MINI Cooper S Works Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S Works.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S Works? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S Works better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Dunlop SP Sport FM800 (54) 88% 87% 80% 84% 85% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (178) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (90) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Neuton NT5000 (66) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 (29) 89% 80% 78% 80% 79% 83%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (65) 84% 79% 81% 81% 76% 75%
Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico (15) 87% 81% 85% 75% 80% 73%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (46) 87% 86% 72% 72% 69% 78%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (24) 88% 80% 73% 74% 58% 76%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (165) 79% 69% 69% 67% 63% 64%
Evergreen EU72 (48) 75% 61% 60% 60% 73% 67%
Federal 595EVO (39) 74% 46% 69% 64% 72% 54%
Toyo T1S (10) 66% 49% 63% 57% 65% 65%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%

MINI Cooper S Works Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 77% (205-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Bridgestone potenza sport , when I purchased my car mini cooper Jcw it had Michelin ps4 front and rear , was very happy with the way they performed, through the summer , as winter was coming and as the frt tyres got go 4mm I found the car was aquaplaning even as 50 mph , time for new front tyres , I have never been a Bridgestone fan ; looking at the reviews I thought I give them I try , as the mini is not a big heavy car, was not worried about wear , the differences between the ps4 and Bridgestone on my car is that the Bridgestone are better feedback, less noise, more comfort, less aquaplaning (new tyre) great feel on the road, good grip wet and dry
But ! I only have had these tyres on in the winter so far , I think from other reviews , I what am finding there temperature sensitive more than most other tyres , I can not pull off quickly without spinning the wheels ( expected in the wet ) but in the dry spins up easy from standing compared to the ps4 . “Hope this improves in the summer” , these tyres don’t like the cold as other reviews point out ,
You lose confidence in the tyre when it’s cold : Would not buy again because they spin up so easy even in the dry , and lose
Confidence in the tyres when it’s cold weather , will see what there like in the summer and do a review
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-27 03:02:03
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought these three years ago, and they've held up pretty nicely to some spirited street and club drives. Using them confidently in the rain, they have some noise and a bit of harsh road but, mine are run-flats. Now swapping wheels to something a bit wider and ditching run-flats, I'd like to try something else. I'll be keeping these on the 17" OEM wheels and in the shed in case.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-21 18:49:11
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-03 13:26:30
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 51% (215-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 miles
Made my car handle like rubbish. Even after a proper 4 wheel alignment they felt dangerous and made the car skip around the road and tramline.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-20 14:48:11
Writing about the Evergreen EU72 given 36% (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Put these on my 2004 mini jcw. I run a small stretch but thing that would cause abnormal or uneven wear. Just to show rim lip. For lack of discretion, I can grip my balls harder than these things grip the road. And I mean that in the best way cause they are very cheap. They wear out wayyyyyy too quick. I’ll admit to driving hard but with a 280 tw, I could have pushed a quality 200tw tire harder than I pushed these and got multiple seasons out of them. No doubt in my mind. They lasted around 4 months (7-8,000km) of use and the tread in the front was mangled. Scrapping away at the wear bar. I can say 100% I never did a burn out in these tires. I did take corners a little slidey sometimes but that’s not uncommon for the average spirited driver with a fun car. This is all not to mention the fact that they actually don’t grip that well either. Needless to say, they wore way too quickly and for the time and money wasted on buy and installing these, I would not recommend as a budget tire for anyone looking to get a cheapy performance tire for they pretty fast-very fast daily driver. I hope this helps some people
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-13 08:25:40
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 70% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
These replaced some very aged budget tyres fitted by a prior owner, so the improvement was always going to be huge. They have a generous rim protector and a fairly attractive sidewall. Grip levels in the wet and dry are excellent as you would expect for this level of tyre, this is a second car which I really only drive hard and you would need to be driving at very unsafe speeds to pass the limits of these tyres on this car. One area I feel they are particularly good for my car is in reducing wheelspin when pulling away or accelerating hard out of a corner - they are considerably better than previous rubbish tyres and also the Continental sport contact tyres on my mother’s Cooper S from the same year in which even she complains about wheelspin (they are runflats admittedly). For example pulling out of the local petrol station forecourt which is uneven and greasy - hers will flick up the traction control from even a very gentle take off, whereas mine simply doesn’t - even if you pull away quite aggressively. I don’t think that initial turn-in is very sharp on these tyres, as though the sidewall is a little soft. I feel they are very susceptible to punctures. I have sustained two punctures in 2000 miles, both pieces of metal picked up in my own drive - we have 3 other cars in regular use passing over the same tarmac (including another Mini from the same year wearing Continental tyres) and none have suffered the same issue. One was a staple in the sidewall (from a regular office stapler) which completely wrote off the tyre with under 500 miles on it. The second was a small piece of rusty metal that had fallen off my Land Rover (they do that). I also notice there is some damage to one of the nearside sidewalls and I haven’t hit any kerbs! I felt the same with my previous Golf GTI which was fitted with (then brand new) Assy 2’s which obliterated a sidewall on a cattle grid. I’m interested to read other reviews to see if others have had the same issue.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 01:34:53
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 87% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12500 spirited miles
3rd time purchasing these tyres and often recommend them to friends. went around Nürburgring on these tyres and was very impressed. heading back this year on the same tyres. very good performance and very good in the wet
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-11 07:11:42
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport FM800 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
My wif's Mini Cooper S Convertable had Pirelli Tyres prior to the Dunlop..
Dunlop definately "Value for Money"
Now fitting them to my Audi A3 ....
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-05 06:17:43
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 36% (205-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Outright dangerous in the wet. Massive understeer on wet roundabouts, and have to be extremely careful.

Dry grip, wear and price are fine.

Comfort is awful and so is road noise.

Very excited to be replacing them, going for Michelin PS4 after this experience.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-18 04:41:15
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 93% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Love these tyres had pirelli p zeros before and the toyos have loads more grip in wet and dry also very surprised with the wear, fwd 250hp+, a heavy right foot tyres 8 months old more than half the tread still there. The price is very competitive compared to rivals cannot recommend highly enough. Will certainly be buying again
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-14 03:32:10
Writing about the Federal 595EVO given 55% (205-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
The worst tires for the wet road I've ever used.
I do not recommend it at all.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-23 07:56:34
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 73% (215-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I was dubious about buying these tyres but went for it and have not regretted it. Reviews saying that they are no good is rubbish. if you drive everywhere like you are on a track then maybe, but i go around twisty roads in my 220hp front wheel drive mini which can always be a handful with no worries. wet or dry . if you drive like a **ck then these maybe are not for you , but normal people and the occasional b road sunday make you feel better driver will have no probs. Why pay 3 times as much for tyres that you will never take to the edge.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-20 15:44:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre