Toyo Proxes 4

The Toyo Proxes 4 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 45 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 497,862 miles driven.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 63%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 66%
Wear 77%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 63%

The Proxes 4 is ranked 100th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes 4 Plus.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo Proxes 4

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Toyo Proxes 4

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo Proxes 4. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Toyo Proxes 4 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I’ve bought my Mini with these tires fitted by the previous owner, first thoughts were “the car handles very well, imagine what it can do with some proper sticky tires” I was wrong. Terribly wrong. In ten years of ownership I’ve never found a tire wich is no-where-near as good as the Proxes 4 from Toyo, at least on my car (and street spirited driving only) I know, Proxes 4 are discontinued since 2014 or maybe more, but I want to leave this review just to share my experience, because honestly, I’ve found very little information about the Proxes 4. Pros & cons: -terrible in the wet (in a straight line was ok, grip-less in corners) -AMAZING handling in the dry -superb steering feel and response -did I mentioned the handling was good?! -quite harsh on rough roads -sidewall/carcass stiffness at semislick level (AD08RS have softer sidewall) -price was fair, but you can’t buy it anymore so…
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2021
Given 67% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.9TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Not made for the UK weather .....had these on a 4x4 Subaru before and loved them ...now have them on a fabia vrs and honestly scared in the wet ....sticks like glue in the dry but no confidence in them with wet....won't be buying them again for the vrs ....weight of car might not help or 2 wheel drive but they are getting changed
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2018
Given 91% while driving a BMW M5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
This tyres are good, just you have to consider the weight of vehicle. I had them on 5th series of BMW and they work well in any weather conditions. I would not put them for SUV. Actually any wide high speed tyres doesn't like a vertical clearances. that time they loose grip.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2016
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes 4 >

Latest Toyo Proxes 4 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Mazda 2 SP (225/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 40,000 miles
These tyres came factory fitted on my Mazda CX5. Tgey are ok in dry weather, loose grip in wet weather en lack any grip at all in even the slightest ice and snow conditions.
In my view the only real benefit of thus tyre is long wear. I have driven almost 60.000 km now and still have 3-4 mm profile.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2017
Given 70% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.8T (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Not a bad tyre for the money, but definitely a summer tyre. Dry grip is good with decent feedback, fairly progressive. I ran these on a fast-road setup car with coilovers and polybushes and around 240bhp, and they worked well although as they worse they struggled to put the power down. Wet grip was not the best and therefore driving style should be adjusted as appropriate. The sidewalls are quite soft on these, I found I needed a few extra psi to balance that out or the ride felt a bit 'soggy'. I ran this tyre on both 6.5J and 8J rims with no issues.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2015
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 44% while driving a Ford Falcon XR6 Ute (245/45 R18 P) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Adequate in the Dry but spooky in the wet especially on long fast corners. They spin up way too easily in the Wet; much more prevalant that previous Conti3;s & even Achillies. The good thing is theve made me get a really good set of Pirelli Rossos, which are GR8 !
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2014
Given 50% while driving a BMW 328i (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Not the best tyre in the world IMO - Tyre doesnt inspire confidents or gives decent feed back - wet grip is rubbish and all over the place. Two good things is they are average in the dry and hard wearing. Not made for the UK (Wet weather).
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2014
Given 66% while driving a Ford Falcon xr6 (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 35,000 average miles
Good wearing with good grip wet and dry.
Reasonably comfortable without too harsh a ride.
Lacks grip sometimes when cornering.
Good water clearing ability right up to end of life.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2013
Given 67% while driving a Ford (295/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
Pretty good tire, but prone to attain leaks. Have to constantly monitor whether the pressure is holding. It may be b/c of the 20" rims they are on. Not sure.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2013
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.9 PD100 (185/55 R15 V) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Amazing tyres, they stick like glue in the dry, excellent in the wet, maybe just a little more prone to aquaplaning... buy again is a must!
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2013
Given 40% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Possibly the worst tyre I've ever fitted to my car.

Even budget Accelera's were better.
Dry grip is ok, but there isn't much give. yyou're going around a bend fine, or understeering out the other side.

Damp/wet grip is terrible. Cars unsettled and won't grip at anything other than a snails pace. The standard Conti 3's with 2mm of tread were better. I get the TC light flashing at me in 5th on some occassions, and wheelspin in 3rd in the dry
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2012
Given 91% while driving a Honda Civic Coupe 1.7 Petrol. (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
Very nice tyres, unbeaten in the dry! didn't really feel confident enough to push it in the wet but who does push it in the wet? wear rate was brilliant! had them on for 25k with 2 rotations over a 7 month period & still had 4/5mm all round before I sold the wheels with the tyres. Tyre size was a 205/40/17, profile was quite sexy with the rim protector which did its job quite well when the mrs had the car (on very few occasions fortunately) As for comfort, well again for low profile tyres they were very nice on the road with average noise levels (Japanese Coupe with minimal sound proofing) feedback was excellent in the dry, if you do push them, you can feel them gripping the more you push. Doesn't take them too long to get warmed up either. Definately would buy again. This was my 2ns set. Onto Hankook K110s next :)
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2012
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Celica SS3 Beams (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good grip in the dry and fairly good in the wet. They will break sooner than the T1R's, but the slide is slow and controllable. They last longer than the T1R's- about 2000k, but not as long as the Teos. They are quieter than the T1R but not as quiet as the Teos.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2012
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (195/50 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Now on my second set of these as I have been so pleased with them on Mitsubishi Colt. They are much better than the original Continentals that were on from new. They also worked really well in the snow of 2010 and 2011 and we never go stuck. Will be sticking with TOYO from now on.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2012
Given 54% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Juts about the worst wet weather tyres I have ever had the misfortune to fit to any car I have owned and I have been driving cars for 35 years.
In the wet (or damp) they are just about ok in a straight line, but take a corner at anything faster than mother drives and you are under-steering to a degree you will not comprehend. Lateral grip is appalling. They let go with no warning (and as I have already at very low speeds) and getting them back on track is case of praying and pulling in various cheeks.
I changed to these from Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta’s and to say there is a huge difference between the two is an understatement – pay the extra and be happy and safe.
I drove into the garage with a car that was tight-handling, predictable and very safe in the wet (even with 2-2.5mm of tread left). They never ever let go the way these things do.
I came out with a wallowing (the side walls are so soft compared to the Ultracs), low-grip (not so bad in the dry), slow turn-in (you wonder at first if you have actually turned the wheel) bag of S...e.
Without a doubt, once these tyres wear out I will NEVER EVER buy another one.
I drive a Focus ST (Eibachs lowered) with about 280-290 bhp , so if you drive the same, or similar, then don’t bother with these tyres unless you want to end up in a ditch. If you are pushing out similar power you will get wheel-spin in 4th in a straight-line which can be a little disconcerting for some when you’re not expecting it – in the wet forget ANY acceleration other than half-throttle in 1st and 2nd.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2012