Yokohama Advan Sport V105S

The Yokohama Advan Sport V105S is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 176,503 miles driven.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 76%
Wear 72%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 91%

The Advan Sport V105S is ranked 25th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S

2018-09-24 - Is this the same as V105? I saw there's another review of V105, without the S

Yes it is likely the V105S is the same tyre as the V105, I will confirm with Yokohama and merge accordingly.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £115.03 - £115.81 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama Advan Sport V105S Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 R Design (235/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Great SPORT tyres. Made in Japan now replaced by V107, I believe. Oldie but goodie and still great tyres. Had them on for about 3 years. Stiff sidewall gives your great handling and a stiffer ride, with direct steering. Not much in the way of rim protection tbh. These tyres shine in wet and dry and give a great feedback through, just make sure you have the chassy to enjoy it, along with the steering precision. These tyres are rated under UTQG = 240 AA A People don't mention this metric in Europe, sadly, because its a more USA thing, but its an important one. Even some reviewer such a tyrereviews rarely mention it???? Grip is AA highest. Temp is A highest and thread life is 240....errrr..... That's the bad bit on these tyres, that's not far off track day tyres. Wear is not the best. If you are looking to get 20K miles on these, forget it. These babies will give your car a stiff, grippy ride in any condition. You will enjoy driving, with control safety and grip. If only for about 14,000miles - 16,000miles. Noise is average due to grippy compound. EU rating for rain is A and economy is F, which is a bit poor these days. Again due to sticky compound. Would i buy again? Hell yeah if they are on offer, sadly currently, they are not.
Helpful 69 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Honda Accord CTDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Been using Goodyear Eagle F1 Ass. 2 for quite a while and very satisfied.

Decided to give the Yokohama's Advan Sport V105s a chance, and very pleased also.

According to the EU label, I was expecting na increase in fuel consumption, but in reality, there was no difference.

What I felt was a very responsive tyre, great feedback, very safe on wet roads e alot of grip.

I can't give any feedback on how long they will last, but with the Goodyear's, I managed to achieve 40000 km on a set of 4 tyres, rotating every 10000km
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2014
Given 82% while driving a BMW 320i Msport (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I used these on the front of a rear wheel drive car (rears were a different brand). I like the way these sit on the wheel. The side wall was straight and flush with the wheel instead of rounded like some other brands. I only had them on the car for 8 months (so can't comment on wear) then sold my wheels with the tyres on. Everything about them was good. Although my previous Continental gave me better confidence in the wet, the Yokohama didn't slip or slide either. In the dry they felt better than the Continental so not worth paying the premium price for Continental. I put Goodyear on my new wheels and the Goodyear give a smoother, quieter and more comfortable ride as well as better steering response. The Goodyear aren't as expensive as Continental so if the Goodyear and Yokohama are a similar price I would go for Goodyear. All in all if the Yokohama come up at a good price in future I would definitely buy them again. I've had a good experience with some older Yokohama pattern years ago too.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2018
Have you driven on the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama Advan Sport V105S >

Latest Yokohama Advan Sport V105S Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 cdi (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
These replaced some uncouth Road-X tyres. Superb Japanese tyres. Do they know how to make a tyre or what? It punches well above it's weight and drives like a Michelin PS5. They just put the power down. As they are so progressive they keep on giving. The car drives fantastic. A complete and utter transformation and new lease of life to the car. Corner fun? Check. Aqua plane? No problem. All round amazing tyres that just get better and better the more you throw at them. No tramlining but stick to the road like glue. My first time trying a Yoko, having stuck to the big main brands for over 30 years. No regrets whatsoever. Slightly heavy as a run flat (newer run flats are lighter and weigh about the same as non run flats) but the minor fuel penalty is something I can life with because they feel so safe and assuring. We have a safe tyre here. Sporty characteristics when required. Comfort when required. Not many can achieve that. Looking forward to trying the V107.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2024
Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Good tyres but needed run in for a few miles when new. Rather slippy at first in wet but after some wear, tyres are good in wet. Gave confidence in fast corners. No snaking or fish tailing. Bought 2 years ago and tyres more expensive now. Tyres fitted to front wheel drive whells.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 76% while driving a SEAT EXEO TDi 170 CR (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 16,500 miles
Very good overall tyre. Gripped just as well as my previous Goodyear Assymetric 2. They lasted 16.5k miles on the front of my Seat Exeo which is the best I have gotten out of any tyres I have previously owned. I managed 13k from the Goodyear and only 11k from Bridgestone re050. The grip was excellent in the dry and still good in the wet. They aren't the quietest but still not loud. They do have a slightly firm ride but not bad.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2018
Given 91% while driving a Mazda Mazda 6 2.5 GH (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 32,000 spirited miles
awesome tyres. amazing dry and wet grip. slightly noisy but worth it. car steers exactly where you want it to go. Towards end of life does not peel like Michelin PS3. Lasted me about 50,000 KM. dry grip is awesome even when reaching end of life.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2017
Given 86% while driving a Honda Accord CTDi (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Great Tyres!!!

Really great feedback from the road, steering response and grip!
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2017
Given 90% while driving a Honda Accord i DTEC EX (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Always brought Japanese rubber had a new car when I viewed it had yokos on picked it up they put nexen on was not to happy the sales guy assured me they were good tyres maybe so but had new tyres on wife's car yokos advan sport v105s and they were brill so bit the bullet put the same on my car oh what an improvement it's like a different car never had a car stick like this does now brilliant tyres will always buy Yokohama best rubber what a tyre thanks Yokohama fab
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2017
Given 82% while driving a Mazda RX8 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Dry Grip:

Outstanding. Very, very good performance indeed. Never had DSC cut in under hard acceleration or cornering, Ive done fast road events on these without issue and have plenty of confidence in them.

Wet Grip:

Again very impressive. The car feels planted and the amount of water they shift is quite impressive, I followed my car being driven by someone else yesterday In the rain and you could tell just how much they contact the road by the tyre marks being practically water free behind the car. Ive not had the back end twitch in the car which is excellent as the RX8 is known to be a tad twitchy.

Progressiveness/Feedback/Comfort:

The very rigid sidewall on these means they feel firm going over pot holes and speed bumps but the car does ride better with them on. They give excellent levels of feedback though the pattern on these do create some tramlining on the RX8 - this is the price you pay on UK Roads if you want to know what the wheels are really doing. When pushed to the limit they let you know the boundary quite well with a tendency to start to squeal mildly, though it’s easy to control and very predictable.

I can’t comment on wear as Ive only covered 2000 miles.

I would certainly recommend these for a sportier car, which is what the Advan range is aimed at. Excellent grip, feedback and predictability make for excellent spirited driving and these would suit a track toy well.

Id perhaps consider softer alternatives for a predominantly passenger run around, such as the Continental Sport Contact line.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2016
Given 76% while driving a Honda Accord CTDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 21,000 average miles
These tyres lasted a little under 21000 miles/35000km

They get my approval, as they are a very safe tyre, with alot of grip, both on wet and dry surfaces. Great feedback, very incisive, will not give you the most confortable ride, but in the end, it's a sport tyre.

Overall, great tyre.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2015
Given 81% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
Replaced Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tires for these and before that I'd used Continental Sport Contact 3s. These Yokohamas are much better for grip than either of them. ESP does not cut in on corners where it used to and they haven't let go on me yet. Not too sure how wear is going to go though, they already look half way down after about 3,000 miles.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2013