Extreme Performance VR2

Modern road legal semi slick tyre with asymmetric tread and tyre shoulder design. Not symmetric radius geometry of inside/outside shoulder allow to increase grip and handling precision when cornering together with bigger contact area when braking. Reinforced sidewalls with advanced compounds formulations offers supreme grip and immediate steering reaction. Available in hard, medium, soft and super soft compounds.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 55%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 87%
Wear 63%
Comfort 38%
Buy again 92%

Tyre review data from 6 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 4,200 miles driven.

The VR2 is ranked 20th of 26 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Extreme Performance VR2
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Extreme Performance VR2

Questions and Answers for the Extreme Performance VR2

2020-04-22 - Hi! Which cheap semi slick could be better for an Alfa 156 2,5V6 (Front, 1300 kg, 200 PS, Eibach PRO-Kit coilovers and springs, Brembo 330mm Brakes, 8x17j wheels) for trackday in dry conditions on the Hungaroring? I thought on the Westlake RS, Nankang NS-2R, Achilles 123S, Extreme VR2, Federal 595 in 225/45 R17. Which treadwear is optimal for this use? Thank you! Best regards, Gyulai Mark

Unfortunately we've not tested any of these tyres, and have only seen the Nankang appear in tests. This is something we'll be testing this year, so stay tuned!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Extreme Performance VR2 Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Renault Clio 1.8 16v (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Hi I was used 195/50/15 R5NK Vr2 for Slalom competition, R5 soft compound give you fast start and nice grib from beginning to finish with this price the best chose for all drivers amateur and professional drivers.
60 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Westfield 2l zetec 200hp 600kg (195/50 R15) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
used in competition this tyre gave me more grip then r888, r1r or yokohama a048. i was even faster on extreme tyres then i was on avon slicks!
steady under heavy braking,
very easy to find the limit of the tyre and still easy to control once you're over the limit
i'll never drive another tyre on track again
i tested r5 and r7 compound, both withstand heavy track abuse on high track temperatures.
28 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2018   
Given 73% while driving a Ford Focus RS (255/35 R18 W) on track for 0 spirited miles
This is killer of a tyre - and not just for the price. Wonderful handling and grip (in the dry), withstands abuse that kills Cup2s in 30mins. On a heavy car, mine survived (barely) one tarmac rally, one day at Spa, one at Nordschleife and four other track days. They are heavy, loud, but cheap.
18 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Extreme Performance VR2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Extreme Performance VR2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Extreme Performance VR2 >

Latest Extreme Performance VR2 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a BMW 330ti E36 (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
Hi, i´ve driven the 651 Sport (200TW), Federal 595Rs-Pro, Nankang NS2R (120TW) on my 1994 E36 Compact. These Tires feel happy around 2-3° Camber at the Track, but since I tried the VR2 R7A, the Car needed 4-5° Camber in the Front. The VR2 is in my Opinion clearly a Semislick, not another UUHP/Extreme Performance Tire. My Car weighs 1040kg, Power ~230-250hp. Coldpressure F+R 1,7-1,8Bar. Hot 2,2-2,3Bar. I´ll def. buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Audi TT RS (225/45 R17) on track for 200 spirited miles
used for hill climbs 10 wins from 10 starts, loads of grip and feel, progressive slides good under brakes and go where you point them, road noise very high, wet grip good, tyre wear ok about the same as any other track tyre, and big bonus there cheap
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 46% while driving a Mazda RX8 (235/40 R18 W) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Used as track tyres on Mazda RX8. In my opinion they need too much attention in temperature handling. You overheat them and the grip is gone. In range 40-80 Celcius they were fine, but anything above and really over 100*C they are starting to give up in every corner. Good tyre in comparison to it's price but if you need something that would last you little longer and give more grip then better find something else. Response was good, it felt tight and went where you want them to. As a big minus this tyre is going to change it's pressure every lap, so keep that in mind. You need to start really low to keep it happy and cool. :)
1 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2020