Nankang SV2

The Nankang SV2 is a High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nankang SV3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 74%
Wear 83%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 76%
Snow Grip 65%
Ice Grip 50%

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 213,040 miles driven.

The SV2 is ranked 33rd of 54 Winter High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 11th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance, low price.
  • Negative - Very low wet grip, long wet braking, slow steering response with understeer in the dry and wet.
View Full Test >>

2018 51 Winter Tyre Shootout - 40th of 52 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Very short braking distances and quick reactions to steering on dry surfaces, good resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Very poor in the snow, noisy
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
145/70 R12 69T   F C 71  
155/65 R13 73T   F C 71  
145/70 R13 71T   F C 71  
155/70 R13 75T   F C 71  
165/70 R13 83T XL   E C 71  
175/70 R13 82T   E C 71  
155/80 R13 79T   F C 71  
185/55 R14 80H   F C 71  
165/60 R14 79H XL   C F 71  
175/60 R14 83H XL   C E 71  
185/60 R14 82H   E C 71  
155/65 R14 75T   C F 71  
165/65 R14 79T   F C 71  
175/65 R14 86H XL   E C 71  
185/65 R14 90H XL   E C 71  
165/70 R14 81T   F C 71  
175/70 R14 88T XL   C E 71  
195/70 R14 91T   E C 71  
175/80 R14 88T   C E 71  
155/60 R15 74T   C F 71  
175/60 R15 81H   C F 71  
195/60 R15 92H XL   E C 71  
145/65 R15 72T   F C 71  
165/65 R15 81T   C F 71  
175/65 R15 88H XL   E C 71  
195/65 R15 95T XL   E C 71  
205/65 R15 99H XL   C E 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E C 71  
205/45 R16 87H XL   E C 71  
215/45 R16 90H XL   C E 71  
195/50 R16 88H XL   C E 71  
205/50 R16 91H XL   E C 71  
175/55 R16 80H   C F 71  
185/55 R16 0T XL   C E 71  
195/55 R16 91H XL   E C 71  
205/55 R16 94V XL   E C 71  
215/55 R16 97V XL   C E 71  
215/55 R16 97H XL   E C 71  
225/55 R16 99V XL   E C 71  
225/55 R16 99H XL   C E 71  
195/60 R16 89H   C E 71  
205/60 R16 96H XL   E C 71  
225/60 R16 98H   E C 71  
235/60 R16 104H XL   E C 71  
215/65 R16 102H XL   E C 71  
205/40 R17 84V XL   C E 71  
215/40 R17 87V XL   C E 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   E C 71  
215/45 R17 91V XL   E C 71  
225/45 R17 94V XL   E C 71  
235/45 R17 97V XL   E C 71  
245/45 R17 99V XL   C E 71  
205/50 R17 93V XL   E C 71  
215/50 R17 95V XL   C E 71  
205/55 R17 95V XL   E C 71  
225/55 R17 101V XL   E C 71  
235/55 R17 103V XL   C E 71  
235/65 R17 108V XL   C E 71  
255/35 R18 94V XL   E C 73  
215/40 R18 89V XL   E C 71  
225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 71  
235/40 R18 95V XL   C E 71  
245/40 R18 97V XL   C E 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E C 71  
235/45 R18 98V XL   C E 71  
235/50 R18 101V XL   C E 71  
215/55 R18 99H XL   E C 71  
225/55 R18 98V   C E 71  
255/55 R18 109V XL   E C 73  
235/60 R18 107V XL   C E 71  
255/35 R19 96V XL   C E 73  
255/50 R19 107V XL   E C 73  
235/55 R19 105V XL   C E 71  

Questions and Answers for the Nankang SV2

2019-01-17 - Is the direction of rotation of each tyre important for performance? How do you tell if two of them are on the wrong wheels; are there any direction indicators?

The SV-2 has directional indicators on the sidewall.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SV2 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nankang SV2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Toyota Camry (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
I bought this tire - knowing about the very negative reviews of its predecessor - because it was a great buy. I could purchase them very cheaply, so I thought, what the heck, it would be a great tire test...

After mounting and balancing, away I went out to the highway and the first impression was scary! The car was very loose; it had a shimmying motion diagonally which was downright frightening.
I pulled to the next gas station to check things. Everything was OK, but as I pushed the sidewall of the tire, I noticed that it was VERY soft. The pressure was set to the recommended 1.8/1.8 bar on my Camry. I thought that if the tire has so pliable sidewalls, then I have to compensate this with more pressure. So I decided to raise the inflation pressure to 2.5/2.4 front/rear. I was right!!!
The car was immediately transformed! It rode very well despite of the raised pressure, and the SV-2 was exceptionally quiet - I started to trust the tire.

Then came the true winter with deep snow. Although the SV-2 doesn't have an aggressive winter profile/sipes, the raw bite and traction is simply awesome. I towed other cars from a parking garage with the ramp completely covered in fresh 20cm thick snow without any wheelspin. It felt like a platter ski lift!
Turn in was spontaneous, understeer was minimal if any. Braking performance and overall stability was also impeccable. The winter was absolutely convincing, so I decided to leave on the SV-2s to see how they perform in the scorching heat during summer months. Here in Hungary we have a -20°C - +40°C temp range, so a tire must prove itself.
Obviously, the compound went softer, and a tad indifferent, but a /65 tire will never be so spontaneous and instant like a low profile sporty one. It kept its absolute silence, predictability and again performed very well. I must note that the wear factor was simply nonexistent. I rotated them correctly and they looked remarkably fresh. Finally, after 65.000 km, the shoulder blocks wore away on the fronts, as I usually corner with sprightly 0.6+ Gs, avoiding unnecessary braking whenever possible.

Now at the 80.000 km mark, I still have the rears on, but they are on their final kilometers now. I replaced the fronts with Nokian AllWeather Pluses, but I'm very dissatisfied with them. They offer nowhere near the performance of the Nankangs, and they have extremely low grip in damp conditions. I'm running dangerously wide in some corners...

So, to summarize, the Nankang SV-2s gave THE MOST PLEASANT tire owning experience in my life. It was an exceptional winter tire, but I can recommend this even as an all-season one. I'm an automotive journalist, so I drive lots of different tires, but after these I truly don't know what "premium" means. Quite often the premium brands simply don't have the longevity/performance compared to others, and that questions the objectivity of tire testing in me.

Definitely a Buy Again.

+ quietness, snow grip, wet traction, stability (with raised pressure!), wear/degradation, overall balance, good water management/evacuation, attractive profile, ride comfort

- errm... well, slightly longer braking distances in the summer compared with high performance/low profile tires, but this is natural, you MUST compensate the soft sidewalls with more inflation pressure (usually around/upwards of 2.5 bar), otherwise the tire will be indifferent, snappy
44 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2015   
Given 100% while driving a Volvo (235/55 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Bought these as a budget winter tyre for my Volvo XC90 2017 year. I was expecting okay snow grip looking at the reviews but I am simply amazed how these tyres perform in winter conditions. Driving in our recent snow is like driving on normal roads. Fuel consumption maybe up slightly but that maybe due to the colder temperatures anyway. The Volvo is not a car you flying around corners but compared to the Pirelli scorpion fitted as standard I’ve noticed little difference. In fact I’d say the nankangs edge it slightly.
15 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2018   
Given 84% while driving a Dacia 1310 (2002) (165/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 6,200 average miles
If this review helps anyone, I bought this tyres 2 years ago, brand new not used, i put all 4 tyres on the car and i waited for "winter is coming", in heat condition this tyre obviously is not good it looses the grip very much (because it's a winter tyre and it's softer then the summer ones), on the other hand, in winter and cold conditions the tyres do very well, i feel the car very smooth, i have grip, and the braking is good, the car it's a non ABS and non power steering, so for no asistences they do very good.
Anyway i recommend the tyres because i am very satisfied.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nankang SV2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang SV2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang SV2 >

Latest Nankang SV2 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Smart roadster (205/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
I drive a very light car (800kg), so this review might not apply to all cars. Bought these tyres second hand very cheaply even thought I was rather sceptical about Chinese tyres.
I was actually amazed about how good values these are, especially compared to the Vredestein Snowtrac 5 I used to have on another car.
Driving on snow was great, no problem at all (even with rwd), in mud an dirty roads as well.
Handling on hotter days wasn't indeed all that great, but for a winter tire, I guess it's fair to say its ok.

All in all, I would definitely recommend these, as they have great value for the price (Heard different mechanics saying these were rubbish, turned out they had never even tried these, just said that because they are Chinese)
1 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019   
Given 59% while driving a Vauxhall (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,500 easy going miles
I wanted a pair of M+S tyres and these seemed to fit my budget, I had a set of sv2s fitted on the front of my vauxhall combo van and although they are a good tyre in the wet, dry condtions they don't wear to well I went though my first set of sv2s in about 15k, the problem I found with them is they seem to wear quite heavy on the inner and out edges initially I thought the correct tyre pressure for my van wasn't enough 36psi as side wear is usually under inflation, so I bought a new pair and had a 4 wheel alignment done and took the psi up a bit more and checked the pressure every week and still they wore on the sides the trouble with these tyres are the side tread is very shallow compared to the centre of the tyre so it doesnt take look before the sides are on the wear limits and if you go below the wear markers by only a tiny bit it wont belong before cords are showing through as I found out on the first pair, the centre of the tyres still has plenty left but the outter edges are on the limit so the tyre is not legal then, normally a set of tyres on my van will last 40k to 50k and will wear even as I don't drive like I'm having trouble taking off, this is not the first time I've had problems with side wear with nankangs, I guess tyre flexing and rolling during cornering is a major problem with the sv2 to wear the sides like it does, I have since changed to a different make and I'm back to wearing evenly again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter T4 (205/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
They don't do well in 'proper' tyre reviews, but I have nothing but praise for these black circles of amazement. More comfort than my summer tyres and they have always found some grip in the worst of winter. Had them for 5 winters, note that my car is actually a van, I fitted 99XL rated SV2's. Favorite day was when at a party in a country pub and the snow came down, all taxis phoned to cancel due to the weather but my van took all 13 guests home on freshly laid snow with no problem, maybe a lucky number after all?

For the price they are easy to reccomend.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2016   
Given 61% while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (175/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Would not recommend unless you live in a warm location where winter is very mild and only ever drive on slush. On snow they don't grip at all and let me down a lot, though i went for a very small tread intentionally so as to have more traction in snow. Would not recommend for snowy weather or sporty driving
2 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (255/35 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
Hard wearing with 40000 miles on a 260bhp E350 mercedes. Slippy in the wet. Made the E350 feel like an AMG63!
1 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST (205/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 800 easy going miles
Quick review

Bought for my fiesta st180 front wheel drive 200bhp.

Wanted some cheap winter tyres as i live in rural south west england. There is not much choice in the larger / low profile tyres unless you want to pay a fortune.

Due to the size of the standard st alloys 205/40/17 i had to buy some winters to match which i know is not ideal on a wide / low profile tyre. But i have to say i am impressed! Had these fitted for around 800miles now and wear is good they still look like new. Excellent through rain with a decent enough stopping distance. Handling is not as good as my Bridgestone summer tyres but this is due to the tread pattern of the winter tyre, which i wouldn't expect them to be. Do get me wrong they are not bad but who is going to be throwing a car into a corner in bad conditions. NOT ME! After having some snow this morning it performed great had no problem travelling 18miles through it.

Looking back they recommend buying a wheel diameter down from what is fitted with a slightly more narrow profile. This would then perform slightly better in wintery conditions. But have no complaints with mine at all.

Overview:
Better than a summer tyre in under 7oc conditions
Cheap with decent performance
I would recommend them for winter against a summer tyre all day long.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015   
Given 74% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (245/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
Firstly I'd suggest everyone should use winter tyres in winter in Europe where temperature in winter falls below 7C.

My prime purpose buying Nankang was to test a cheap brand to see if that makes much difference from Goodyear or Continental & I must say I am not diappointed. Driving in dry conditions with as high speed as 130 mph in Germany and as snow with a food of snow in alps they performed very well.

Pros:
- I found then stable with speed upto 130 miles per hour in (winter) dry conditions (in Germany).
- Dry grip is pretty decent.
- Snow grip is pretty decent.
- Tread is stable. I have already driven for more than 8000 miles & I guess it will still go at least 8000 more.
- Cheap, almost half the price of any primium brand.

Cons:
- High fuel consumption (I compared it with my summer tyres only).
- Wet grip is manageable.
- Breaking distance is longer than premium tyres (due to less wet grip), but still 4 times better than summer tyres.

I think being budget tyres they are excellent choice. Those who want to stay secure in snow & icy conditions and dont want to spend a lot of money, its best choice.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2014   
Given 76% while driving a Skoda (215/45 R16 H) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
This tyres are good at winter. Snow and ice grip is well. I went on the worst foggy and icy road it was still gripping well. There is not abrasion because tyre is little harder. If you drive in rainy weather, grip is not so well but enough . But it increased my fuel consumption %20 at least,this one is the worst. But if you need cheap and saver winter tyre you can choose.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2014   
Given 51% while driving a BMW 323 Touring (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
its a low buget tire that can have good grip on snow but offers no confort , its feel like a runflut tire
1 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2013   
Given 36% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 90hp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Grip was in dry takelt decent. In the wet goedver, they were just about average. The deal drawback was that the tyres werd comfortable on bumps. They also made the car feel like a shoppingcart on the motorqay. The back end felt very loopse and sloppy. I should recommend A-grade tyrres, it's the only point of contact between the road and your car.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2013   
Given 77% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 40 average miles
65K Km in twoo winters and a summer.
Very good on dry, fails on wet road and on snow.
Very quiet for all the time and very good mailage.
A little hard on bumps.
Exellent for the price, but next tyre train i'll try nokian A3
0 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2013   
Given 89% while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I put these on 17 inch alloys to replace the summer 19 inch tyres/alloys. The car is transformed - better and quieter ride. Uses less fuel too. On snow and ice the traction is awesome. The wear is minimal after 8000 miles when the 19 inch tyres were shot after 16000 miles. The only downside isi slightly wooly handing - but this is an Audi so it was not great anyway!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2013