Sava Intensa UHP 2

The stiff outer shoulder blocks of the new Sava Intensa UHP2 improve power transmission and ensure good braking performance on dry roads. At the same time, the improved tyre construction, in combination with the new strong bead for excellent steering response in the dry. The open tread pattern with large grooves and many block biting edges displaces the water quickly from the contact patch and ensures safe driving on wet roads. The Intensa UHP 2 also features a silica tread compound for improved wet grip.

Tyre review data from 47 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 517,240 miles driven, and 13 tests with an average result of 11th.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 79%
Wear 79%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 82%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size17 - 20"
Width205 - 265mm
Profile30 - 55
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Intensa UHP 2 is ranked 27th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Sava intensa uhp.

Tests Included

13

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

28th

Average Result

11th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test
9th of 21 tyres
  • Short dry braking distances, low rolling resistance, low price.
  • Understeering wet/dry handling, moderate aquaplaning reserve.
View Full Test >>
2022 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test
7th of 22 tyres
  • Very good aquaplaning resistance, good braking, good comfort, well priced.
  • Average wear.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/50R17 98 Y XLCB72
215/55R17 98 W XLCA72
215/45R17 91 Y XLCB72
205/50R17 93 Y XLCA72
225/45R17 94 Y XLCB72
225/45R17 91 YCB70
18 inch
255/35R18 94 Y XLCA72
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA72
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLDA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Sava Intensa UHP 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Sava Intensa UHP 2

2019-02-05 - could you please give me the treadwear rating on the Sava Intensa UHP 2 215/55/17 R17 98W thank you

I'm sorry, we don't yet keep treadwear rating on file.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Sava Intensa UHP 2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Renault Megane Sports Tourer (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
This tyre is very new, so I can't comment on the wear. From what I tried in this short time, UHP 2 is phenomenal!
Extremely good wet grip, comparable to my Continentals TS850P, which are known to be good in the wet. Dry grip was also very good and progressive at the limit, so you knew when the tyre is going to let go, and it was really easy to get it back in line.

Road noise was a bit more than I expected, as it was rated as 68db. It's still not loud by any means, just not as quiet as I thought it would be. Made in Germany on the same production line as GY F1 Asy3, even the thread pattern is almost identical.

Sidewalls are very soft (even in XL), so some people won't like those, but I like the comfort and the progression that comes with that.

I've driven many premium tyres over the years and this one is up there with the best. This car was previously fitted with Continental SportContact 5 in the summer and Goodyear Ultragrip 8 in the winter, and wet grip is better than both, at least for now. I'll post a mid-life review later on to see if anything changed. As of right now, I would recommend UHP2 to anyone. Low cost and good grip will probably come at the expense of the wear, but for the price, these are unbeatable!
Helpful 297 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2017
Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 CDI Coupé 231hp (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
I went from 235/45 R17 Continental WinterContact TS 850 P to 225/50 R17 Intensa UHP2. The Sava is comfortable, silent and the grip (dry) is amazing. The main reason for changing the dimensions is comfort and getting more sidewall. I can't comment on the wet grip since I haven't yet tried the tire on a wet road but the dry grip as previously said is great. The first thing I noticed was that when going into a corner, the initial feedback is a little understeery but then it follows really nicely. At first, the breaking was odd to get used to but when i had to do an emergency break it hooked immediately, stationary in a second. I drive a rwd car that losses traction on the rear wheels with half a throttle but with these tires i have not lost traction yet (have not launched it with full throttle though). The sava gives me more confidence of going into a corner with higher speed than the Continental (winter tire). I can't say anything about the wear yet, we'll see how it goes. For me it was between the Goodyear EF1 AS6 and this one, and considering I wanted an experimental dimension i went with the cheaper tire, which was 60% less than the Goodyear and they are made in the same factory. It was a no brainer and as of now, I'd buy it again.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2023
Given 64% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Very soft Tires. Quiet on the road. Little vague on stegring feedback, but very comfortable. Easy to balance when fitting tire on rim. The sidevalls are to soft for being extra load tires. Need to compensate, by adding higher airpressure (2.8)than on previous Goodyear tires (2.5) These are fitted on a Citroën C5 V6 HDI, and mainly used for highway. The car is very heavy in the front, we will see how they cope in the long run. However, overall a good tire sofar. GMY Dan.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2023
Have you driven on the Sava Intensa UHP 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sava Intensa UHP 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sava Intensa UHP 2 >

Latest Sava Intensa UHP 2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 CDI Coupé 231hp (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
This is my second review of this tyre, few thousand kilometers later. Everything that was good stayed that way. Grip, amazing, both dry and wet. Wet braking really great, dry braking does not even need mentioning. Now, handling, it can be better when compared to the previous continentals but, those were slightly wider with smaller sidewall. That being said, i don't drive aggressively to bother me that much, it is really decent, might actually be a good handling tyre with proper dimensions. Comfort is 10/10, these are also XL tyres, SL could be even better. To sum it up, i don't think this can be categorized as a UHP tyre, it might be a touring tyre with a hint of sportiness. Mine are made in Germany and compared to the Goodyears EF1A6 (made in Slovenia) on the other car are so much better with wear and the sidewall is a lot darker - better dust and dirt resiliency. If i can name some negative about this tyre is that the sidewall design is a little cartoon-ish. Better design and these are world class. At this price, with this performance, i advice everybody to give them a try.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I bought 3 years ago and drove 37.000 KM.
Too soft tyres and therefore a bit fast wear but still rubber depth half. But this provides this there is no cracks wall and the teeth.
Excellent dry and wet grip.
I drove 2 hours 220 km speed and its felt very secure.
I will buy again.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 62% while driving a Volvo C30 R Design Sport (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
After buying my 2nd C30, it came with a brand new set of these tires on the summer wheels. For comparison my previous C30 is on Goodyear eagle f1 supersports. My initial thoughts are that they shouldn't be called intensa UHP 2 but rather intensa touring 2. On hard cornering you feel the tires rolling on the sidewall( this could also be strengthened by the fact that they are 235 on 7.5" rims) and they just don't give you that sporty feeling even on this car which is lowered by about 35mm. Not particularly impressive grip either, as i managed to properly embarrass myself pulling out of the school junction spinning through the entire two first gears without even trying with my 177hp in the dry. On the Goodyears they hook as you go into 2nd gear. All in all not what I would call a UHP tire, and I have now swapped over my wheels and tires from my 1st C30, and will be selling these with that car. Only redeeming quality is the comfort, but personally I would rather have a broken back with sporty handling than comfort without sports.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Volvo V40, 2013 D2 (205/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
I bought these tires because it was extremely hard to find any tyres in stock in 205/50/17 for my car and I had to get them ASAP as I was going on a business trip. I didn't expect much to be honest but I was pleasantly surprised. They are noticeably more noisy than Goodyears that I was replacing, but for the price these are great tyres. This is my second season driving them and I'm pleased.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
I keep coming back to these as they provide a very good value for the money. Not recommended if you like to attack corners at high speeds, but otherwise comfy, reliable and quiet. Lifetime is reasonable too - about 50,000 on my disel Octavia. Be warned of noticeable loss of grip on wet with wear (prob any tyre though). I recommend putting half-worn tyres < 4 mm on the rear axle and maintaining >4 mm on the front.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022
Fiat (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Tyres are extremely silent and exquisite on hard braking! The rest is simply average. BUT, the longevity is simply hilarious! Tyres went rogue as soon as the second season started! Two out of four, simply were too deformed to be balanced... too weak structure, not for 2.0 mjet Bravo, maybe for some weaker engine, lighter car... Beware!
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Excellent tire for dry or rainy weather, very reliable, low wear, average fuel consumption. Very cheap in terms of quality / price. But.... there is also a downside to this tire and that is the side wall .... Two tires were replaced due to a tear on the side wall. First time on a pebble in the middle of the road, quite small Another time on a piece of concrete hidden in the grass next to the road when parking. Very soft side wall like a spider's web
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz c230k (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I had putting on my C230k , fulda exelero carat,the pirelli p zero rosso michelin pilot sport , and now I have the sava intensa uhp2 tires . I have 225/45/17 front and back wheels are 245/40/17 this is the second!!! time to put these tyres, On wet grip the braking is very good and dry grip is almost excellent. Has a very low noise level and is very comfortable . I am impressed , low cost and of course have very good grip so i am satisfied with these tyres . I belive is the best choice.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz c230k (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I replaced the pirelli p zero rosso on my C230k and I have used these Sava tires for 3500km , is the first time to put these tyres On wet grip the braking is very good and dry grip is almost excellent. Has a very low noise level and is very comfortable . I am impressed , low cost and of course have very good grip so i am satisfied with these tyres . I belive is the best choice.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Given 76% while driving a BMW 220d Sport Auto (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Good feedback and ride compared to the stock bridgestone runflats on my BMW 220d. Lasted about 35,000km.
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 JTD (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,320 spirited miles
I did 15k KM's on these. Firstly, these cost 42 GBP, I jus had to try them out. When reading the tests, they were done with tires made in germany and rated C/A/69. Nowadays, they are only made in C/B/70 and made in Slovenia or Poland. Mine are from Poland. Dry grip is ok, depends what you compare it to. I will compare to Dunlop Sportmaxx RT, (not RT2). Grip is similar, in the wet they are ok. But they do need to warm up a little bit to achieve better grip in the dry. Not the quietest, but the comfort is reasonable. They wore to 6mm after 15.000 KMs with my style of driving which is spirited, sometimes really hard in the corners (I have my favorite patch of curvy roads to really push). I like that they are progressive, meaning they warn you and start letting go slightly and won't suddenly snap to oversteer or understeer. So overall, I'm not impressed but you cannot argue that for this price you get a decent tire which is not unsafe in any summer conditions.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0 tdi 170hp (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I fitted Sava Intensa UHP 2 on new 19" rotor wheels, mine were made in Germany. I read that some of the sizes are made in Poland so it should be taken into account. Before these I was driving on 225/50R17 Goodyear Vector4Season, that are now left for winter set. Between these there is decrease in comfort, but what I can say that everything else is good with these tyres. Driving on highway with speeds over 190Km/h, either on dry and sunny day in late autumn with a lot of rain. Only thing that surprised me is aqua planning in some cases when there is suddenly too much water on road. But that would happen with every tyre since I use 255 (25.5cm) wide tyre. I definitely recommend this tyre. For 90 euros per tyre
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021