BMW 320i Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 320i.

Do you Drive a BMW 320i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 320i better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Maxxis M36 Plus (2) 100% 95% 95% 95% 100% 95%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (11) 88% 86% 88% 90% 93% 94%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (84) 91% 88% 81% 85% 89% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 (7) 83% 84% 82% 71% 70% 86%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (56) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Uniroyal RainExpert (132) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Barum Quartaris 5 (4) 85% 83% 80% 78% 95% 93%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (90) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Michelin Primacy 4 Plus (26) 87% 86% 76% 71% 85% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Nokian WR A4 (22) 84% 88% 72% 77% 77% 87%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (111) 89% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (117) 89% 84% 83% 85% 74% 78%
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (65) 84% 79% 81% 81% 76% 75%
Michelin Primacy 4 (159) 85% 81% 74% 77% 82% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (61) 82% 78% 75% 79% 74% 78%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (46) 87% 86% 72% 72% 69% 78%
Nokian WR Snowproof (2) 90% 90% 80% 80% 75% 90%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Kenda Emera A1 (7) 77% 70% 77% 73% 66% 83%
Extreme Performance VR2 (7) 90% 55% 86% 87% 61% 36%
Goodyear Assurance Fuel Max (2) 80% 65% 65% 70% 75% 65%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Petlas Snow Master W651 (27) 77% 66% 64% 69% 86% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (20) 78% 63% 74% 64% 66% 77%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (41) 83% 69% 76% 74% 58% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Viking Snow Tech II (10) 76% 66% 76% 53% 76% 74%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (29) 87% 75% 78% 75% 48% 56%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (140) 77% 68% 63% 61% 71% 71%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Autogrip P308 Plus (4) 73% 60% 58% 58% 73% 73%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 RFT (11) 66% 57% 67% 67% 70% 65%
Nexen N Fera AU5 (6) 62% 52% 64% 70% 67% 80%
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (43) 72% 45% 61% 63% 73% 66%
Laufenn I FIT (6) 67% 30% 43% 52% 78% 85%
Radar Dimax R8 (37) 65% 48% 52% 52% 65% 58%
Autogrip P308 (26) 66% 52% 56% 50% 60% 61%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (69) 69% 38% 56% 52% 68% 62%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%
Hifly HF201 (34) 57% 43% 49% 43% 45% 56%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Fullrun HP199 (79) 48% 28% 32% 33% 53% 27%

BMW 320i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 44% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 average miles
These are EXTREMELY NOISY tyres. My car is BMW F30 320 iA xDrive and the winter tyres I have (Continental VikingContact 7) are very quiet - can't hear almost anything from the tyres. But these Goodyear summer tyres - oh my.... Horrible noise even at low speeds. During wet conditions the noise is much worse.
I regret buying these and will replace them with some other brand even though I have driven only 2 000 km with these.
Interestingly Goodyear Efficient Grip 1 tyres were good and quiet on my BMW 530 but this 2-version is just an epic fail.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-18 12:43:52
Writing about the Nexen N Fera AU5 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Just following up on another review I wrote about these tyres many years ago with my BMW - the tyres have finally reached end of life, but I'm not complaining as I've had literally 4.5-5 years on this set of tyres, with a mix of spirited and regular commuting type driving, as well as a few road trips. For the price point I still think they're a phenomenal mid-range tyre (start of the mid-range perhaps?) for everyday use, but if it's a weekend car where wear is less significant then perhaps something with more grip may be a better suit. Also worth noting I haven't got a particularly powerful car so they don't have to handle a lot of power going down, just grip in corners. I've just had a look and I've done 60,000kms on each pair of tyres I put on (one about 1 month before the other) so I'm pretty happy with the longevity. Towards the end though I did feel myself wanting more grip, especially as finances were less of a consideration and so I was happy to spend more on a higher performing tyre. For their grip level they're well balanced I feel, but at the end of the day they still have less grip than some of the higher performing equivalents out there.

Would I buy again? Depends on the application - my car probably not as I want more grip going forward (and the Continental MC6 seem to be a good balance of price/performance so they'll take up the mantle the AU5 had for the minimum level of tyre for my car, as the Conti's weren't as competitive when I bought the AU5's), but for any of my family's cars it's an immediate buy for the AU5 if they're available in the size, as long term the pricing and grip/safety element works out brilliantly in regular commuter cars. Especially in NZ, where I can get them fitted for something like $160 NZD ($97 USD at the time of writing) a tyre, and the low quality kill you stuff is priced at $130-140 these days, so it's a no brainer.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-23 22:07:21
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 given 91% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Very good tire for winter. I had them on different roads, motorway, city and countryside and I like them a lot. I had also in the past Michelin and Continental but from couple of years I stay with Goodyear because I consider the best mix for price, performance and comfort. Michelin is also very good tire but much more expensive, Continental is also good but noisier and not with a good comfort. For me Goodyear do best from each category.
On dry road are soft and quite. When it's wet you can brake easily in many conditions of speed and cornering. I catched a few days with snow, 5-10 cm and had a good grip, no worries even if my car has only rear well drive.
I will buy them again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-15 05:56:38
Writing about the Kenda Emera A1 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Very good tyre, probably the best value for the money. Works very good on the car, I do not see any real disadvantages to the dunlop sportmaxx rt2 which were fitted before. The tyres have a stronger sidewall and a bit better turn in feeling then the Dunlops, but lack a little bit in comfort when directly compared. Grip level and noise seems similar, with the difference that the Kenda-s work better on low temperature. The wear looks normal for the driven km-s. We will se how it will be over time, from the tests I have seem this should be the only disadvantage to more known brands amd models in the same class.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-07 03:40:34
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 91% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Bmw e46, changed new continental fronts to new unirojal 3 , the aquaplaning went away completly, i will buy them again. On kangoo maxi i have them also, extra load ones,very pleased with performance!
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-29 07:55:25
Writing about the Extreme Performance VR2 given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 200 spirited miles
BMW E36 3.0i 1200kg,on 225/45/17 R7A: amazing on dry trackday ,very predictable compared with Federal and Westlake, consistent for more than 6 hard laps without cooling. The gripp is phenomenal from the first lap.I'm hard on brakes with CL RC 6 and never lock wheels even without ABS..amazing. Not tested in wet condition.For this price i'll never buy another semislick tire. Wear is normal for track use.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-03 03:32:14
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat given 51% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Bought the car with them brand new. The rear tires were almost gone after 13,000miles, then rotated to the front and got 7,000 miles more. Tires have great dry grip, but below average wet grip. But what really made me ditch them was the comfort: VERY harsh, you can feel every bump on the road. My friend got a G20 with lowered suspension and R18 non run-flat tires, and his care is more comfortable than mine with stock suspension and R17 wheels. I`ll definitely go for non-run flats this time.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-05 21:57:40
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 43% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Performance wise it is a good tire, BUT.... This tires come as OEM on my BMW 3 series. Less than 10k km, the inner steel wires protruded at the sidewall, like an inch long of 10-20 wires. Went to Hankook to lodge a complaint and apparently they were 4 other BMWs came with issues. Hankook insisted its not factory defect but normal wear and tear. I rest my case. My first and last using Hankook.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-01 02:30:33
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 87% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
Having bought a used e90 318i 2011 in 2019 with 90k on the clock for a bargain, it had 4 separate brand of tyres including one winter.

I had just sold a 640d couple that I had put MPS4S’s on all around and due to the difference these made to that car I knew I wanted the MPS4’s for this, having only be available in 18” staggered setup.

The previous mixed tyres would often cause genuine unpredictable driving at bends on motorway junctions and to me felt off.

The freshly installed Michelins were a huge improvement, the car had low power yet was lightweight. In the dry it would never wheelspin and even in the wet it was very rare even if I tried (as a test).

I drove up around the highlands on the route 500 (ended up doing 2k miles in 10 days).. and the tyres performed perfectly, genuine high grip inspiring confidence yet still comfortable and limit road noise.

The new tyres helped make this drivers trip a genuine pleasure and even my partner praised her driving skills on the amazing roads with the new tyres.

Really good tyre and I managed a full set for £409 with an offer back in Feb 2020.

They have done 24k miles (mainly motorway) and the rears are just on 3mm) the fronts have slightly more. They will be replaced now only as having moved to Scotland and gone for a set of winter tyres with the hilly nature of Glasgow and possible lower temperatures/snow when we venture out.

I genuinely look forward to buying the newer MPS5’s as reviews show they are a slight improvement to the 4.

Thanks.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-17 01:30:38
Writing about the Petlas Snow Master W651 given 71% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
I never considered buying Petlas on my F30 320i. I got the tires when I bought the car. My Tyre shop had a guy who worked at the factory for about 10 years. He said that "their winter tires are much better than summer tires due to competition". Than I have a shot. I live in Ankara where there are fierce snow later it turns to ice if it is cleared fast or it is usually below zero for most of the winter during nights. When sun melted ice and roads became muddy, my car had to use ESP but never lost control. There were some side roads at METU campus, the tires never failed me on snow and maybe on mild ice. I was excepting my car to spin all the time after heavy snow. My tires were in good condition dated 2018. I was more confident on Petlas Snowmaster than on my Driverguard RFT 2019 (I changed those). If you can't decide, don't hesitate, these tires does the job.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-17 22:58:59
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus given 60% (205-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1100 spirited miles
Initial review after a few days of driving with these brand new Michelin tyres for a long distance on various roads and weather. According to the tyre-dealer this is the very latest Michelin tyres, same size as the original tyres. This is not my car but I have often driven this car since it was new with two other different set of tyres from two other premium tyre brands. The original OEM tyres were Run-Flats which I did not like at all, rather mediocre tyres in every aspect. The second set of tyres were from yet another premium tyre brand, not Run-Flat tyres but the same original size, and I really liked those tyres on this car, very good comfort and noise level, very good performance in every aspect except wear which was rather mediocre. The new Michelins are significantly better than the original Run-Flat in every way, but they can not quite match the second set of tyres from another brand. The Michelins have in general a little bit more diffuse feeling and tendencies to instability on certain surfaces, I preferred the previous set of tires regarding feel, handling and stability, but it is very small differences. The comfort and noise level on the Michelins are much better than the OEM Run-Flat and about the same as the second set of tyres, I did however prefer the second set of tyres, I just liked them a little bit better. The Michelins are in general predictable and controllable in wet and dry and will probably not surprise with bad behavior although I would say that the tyres probably do not like cold rainy weather, I had a ”surprise” in a wet rainy roundabout coming home from the long drive, the temperature was ca 2-3 degrees, I was caught in this "surprising" skid and the stability systems on the car really had to work overtime, it's the only ”surprise” I had so far with these tyres, and maybe in all honesty I might have been over-optimistic in that roundabout, but I have done the same with the other tyres in the same circumstances in the same roundabout without "surprises". There is nothing particular wrong with the Michelins, not huge differences, good grip wet and dry, relatively good comfort and noise level, acceptable handling and feel, but they are not worth the extra cost, they do not exceed other tyre brands, in fact they do not quite match the previous set of tyres from 2020. I guess the joker here would be the wear rate, the other tyre brands had rather poor wear, if the Michelins have significantly better wear rate then this could probably persuade some buyers, but not for me, I prefer the best handling and feel over wear rate.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-23 11:35:16
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 83% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Dry grip is very good. However, it is clear that the limit is reached earlier than desired when in high demand during corners. On wet roads, grip is satisfactory and does not compromise safety. Extremely comfortable and quiet. For the price it is a great value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-21 22:06:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre