Yokohama S306

The Yokohama S306 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 184,050 miles driven.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 62%
Wear 74%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 53%

The S306 is ranked 117th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Yokohama S306

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama S306

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama S306. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Yokohama S306 Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Ford Capri Rs (185/70 R13 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
I have had the tyres on the car for over 10 years, they have covered about 15.000 miles.
The dimensions are 185/70R13 86H.
After over a decade the rubber is a bit hard, but they still have a good amount of tread left, so they have been excellent in longevity, i am changing them this year since they just are quite old and in the rain they don't grip well enough anymore.
On dry pavement they still have good grip.
Road noise is not very loud, they are comfortable to drive on.
I am replacing them with Pirelli Cinturato CN36 185/70R13 86V tyres.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2017
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.4 16V 75 hp (225/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 37,000 spirited miles
Hard wearing tyre - only changed due to hitting pothole. Got 37k out of two front tyres
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2014
Given 76% while driving a Nissan GTiR (200/45 R16) on track for 50 spirited miles
I’ve used these tyres on my car for the last 6 years, mainly due to their cost and longevity. On track they are somewhat surprisingly good…in the dry!
They take about 3 laps to get to full potential and after about 10 laps they start to give up. Traction is good and they offer good feedback of how far you can push them without ending up having a crash. Sidewall is nice and stiff to aid cornering and they are quiet. However, in the wet, they are atrocious! Poor wet grip, locking up is very easy and it’s almost like tip-toeing on ice in certain circumstances.
On the road, the wet grip is brown trousering if polite, roundabout are interesting and even exiting them can be somewhat sideways!
Dry grip on the road is fine; however I would try and get some heat into them 1st before you attempt any “spirited” driving.
Somehow I feel Yokahama spend their R&D money more on dry performance and much less on wet weather performance.
Off to try some decent Bridgestone’s now!
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2014
Have you driven on the Yokohama S306 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama S306? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama S306 >

Latest Yokohama S306 Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Renault Megane R26 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on a Renault Megane R26 when I bought it.I thought yokohama had a good name in motorsport,but I can only say thay are dreadfull in the wet (almost dangerous)every time I get to a roundabout or bend in the wet my heart is in my mouth.I will be fitting Michelin pilots shortly,you dont buy a top handling car to be nervous of it when wet.They remind me of Firestone s660 or Michelin zx,s of old to compare in the wet.I can not coment on how long they last as they where on the car when I bought it.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2013
Given 67% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I put two of these on the front of my remapped Focus ST, and I've been impressed with them so far. I've only done a several hundred miles, but the dry grip is superb, they really do stick to the road and can obviously cope with tuned engines. The wet grip is good too, as long as you don't expect them to perform like they do in the dry, and you adjust your driving behaviour. I feel quite safe using these in the wet. They seem to be wearing well too, I don't wheel spin at every opportunity, but do tend to excelerate hard. I do a lot of motorway driving and I think they are a little noisy, also they are crap in snow, but they do not claim to be a winter tyre.

The best thing about these tyres though is that they are non-directional, which means when they do start to wear, you can swap them over (left to right or visa-versa) to get maximum amount of use out of them. Overall, a good performance tyre.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2013
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 40% while driving a Honda Accord (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
These were fitted to the car when I bought it and were awful in the wet. Trying to pull out at anything other than a snails pace caused the wheels to spin up and hill starts (I live in a very hilly area) were often a chore if heavily loaded. Also, the side walls were/are really very stiff which caused the car's steering to tramline like a b**ch, the ride to be unsettled and a hude amount of tyre roar. Whilst the wear rate was ok, for the money that cost there are better tyres out there.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2011
Given 51% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (185/40 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
I've tried Continental, Michellin Energy Saver, Avon ZV3. They came with the Mazda3, I bought second hand from the dealership recently. Absolutely fine in the dry, even at high speed.
But I would go as far to say - UNSAFE in the slightest hint of wet, when cornering on roundabouts. They wheel spin at 2000rpm in the wet and slide like crazy on a dual carriageway roundabout (40mph). Anything above 25mph and you are stuffed.
They seem to wear pretty well, I've done 4000miles.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2011
Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've just got rid of these tyres after hating driving my R32 for two years and it turns out it was the tyres all along. Comfort? These things remind me of the solid tyres on my tricycle. In all other respects they were fine, maybe even good or very good but it made driving a car that's built to do 150mph feel so uncomfortable and so unstable at anything over about 80 that I wouldn't want to go any faster. They get ten stars for feedback because you could tell which way up the coin was when you ran it over and that's not a good thing!
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2011
Given 82% while driving a Skoda Suberb MkII (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
If i were a dart player then i'd score them as a "180". Up till now i had only used continental tyres, and on my MG ZT i used to just scpape through the 20K mark. these Yokoharma's have just turned 25K and still have approximatly 2K+ left on. WOO!!! I now have a Skoda Supurb and the thing that i realy like about these tyres is the extra thick wall that helps to protects my alloys, even if you just scrape the curb. I'm not a fast driver, 55 and hit the cruse control, thats me. Good grip and control in all weathers, including the snow, yes. Will i buy again, "YES", i'm now checking the internet for best possible price.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2011
Given 71% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 275bhp (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have tried several tyres, will review them all here....
these were great in the dry when new and still good after several k's but didnt last long enough. still the best tyres so far....
also tried - toyo proxies, michelin sport, p6000, pzero's.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2011
Given 46% while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Fitted 2 x yokohama s306 on both front corners of my audi a3 2.0 tdi 8p.
I got them at a good price from blackcircles so i thought i'd give them a go. On the dry they're fine and handle ok...but on a wet surface they're terrible!! just going round a bend at 20 mph the car slides... not good!!!! going to put them on the back and go back to my pirelli 6000s.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2010
Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra V6 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
The best good priced tyre I have ever had. I drive quite hard and have never had a problem with these Tyres, neither in dry or wet conditions. I didn't have any wear problems with the yokos as I did with other Tyres of the same price. I did find in the snow that they gripped really well and always passed other less unfortunate drivers, but I did have traction control so tale it with that in mind. I now have a Mondeo TDI and will be changing the cheap budgets It has on it with S306s when they are worn out.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2010
Given 83% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I have had 2 sets of these on my 2003 tdci mondeo 130bhp and they outperform the Avon zz3 and the michelin pilot sport2 as far as I am concerned (both of which I have had on the same car) Great grip in all conditions, even seemed to get me about in the snow without any scary moments. Would recommend these for a Mondeo any day of the week! Maybe they are less good on other cars, I know they are not as good on a Mazda 3 2.0 sport (the Mrs car) but for that I recommend Toyo Proxes T1R
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2010
Given 50% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
these tyres were on my car when i bought it, they were new with full tread. im not very impressed with them, they are quiet and comfortable on the motorways. dry grip is ok , but i dread when it rains they are very poor. just driving with the flow of traffic i can feel them starting to slide, i have no confidence to put my foot down in the wet at all.

overall i think these are a low range yokohama tyre aimed at steady drivers or motorway munchers.

ive read on car forums other people dont like them either, im trying to waer them down so i can fit vredesteins.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2009