability of the Maxxis to be better due to the price and the fact they were sold to me as a mid range rather than a budget. The performance was no better than the other tyres and they wore out faster as they cwme with only 6.8mm tread as opposed to the std 8mm.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2013