Ford Puma 1.7 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Puma 1.7.

Do you Drive a Ford Puma 1.7? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Puma 1.7 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian iLine (14) 94% 91% 87% 77% 91% 96%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal AllSeasonExpert (5) 78% 84% 74% 74% 80% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (276) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (186) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Nankang SV2 (30) 83% 77% 74% 74% 83% 74%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Maxxis PRO R1 (14) 81% 65% 68% 63% 64% 71%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Debica Furio (3) 60% 20% 47% 40% 57% 37%

Ford Puma 1.7 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 86% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
Used to run Avon ZZR's on my car but fancied these to help give my wallet a break! Plus I'd heard good reviews, which seemed to be backed up online, so I had high expectations.

I had my Puma at a track day at Oulton Park and I was immediately impressed by the cold grip levels. As I got a few more laps under my belt it became obvious that the grip levels were increasing markedly and I could feel my lap times started tumbling (not that I was recording them). I noticed I could carry much more speed into the faster corners and had so much more traction out of the slower corners - the car's attitude through the chicane was transformed. I could keep the throttle in harder through the whole section instead of waiting for the grip before flooring it. After a day's hard lapping I didn't notice a drop-off in performance, either (although my brakes were screaming for mercy towards the end!), so these seem like a very durable tyre.

I'll definitely be buying these again when the time comes to renew. Might have to look at my pad compound and some better brake fluid before the next track day, though!
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-18 12:25:22
Writing about the Nokian iLine given 81% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very pleased with this new tyre. Budget tires don't offer as much as this... for long km drives over mixed surfaces and temperatures, they grip very good, sometimes ned perfect. Two minuses: no rim protection, and soft sidewalls that lean (although unnoticeable), but being a cheap tyre, i don't blame it for this. i was expecting them to be durable in time and have minimum wear with they did, but for that i expected a compromise in handling or grip. It wasn't the case, even with spirited driving. So I highly recommend this tyre for everyday use, i suspect a more expensive tyre from the same brand will indeed outperform this economical level one. Good job from nokian on building not only good winter tyres, but decent summer ones too!
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-30 13:15:14
Writing about the Uniroyal AllSeasonExpert given 70% (195-50-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Amazing in the snow and on ice. Not different than winter tyres, more or less. On wet has solid aquaplaning abilities, but not perfect in emergency braking.
Quiet and refined on higher speeds. Solid on bumps, etc.. Wear is barely visible from 12k km.
But... not solid for aggressive driving (Rather soft board), can't replace a summer tyre if you push the car to the limits on twisted roads, in hot summer days. Braking in summer is a bit worse that summer tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-09 23:11:46
Writing about the Maxxis PRO R1 given 29% (200-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I found these tyres shocking. My car slides when changing lanes on the motorway over the white lines. I found no grip when driving in the rain and absolutely no traction in snow.
When the weather is dry, it's not so hairy. The traction is better but living in Manchester, it's more wet than dry. I'm changing over to Uniroyal Rainsport 3. I need confidence in my tyres & these just don't give it to me. They make my car feel dangerous. I drive a Ford Puma. They are a fun car to drive. It's not fun with these tyres & I miss being able to corner safely at reasonable speeds. I definitely would not recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-28 18:05:23
Writing about the Nankang SV2 given 61% (175-70-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Would not recommend unless you live in a warm location where winter is very mild and only ever drive on slush. On snow they don't grip at all and let me down a lot, though i went for a very small tread intentionally so as to have more traction in snow. Would not recommend for snowy weather or sporty driving
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-16 09:15:31
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I've got a old ford puma which handled like dream with the rainsport 2's putting many new cars to the sword on the twisty's!
The rainsport 3's are even better with less tyre roll than the old RS2's which makes the puma stick to road even better with lots of feedback and control, grip in the wet gives you enough confidence to floor it as if it were dry. I do still think they compliment a medium/small car than a heavier model as you could experience tyre roll the heavier you go, but for the sporty hatches they are a bargin found 195/50/15 V for £38.35 fitted!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-15 10:51:37
Writing about the Goodyear Hydragrip given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent tire, extremely good in wet
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-12 09:03:27
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 50% (195-50-15-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I bought the car on a warm dry day with Accelera Alphas at the front and BF Goodrich on the rear. A Ford Puma's handling is legendary and these tyres seemed to do the job then... I took it out a wet day (it's a hobby car and I don't usually do this) I nearly killed myself at the first bend. I wasn't going fast but the tyres simply failed to grip. There was massive understeer and I found myself on the wrong side of the road: fortunately there was nobody around.

After I had recovered myself, I tried a quick start: the things skidded like mad and the car shot off in zigzags.

Oh, they wear fairly well and are quiet, so if this is your priority and you don't mind dying early in a wet ditch or on the bumper of a lorry, these are for you.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-15 14:09:54
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 given 86% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, they grip hard in the dry practically eliminating the squealing understeer I get with lesser tyres. the turn in is also a lot sharper due to the stiffer construction it makes the ride a little harder but its worth it. The wet grip is good showing good communication with progressive breakaway. however they do tend to aquaplane a little earlier in standing water than other not so extreme summer tyres. conclusion if you want a tyre for the road but also want some fun on the track these are up to the job!
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-04 15:58:59
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
these are a good tyre for dry days but on a wet one be prepared to be upside down in a ditch
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-24 07:34:50
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 70% (195-50-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
This tyre got me interested firstly on looks. Wide lateral shoulder blocks and plenty of sipes. Having used several other winter tyre brands in the past and a interest in winter tyre development I thought I'd give them a try. Regular driving is satisfactory wet or dry but the hs449 come into its
Own up the hills through Derbyshire in around 4/5inchs of fresh snow and slush. The ford puma needs all the help it can get in snow and the hs449 worked better for me than previous high end brands I have tried.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-19 22:01:14
Writing about the Debica Furio given 23% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
Not a very good tyre.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is very poor and the tyre is noisy.
Supposedly Debica is owned by Goodyear, yet I have had better far eastern tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-07 16:38:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre