Kumho Ecsta 712

The Kumho Ecsta 712 is a High Performance All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 42%
Road Feedback 51%
Handling 47%
Wear 74%
Comfort 50%
Buy again 31%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 52% over 150,250 miles driven.

The Ecsta 712 is ranked 25th of 27 All Season High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Kumho Ecsta 712
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta 712
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecsta 712. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta 712 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta 712? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta 712 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta 712 Reviews

Honda Civic (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 31,250 spirited miles
This is my old tyre from 2002, buy this with new set of wheels for my 6. gen Civic sedan, it's long how I not drive this tyres so will try to be objective about review.
First I don't know that this is all season tyre and not summer, when this tyre is be new is have good handling on dry and averge on wet, I must take off this tyres after 5 years because almost crash my car on road wet buy fog, is become very unpredictable and slippery, almost like last 3 to 4mm lyre is made of plastic or maybe is just troug 5 year of use it's become older and "less tyres" .
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2015   
Given 70% while driving a Audi TT (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
GOOD ALL ROUND TYRE FOR PRICE, VERY GOOD IN SNOW.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2010   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 70% while driving a Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo (245/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 16,000 average miles
The factory fitment is Yokohama Advans. They were replaced by a set of these Korean tyres by the previous owner just before I purchased the car. I immediately noticed how inferior (dry grip in particular) they were to the Bridgestone Potenza SO2 on my earlier model GTO I had been driving for 4 years. Two of the Kumho were failed at 21,000km at the six-monthly vehicle inspection for being "out of round" with 5mm+ tread still left. The remaining two have 2.5mm tread remaining at 26,000km. The tyres have been rotated at 8000km intervals.
For the price the 712 is an adequate high performance tyre for general city & motorway driving, but remembering how good the Bridgestone SO2 were, do not inspire great confidence for spirited driving on New Zealand's generally narrow & twisting chip seal surfaced secondary roads.
Replaced the "faulty" 712s under warranty with Kumho Ecsta KU31 which rate similarly. Am about to replace the last two 712s with Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3s and am hoping for a better outcome.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2010   
Given 45% while driving a SEAT Toledo (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Got these tyres as part of a alloy/tyre package, not the worst tyre I have had experience with but not great either. Dry grip seems fine in an average car always hed well, though never pushed the car too far. Wet grip I found quite bad with the rear kicking out even at fairly low speeds around corners and roundabouts. The ride is also quite firm and I immediately noticed a drop in mpg as soon as tyres were fitted.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2010   
Given 40% while driving a Toyota Altezza RS200Z (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Had these on the rear of my car when I brought it. They made for lots of fun around town wet or dry as you could skid up anywhere but on the open road they're just plain scary. In the wet the rear would slide out at 100km/h. I have since replaced them with Bridgestone Potenza RE001 which are far superior.

Spend a little more & get a better tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2010   
Given 39% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted on the front when I bought it. Dry grip is fair but the tyre noise is very loud. Similarly the ride is verging on spine shatteringly bad. Wet grip is very poor, particularly cornering when the front will understeer at the slightest provocation. Leaving junctions in the wet was also a bit of a gamble. Cannot recommend these tyres.
So bad were they in fact that even though they had another year of tread left at least, I changed them yesterday for two Contisportcontact 3s and they night-and-day different. Very pleased I forked out early. It seems you get what you pay for.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2009   
Given 34% while driving a Nissan R33 Skyline GtS25T (225/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Well what can i say except that this tyre is a true 'Ditch-Finder'.
In the dry its no better than average.
In the wet on an R33 Skyline GTsT its downright dangerous.
Heres what happens, on a motorway in the wet u can't go above 60mph cos if u do, any hint of a bend and the back end of the car just started to slide! And i tried this one bend a few times and it did it everytime in the wet.
Thankfully these tyres are no longer available.
There is a budget brand by the name of 'Admiral' who are selling a tyre with the same name and tread and i think if you value your life, its best to avoid that also.

But Kumho have redeemed themselves with the KU31 which offers about 70% of the performance of a big brand tyre and at about half the price.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2009   
Given 40% while driving a Toyota Celica GT4 (215/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Great price but the tyre shows for it. Admittedly I probably shouldnt be expecting too much from a budget tyre on a 300+bhp car but considering price isnt too bad in dry condition. As soon as the water falls though expect unpredictable cornering even from a 4wheel drive coupe! Stopping power not too bad either fairly hard to lock up. Have found these tyres produce a fair bit more road noise than past tyres (namely BS Potenzas) but seem to hardly wear at all. Not sure would buy again think ill spend that bit more and stay with Bridgestone.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2009   
Given 53% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Wear Wasnt bad, thii the tread ripped off the sidewall!!
Camber/castor/toe was all fine, and the guy who checked the alignment (who sets up touring cars) said the tyre could have a faulty manufacture issue.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2008   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Focus ST (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Had eagle f1's which last all of 9000miles and cost ?83 a corner . Opted for these as a high end budget tyre for ?49 corner and very impressed. 85% as good as the f1's but less road noise and better wear would def recommend: i am trying the Kumho eu31 ecsta sports next. Very good value for money.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2008