Audi A4 1.8T Quattro Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A4 1.8T Quattro.

Do you Drive a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A4 1.8T Quattro better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (39) 89% 92% 87% 87% 79% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (291) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Neuton NT5000 (65) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (35) 83% 93% 78% 75% 65% 81%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Yokohama AS430 (4) 85% 75% 70% 50% 63% 83%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Pace TOLEDO Pace (5) 80% 74% 63% 56% 70% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (52) 84% 73% 74% 75% 64% 64%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 90% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
After reaching 4mm of thread left from my Nokians WRD4, I searched for a tire with better thread wear, even if the nokians are absolute awesome winter tyres. I eventually chose the Pirellis Winter Sottozero 3. After one winter with them, I can say that they feel like a very good summer tyre on dry roads with temperatures beneath 15 grades celsius, on wet they perform excellent, they are very silent and the steering is very precise, even though they give a pretty decent confort ride. However, on snow and ice, they are not as good as the Nokians were, but you can have a normal drive with a little more care. However, they are far better than many other brands. And, the most important aspect, after one winter and 11000kms made, they lost only 1mm of thread! (The nokians lost 3 in the first winter). I would definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-07 12:32:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres because i had no other premium decent option at the time. They replaced my Pirelli PZ4's tyres, which were absolutely awesome. I ran then for one summer, and I lost 1mm of thread in about 8000kms made. They are pretty well balanced tyres, low road noise and road resistance, good dry and wet grip, but they have a big disadvantage: sidewalls. They are very soft, squishy, making the car very confortable, but not good for fast driving... the steering isn't as precise as it was with the Pirellis, the car wobles at high speeds and you don't feel very safe in corners, even so the grip well. And, in terms of look, they also seem low pressured, with a "belly" over the rims edges, no matter how much bars they have. So, I may buy them again, but not for this car.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-07 12:23:28
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 given 81% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 33 spirited miles
On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
Tyres do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
Tyres like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
Tyres are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

Positives.
Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tyre will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
Handling/Feedback Tyres let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
These softish tyres come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-05 00:29:18
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 75% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
The grip in both dry and wet is very good, no wheelspin wel accelerating hard.

But they are very uncomfortable, the rolling noise is very loud comparing to my previous Continental tyres. On bad roads its even more uncomfortable because you notice every pothole.

Also much more fuel consumption, i didnt expected that a tyre with EU label E would so much more fuel then a EU label B tyre.

Not a good tyre for your daily comfortable car like my Audi A4.

Next time i would go for a premium tyre again like Michelin, Continetal or Goodyear. tyres from the big brands are just a bit better, and thats why they are a bit more expensive.

tyre reviewed on 2017-03-13 16:40:14
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
Very good tyres. Superb handling in dry and wet. Never had any problem although they did wear a bit too fast. Recently sold my car so I don't know how they did when worn more. For the 35k kilometers I drove them they were excellent. For the hot Greek roads in the summer the soft compound of Michelin is currently the best.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-09 23:44:08
Writing about the Pace TOLEDO Pace given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very good Tl 1000 Toledo . Handling brilliant ,wear excellent , Great in the wet so good I bought another set
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-26 19:25:35
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 86% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
I bought these to replace the horrible Dunlop SP Sports that were fitted as OEM to the car. Those tires did not stand up well to Asian potholes and monsoon weather in Manila.

These tires cost about half the price as those Dunlops, and had a similar tread block pattern to the Dunlops. So far, the grip is good, and I've been able to endure semi-rough roads (crenellated concerete) without any tire damage. I even had an experience with a tire briefly run flat (less than a kilometer) without damage to the sidewall.

The tires have good dry and wet grip, and are reasonable quiet, but not as quiet as Yokohama C-Drives I fit on a Mazda 3 with 17 inch wheels. The ride again is reasonable, firm but planted, with a little more give than the old Dunlops.

I say that for the price, the performance of these tires is quite good.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-07 08:03:24
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 84% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, much of the good bits from the Goodyear F1 without ridiculously fast wear rates.

These have been fantastic on the mixed roads of north wales, especially in the wet.

Good value when the better wear rate taken into account for price.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-24 21:17:36
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
The tyre is very impresssive.Its ability to provide traction in wet condition is just unbelivable Exelent grip in corners. I have driven whit top brand tyres but these are the best high performence tyres I have ever driven on the road and the track!
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-27 11:35:47
Writing about the Fulda SportControl given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 average miles
Have had these on for about 6000 miles and don't seem to have worn at all. I am not the most sensitive driver so I can't tell the difference between these types and better brands, I can tell the difference between these and the budgets that were on the car when i bought it though.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-21 09:15:55
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 96% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
an out standing and now discontinued in the uk. im on the 3rd and last set of these on my audi a4 sline, brill, cant get any more. they last 12000 miles yes low but unreal grip worth every penny in my eyes. and as im 4 wheel drive i need 4 at same time and they are cheep at £65 per corner, please good year bring them back.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-07 12:35:45
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given 42% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Looking at other responses about the noise Im relieved! Road noise is terrible!! I have a all wheel drive and thought the transfer case was gone. Bought the car with these on and it was fine! After driving for 1000+ these tires are terrible and loud. What a way to ruin a "new " car for me!! Driving long distances here in the states! (Ex pat) some road surfaces do make a noise add that to the tire noise and it gets uncomfortable! I want these off asap and use them as tire swings for the kids!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-29 19:34:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre