Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (397) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (154) 89% 88% 82% 82% 82% 88%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (74) 92% 88% 85% 89% 78% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (34) 84% 85% 79% 79% 86% 82%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (271) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (70) 85% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (166) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen N9000 (12) 84% 80% 81% 80% 77% 77%
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (193) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (49) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (150) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%

Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
No rim protection!! Despite saying on the side wall it has rim protection, it most certainly doesn’t. Compared to my usual Pilot Sport 3/4 summers which have plenty of curb protection. And sadly I now have to refurb two of my newly refurbished wheels again after being forced against a curb by a SUV charging down a narrow road, I literally just brushed the curb and now they are heavily scuffed.

Grip in normal conditions is ok, but they do squirm around a fair bit when cornering or braking hard at higher speeds. They felt horrible when new but have improved after a few thousand miles. Damp (not wet) grip was atrocious but has also improved. Don’t expect these to perform like high performance summer tyres.

Typically not had any snow since fitting them, but had frost and ice where grip is obviously reduced but they are progressive and predictable. Also seem to perform well on mud covered roads which is common on the country lanes I drive on. They don’t aquaplane on deep puddles which again is common round here.

There is tyre noise, not intrusive but its there. Fuel economy doesn’t seem to be adversely affected by any great degree, maybe 1mpg, but its hard to say as the car uses more fuel in the colder seasons.

If it wasn’t for the useless rim protection, I’d probably buy again.



tyre reviewed on 2020-01-23 17:56:31
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Previously had Yokohama’s but these are ten times better. Much better grip and traction. More noticeable in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-09 20:21:02
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 26% (225-25-18-)
Driving on for 2000 miles
Having had these tyres recommended I bought 4 for my golf r32
They have taken away all feedback and confidence in the handling of my car
Only recently I noticed that the directional tread patterns are different on n/s and o/s of car
They are impossible to change round to have a mirror effect on both sides
This is a bad design in my opinion and will be coming off the car asap
Under braking the car is terrible and at higher speeds it's like hitting black ice !!
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-19 15:28:51
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I've had various makes of tyre over the years last 4 sets I have bought are 2 sets of Vredstein Sessanta's and 2 sets of Good Year Asy 2's so I have history of good tyres to compare to.
When I bought the R32 it had Toyo T1R's which I didn't like at all (I'd driven lots of R32's before buying and these almost ruined the car) as they were noisy, uncomfortable and didn't inspire confidence so I was going to swap over my GY Asy 2 from my previous car when these came up on a deal and I am very very glad I bought them.
I have now done 5K on them and driven in lots of weather and can say they are easily the best all round tyre I have ever driven on.
They have incremental improvements in every area over the Asy 2's except comfort and noise where they are miles ahead of the previous generation tyre. Wear is a bit difficult to judge as this is a new car to me but they still look new after 5K in a heavy car.
The only thing I would point out is they do "look" a little chunkier than other tyres of the same size so not for those where aesthetics are top of the list but for those where driving dynamics are important and you only have 1 car these are just about perfect.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-22 11:20:10
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 96% (225-35-19-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-10 12:29:37
Writing about the Event WL905 given 20% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Awful awful awful! Avoid at all costs. Was test driving an r32 with these tyres, and honestly it was the worst 45 minutes of my life. Even the guy with me was petrified. Every time I tried to navigate a roundabout it was sliding and then trying to accelerate from a roundabout the car just span all 4 wheels and it was in the dry. God help us in the wet, I ended up getting 650 quid knocked off the car because we both knew I had to replace these god awful tyres ASAP. Now running Goodyear f1s and they are superb!
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-17 22:03:57
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Excellent all round tyre. Need some new rubber soon and will probably stick to these as they have performed well. These where on the car when i bought it and ive had around 3000 miles driving on them with no problems. Done lots of researching on internet and the only other tyre which i would consider would prob be Goodyear eagle f1 assymetrics as these have rave reviews too.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-08 10:53:56
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Fantastic grip wet and dry, very quiet and comfortable for a performance tyre BUT the wear is horrible on a hot hatch with an aggressive front camber. Both fronts are down to 0mm on the inside shoulder after only 15,000km (~10,000mi) of mostly spirited driving on twisty country roads and are now unroadworthy, while the rears still have 4mm left and are wearing evenly. I have never had any tyres that lasted such a short time, so I would not buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-25 02:37:55
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 74% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29600 easy going miles
My car is still running the same 4 original tyres that were fitted to it at the VW factory in December 2006. The car has now done 29,600 miles and the tyres are starting to look like they could do with getting changed (they were rotated front to back three years ago). I sometimes find them a bit noisier than I would like and they don't like rough tarmac very much as they throw up a lot of vibration into the cabin, but as I've never had other tyres on the car I can't compare with other tyres.

Wear has been excellent though thanks to four-wheel drive on the car and a light right foot on my part. Not sure whether to play safe and replace with the same again or maybe go for Michelin PS3's or PSS's. All in all though, a decent tyre despite not being the newest on the market.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-23 17:57:17
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 69% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
These tyres have excellent grip in the dry or wet, are very quiet, and generally give you confidence no matter where you are.

The wear rate is totally unacceptable however. In 10,000 miles of mostly normal commuting with some occasional quick blasts, they totally disappeared. Presumably it's an inevitable consequence of the softer compound to provide excellent grip, but 10,000 miles out of a set of tyres that cost over £500 isn't economical.

If you aren't a hyper miler then these will probably be ideal, but I'll be steering clear from now as they aren't cheap and I would have to replace them twice a year.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-13 15:49:20
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Put these on my R32 after reading comments on here !

Boy they transformed the car !

The ride was so quiet and comfy, but wow did they change the handling, stuck like glue

Brilliant tyre in all weathers - just wish they did them for my bmw 520d m sport in run flat !

doesn't handle like the R32 0 but is far more economical on juice - but not as much fun to drive !
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-22 22:47:10
Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 14% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 spirited miles
Awful tyres. Had them on my car for one winter and they were bald when they came off, probably due to their complete lack of grip in all conditions and them sliding whenever I took a corner. They even caused the car to snake just going over white painted lines. Never again!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-15 15:03:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/Serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&pli=1076922911&gdpr=${GDPR}&gdpr_consent=${GDPR_CONSENT_68}&adid=1084363492&ord=1627913163