MINI Cooper S Works Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S Works.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S Works? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S Works better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (132) 95% 85% 90% 87% 82% 82%
Dunlop SP Sport FM800 (23) 88% 87% 80% 87% 89% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (151) 89% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (200) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 81%
Neuton NT5000 (63) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico (15) 87% 81% 85% 75% 80% 73%
Avon ZV7 (81) 86% 83% 75% 73% 75% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (190) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69%
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75%
Pirelli PZero Nero (132) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65%
Evergreen EU72 (45) 77% 63% 63% 62% 75% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (147) 80% 69% 70% 67% 65% 64%
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55%
Toyo T1S (10) 66% 49% 63% 57% 65% 65%
Accelera PHI (144) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (135) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32%

MINI Cooper S Works Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 70% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
These replaced some very aged budget tyres fitted by a prior owner, so the improvement was always going to be huge. They have a generous rim protector and a fairly attractive sidewall. Grip levels in the wet and dry are excellent as you would expect for this level of tyre, this is a second car which I really only drive hard and you would need to be driving at very unsafe speeds to pass the limits of these tyres on this car. One area I feel they are particularly good for my car is in reducing wheelspin when pulling away or accelerating hard out of a corner - they are considerably better than previous rubbish tyres and also the Continental sport contact tyres on my motherís Cooper S from the same year in which even she complains about wheelspin (they are runflats admittedly). For example pulling out of the local petrol station forecourt which is uneven and greasy - hers will flick up the traction control from even a very gentle take off, whereas mine simply doesnít - even if you pull away quite aggressively. I donít think that initial turn-in is very sharp on these tyres, as though the sidewall is a little soft. I feel they are very susceptible to punctures. I have sustained two punctures in 2000 miles, both pieces of metal picked up in my own drive - we have 3 other cars in regular use passing over the same tarmac (including another Mini from the same year wearing Continental tyres) and none have suffered the same issue. One was a staple in the sidewall (from a regular office stapler) which completely wrote off the tyre with under 500 miles on it. The second was a small piece of rusty metal that had fallen off my Land Rover (they do that). I also notice there is some damage to one of the nearside sidewalls and I havenít hit any kerbs! I felt the same with my previous Golf GTI which was fitted with (then brand new) Assy 2ís which obliterated a sidewall on a cattle grid. Iím interested to read other reviews to see if others have had the same issue.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 07:34:53
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 87% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12500 spirited miles
3rd time purchasing these tyres and often recommend them to friends. went around NŁrburgring on these tyres and was very impressed. heading back this year on the same tyres. very good performance and very good in the wet
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-11 13:11:42
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport FM800 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
My wif's Mini Cooper S Convertable had Pirelli Tyres prior to the Dunlop..
Dunlop definately "Value for Money"
Now fitting them to my Audi A3 ....
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-05 12:17:43
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 36% (205-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Outright dangerous in the wet. Massive understeer on wet roundabouts, and have to be extremely careful.

Dry grip, wear and price are fine.

Comfort is awful and so is road noise.

Very excited to be replacing them, going for Michelin PS4 after this experience.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-18 10:41:15
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 93% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Love these tyres had pirelli p zeros before and the toyos have loads more grip in wet and dry also very surprised with the wear, fwd 250hp+, a heavy right foot tyres 8 months old more than half the tread still there. The price is very competitive compared to rivals cannot recommend highly enough. Will certainly be buying again
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-14 09:32:10
Writing about the Federal 595EVO given 55% (205-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
The worst tires for the wet road I've ever used.
I do not recommend it at all.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-23 13:56:34
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 73% (215-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I was dubious about buying these tyres but went for it and have not regretted it. Reviews saying that they are no good is rubbish. if you drive everywhere like you are on a track then maybe, but i go around twisty roads in my 220hp front wheel drive mini which can always be a handful with no worries. wet or dry . if you drive like a **ck then these maybe are not for you , but normal people and the occasional b road sunday make you feel better driver will have no probs. Why pay 3 times as much for tyres that you will never take to the edge.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-20 21:44:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 95% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
My 2008 MINI Cooper S JCW had Dunlop RF Tyres when I purchased it, leading it to feel like Bambi on ice, wet or dry.

Having used Pilot Sport 4's before on a 270bhp VW Golf, these were the only tyre I had in mind for my MINI.

Dependable and confidence inspiring, in all conditions - I'd certainly recommend these anyone.

Spend a little more and be safe in the knowledge you have one of the best tyres produced.

tyre reviewed on 2017-03-11 13:09:51
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
I have a Mini JCW (210BHP Turbo)and am a big fan of Conti sport tyres as I always put the conti 2s on my old BMW 328i Sport and got 20K (miles)minimum.

I had Yokohama S drive on my old Supercharged Mini running 230bhp and again was looking at 20k. The Conti Sport 5 have done 6K and are just legal, the wife mainly does the school run and uses it for work (it is easy to park she says). She can be a bit spirited, even so the tyres on them and have melted in 6 months, I use the car generally twice a week, about 20 miles and although put my foot down am far from pushing the car hard. Reading one comment that the tyre wear is "horrific" I can only agree, I really expected so much more from a brand I have always preferred to use.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-29 18:02:43
Writing about the Evergreen EU72 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I used these tyres instead of Toyo DRB's.. Much understeer, not a tyre for the fast driver! They last longer than others!
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-03 07:21:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre