Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

Dry Grip 98%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 96%
Handling 98%
Wear 75%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 93%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The Eagle F1 SuperSport draws on Goodyearís racing experience to provide superior grip and handling. Responsive directional changes are ensured through the stiff tread ribs while a massive closed outside pattern, used on the tyreís shoulder, provides control during load transfers in corners. A super-stiff sidewall design further improves handling without unduly compromising ride comfort. Although primarily developed for dry conditions, Goodyear has innovatively addressed wet performance through the deployment of a multi-compound combination that sees dry-optimized outer sections paired with three wet-optimized central segments.

Show All

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 48,450 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty summer tyre with best cornering and handling in the wet, good steering precision, short wet and dry braking distances, balanced comfort.
  • Negative - Noise, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Recommended.

2020 UHP, UUHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking and good dynamics with high steering precision in the dry. The high driving stability and excellent behaviour creates trust for fast times. Acceptable performance in the wet.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning, reduced comfort.
  • Overall - The brand new Eagle F1 SuperSport is still missing some bite.

2020 EVO UHP Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The Eagle F1 SuperSport had steering feel and feedback as good as the best, helping it achieve strong dry results. It delivered good objective wet performances too, but while its steering was outstanding its refinement was less good: on poor surfaces it was noisy and bumpy.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 10.10kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL         10.67kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 71 8.38kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 72 9.43kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.14kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 12.03kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 10.85kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 12.00kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.27kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.97kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 75 12.00kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 70 10.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 11.32kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.39kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL         11.49kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 73 11.35kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 11.74kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 11.76kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 74 12.87kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 75 13.82kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL NA0 E B 73 12.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.86kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E A 72 11.78kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   C A 75 12.95kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL NA0 E A 74 15.55kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

2020-02-06 - Hi are Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport better in dry grip then Michelin Pilot Sport 4 ?

You can see the SuperSport compared to the 4S here. The Asymmetric 5 is more a rival to the PS4.


2019-12-22 - Are these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Tyres better in the wet than MPS4 tyres ? I have MPSS tyres on my M240I , I was going to swap these for MPS4 tyres however the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyres may be the better choice

They will offer a very similar level of wet grip.


2020-01-05 - Hi, I'm currently looking for a replacement of my Michelin PS4s for the coming Season. The most promising alternative, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport has a rather shockinly low "wear" rating of 20% (compared to the Michelin PS4s with 84%). How is that number derived? What does it mean in real live, will the PS4s last 4x longer? TIA for the answer, Thomas


2020-12-28 - Goodyear have launched an Audi OE Supersport in 225/40/18 92Y and the noise on this is lower by 3db and fuel economy has improved by going from E to C rated. Which one of these will be a better performing tyre? Will the OE version perform as well as the non OE version. The car I am thinking of using them on is a Golf R mk7.5 stage 1 tuned (same MQB chassis as the Audi)

Without testing I'm afraid it is impossible to know. As a guess, it seems like the OE version could have traded some ultimate handling and grip for the improved rolling resistance and lower noise, so if I was choosing a tyre for "fun" without testing, I would pick OE. I expect the differences to be relatively minor overall though.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £85.00 - £104.17 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £127.73 - £149.99 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £105.00 - £119.69 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £141.00 - £158.69 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £162.00 - £181.04 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
295/30 R20 £212.22 - £241.39 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 28 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Review

Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tyres I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tyres again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
82 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2019   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >>

Given 93% while driving a BMW 428i m sport coupe (255/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I choose these tires as a alternative to the more expensive Michelin PS4S which don't even come in my size. The Eagle F1 supersport is better by all means than the Continental SC5* Runflats with which the car came on. Noise is less intrusive than runflats but still loud on some types of pavement, but when driving on highway speeds on a long trip it gets better. you get used to it. Stability in the curves is almost the same as the old ones (because of stiff side walls) but have faster steering and acceleration being little more comfortable than RFT... The tires are couple of Kg lighter than any of runflats which would prove useful on a track for people wanting to maximize tire effectiveness. On colder temperature already under 5 degrees Celsius were the tires somewhat strugling with traction on an near ice cold road, so pay attention not to use these in autumn/winter season. Thread wear is yet to be concluded.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
In the past 12 years I have had 3 golf gtis one of them totally standard and 1 chipped and the other upgraded in several aspects like suspension brakes chip etc. , my latest car is an audi s3 so my review is about tyres used on these fast hatchbacks. I have used in these cars the following tyres: conti sport contact 5, yokohama advan k105, good year assymetric, assy 2, assy 3, pirelli pzero and michelin ps2. Said this , a few days ago i had to change the assy 3 so i went to the dealer and looked for replacement, the natural evolution was the assy 5, but once at the dealer i was offered to try the new good year super sport , if i didnt like it i would be able to change them to the assy 5 , no charge. This is how confident the dealer was . Ok down to .. its totally mind bending .. steering response.. k105 breaker.. sticks like the ps2 or even better, .. at the limit is almost fool proof .... wet? still no experience but i can imagine it will be good. So , its always been quite easy to make a performance tire that grips great in the dry but there are two major points that will make a great dry tire that will make it a great tire over all: WET PERFORMANCE AND COMFORT. I am quite picky now about the comfort part and thats why i have been using goodyears assys lately. this tire isnt as comfy as the assy 3 but.. its almost there plus you can really feel the performance difference as soon as u get your hands in the wheel. Damn this is a new era for tires!! grip, comfort, steering response .. confident limit.. this is one of perhaps 3 tyres out there that are able to perform in every area like this. Not going back for the assy5 s ... Thank you goodyear dealer!! u made my day!
1 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (245/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Really good match for my car. Decided to remove the stock Pirelli run flats and go for a good premiumínormalí tyre. The difference is night and day. Feel. Comfort. Grip (wet and dry) all improved instantly. I have no idea how long these will last. But for every day driving I canít imagine there are many out there that are better. If you have a car with noisy run flats these are a significant improvement. Almost sure Iíll buy these again. 9/10. Only drawback is they are not cheap. But you get what you pay for.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020   
Ford Focus RS (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 50 easy going miles
OK just got the new 235/35/19 Goodyear f1 supersport tyres for my mk2 focus rs on 11/7/20, 1st impression after 50 kilometers,car felt a lot more planted over the conti contact 3 I have replaced,weather was raining so drove sensible on the way home, definitely a improvement on the way the rs drives now, nice and Sharpe,quite light also along the motorway,tyre guys put 42 psi f and 40 psi r, so I have adjusted to 35 & 33 for now and will play with psi, what I have noticed is there more noise on certain types of road but the new smooth roads are pretty quiet,once there scrubbed in I will return a updated review and hopefully I'm loving them,They do look a very nice on the rs rims to by the way, tread isn't that deep either so wear rate will be interesting.purchased based on this review page as I wasn't paying ps4s money per a tyre, my choice was this supersport or the falken fk510,cheers from Australia
8 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
This tyre has transformed my BMW. The steering feel on my model is sorely lacking, but this tyre offers so much feedback that it will not be silenced. The grip in dry and wet are both quite exceptional, but be aware that cold summer mornings (10-15 degrees C) require warming of the tyres before all the grip is there. I had the opportunity to try the tyre on a dry track, and it stood up well - so for anyone who does only the odd trackday, this tyre should be on your list. Did I mention the feedback? It has made my very capable, but always slightly dull BMW a really fun car to drive! Even at perfectly sane and socially acceptable speeds on the road the car is so much more satisfying to drive. It feels more alive and very talkative. Comfort is good, firm but rarely jarring, and it is surprisingly quiet for a performance tyre. Jonathan's review pitching this tyre against the PS4S is spot on the money.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2020   

See all 19 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (newest first) >>