Mazda RX8 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda RX8.

Do you Drive a Mazda RX8? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a RX8 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (13) 87% 88% 86% 85% 93% 91%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (25) 97% 90% 95% 97% 75% 78%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (106) 94% 84% 90% 88% 85% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (132) 95% 85% 90% 87% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (397) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Mayrun MR500 (12) 88% 86% 73% 83% 86% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (153) 89% 88% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Debica Presto UHP2 (30) 89% 83% 84% 83% 78% 92%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (217) 91% 89% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Falken Azenis FK510 (107) 90% 89% 83% 83% 75% 79%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105S (11) 88% 85% 85% 75% 75% 73%
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (33) 86% 81% 80% 80% 77% 83%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (17) 85% 75% 80% 75% 86% 85%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (68) 87% 82% 79% 79% 74% 77%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (15) 97% 61% 91% 92% 60% 72%
BFGoodrich gForce R1 (1) 100% 30% 100% 100% 80% 30%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Vredestein Ultrac (13) 83% 75% 75% 76% 71% 78%
Nankang NS2R (47) 89% 66% 84% 85% 72% 55%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Federal 595RSPRO (6) 87% 68% 72% 83% 74% 62%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (35) 86% 77% 79% 78% 61% 74%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Toyo T1R (282) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Extreme Performance VR2 (5) 88% 52% 84% 86% 66% 36%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Jinyu YU61 (46) 80% 65% 68% 63% 73% 75%
Pirelli P Zero (120) 84% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (207) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (28) 75% 70% 69% 70% 60% 74%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Nankang NS2 (206) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55%
Accelera PHI (145) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Triangle TR918 (11) 65% 30% 57% 46% 76% 62%
Rotalla F105 (27) 65% 32% 46% 41% 58% 59%
Lassa Impetus Sport (6) 57% 44% 48% 32% 63% 46%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Deestone Vincente R302 (8) 55% 30% 30% 29% 60% 20%

Mazda RX8 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 83% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I’ve had those tyres for 3 years now on my Mazda rx8, they are excellent for every day drive and spirited driving as well. Very good on dry and really impressive handling, in wet. I’ve also tried a track event, but they got extremely heated from the 3 round of the track. So if you don’t go to track days, then those are the best bang for your buck.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-08 21:39:47
Writing about the Federal 595RSPRO given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-02 18:04:47
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 96% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I have run these for several seasons now on my RX-8 (they make perfect "UK Winter" tyres!), a car rather sensitive to tyre choice if you want to maintain the excellent handling. I think they're fantastic - grip in cold wet/damp conditions feels almost as good as UHP tyres do in the summer - which is phenomenal for a tyre that can also actually deal with snow & ice! Wear seems excellent - I haven't even noticed any thus far, though I do only run them during the winter months. The price/performance ratio is insane - normally tyres in my size/fitment are rather expensive, but these were a good chunk cheaper than any other decent all-season/winter tyre I could find - a bargain really. I'm very happy with them, and would definitely buy them again, if I ever need to (going to be a while at this rate!). I'm a fairly spirited driver, and these inspire so much confidence in cold/damp conditions, that I find myself chucking the car about and having almost as much fun as I do in the dry with summer tyres, except in conditions that would otherwise make summer tyres squirm. Very impressive! Wet grip is amazing - I just push on as if it was dry and barely notice any difference. I can just drive, whatever the conditions, and not worry about losing grip unexpectedly if I decide to have a bit of fun. Exactly what you want for most of the year in the UK climate. They also perform very well in warm wet conditions - I've used them a few times as "get me home" wheels from track days in the summer in torrential rain with no problems. In the cold dry, there is still plenty of grip too, but obviously not as much as a good summer tyre at that point, but still very impressive for an all-season tyre, and more than adequate for some spirited dry winter driving. Obviously the warmer it gets, the more apparent the difference to a proper summer tyre gets, but they are still perfectly usable all year round if necessary. The sidewalls are a little bit squidgier, as expected, but the handling is still pretty good for this type of tyre, all things considered. I have the "XL" variants, which I think helps - a nice compromise between still maintaining some stiffness for handling, but also significantly more comfortable and forgiving than my usual UHP summers, nice for more relaxed winter driving. This is exactly what I wanted - something a little more comfortable for winter but still reasonably sporty feeling when you want it. Of course, sods law - as soon as I bought these I haven't experienced any snow whatsoever (even had a few long trips up to Scotland, but not even a flurry!). Like buying a sledge. So unfortunately, I haven't been able to put them to the test in that regard. However, given how well they perform in all other conditions, I have full confidence that they will handle snow no problem. The closest I've gotten is some very cold frosty mornings, which these tyres deal so well with, that it almost makes you forget you're even driving in adverse conditions. Bravo. P.S. Tyre reviews really need to separate out the dry and wet grip ratings into cold and warm for winter/all-season tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-04 15:57:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
Bought these Michelin Pilot Sport Cup2 tyres after reading and watching several very positive reviews. Used these on my road legal track day toy (Mazda RX8). On dry roads, these offer excellent control and feedback, very similar to other UHP tyres I have had. Not driven with these in the wet (and not planning to!), but I would expect them to struggle in the rain, given the tread pattern and depth. On track, these are truly excellent. I ran a same-day direct comparison with Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports and the Cup2s provided a small but noticeable improvement in grip and felt very sure-footed and confidence inspiring. Highly recommended, especially for on-track.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-24 09:35:46
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 77% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13700 spirited miles
Use them for about 22.000km (one year and seven months) in mixed roads (city driving and highway journeys) The first impression was excellent. The dry and wet grip was absolutely great. The road feedback was very good. I couldn't believe that a low budget tyre like this is performing so nice. My driving style is "aggressive" pushing the car in to the limits especially in curved roads and after 10K the wear was significant on the rear tyres but the performance in both dry and wet roads was really good. They started loosing grip at around 19K and at the last 2k km the rear tyres "died" No grip at all in dry conditions and I was lucky because the weather conditions was good. Overall their performance was excellent but for limited time. Recommended as a cheap solution that is not going to last to much.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-22 10:07:28
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 77% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Use these on track mostly as they are too.stiff and noisy for the road. They hate cold and wet conditions. On a dry track, they are very good. Grip and feedback are impressive for a cheapish tyre. They do not overheat or wear on the edges like road tyres Overall wear rates are good. In the wet, they are very poor. To be fair, I used them in very cold conditions. Unable to get heat into them, they were hopeless. Overall, a good tyre, but I would push you towards the Goodyear Eagle Super Sports. 99% as good in the dry, excellent in the wet and good on the road
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-18 21:41:21
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 91% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 6000 spirited miles
My RX8 is used on the road (all year) and track days during the winter months. On the road, the Super Sports are as firm as I would want to go. The dry weather grip is excellent and they perform very well in the wet even on cold days. I suspect the rolling resistance is quite high as the MPG is lower than previous tyres. On track, they are mega. The dry grip is pretty darned close to a semi slick; those stiff tyre walls I think. The wet weather grip is amazing. Semi slicks do not work on cold, wet tracks but these Super Sports are amazing. On a cold, wet track in the winter, they produce grip from the out lap and I am often among the fastest cars out there. For the track day driver they are a superb tyre for wet and dry that work well on the road. Oh, they were relatively cheap too.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-18 21:28:24
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 72% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
225/35R19s fitted to my modified Mazda RX8 (lowered with adjustable shocks and uprated springs). Pretty tenacious with none of the sidewall problems some have mentioned. Outcorners most cars on the road including Boxsters, Challengers, M4s, M3s, etc. Haven't run against any Ferraris or Lamborghinis yet, but a 2015 GTR couldn't keep up round the twisties... So for the money - great value.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 04:02:03
Writing about the Extreme Performance VR2 given 46% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Used as track tyres on Mazda RX8. In my opinion they need too much attention in temperature handling. You overheat them and the grip is gone. In range 40-80 Celcius they were fine, but anything above and really over 100*C they are starting to give up in every corner. Good tyre in comparison to it's price but if you need something that would last you little longer and give more grip then better find something else. Response was good, it felt tight and went where you want them to. As a big minus this tyre is going to change it's pressure every lap, so keep that in mind. You need to start really low to keep it happy and cool. :)
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-09 13:08:12
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 85% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
This was my first set of Michelin PS4. Amazing in dry but overhelming in wet. Wasn't expecting such grip in wet and even standing water from such plain tread. Did few track days on them and response was "a OK" for civil tyre. Also grip was acceptable. I can not say anything about handling at the limit becouse I couldn't find an exact line where tire lost grip at those few laps but it warned if someting was about to happen. Overall really good tire for daily use and occasional tracking. Not too hard but hey, better than nothing. :)
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-09 13:02:27
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 50% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Good : -great levels of grip in the dry. -great road feed back. Average : -wear (around 8'000km in the rear) Bad : -really not linear at the limits, in the dry and even worse in the wet. Really not a confidence inspiring tyre. When it goes, it goes. -price, for the price in my size you can have goodyear asymmetric5 for cheaper, and michelin ps4 for only a litle bit more money. I personnaly do not recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-31 18:56:48
Writing about the Deestone Vincente R302 given 36% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Shocking tyres, can't wait to get them removed. Incredibly noisy above 50mph, virtually no grip in the wet, poor grip in the dry. Had the abs kick in on a slightly damp road under strong but not heavy braking. Should be banned from sale.
These were fitted to my Mazda rx8 when I bought it, have already changed the rears to Goodyear Eagle F1's and the difference is night and day.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-03 17:51:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre