Accelera Alpha

The Accelera Alpha is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 65%
Wet Grip 44%
Road Feedback 53%
Handling 49%
Wear 69%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 49%

Tyre review data from 128 tyre reviews averaging 55% over 1,078,616 miles driven.

The Alpha is ranked 156th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Accelera Alpha
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80V   F E 74 7.00kgs
195/45 R15 78V   F E 74 6.50kgs
195/50 R15 82V   F E 74 7.50kgs
195/55 R15 89V   C E 74 7.00kgs
185/60 R15 88V   F E 74 7.50kgs
195/60 R15 91V   C E 74 7.50kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C E 74 8.50kgs
225/60 R15 96V   C E 74 10.00kgs
185/65 R15 88H   F C 74 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C E 74 8.00kgs
215/65 R15 100H   C C 74 12.00kgs
205/45 R16 87W   F E 74 8.00kgs
215/45 R16 90W   C C 74 8.50kgs
195/50 R16 84V   F E 74 8.00kgs
205/50 R16 91W   C E 74 8.50kgs
225/50 R16 96W   C E 74 10.00kgs
195/55 R16 91V   C E 74 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 94W   C E 74 8.50kgs
215/55 R16 97W   C E 74 9.50kgs
225/55 R16 99W   C E 74 9.00kgs
205/60 R16 96V   C E 74 9.50kgs
215/60 R16 99V   C E 74 10.00kgs
225/60 R16 102W   C E 74 11.00kgs
215/65 R16 102V   C E 74 10.00kgs
205/40 R17 84W   F E 74 8.00kgs
215/40 R17 87W   F E 74 8.00kgs
245/40 R17 95W   C E 74 11.00kgs
205/45 R17 88W   F E 74 8.50kgs
215/45 R17 91W   C E 74 8.50kgs
235/45 R17 97W   C E 74 10.00kgs
215/55 R17 98W   C E 74 11.00kgs
225/55 R17 101W   C E 74 11.00kgs
205/35 R18 81Y   F E 74  
225/50 R18 99W   C E 74 10.00kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Accelera Alpha. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Accelera Alpha Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Infiniti Q45 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 900 average miles
I just finished a 900 mile trip through the smokey mountians in the rain, I did not experience any drift, aqua planing or any loss of traction. Tires did fine in the dry as well. They are just as good a tire as the Bridgestone Potenzas they replaced.
182 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2016   
Given 36% while driving a Toyota Altezza RS200Z (255/30 R19) on mostly town for 100 average miles
CAUTION WITH OPTING THESE IN LOW PROFILE.
After significant testing and lengthy court issue against Mag and Turbo for fitting these - the verdict is that the low profile Accelera tyre is considered not suitable to fit for low profile. The pattern and fit of these particular tyres has caused the turn in of the tyre at both low and high speed test to dismount themselves from the wheel. This has been tested multi times with the same result. I had major damage inflicted to my wheels as a result - Mag&Turbo/Accelera had no recourse until court ruled with independence test undertaken by AA compliance NZ.
In my opinion THESE TYRE SHOULD NOT BE SOLD.
21 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Infiniti G37 (225/55 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
For a tire that I couldn't find absolutely, or almost no information at all, I've been trying to tell myself to get rid of it and get the tried and proven. But the more I test it's abilities in Rain, Light snow and Dry roads (I live in Seattle area), it handles smoothly. It could be that I'm driving on an G37X which is all wheel drive. Light snow, turning can make me slide forward instead of turning and rain is no problem at all.
16 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2017   
Have you driven on the Accelera Alpha tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera Alpha? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera Alpha >

Latest Accelera Alpha Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 38 easy going miles
When I bought my VW Polo new four years ago it was fitted with Hankook tyres, I don't know the type.I was very pleased at the minimum rate of ware. This week I noticed many small cracks had appeared at each side of the tread above the tyre wall and on the entire circumference on both sides of the tyre. All the four tyres were the same. The depth of tread is 4.2mm which is very good for 38,000miles. Now the tyres are scrap due to that defect after only 2.8mm of tread wear. Due to it being MOT time and in case the police should stop me for some reason I have had to buy four new tyres. It means that Hankook are expensive tyres when they have to be replaced after only 2.8mm of tread wear. I showed the tyre fault to the VW dealer and they were not interested. N Mould
14 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020   
Given 39% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Bought a Mazda MX5 NB svt with these tyres on. Almost killed me twice.
Undertseers like crazy in the wet, literally have cars pilling up behind me in winter time when i'm turning.
I know the car is a little tail happy in the wet, especially since it has an LSD, but this is ridiculous.
However, more or less okay in the dry.
I would 100% not recommend these tyres to anyone unless you only take your car out on sunny days or you're a thrill seeker who loves to drift around the place.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 36% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Outright dangerous in the wet. Massive understeer on wet roundabouts, and have to be extremely careful.

Dry grip, wear and price are fine.

Comfort is awful and so is road noise.

Very excited to be replacing them, going for Michelin PS4 after this experience.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2018   
Given 36% while driving a Mazda 6 Sport 2.3L (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Recently bought a Mazda 6 2.5 sport. the handling on the Mazda is supposed to be brilliant but have noticed the car has these Accelera tyres on it.
the car is terrible in the dry especially in the corners. Hit a little hole etc then the car is thrown towards the hedge even at low speed. In the wet it is like ice skating. These have to be budget tyres? Getting some P zero's put on soon. In my opinion. AVOID!
2 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2018   
Given 27% while driving a MINI One D (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had these on the rear of a mini when I bought it and vredstein sportrac 5 on fronts
At about 5mm they’ve totally given up in the wet
Makes for great oversteer but a bit on the dangerous side
Wouldn’t get these again
8 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2018   
Given 31% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Once again, I bought a car which the previous owner tried to ruin by fitting very poor tyres. These may not be the worst tyres I've ever tried but in comparison to my other Alfa 156 which runs Pirelli P7 Cinturato tyres, these are truly poor.

The biggest issue is that until the front tyres wore down enough, the rear was unstable in both wet and dry conditions. Many of the suspension arms were new, the others good and even playing with the suspension geometry offered no improvement. The car runs straight and true but these tyres are just so poor. It is hard to gauge grip as feedback is poor and breakaway and recovery is not very controllable, enjoyable or recommended. Traction and braking are notably poor aspects.

Ride comfort and noise is not great and slightly worse than the Continental Premium Contact 2 tyres which were previously on the other 156. All tyres went out of balance and have been rebalanced with quite a lot of balance weights which I usually take as a sign of poor construction.

Wear is irrelevant but I'd say quite poor. In any case, the tyres' reduction in already poor performance means I just won't take the chance to wear these right down to the same level I would with premium brands or decent mid range tyres like Hankook.

My advice is either pay more for Hankook or Pirelli touring tyres or just simply save money and buy cheaper and better Rovelo tyres which I can honestly say are superior to these.
5 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2017   
Given 30% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
I had these on the back of my BMW 3 Series and i am sure they were trying to kill me. The slightest hint of a wet road and the back end would let go. Ran them for about 3000 miles. The final straw was when my wife was driving at about 60mph on a damp dual carriageway in a straight line and span the car. Luckily it was late at night and didn't hit anything. These were gone a couple of days later and uniroyals put on. Car was back to its old self again. Worst tyres i have ever had.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2017   
Given 24% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Horrendous tyres. Only thing good about them them is the dry grip. Everything else is appalling.

They were fitted to a 62 plate Audi A1. Couldn't corner in the wet, encountered very heavy understeer. Wouldn't recommend these tyres. These tyres came fitted to the car when I brought it.

Fitted Toyo tyres and already I've seen a massive improvement.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2016   
Given 13% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.6 SXi (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
Do not buy these tyres if you value your life or car.
So many people on this site just unfortunately do not know enough about tyres to post reviews.
These tyres are dangerous I am in the process of removing a relatively new set from my new partners car.
Let's look at the facts these are cheap as chips tyres wet grip E you only get what you pay for.
Big brand company's spend thousands of pounds developing New tyres experimenting with different compounds, rubbers and construction unfortunately the same cannot be said for these.
My local tyre dealer who I have known for years does not know how these tyres get a European safety rating ! Yes that bad. The handling is terrible and with over 5mm of tread left my partner who is no racing driver does not understand what is wrong with her car skidding and feeling unsafe on wet roads I new straight away its terrible tyres ! Going to change the lot asap.
These are budget price and ditch finding road holding don't be fooled by people rating these tyres as good if you want good then do yourself a favour and spend some money on a quality brand or at least a good quality mid range tyre. Remember your life and car are worth it as this is the only thing between you and the road. Enough said I think.
13 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2016   
Given 39% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 23 average miles
Just come back from having two of these tyres replaced on the front of an A3.The tyres had come supplied by a dealer with the car 2 years ago.

The best thing you can say is they don't wear quickly. Or much at all. 23,000 miles and still legal. I suspect the rubber compound is very hard.

Bad news? The left tyre developed a large radial crack on the inside wall that I only spotted by chance. When both tyres were removed they had very uneven wear. Tyre pressures were spot on.

Wet grip was poor, road noise was horrendous and the handling awful.

Replaced with some Pirelli's (not my first choice but it was a distress buy) and my ears are already thanking me.

Chap at the garage said he often see's Acellera tyres come in with the radial cracks on the inner and outer wall.

I'd avoid these tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2016   
Given 43% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Fitted to my Mondeo ST220, initially thought these tyres were half decent for the price and to be fair in the dry they perform well - HOWEVER, in the wet these tyres are VERY dangerous. Driving on a roundabout in the wet at 10-15mph will induce heavy under-steer, I've ended up crossing lanes and nearly forced someone to my left into the barriers as a result. Traction control light flickers away constantly in the wet even trying to accelerate on a straight road at 60mph in the wet and tyres can't find traction. With 2 young kids travelling with me most of the time i am replacing these tyres ASAP and would advise everyone not to buy them if thinking about doing so and if you have them on your car get them replaced! Shocking tyre in the wet!!!
1 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2016   
Given 50% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Anyone driving anything sporty or rear wheel drive should seriously avoid these tyres. Driving a modest 160bhp MX5 2.0 Roadster, these came fitted by the dealership I bought the car from. To be honest I'm surprised I can still write this review (and am still walking the earth).

Now, I'm not a crazy driver and don't push hard, but it's a sporty car with great cornering... Or so it should be WITHOUT these tyres. With the tyres the slightest bit of damp on the roads and you have a death trap, even at slow speeds as there is just no grip.

I recognise that few on here with saloons etc. love these tyres and I'm sure that's all good, but anyone with any grunt under the bonnet, avoid at all costs if you want to stay in one piece.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2016