Petlas Snow Master W651

The Petlas Snow Master W651 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 69%
Wear 86%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 64%
Snow Grip 78%
Ice Grip 59%

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 213,870 miles driven.

The Snow Master W651 is ranked 59th of 91 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the snow, fastest snow handling lap, best snow traction and good snow braking. Very low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Extremely long wet and dry braking distances, very difficult to control in wet handling, very low aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The Petlas Snowmaster W651 really is the snow master of this group, finishing as one of best in the three snow tests. However like other budget tyres it can't continue that performance onto other surfaces and is particularly bad in wet handling, with low grip and a very difficult balance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 47th of 57 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 50th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2022 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 47th: 2022 Winter Tyre Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 50th: 2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 51st: 2020 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 52 Tyre Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 39th: 2016 Winter Tyre Market Overview (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Petlas Snow Master W651

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Petlas Snow Master W651. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Petlas Snow Master W651 Reviews

    Given 75% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
    Did research and although none of the 'tests' actually featured these tyres I based my choice on the reviews and had them fitted just a few days before the recent snowfall - and so glad I did. Other cars, even 4 wheel drives, were stuck on the local hills but I sailed past with no problem. Massive improvement in traction on snow & ice - highly recommended.Can't comment on wear yet, but for the price an excellent buy.
    Helpful 148 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2015
    Given 33% while driving a Opel Corsa (185/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    It was a big mistake buying these tyres. I wanted to buy something better for this winter, but I realized that my new rims have extra stupid rare sizes, this is why I had to chose Petlas Snowmaster. It is just November, I haven't tried in snow yet, but in 0-5 degrees on slippy roads is a disaster to drive. I am really afraid to face the winter with these tyres.
    I do not recommend to anybody to buy these tyres, they are very dangerous!
    Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2017
    Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall 1.7 TD estate (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,600 easy going miles
    There was Continental on my car and at first I hesitated too much about petlas/starmaxx. But it is half price of famous labels, and Ithink it is worth to try. It is very comfortable,silent and grips very well. There is no need to give to much money. The accuracy of tire tests are controversial. Who pays more, win the test. I highly recommend.
    Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2017
    Have you driven on the Petlas Snow Master W651 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Petlas Snow Master W651? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Petlas Snow Master W651 >

    Latest Petlas Snow Master W651 Reviews

    Given 20% while driving a Audi A4 Avant (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
    I do not recommend purchasing these tires, I use them for 5 days in the rain at 3 degrees and it effectively gives me the feeling in curves that I will go forward.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2022
    Given 98% while driving a Peugeot 308 1.6 e HDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
    I used this tire on my peugeot 308 in size 225/45/17. In the city where I live, I generally drive in snow and winter conditions above average. For this reason, I should mention that I use my vehicle in heavy winter traffic and in a city with a population of 6 million people. The rubber is quite good and satisfactory on snowy ground. It is also enough on dry ground. Comfort is at a very good level compared to winter tires.On icy ground and wet ground, the driving function can remain average. Considering these advantages, the price is quite cheap.I hope my comments will be useful in choosing tires.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 93% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    I used this tire in my ford focus 1.6 ti-vct with a size of 205/55R16. First of all, I must say that the town where I live has very severe winter conditions. The most important plus of the tire is that it holds very well on snowy ground and is quite satisfactory in this sense. Driving dynamics on dry ground is also at a sufficient level. Comfort is at a very good level compared to winter tires.I think the driving dynamics are poor on icy ground and wet ground. But in general, I can say that it does a great job for its price and is a real f/p product. Finally, I think the pattern of the tire is great.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2022
    Given 57% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 JTD (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    Worst winter tyres. I buy set of 4 and replaced Fulda, bcoz I find them at very good price. On deep, heavy snow Petlas is very good, like on dry road. On wet is so bad, no grip, very hard to control and braking is just disaster! After a one season I replace that tyres.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2022
    Given 71% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
    I never considered buying Petlas on my F30 320i. I got the tires when I bought the car. My Tyre shop had a guy who worked at the factory for about 10 years. He said that "their winter tires are much better than summer tires due to competition". Than I have a shot. I live in Ankara where there are fierce snow later it turns to ice if it is cleared fast or it is usually below zero for most of the winter during nights. When sun melted ice and roads became muddy, my car had to use ESP but never lost control. There were some side roads at METU campus, the tires never failed me on snow and maybe on mild ice. I was excepting my car to spin all the time after heavy snow. My tires were in good condition dated 2018. I was more confident on Petlas Snowmaster than on my Driverguard RFT 2019 (I changed those). If you can't decide, don't hesitate, these tires does the job.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2022
    Given 48% while driving a Opel astra j 1.6 turbo (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20 spirited miles
    Terrible at wet/rain conditions. Dry handling and dry grip is not bad. Also snow performance is not so bad. Wear resistance is perfect, after 35.000 km there were 6.5 mm tread depth.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2022
    Given 53% while driving a Ford Cmax (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Acceptable on dry roads. Very dangerous on wet. Worst tyre ever driven.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2021
    Given 96% while driving a BMW 118d (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
    Bought these because i was very happy with summer tires from the same manufacturer, and again was happily suprised by the quality of them. Before them i had continental wintercontact ts 860 and comparing them i can see no difference except the petlas tires wear far less and drive better in the snow and cold dry wether. However in the rain the continentals were a little better but not by so much to urge me to spend more money on them ever again. Great tire cant recommend them enough.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2020
    Given 66% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 1.4 EcoTSI (225/45 R17 V) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
    - Made in Turkey
    - Great in heavy snowy roads
    - Good grip in dry conditions
    - Average in pure icy and wet roads, getting understeer when pushing the limits (It may be caused by lousy suspension of my Leon FR, I can't compare in another car)
    - Road noise is acceptable but not great, at 70-80 km/h there is a resonance sound. But at slower or faster speeds it goes away.
    - They are more comfortable than my summer tyres (pirelli p7)

    I think considering how cheap they are, the performance is acceptable. But for my next set I will definitely consider a premium class tyre.

    Regards from Turkey
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019
    Given 90% while driving a Renault Megane (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Last winter I used on my Megane4 HB. Tried them on snowy/icy mountain roads and had never problem about gripping. I can prefer these tires.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2017
    Given 74% while driving a SEAT Leon SC FR 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
    Best tyre in this price range . I used these tyres on my VW Tiguan last year and it was awesome on snow and icy roads . For my Leon FR , again awesome on snow , average on dry . Even the temprature is above 7 degree of celcius , good grip on dry , about wet grip , its performans is below than average . I will definetely buy again . Wear seems good after 8000 miles .
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2017
    Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon SC FR 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
    Best tyre in this price range . I used these tyres on my VW Tiguan last year and it was awesome on snow and icy roads . For my Leon FR , again awesome on snow , average on dry . Even the temprature is above 7 degree of celcius , good grip on dry , about wet grip , its performans is below than average . I will definetely buy again . Wear seems good after 8000 miles .
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2017