Goodride SV308

The Goodride SV308 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodride SA57.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 63%
Wear 77%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 32 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 312,033 miles driven.

The SV308 is ranked 109th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 35th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Also known as the Westlake SV308. Quiet pass by noise.
  • Negative - Dangerously long braking distance in the wet, unpredictable wet oversteer, uncomfortable.
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

  • 35th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test (245/30 R20)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodride SV308

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodride SV308. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Goodride SV308 Reviews

    Given 86% while driving a MINI Cooper S (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
    From reading your reviews it looks like there are a lot of drivers who shouldn't be behind the wheel a lot of whiners out there
    Helpful 167 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2016
    Given 51% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
    Tire that does not fit for anything ... Totally uncomfortable, it even becomes hard and like a rock, noisy. As for safety it is medium ... Using a day-to-day driving style has medium braking distances and grip in the wet and dry both medium. Accuracy of direction and sensitivity of the road absolutely nothing. As for the wear, impressive ... I have never seen anything like it, they lasted almost 50k miles and they still rode more. replaced because the discomfort was already unbearable. I put some Nexen, a little more expensive, but a thousand times better in everything (except in the wear, I think I'll never see anything like this XD). I did not buy this tire, invest in something a little better. Believe me, the comfort of this tire is terrible ...
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2018
    Given 14% while driving a Honda Prelude 2.2vtec (215/40 R17) on for 0 miles
    Had these put on the front of my 97 prelude to replace some Kingstar k106s. Could tell as soon as I left the tyre shop that the handling was much worse. Found that the car wanted to lose control just going in a straight line on a wet road. Took the car for a hill drive in light rain. Lost control on a bend and ended up facing the other way on the wrong side of the road. Luckily there were no other cars around. Went straight back and had them swapped for some Kingstar SK10s which are 100 times better handling. Cant comment on the dry as didnt have them on the car long enough. These SV308s are downright dangerous! They look nice, but spend some more money and get something thats not going to kill you. The money you saved buying them will go towards paying for your funeral...
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2017
    Have you driven on the Goodride SV308 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Goodride SV308? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Goodride SV308 >

    Latest Goodride SV308 Reviews

    Given 26% while driving a BMW 320i (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Had them on my 91 bmw dont tack on the road car weaved in lanes high speed things got worse went back to the dealer I paid for wheel alignment rebuilt the front control arms thinking the age of the car did wheel alignment again ,started on the rebuild of the rear and swapped the wheels to my 01 bmw and what you know the same sh*t I couldnt believe it, had the tires to long to take back stay away from these tires just Dangerous only good for a bonfire
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2018
    Given 47% while driving a Skoda Yeti (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    Inherited 4 x nearly new Westlake SV308s on my Yeti. In the dry they’re passable, but forget about any kind of decent grip in wet or icy conditions. The only thing I can say about them that’s positive is they never seem to wear out. I’m guessing they’re cheap too, but I’m currently looking to replace all four corners with something a little more capable.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2017
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 84% while driving a Toyota ZT 4WD Caldina Wagon 2006 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    Currently 25,000 kms and not worn out yet - maybe about 2/3 worn. Came new fitted by car yard as part of car purchase. Was a cheap new tyre that I imagined would give me a couple of years mixed driving. Our car is fulltime 4wd and having a directional matched set was a bit of a punt... I really enjoy the tyres and the overall experience is great. The tyres seem to be wearing evenly and don't push the car around too much on rough city roads. I live in Christchurch NZ which was hit by a big couple of earthquakes in 2010 and 2011 - these messed up our roads and the car/tyres have coped well. I am pricing them to fit new ones when this set wears out. Would definately fit another set - the tyre price for what is delivered is great value! Have travelled all through NZ on sealed and unsealed roads, dry and wet - no problems!
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2017
    Given 79% while driving a Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    I have these fitted to a 280hp 4 wheel drive GT car and they are great for the money, they have a nice direct steering feel and are the extra load version. Grippy in the dry and almost as good in the wet, certainly a reasonable match for Kuhmos etc and other tier 2 brands but at a much better price, they run true and steer well at very high speed. I consider them to be quiet, and have low rolling resistance as I am getting 30-50km further on a tank of fuel.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2015
    Given 49% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
    I have one of these tyres fitted new to the front of my new car by the car dealer to get it thru the MOT. At new the mid point tread depth was 5mm, the side 7mm. Put another way the tyres are effectively half worn when new. After 3,000 miles the centre depth is now 3mm. The Michelin tyre on the other side has barely worn at all. These are cheap budget tyres and its shows. I would not buy them myself.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2015
    Given 39% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    The only point i would like readers to remember and one i am surprised has not been highlighted by more reviewers (but i am a mechanic, so perhaps more in tune with automotive shortcomings) is the terrible un-uniformed tread depth these tyres come with from new - the centre 3/4 section at worst has 3.75-4mm of tread VS 7mm on the outside (new tyres should all have 7-8mm across the whole tyre contact area).

    For those who are not aware, the MOT requires the centre 3/4s of the tyre to be no less than 1.6mm to pass the MOT, so clearly these tyres are already prematurely close to the minimum, which is a shame as they seem like a reasonable tyre, but for me, this reason alone is enough to return them for another brand.

    My experiences with them :

    These tyres came with a 265 bhp 4x4 car driven 2000 miles - for the most part average/sedate A & B roads which doesn't warrant being able to judge these on a extreme / critical level and in such instance, as is the case for most, a vast majority of tyre brands out there will suffice..
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2014
    Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
    300+wet days.. tyres lasted 18.000. 10.on front & 8 on the back They would have done A lot more if the tread had been of equal depth... The outside of the tyre was 2.5 above the legal limit markers but the center 1/3 was totally bald the 2 center groves and half of the V pattern The tyre was A slick at the center.. then an intermediate. Then a wet at all 4. Outer edges .. but It still gripped the road with about 2mm of surface water.. If the tread had been full depth on all of the tyre it would make a lot more sense and an even better buy...
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2014
    Given 89% while driving a Alfa Romeo 166 ts (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Very good tyre for the price you pay for.In corners are excellent poised and very solid on the road.I`ll buy two more for the rear soon.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2014
    Given 89% while driving a Audi A6 2.5 TDI Quattro (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 11,000 easy going miles
    Excellent value ,,very pleased with tyres I do a lot of miles in my A6 Audi!!,they have been on for twelve MTS ,and still going ,,will definitely buy again ,and the cost was very reasonable ...

    A Mol
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2014
    Given 84% while driving a Land Rover freelander (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Brought SV 308 for my 55 reg Freelander. Fantastic tyre all round much better than Michelin for a third of the price.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2014
    Given 90% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
    WOW, bought these tires over the Dunlop Sport Signature i had last year. They are excellent and the wet traction was very good, i can't understand why some people say their not good in the rain sorry but it's total BS. I have driven these on the coquihalla highway for over 15000K in the rain and on dry roads going fast around corners and pushing them to the limits. The ride is very quiet and not to hard on the bumps I have nothing bad to say as i'm very happy and suprised in how good these tires are. I paid $536 installed and was not expecting much, but their excellent and i'll be buying a pair as soon as they wear out. They compare to my Dunlop, BFG and my pirelli tires
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2014
    Given 77% while driving a Volvo S40 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    On the car when bought, I have had no problems with these tyres in all weather (including snow). They are 50 profile so they're a bit firm on bumpy roads, they are a bit noisy on some too, but I've done 25k with them and I'm buying a new set... speaks for itself really.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2014