Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

The Eagle F1 SuperSport draws on Goodyear's racing experience to provide superior grip and handling. Responsive directional changes are ensured through the stiff tread ribs while a massive closed outside pattern, used on the tyre's shoulder, provides control during load transfers in corners. A super-stiff sidewall design further improves handling without unduly compromising ride comfort. Although primarily developed for dry conditions, Goodyear has innovatively addressed wet performance through the deployment of a multi-compound combination that sees dry-optimized outer sections paired with three wet-optimized central segments.

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 248,902 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 67%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 81%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size18 - 22"
Width205 - 325mm
Profile30 - 45
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)69 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eagle F1 SuperSport is ranked 18th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

6th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 Sports Car Tyre Test
6th of 7 tyres
  • Dynamic sporting talent with crisp, direct steering on dry roads, good comfort.
  • Lacking grip and pronounced understeering behavior with extended braking distances on wet surfaces, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2023 ACE / Gute Fahrt UHP Summer Tyre Test
6th of 7 tyres
  • Excellent dry handling, good steering response and high levels of driving pleasure, but high rolling resistance.

    Good.
View Full Test >>
2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test
4th of 10 tyres
  • Excellent in the dry with the best dry handling and short dry braking distances.
  • Low grip in the wet with long wet braking distances, low aquaplaning resistance, noisiest tyre on test, low levels of comfort.
  • The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport once again proves itself to be one of the best road bias tyres if you're interested in taking your car on track. Unfortunately, that does come at the expense of some road manners, such as wet performance and comfort levels but this is still the tyre to pick if you're planning track work.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
18 inch
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLAA71
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA69
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA69
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA70
235/35R19 91 Y XLCB70
235/35R19 91 Y XLCB70
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA70
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA71
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

2020-02-06 - Hi are Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport better in dry grip then Michelin Pilot Sport 4 ?

You can see the SuperSport compared to the 4S here. The Asymmetric 5 is more a rival to the PS4.


2019-12-22 - Are these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Tyres better in the wet than MPS4 tyres ? I have MPSS tyres on my M240I , I was going to swap these for MPS4 tyres however the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyres may be the better choice

They will offer a very similar level of wet grip.


2020-01-05 - Hi, I'm currently looking for a replacement of my Michelin PS4s for the coming Season. The most promising alternative, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport has a rather shockinly low "wear" rating of 20% (compared to the Michelin PS4s with 84%). How is that number derived? What does it mean in real live, will the PS4s last 4x longer? TIA for the answer, Thomas


2021-03-23 - In my country I only able to find Thailand made F1. is the quality is same as euro made?

Usually eastern tyres have a slightly different compound due to the different market requirements, so there's a chance they will be different tyres, however if the Thai F1 SuperSports are the same spec as the European ones they should be virtually identical.


2020-12-28 - Goodyear have launched an Audi OE Supersport in 225/40/18 92Y and the noise on this is lower by 3db and fuel economy has improved by going from E to C rated. Which one of these will be a better performing tyre? Will the OE version perform as well as the non OE version. The car I am thinking of using them on is a Golf R mk7.5 stage 1 tuned (same MQB chassis as the Audi)

Without testing I'm afraid it is impossible to know. As a guess, it seems like the OE version could have traded some ultimate handling and grip for the improved rolling resistance and lower noise, so if I was choosing a tyre for "fun" without testing, I would pick OE. I expect the differences to be relatively minor overall though.


2022-01-28 - I am looking for a tire similar in performance to the TOYO R1R. Unfortunately the sizes that I currently have on my car I have only a few alternatives (no more Pirelli Pzero AR!): Michelin Pilot Sport CUP 2, Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersport and Supersport R. My driving is 5% track and 95% road. Ambient temperatures are in the range 5-35 ° C and the car is an Alfa Romeo 4C: what do you recommend?

The Cup 2 would likely be closest to the R1R, however for that much road driving I'd be inclined to fit the F1 SuperSport.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £96.98 - £134.56 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £124.81 - £170.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £139.87 - £179.89 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £121.50 - £165.21 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £185.44 - £200.11 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia q4 2.0T 280+ (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Second set of GY SS (mix fitment 255 35 R19, 225 40 R19) i've tried ps 4s and Bridgestone PSS in between howewer, there is something about these GY SS that it making me happy... overall dry grip is comparable to semi slick tyre and unlike Michelin or Bridgestone these tyres can tolerate a lot more abuse on track before overheating. Oweral dry grip is insane as well as feedback , steering is super responsive hi speed directionall stability is excelent.

Wet grip is realy good comparable with Michelin PS4, solid grip in the wet with slightly less tolerance for aquaplaning (obviously it is not designed to be competition rain tyre so be careful while exploring limits :)

Treadwear, comfort and noise level... as expected from uuhp tyre (spirited driving 15000km max)

At the end amazing tyres for price
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2023
BMW 230i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
This tyre is such a wonderful surprise. There are not much sporty road tyres for 18" so before this one i had PS4. It's a good tyre but there is nothing sporty about it, the F1 SS is night and day over the PS4 in Dry grip, feedback and handling (No rain yet where I live so can't comment on wet grip, but I live in a hot country so wet is not much issue). If you are on 18" and want a sporty tyre for road use? this is the one to chose. It is indeed a fun tyre like Jonathan said in his review. Love this tyre.
Helpful 85 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2021
Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tyres I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tyres again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
Helpful 137 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2019
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Audi TT MK3 1.8 (245/35 R19) on mostly town for 11,000 spirited miles
I got these three a couple of years ago on a very attractive offer from Costco.

These tyres are extremely competent on a summer’s day. Above 10°c and a dry road I could never reached their limits. In the rain they are also very well put together, albeit I never pushed them in the wet.

Unfortunately, I could never fully enjoy these tyres. Due to the horrendous degradation of our roads, soon after purchase I hit an extremely bad pothole (under a railway bridge. Couldn’t see it until it was too late). Although the tyre and wheel was refitted, I never felt like I could fully trust them. This is there downside. They are extremely hard (due to being a UUHP) and just can’t cope with our roads. They get thrown about all over the place and don’t make for a pleasant ride. This isn’t the fault of the tyres, but really can’t recommend them as an everyday in the UK.

I will add finally that they are useless in the winter. This is no surprise, but under 8°c they are rock hard. So do keep this in mind. Perhaps have a set of winters/All seasons and run these only in the summer.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2024
Given 44% while driving a Renault (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Having run many sets of Michelin Pilot Supersports over the years on my Megane R26, I fancied a change. I bought these Goodyears and very quickly noticed a heavy pull in the direction of the camber. Furthermore, when they wore down to abo 2mm they were dreadful in the wet.
I’m now back on the Michelins and the car is a pleasure to drive once again.
Avoid.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a SEAT 184hp TDI Leon (225/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
Very precise tire on dry roads with excellent steering response. Very rigid sides for great stability and maneuverability. The answer is direct and very precise. Good feedback. Rolling silence and correct comfort for a hyper sport tire. Good in fuel consumption and longevity. Good grip in the rain but worse braking distance than Assymetric 5. I even found that the grip was not so bad on the snow. In short, I recommend this tire 100% if you like to have a little fun
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2024
Given 89% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 24,800 spirited miles
Great tyres for road and track, if you like.
Not too noisy but not a quiet tire.
Wear is great. Mine have seen a few trackdays and around 40000km and there is still plenty of tire left.
If you find them for a good price, BUY!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2024
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Stock tires from a VW Golf R. On road they are ok, with fine traction for daily driving, with some driving mixed in. I do find they are rather noisy for a tire of this type. When I switch from my winter tires to these summer tires, I notice an increase in NVH which doesn't seem intuitive but every year I notice the difference.

On track is a different story, I do not recommend them. They're fine under braking and acceleration. You'll need more negative camber to get the tires to bite in corners and on exit. But regardless of suspension and alignment changes they get greasy very quickly and their ideal temperature range is very narrow. Feedback is poor and wear is high as a result. Based on their design and my experience the shoulders of the tire aren't robust enough. For a tire with such glowing reviews I am very disappointed in their performance for light track use (autocross and short tracks, 8 laps per day following a 2 lap warm up, 1 lap push, 1 lap cool down sequence. 3-4 times a year).
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
The tyres were bought naturally after a TyreReviews review comparing the UUHP tyres and the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport having the best dry grip performance at the time. The PS4 was too lacking and the PS4s weren't available in the 18 inch size, the 19 inch size was a little too harsh for our roads, which is why the SSs were the best available tyre at the time.
The GY SSs are simply superb at dry grip, on longer corners they hold the grip all the way to the speeds and lateral forces I was comfortable with, on shorter corners they greatly mitigated the understeery corner entry of my heavy car, after the apex they transformed the amount of power that can be put out of the corner while still having steering angle to the state where 2nd gear corner exits didn't have enough power to slide the car at 240hp full throttle, which was a first after Potenza S001s, Nexens N8000s, Sava UHP+s and even the Conti SportContact 7s couldn't grip that much.
The wet grip was slightly above average, enough to be safe on the roads, but nowhere near fun. The wear was surprisingly good, 8000miles for a set of 4 with rotations, given the shitty and curvy roads the SSs were dailyed on, it was quite a lot.
Comfort wise they were loud, bumps were very audible, highway tyre noise was high, but all of that was countered by the amount of grip that was unbelievable for such a heavy car.
At the end of life, after 8000 hard miles, there was no tread left on 3-4cm of both inside and outside of each tyre, they were completely smooth. The center maybe had 2mm of tread depth left. But the grip at the end of life was even better than during the actually usable tread life, reaching absurd high speed corner grip levels compared to all the previous tyres I've used, including the SportContact7s.
Definitely the best dry grip tyre I've ever had, without a shadow of a doubt.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2023
Given 72% while driving a BMW 1 series (245/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my BMW M140i the car is mapped so puts out a little more HP and TQ than stock.

Dry grip: Really good, grips well off the line and out of corners and you know where the limit is.

Wet grip: Is just okay, it's struggles with traction sometimes spinning in 5th gear (Auto) and at times you can feel the ABS kicking in under braking, it also struggles with clearing standing water a bit too. So overall not confidence inspiring in the wet. Anyone saying otherwise simply doesn't drive hard enough to tell the difference between tyres.

Feedback: This tyre really excels here through the steering wheel and the seat, I can tell what each corner is doing.

Comfort: Is compromised due to a stiff sidewall, but I knew that and I prefer feedback over comfort.

Wear: Too early to tell only covered 2k so far.

Conclusion: If you want a great summer tyre that gives you sporty dry handling buy these. Just know that it does come at the expense of wet performance.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 23,000 spirited miles
i've tried these tyres in different cars, one is a c63 MB and the on an audi s3 , the main difference the size of the tyres, on the 225, these tires are comfy and very low noised, on the other even nd on the 275 noise is louder , comfort about the same. thats it thats my only criticism. handling, cant be better baking damn .. face gesture making.. and all these with very good comfort levels. traction and steering response amazing. im really glad i purchased these instead of the asymmetric ...performance level is up without real compromise. amazing tyres
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2023
Given 91% while driving a BMW 140i xdrive (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Amazing handling qualities with exceptional steering reactions and highly confidence inspiring in dry conditions. Very good dry grip with good wet grip for a UUHP tire. Nevertheless not a wet performance tire as reactions in the wet at the limit can be a little bit demanding for average driving skill (if the electronics are turned off completely). Good wear especially when driven hard and/or frequently at the limit or on the track (about 5000 miles and still look quite new / about 6 mm left with even wear in spite of driving excessively fast curves). Had before the Yokohama AD08R which I loved. Compared with these, grip is on a identical level but Goodyear demands less heat in the tire to result in same grip. Turn in of Goodyear is a little bit faster and more precise and both are a bit "meaty" and side walls are strong. Therefore only average tire pressure (2.4 bar) is required and tire remains reliable also under extreme driving conditions (no imprecise behaviour or reactions of the tire). Comfort is quite good for UUHP (at least as good as original MIchelin PSS tires).
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2022
Given 85% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought these for my bmw 420d and can honestly say they are a great improvement over the potenza s001 fittrd before. Much more fun and the grip is insane. Have had michelin ps4 previously and these are much better. Thanks tyre reviews for the recomendation
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2022
Given 91% while driving a BMW Z4M Coupe (255/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
225/45/18 and 255/40/18

I bought these in 2020 after seeing the excellent reviews on this site. I have so far covered around 10k with them on everything from rough city streets to autobahns and tracks. They have been superb and offer an almost no compromise performance upgrade over more road oriented tyres.

Dry
In the dry these really hang on. Turn in is direct and the grip is well balanced front to rear. I’ve also found myself able to get on the throttle much sooner and with more confidence than before. Braking is excellent and has only made my brake pads seem even more lacking than ever.

Wet
I was a little concerned that there would be a wet weather trade off with this type of tyre, but if there is, I can’t tell. Traction is better than ever and grip is surprisingly good. I don’t use the car much in the wet and don’t tend to push it when I do, but incredibly they appear to perform noticeably better than the old Asymmetric 2s they replaced.

Track
The biggest difference compared to my previous tyres is their ability to be pushed for much longer on track without overheating. The F1 SS is a huge step up in this regard and whilst I’m sure a dedicated track tyre would be better again, you’d be making other compromises to get that advantage.

Wear, noise and comfort.
I doubt many will care that much if they’re looking at this kind of tyre but it’s good to know you won’t need ear plugs, a seat cushion and an overdraft when you’re just driving normally. For wear, it’s possibly too early to tell but there’s huge amounts of tread left and no worn shoulders. I also didn’t notice any increase in noise but as the Z4 is relatively noisy, it’s hard to be sure. In terms of comfort they are a little stiffer and harsher over sharp ridges and potholes but it’s a relatively small difference and a price worth paying if you want that extra connection and directness. An added bonus is that my MPG hasn’t suffered either. I’ve been to Italy and back twice on these and there’s no perceptible difference in economy compared to other times I’ve done the trip.

Summary/TLDR

If you want a high performance road tyre with more grip and feedback compared to a UHP summer tyre, look no further. The F1SS moves the performance on from the Asymmetric range without giving up any amount of real world usability. It’s ability to handle heat is leagues above a normal summer tyre and should satisfy all but the most dedicated of track goers. The only noticeable compromise for me was a slight loss of comfort over harsh bumps but given the nature of the tyre and all the other benefits it offers it’s a total non issue.

I’m reluctant to give these a 10/10 simply because I’m no tyre tester, but I’d say they’re pretty much perfect for anyone wanting more focus and grip without sacrificing the ability to daily drive the car in mixed environments and conditions.
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi EVO 8 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent premium tyre for a dry weekend car. Mounted these to a 2004 Mitsubishi Evo 8mr and now this thing is the king of corners. Whatever corner I throw at it, it just grips, no tyre squeal, no understeer or oversteer. would recommend to anybody after a dry grip weekend tyre. Tyre also has decent rim protection if you are after that. Decent looking sidewall. Made in Germany. Don't pay extra for the Michelin PS4S when you can have these for slightly less money.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2022