Ford Focus ST Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus ST.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus ST? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus ST better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (32) 94% 90% 89% 89% 86% 91%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (150) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (67) 93% 88% 86% 89% 77% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Syron Everest 1 (3) 77% 90% 83% 90% 73% 87%
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70%
Michelin CrossClimate (120) 88% 86% 84% 80% 85% 91%
Cooper WeatherMaster Snow (7) 82% 85% 83% 78% 80% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (16) 86% 74% 81% 75% 87% 84%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (64) 85% 80% 80% 81% 77% 81%
Kumho WinterCraft WP72 (1) 80% 80% 70% 80% 0% 80%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver (125) 83% 72% 76% 71% 85% 79%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Continental Sport Contact (17) 85% 76% 75% 74% 69% 71%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (85) 87% 81% 79% 79% 56% 74%
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (117) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (227) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75%
Pirelli P Zero (114) 84% 70% 77% 73% 61% 66%
Pirelli PZero Nero (132) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (48) 84% 73% 73% 75% 62% 63%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (124) 77% 67% 61% 59% 70% 71%
Nankang NS2 (205) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (128) 70% 47% 57% 54% 69% 48%
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%

Ford Focus ST Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 83% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Had these for less than 1000 miles but so far so good. Originally bought for the rear to replace worn out Goodyear F1 AS2 but they highlighted how poor the Runway 926s on the front were. So replaced those with the Kormoran UHPs too so four matching tyres now, and what a difference its made. Very impressed so far, for the price theyre excellent value - time will tell I suppose. I dont drive like an F1 driver, so dont need to spend 140 a tyre, but draw the line at budget tyres, these are far from that.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-24 05:04:20
Writing about the Kumho WinterCraft WP72 given 79% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
When it comes to "performance" winter tires, you don't really have much choice. There the Michelin Alpin and surely some equivalent from Pirelli and Goodyears but the Kumho wintercraft wp72 is the only middle-high tire available. At least where I am from (Canada). It offer very good wet, snow and ice performance while not being very soft like most of the winter tires. They tend to react like a summer tire without being as much grippy and direct. You do sacrifice snow/ice grip in exchange for performance but they do not alter the personality of the car like other non performance oriented tire do. They are literally half priced compared to the high end competition. So if money is not a criteria for you, they yes go with the high end but for 99% of us, it is a no brainer IF you a have spirited driving and a vehicle that offer some performance, otherwise a snow/ice winter dedicated tire is the way to go (saving money because the tire is not trying to sporty also).
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-07 00:19:55
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 100% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 120 spirited miles
When I bought the car it had 4 different tyres and I struggled to control wheel spin in 1st, 2nd and sometimes 3rd.
I bought 2 for the front to try. After a week I ordered 2 for the rear as the difference was amazing.
I have drove in the dry and wet with no problem but I have yet to drive in winter
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-08 13:34:45
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 94% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-22 06:51:33
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 86% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Righteo... The Ol' PS4 vs. CPC6 battle.
After having the PS4 on my 13' FOCST for 52,000km's it was time to replace.
Did I really really WANT the CPC6??.. No, but my local shop had them on special for $150 less than the PS4 so I decided to.. after conferring with TyreReviews.co.uk to give them a go.
The issue is with any top tier tyre.. the actual OBJECTIVE differences are almost non existent. So, are they just as good in grip/performance objectively??... Yes. But subjectively, they actually seem a little grippier in the dry compared to the PS4. (driving a 70km route each way to work, I get a pretty consistent test comparison. WET grip, I don't push it to the limit, so again objectively they seem on par, no worse at least.
Comfort.. sidewall seems a little stiffer compared with the PS4.
All in all - Pretty much same same but different. The only real Elephant in the room is longevity / wear. We all know Conti's wear considerably less than Michelin. I'm not expecting 50,000km. But anything less than 40,000 will be unacceptable.
One thing I will add Sidewall design is terrible on the CPC6.. they look terrible due to, I assume the noise reduction panelling. And there seems to be a real difference in the mould release between Michelin and Continental. Michelin have the traditional tyre spikes on the sidewall, Conti do not.. and use an almost Godlike mould release agent. It too me 3 cleaning steps with Lacquer Thinner to remove completely. You must do this otherwise your tyre shine of choice just won't stick.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-30 02:18:48
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Only had the tyres a few months but had all weathers including wet slush, deep standing water ice and snow and I’m really impressed with the forward grip, breaking and comfort of these tyres. The handling has been excellent and really surprised how easily I drove through 5-6” of snow . I can’t comment of dry hot conditions or on tyre wear yet but very happy with the tyre so far. If I had to find a negative they lack a little side bite in snow compared to a traditional winter tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-21 20:18:25
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-29 13:31:54
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 59% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 12427 easy going miles
i bought my Ford Focus ST3 2016 with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 , the handling of the car is good , i like the rim protector lining , but this tyre only lasted 2800KM, i dont race or drag ,
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-26 14:49:17
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Satin given 100% (235-40-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Instantly noticeable improvement over the Goodyear tyres they replaced. Wet and dry grip is excellent. Road noise is reduced, while comfort is dramatically improved.
These are fitted on a 2013 focus ST. Remapped. They handle the power very well.
Highly recommended. It's hard not to at the price they are available at right now.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-26 15:25:38
Writing about the Mohawk M112 given 34% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever owned. Put on for me by TRUST Ford Bradford. They must have really disliked me. They are dangerous and feedback from them is none existant. If you have some drive with caution.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-21 00:36:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre