Hankook Ventus V12 evo2

The Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 80 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 830,102 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 74%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 79%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width185 - 285mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)70 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ventus V12 evo2 is ranked 42nd of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

4th

Worst Result

4th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Car and Driver UHP Tyre Test
4th of 5 tyres
  • This tire possesses the rare and admirable ability to maintain relatively high grip compared with its peak grip even as the tire begins to slide. This is particularly apparent when the front end begins to push into understeer. Where other tires scrub speed and sail off the driving line, the Hankooks hang on longer and with only a slight drift off the intended path. This means the driver is scarcely penalized for sloppy piloting. The Hankook is easy to drive at the limit, with quicker than average recovery when the driver attempts to reel it all in.
    In other categories, the Hankook impresses less. The Ventus V12 Evo2 is laterally soft when loaded up in a corner, and steering inputs are imprecise. On wet surfaces, its favorable progressivism dries up. It also emits tones that penetrate the cabin, with a high-pitched zip as it rolls and loud thumps over imperfections.
    And while easy to drive, the Hankook's performances in both dry and wet tests were only marginally better than those of the Goodyear. Its fourth-place position was cemented by this objective performance that placed it in, well, fourth place.
View Full Test >>
2015 AMS Performance Tyre Test
4th of 9 tyres
  • Good performance on wet roads, short braking distance in the dry
  • Relatively weak resistance to aquaplaning, high rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2017 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2

2016-10-12 - Hi,Need new tyres for my vw passat 1.9tdi....which should i go for....Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 k120 or Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 k117..... which one has better tread life ? Also with more stiff sidewalls for hard cornering,wet braking,ideally an all rounder......moderate to fast aggressive driving.....so dont want to loose grip on wet corners etc..... thanks in advance

Unfortunately we have no direct experience with any Hankook tyres, but we believe the S1 is the sportier version of the two tyres.


2019-06-15 - Hi, I’m driving a Dodge Charger SRT 6.4L. I’m thinking to go for the rear set up with Michelin Pilot Sport 4S (275/40/20) and the front end with Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 K120 or Vredestein (245/45/20) What would your opinion or suggestion be on this set up? I’m living in the Middle East where it’s pretty dry and hot with just a month of slight rain.

Without testing I can't comment on mixed fitment setups. Ideally fit the same tyre all round.


2021-04-24 - ARE THESE TYRES RUN FLAT?

The V12 Evo 2 is not a runflat tyre by default, but there may be runflat sizes available.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £95.99 - £96.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £99.99 - £104.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £92.99 - £92.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 16 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Quality doesn't always come with a high price. Perfect tyres!
Helpful 344 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2016
Mercedes Benz (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are very impressive initially, however as they wear they get very noisy.
I thought a wheel bearing had gone bad with the droning after approx 10,000miles of daily use.
Helpful 90 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2019
Given 86% while driving a BMW 520D M Sport Touring (275/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I really liked these tyres on my BMW. They gripped really well, and never slipped even at end of life. I would have preferred to get a little bit more miles from them but at 18,000 miles, but they are now on the minimum wear markers. The only down side is the cost to replace them. I would love to get them again, but they have shot up in price in the last 2 years.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2023
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 >

Latest Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 30,000 average miles
First 10,000 ~ 12,000 miles were impressive. While cornering i noted a slight tendence to understeer on slippery under some conditions where regular tyres (i drive other car with "economy tyres") behave as they should. Breaking under wet conditions (straight) is quite good but when slightly cornering and breaking story could be different activating other car systems (ABS, TCS or ESP). Wear, visually, is not very noticeable but it does in perfomance so i understand this is a normal condition on "mid-tier" UHP tyres however this is why after 20,000 miles i will another set of new Ventus in my car, yes i will buy them again.

PS - OEM tyres were Hankook Optimo H426 which used to have limited contact with the road. :P
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Dodge Charger RT (245/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have these on My 2011 Charger RT Max. The value per mile makes these a no brainer for me. Will buy them again when these wear out.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
I have used these for 20.000 km on a Mazda 3. engine is a remapped 2.2 turbo diesel with 210 HP and 480nM. it's not slow but spinning in 3th gear in wet roads is excessive. even my winter tires (Dunlop wintersport 5) put down more grip . dry grip is fine, steering is very wobbly, the sidewalls are too soft so it dances around in fast corners. not a fan, will change to Michelin pilot sport 5.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 jtdm 200hp (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
My first review on this site of this tyre was september 2016, now after 6 years they have reached their tread indicator.Time flies,the v12 evo 2 was well worth the price especially now that i cant find any good tires for my car.No hankook available December 2022, i will keep driving till i get good options for the tyres mid january 2023 n onwards .hoping to get Dunlop, Hankook or Vredestein.sadly none of them are available. PRIMACY 4+ are 7500 mur in mauritius and still have bad treadlife and reviews after primacy 3 ,4 n now 4+
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These tires really are great for the cost. I’ve ran them on everything I’ve owned for the last 15 years. This is the second set on my 2018 Mustang GT and I have to say they will handle spirited driving on city/country roads without worry. Having said that, they aren’t bad for the occasional track day either. I definitely would not want them if I lived in a colder climate, on cool Florida mornings they don’t exactly like to be bothered if it’s below 65. They spin briefly on every take off, which in turn shortens tire life. Overall, nice tires
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Audi A8 D2 4.2 quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,600 spirited miles
Star driving those tires more than 4 years and 23500km, it time to change them. So far i was very happy with them and they did not surprise me in term of handling, etc. As i live in a tropical country, rubber is shot after 4 years with tire showing cracks on sideway, rolling area, etc. It is common here for all brands (Dunlop, Michelin, Continental, etc.) When I changed them, the wear was minimal, still not of meat on them. I was quite surprised. In term of driving quality, over year it decreased: Handling and breaking were still good but not as good as before Noise and comfort decreased, mostly due to the rubber becoming harder for to the weather condition. When I replaced them, i would have taken them again if i didn't have a good deal of some more grippy tires. I still recommend them as they did a good job in all situation
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Without rotation I will get 16000 to 18000 km at the front. With rotation 30000km with a set of 4. Dry grip very good. Wet grip good.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2021
Given 77% while driving a Peugeot 508 rxh estate (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
These seem to be hard and heavy, you feel every bump but the traction and handling are good. The grip is good, they don't let you down on corners, not even when they're almost illegal, which is impressive, on dry weather... on wet, they slip a bit, at the end of life, but this is normal, nothing dangerous though, really good overall tire, except the comfort part. For a heavy sports car that you drive on flat tarmac, the loss of comfort won't be an issue, I suppose, but if you wanna drive a sedan and have some comfort, they are too rough, especially on average roads with patches and occasional potholes. They are not noisy tires, you can enjoy your music and hear the wind, still so in the noise department they are OK. They seem to be tuned for sports cars, rather than sedans and comfort, that's all about it, a very good and safe overall tire, excepting that. The wear is good also, on them, you can drive them 60k+ km, if you drive them civilized... so, probably that's why they feel heavy, they are intended for high mileage and sports feel, rather than comfort.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2021
Given 73% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I've had these tyres for about a year and a half now, I'm not a SLOW driver I like to push it hard #racecar. As I live in Devon iand I drive a lot of motorway and country lanes. So best of both worlds review here. They are very quiet when you first get them but get noisier as they wear down, Motorway driving they are perfect, especially in the wet and I mean torrential down pours and standing water aquaplaning is basically gone! Same as normal roads and lanes, wet weather, standing water etc been a pleasure with these tyres. I found they step out here and there in the dry if your really pushing on round corners but they aren't ditch finders that's for sure, they soon find the grip again. Overall they are great tyres I'd probably say I managed to get between 20,000 and 32,000 out of my front 2 on the rear a lot longer I'd say. Driving a mapped 200hp MK3 Focus
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (275/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
I've been using Hankook tyres for the last 10 years
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 19 average miles
So, i gotta say that these tyres were pretty good. When i bought the car it had these on it. Im not an expert and I know that the Ford Focus is not a very sporty car, but when they were at the beginning of their life they were amazing in dry. In the mountains where there was a lot of sinuous roads even the Ford Focus was feeling like a nice car because i felt that the road is my hands and they built a lot of confidence :D. In the wet they were also pretty good. I've never had problems with them even in heavy rain. A funny story is that i was pushed with these tyres into the winter. There was a mild winter with temps around -2oC, but the fact that I managed to reach the destination alive was something incredible at that moment. It was not a lot a snow but there was patches of it and sometimes the tyres would get in contact with the snow. Of course i changed them with the winter ones as fast as i could. Yea, in the first 4-5 years the tyres were exceptionally good. In the sixth year i had a very strange moment when i was steering in a right corner and i felt that the front of the car started to slide into the inner part of the corner. So that was the first time when i realized i needed to treat the tyres with a bit more respect because they were getting old. I used them one more year ( i know the 5 years rule, but you know how it is). I did 30 000 Km in aprox. 7 years. The tyres still had 3-4 mm but the rubber was getting all cracked. I also have to mention that i've hit a fairly number of nasty potholes but the sidewalls were all ok. No bulges or anything. I know the comfort is subjective, but for me they were a little bit harsh when i passed over tramway rails. I would buy these again in a heartbeat but i just want to try something else.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
Given 91% while driving a (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
Overall great tires, the grip is good can go through corners and 100km without any tire sound
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021