Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL

The Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 70%
Wet Grip 47%
Road Feedback 57%
Handling 55%
Wear 69%
Comfort 48%
Buy again 44%

Tyre review data from 136 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 1,295,772 miles driven.

The SS595 SUPER STEEL is ranked 153rd of 193 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 46th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

  • 46th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL Reviews

    Given 43% while driving a BMW M3 (235/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    There tires are really bad. They came on my car when I bought it, they had about 1000 miles on them at the time. Dry traction is okay. Wet traction is scary. Never tried them in snow. They are also the very loud. I thought I had wheel bearings going out at speed. During tight slow turns in a parking lot I thought my LSD was growling. Now that I have new tires I can actually hear the exhaust note (stock exhaust). Lane changes on rutted roads can be a nasty experience too. The car would snap in and out of the ruts throwing the car latterly. I don't know that I will ever look at a tire with the "V" pattern tread the same way again. Stay away from these tires. If they are your only option in stock, order something else wait patiently for them to come in and then be glad you did. They wear pretty slowly, but I am counting that as a con because it means you will be stuck with these awful tires for even longer.
    Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2016
    Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 230 (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    My car, a 2000 Mercedes Benz SLK 230came with these tires. Staggered fitment with a wider aspect on the rear.
    Overall very pleased, i rear them as a aummer tire, as i live in a desert area. Plenty hot, and dusty. Top down every chance, so road noise is negligible. I trust these tires, they give good feedback, with a little twitch. Hot summer road temps help with a sticky feel to the road.
    Always buy the best tires you can afford. And don't expect more than what you pay for. For me these tires will drive.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2018
    Given 47% while driving a Nissan 350z (225/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
    OMG!! Never buy these crap tires!! I bought a used 350z with these on them and in the year since I have owned the car these tires have gotten louder and louder. They vibrate SO bad that I literally can't hear my engine anymore. I have all the plastic pieces in my interior being vibrated loose. Never owned a set of tires that were this bad. The vibration issue is SO bad, that it really doesn't matter about any other factors of handling or wet road grip, etc.. Just say NO to these tires!!
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2018
    Have you driven on the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL >

    Latest Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Mitsubishi Galant (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,558 spirited miles
    These tires are great not to expensive but the quality and performance as very good it meets my expectations. I tried these tires on my Galant VR4 8th with a V6 engine twin turbo. I always drive fast and aggressively especially when the road is clear either it's straight or while on turn which pushes the tire performance to its limits. Yeah I know this sound kinda stupid but I assure you I only do this when the roads are clear mostly during dead hours like 12 mid night. From what I observe it's a bit quiet than the last tire I use which is GoodYear. The tire rolling is much better. I observed this during on neutral coast running atleast 100kmph on a straight road timing how long does it take before it slowed down to 80kmph, from what I have observe these federal last longer than goodyear's which is a good thing less drag from the tires. Cornering is much better as well wet and dry. Tested S curve Road @ Okada Manila near South Beach Place Westside City going to Cavitex Highway Road Goodyear tire. Cornering @ 100kmph I can hear the tires screaming loudly Federal tire. Cornering @ 100kmph no tire screaming at all. I tried going faster and faster on the corner till I heared the tire scream loudly @130kmph. Also what I have observe the acceleration was a bit faster than GoodYear tire since the rolling drag on Federal is much less 0 - 100kmph average of 6.4 secs Goodyear was around 8 secs Full specifications 6A13TT DOHC V6 24Valve Stock HP: 276 but tuned to 358 with stock turbo before. Full Exhaust System(CAT and Resonator Delete, HKS Chamber Muffler slightly modified for less exhaust restrictions remove some internal parts but still have the deep bass sound), Racing Filters and Remap.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz c230k (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
    i had these tires on my w203 and in the dry they were very good, in the rain they are a little sketchy. but otherwise they grip good and perform good. they are a little noisy in higher speeds but that hasnt bothered me. i drove them in the snow and they are terrible. but you dont buy these tires for the snow.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 47% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (/40 R18) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
    Slides under any hard-ish braking on dry pavement, very sketchy wouldn't recommend.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2022
    Given 47% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (/45 R17) on mostly town for 14 average miles
    These tires are only good in dry conditions. I have hydroplaned before on barely wet surfaces at 25mph. Wear is horrible, after 12 months and 14,000 miles of use the tires had less that 2/8ths of an inch of tread left. BTW I do not drive aggressively, or take the car to the track. You are better off spending a few more dollars for tires that come with a wear warranty.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2022
    Audi (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
    I remember being very impressed when they were new. Eight years later not so much. I rotated the tires as the fronts (3-4mm) were well worn and the rears still had slot of tread (7-8mm). I like to drive in a spirited manner when possible. After rotating the front tires were singing (really?!) noticeably and you could hear the pitch change higher as speed increased. My t.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2021
    Given 77% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
    First off this is for a lightweight, hard-driven track car. I don't really concern myself with road noise or cushy sidewall as my car is on coilovers and driven very spiritedly on mountain roads and track as well as daily driven to work and back. My car came with Pirelli PZero Neros and those were absolute garbage(horrible understeer, absolutely no sidewall flex, and zero feedback). I then tried some Falken Ziex ZX960s and they were miles better than the Pirellis. After I wore those out I tried the Federal 595s and while loads better than the Pirellis still for a quarter the price, they are not quite as good as the Falkens. But they are half the price. Wet traction is pretty bad but not deadly by any means as long as you don't drive like it is dry. That being said I have driven them on a slightly damp track and still managed decent lap times with only slight hydroplaning in standing water. I have about 5 track sessions on this set as well as daily driving for about 13000 miles and am now looking for replacements. For a heavier, more powerful car I can totally see these being overwhelmed, but my experience in a sub-3K Lb car is excellent. I'm thinking Federal 595RS-Rs for track-only use and a set of Federal Evoluzions for daily to see if I can get better all weather capabilities but if I was to do one set for every use again it would be these 595s.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2021
    Given 26% while driving a Honda Civic SI Coupe (/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 18 spirited miles
    put these on my 2015 civic si awhile back due to the cost and them being recommended by a friend. aside from cost and i cant think of a single positive thing to say about them. worse very fast, could not hook in 1-2nd gear even in lower boost and sometimes 3rd in higher boost, were noisy as all hell, and were terrifying to use in the wet. definitely will not purchase again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2021
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (255/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    These tires are unbeatable at this price point. They perform very well, and are sticky. The drawbacks are they’re loud and they wear out fast. These tires are fine in the wet, they resist hydroplaning very well. Not sure why people are complaining about the wet performance, you’re not really supposed to take corners hard in the rain, no matter what tires you have. For normal rain driving, they’re very good and don’t hydroplane easily. I can deal with the noise, and the quick wear based on how cheap they are. I even had to use them in the snow a few times and they did fine. Bottom like, they look great, and perform great, but they’re noisy and they wear fast. Id definitely buy them again, I am on my 2nd set
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2021
    Given 39% while driving a Lexus IS250 AWD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 spirited miles
    Trash!!! DO NOT BUY THESE FOR A DAILY DRIVER - THESE ARE FOR BURNOUTS WITH YOUR "TOY"
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Pontiac trans am ws6 (245/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    i had these on my iroc z and absolutely did things that are unbelievable with them! from autocross to drag racing! YOU HAVE TO GET THESE TIRES WARM!!!!!!! once they warm up and heat cycled properly they will perform better than most tires out there. current car is a 478 rear wheel horse trans am and they are still an absolute dream. out of every tire ive ran these are the best looking and really give a wide footprint! dont recommend with snow. (laguna seca loved them)
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2020
    Given 64% while driving a Hyundai Getz (185/55 R14 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    I bought these tires mostly for their looks cause even thought the size was 185/55/14 they seemed more meaty and wider like a 195/55/14 size. I guess Federal is one of these brands that make tires look 1 size wider than they suppose to be, well that suits fine for me, they looked amazing BUT that was the only good thing about those tires.The dry grip was just ok and in the wet i was too afraid to push them hard due to the fact that i have heard many negative reviews about their wet grip so i had little experience in wet driving and with low speed so i would say that they were just passable. And now let's go for the BIG downfall.
    The first thing i immediately noticed was a strange trembling in the brake pedal every time i was breaking even in very slow speeds. I don't know if that had to do with the tread pattern or what but the feeling i was getting from this was unsecured, frustrating and like i was steeping over little rocks all the time. And there were worst to come... Secondly the tires were extremely noisy and i mean in an UNBEARABLE way. They were making a weird noise that i have never heard before on a tire, like a helicopter's propeller kind of thing. Even with a loud exhaust (muffler delete) i was still able to hear that irritable noise! I would never buy these tires again and i wouldn't recommend them for confident secure driving. They only worth trying them for their looks and if you drive them only for shows in closed stages for drifting burnouts and stuff but not on the street.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2019
    Given 39% while driving a BMW 330i (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
    Had them for 2 years on the back of my E90 330i. Dry traction is OK but a bit scary when going into corners, you don't feel confident using these.
    Wet traction is scary, these tyres are unsafe, it should be illegal to sell these.
    4th gear at 80kph the car did a 180 on a corner on the highway, I had the scare of my life. Stay away from these tyres!
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2019