Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D

The Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D and this tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop Winter Sport 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 88%
Wear 87%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 93%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 55%

Tyre review data from 36 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 272,300 miles driven.

The SP WinterSport 4D is ranked 15th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 50 Winter Tyre Braking Overview - 3rd of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 AMS Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling, short braking and good cornering in the snow, wet and dry
  • Negative - Relatively high rolling resistance, noise
View Full Test >>

2014 Autobild SUV / 4x4 Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced tyres, high traction on snow, good comfort, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Relatively high price, average lateral stability on snow
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/65 R15 91H   E E 68 8.47kgs
195/55 R16 87T XL MO F E 67 9.01kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL MO C C 68 9.13kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL AO E C 68 9.11kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   E C 68 9.05kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL *RSC F C 69 13.69kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL * F C 68 11.11kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL MO E C 67 9.90kgs
195/65 R16 92H XL * C B 70 8.30kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL *RSC E B 71 9.42kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL * C B 69 8.51kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL MO E E 69 9.80kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL *RSC E C 69 9.92kgs
225/45 R17 91H *RSC C C 69 10.05kgs
235/45 R17 94H XL MO E C 68 10.48kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL AO C C 71 10.26kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL *RSC F C 69 13.00kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL * C C 71 10.84kgs
245/40 R18 97H XL MO E C 70 11.55kgs
255/40 R18 99V XL MO E C 71 11.78kgs
225/45 R18 95H XL AO C B 72 9.78kgs
235/50 R18 97V XL MO E C 68 12.05kgs
245/50 R18 100H XL * C C 69 11.80kgs
245/50 R18 104V XL MOEXTENDED E C 70 15.60kgs
215/55 R18 95H XL MOEXTENDED E E 68 12.90kgs
225/55 R18 102H XL   C C 69 11.81kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL N0 E C 70 14.59kgs
265/45 R20 104V XL N0 E C 72 14.80kgs
275/30 R21 98W XL RO1 C C 72 12.86kgs
275/30 R21 98W XL RO1 C C 72 13.12kgs
285/30 R21 100W XL RO1 C C 73 13.50kgs
285/30 R21 100W XL RO1 C C 73 13.58kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D

2017-11-25 - Just fitted a set of new sp4's on new alloy wheels to my E class Merc-what should I inflate to-225/55/R17 97H ROF MO?

The Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D should be inflated to the vehicle manufacturer's recommended pressures.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP WinterSport 4D Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £73.74 - £278.20 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £105.89 - £138.00 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £123.99 - £168.84 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 24 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I've just completed my 3rd winter season on there tyres totalling approx 20,000 miles on all road types & conditions. Fantastic grip in corners, stopping power and comfort, very quiet on all read surfaces and even after 20k miles have 5mm of tread left. Gives great confidence when driving in winter conditions that I've never felt before. The only reason for not giving 100% is a very slight squirming in the dry when taking fast "S" bends, but with such a heavy car I can't complain. A fantastic tyre and would definitely recommend and buy again.
19 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a Skoda Superb II 4x4 2.0tdi (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
After 15.000km bumps on tyres, terible quality. Won't buy again
13 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 525xd (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
In short I am really impressed by these tyres and I can easily recommend them, although I don't have a direct comparison with similar winter runflat tyres. I chose between these and Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3, and ended up with the Dunlops. I would definitely buy them again.

On dry roads they behave really well, with good comfort and lower noise than my summer Continetals 18 inch (staggered 275 / 245). Only thing is that you feel the extra sidewall in corners at higher speeds. No complaints on wet roads and very good traction in snow (xDrive helps as well). Only on ice you start to fell their limits but overall I found this to be an excellent and versatile winter tyre. Cannot say exactly how long they will last, but after 4000 km there is minimal wear.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2019   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D >

Latest Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/50 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
I got these tires as a package with the wheel. They are Mercedes OEM tyre (MO) and unfortunately I got it with S Class W222 size, so for my W213 E350 petrol hybrid it was tight on the front part. There was almost no clearance with the arm. So word of advice, please get the 45 ratio if you want to put it on a W213. The wheel set is not staggered setup like the original AMG wheels from the car so all tires have same size. I have driven with these tires for around 3500 kilometres. One part of it was a journey from south Finland to Lapland at the northern part for ski holiday. I wasn't sure that the tires can keep up with Finnish winter because the temperature, snow and ice is really bad here and these tires are central European winter tires. So when I installed the tires it was already minus 3 to 7 Celsius on average daily, plus snow almost everyday. The road was slippery and yes during heavy snow it is not recommended to drive with this kind of tires. I have missed many red lights because of longer braking distance during snowfall. The tires also struggled to get a grip on snowy street especially when going around the roundabout or in a smaller street where the snow plough truck doesn't go there. When there is black ice on the intersection of course you can feel that the car is losing grip but it immediately gain it when the tires hit the road again. The feedback and handling during cold temperature on dry road is really good, I can feel where the car is going and I can tell the car to the direction that I want. Nevertheless during my 2500 kilometres trip to Lapland where the temperature reach -17 to -20 there and heavy snowfall on most cities, the tires performed really good. On dry road once in a while I hit 120-130 kmh in a safe empty stretch, I feel that the tires is gripping really well. There was one part during the journey where there was a freezing rain, the ground was wet and all the rain drop becomes ice that blocked your windshield, the tires were holding really good. I never felt that the car was about to skid or do something unpredictable. When there were some heavy rainfall the grip is still there and I can easily handle the car. For aquaplanning experience, there has been some times that the car lost the grip but still manageable even in higher speed (around 80-100 kmh). Also the noise level in the cabin it feels a bit high for my liking. I don't know if it is because the directional pattern of the tread. Overall this tyre is good and depending on the price, you can consider also to put on your car if you don't have harsh winter like in Finland.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Jeep Cherokee Limited 2015 (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Have spent two full winters living in the mountains on the Italian Austrian border, driving between ski resorts on steep twisting mountain roads and motorways that were sometimes covered in deep snow and ice, as well as days when it was heavy rain or even in springtime 30 degrees hot......and the Wintersport 4D's never let me down. On more than one occasion I got out where others also in 4x4's were having to fit snowchains. They always felt assured. They have had 15000 miles of use and still have loads of tread left. I use Michelin Primacy 3 in the summer but actually prefer the Wintersport 4D for feel and handling, they are certainly better off road too. I was recommended this tyre by someone that had used them and can only echo that recommendation. The drive to our house had a steep drive which often became sheet ice that you could not walk on, but with these tyres on the car just drove out like you were on tarmac. Will definitely buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have put these tyres on, and went on a 600km trip in pouring rain, and it was like driving on dry roads - even deeper ponds at high speeds are handled great. After an hour, snow started falling and temperature went down, but no change, Dunlop performed perfectly. At the end of the trip, it was dry road and this "test" was over in beautiful manner: these tyres are great. Silent, comfortable and you can feel that it is a premium tyre. Guys at the shop commented that, from their experience, 4D lasts longer than Wintersport 5 and that they are a great choice. I think they were right, and we will se about the wear rate. But right now, I don't care - I love them!
2 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2017   
Given 97% while driving a Toyota Prius III (205/50 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
It's hard to imagine a winter tire more capable than this in central European winters. Meaning rainy, cold, freeezing and snowy. Variable conditions require a tire to be good in all winter domains. This Dunlop 4D is the best winter tire I have ever used. It's even rather comfortable even against an all season or summer tyre. That is no easy task. I'm sure thee are better tyres in the rain, or ones that are better pure snow tires. But this is the best all rounder I have experienced. It's even transformed a understeering machine Prius, into dare I say something confidence inspiring.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a BMW X1 X Drive (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I'm running 225/50/17 on a BMW X1 X-drive M-sport. I'll deal withe downside first. This tyre, on my car, exhibits a strange handling in high speed corners. Example would be a sweeping motorway slip road. The car feels like it's is squirming on the tread blocks, which is disconcerting, but probably not actually a problem and just a consequence of the the softer rubber and sipes etc. If you don't drive at high speed you wouldn't notice this and it may improve as the tyre wears.

In every other regard, they are an excellent tyre. Quiet and comfortable in all conditions, especially as I'm coming from run flat summers that are an inch bigger. It's actually a pleasure to put them on. They feel sure footed in cold temps, and have excellent snow traction and braking. I live up an unadopted farm track high in the Pennines, and have tested these in deep fresh snow and compressed snow and ice. They excel in these conditions giving great confidence and control.

Overall, has great winter and cold properties, but slightly strange high speed handling character.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2015   
Given 97% while driving a Fiat Stilo (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Very, very good tyre. Noisy at speed 10-20 km/h.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a SEAT Altea Freetrack (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Not run winter tyres before, but after reading a few reviews on here thought i would try a set of these, living in north yorkshire the conditions can get wild , was very glad to have these on winter 2012-13 with the mass of snow we had and frosty days, the car felt safe, great to drive and bags of traction even in the snow and icy conditions we had that year, i live up a fairly steep hill and even with 3-5 inch of snow on the ground the car went up with ease, only got the car stuck for bit when i planted it on a compacted large snow drift, my fault for not realising but amazing where i could take the car . put them on last year but was a very warm winter, this year they are paying off again, will prob get 4-5 seasons out of them at the rate i am going.
not cheap tyres but the road noise is good, feel in all conditions is excellent and would rather pay a little more for tyres that are this good knowing that it could make the difference in getting home safe or not.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2015   
Given 97% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 400 average miles
One word: wow! I’ve been using the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme’s on my Audi A4 for the last few Winters & boy they were good but these are even better. Only put them on last week so obviously can’t comment on wear but they really excel in all winter conditions. Took the car up Cairngorm mountain road where there was a few inches of fresh snow and the car felt solid as if you were driving on a dry summers road! Had temps of -1c with black ice recently in Inverness and again the car feels planted on the road in icy conditions. In cold rainy weather going through puddles isn’t daunting anymore…the car just goes through them without any fuss. In dry cold weather again the grip is amazing.

Comfort is excellent, very quiet and just a gentle rumble when going over rough tarmac or potholes

On the downside they weren’t cheap, around £155 per corner from lovetyres but I did buy them in the middle of winter so suppose I had to pay a premium. Buy them, you won’t regret it!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Superb tyres. I was warned that winter tyres wear quickly. Rubbish. They did over 20k and still had more grip than my wife's summer tyres over the same distance (remember, you are starting out with tonnes more tread depth and so have more to lose!). Also, I found no problem keeping these tyres fitted during summer. No noticeable change in performance. Ultimately, the mean annual UK temperature is just 11C. In the early mornings and evenings (when most people drive to and from work), the temperature is well below this, and so hard to understand why you wouldn't use a winter or all season tyre for the UK roads. I have a 320d rear wheel drive and its almost impossible to spin these tyres! Get involved.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.5dci @ 125hp (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Well, it's something when you put these on an they're quieter than the summer tires! (Pirelli P7 Cinturato).

They are best to be used in bellow 0-5C. I've found that on dry and wet roads, on over 5C the Pirelli's are better gripping. But boy oh hoy, things do change under 0C.

I've run these really hard on wet at -1(still water on the ground, not ice) and they grip almost like the Pirelli's in the summer.

They do however shine when tackling almost zero traction conditions like thick slush or fresh snow. You can just feel them grip. I have NEVER been stuck anywhere, even when tackling 20+ cm snow. On glass ice they grip really when, and you can feel when they're going to lose traction. You don't end up in the ditch just like that.

To sum this up, they are brilliant for snow/ice/cold&wet conditions. I've went with my FWD car where 4WD cars were stuck or stuggling.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Had them on for two seasons, about to hit the third. It was awesome being able to drive a lightweight rear wheel drive coupe in the snow. The outside Lane of the motorway is empty in the snow and this set up handled it perfectly, massively exceeding my expectations. The only limiting factor is the snow and ice in the middle of the road which catches on such a low car. No fault of the tyres though. Absolute convert to winter tyres now and will be fitting them to the other car too. Been through two seasons and they've lost 3-4mm at the rear and 2 on the front. However this may have been because I've enjoyed provoking the rears into deliberate, controllable slides. Such fun added to the massively increased driveability and safety.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2014   
Given 94% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I've driven them for two seasons now in Mitsubishi Lancer 205/60 R16.
They really shine in all conditions, especially in wet.
Previously I've used Goodyear UltraGrip 7+, which I recon to be v. good, but these Dunlops are even better.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2014