Rapid p609

The Rapid p609 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 68%
Wet Grip 54%
Road Feedback 56%
Handling 60%
Wear 62%
Comfort 58%
Buy again 41%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 57% over 221,478 miles driven.

The p609 is ranked 160th of 229 Summer Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Rapid p609

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Rapid p609

Questions and Answers for the Rapid p609

2022-09-08 - Will the p609 245/35/r19 fit my rim? It has a j profile/rim flange/rim collar, the rim is a 19x8.00J36.5. The J as I understand is rim contour or 17.5mm high.

A 245/35 R19 tyre can fit 8-9.5 inch wheels with 8.5 being ideal, so yes it should fit your 8 inch wide wheel!


2022-11-10 - hi, I bought 4 p609 225/50ZR17. 8 months ago, and tire shop says I have only 3mm of tread left, whats the issue with these tires, and how many mm"s are they from new,Thanks

Mileage is more important than time, so it depends how many miles you've done in that time! Cheap tyres often have drawbacks, and wear could be one for this tyre. I'm not sure on starting tread depth but expect around 7mm.


2023-10-29 - Hello,, how many kilometers can l expect from a rapid tire. Thank you

The Rapid p609 tyre has never officially be wear tested so all you have to go on is the user reviews on this page which lists mileage along side the review.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £69.58 - £71.29 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £71.30 - £78.48 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £69.10 - £80.41 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.93 - £76.84 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £90.19 - £100.61 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £87.38 - £98.47 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 54 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Rapid p609 Reviews

Given 41% while driving a Lexus IS200 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
This is a very average tyre grip wise but the down side is they wear out really quickly, rear tyres lasted 4000 miles 2 Lt Auto no wheel spin . The front still had tread but the side walls had dried out and started to crack so had to change as well. Budget tyres are a gamble always check reviews. Estimated true value of these tyres ---£35.00---- +fitting
Helpful 181 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2016
Given 83% while driving a Ford AU Falcon (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
Excellent price, lasts long. Got blown the fuck off when I tipped the dog in
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2021
Given 40% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue (285/35 R22) on mostly country roads for 100 easy going miles
Bought a Range Rover TDV8 with a new set of these fitted all round. When buying a used car a good indicator of a well maintained vehicle is the quality of the tyres…cheap tyres usually means cheap parts / missed services / etc. but it turned out the dealer fitted them due to worn rubber fitted and most people don’t pay much attention to tyres other than tread depth.

Moving on, I have only driven 100 miles on the tyres and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised on the dry drive home. Best part of 3T of car was well handled by these cheap tyres, but the following day it rained and I found out that Rapid is how it lets go on the merest of corners at a steady speed.

As for wet braking, put it this way, you could have got a cruise liner in between me the car in front. The “safe” distance I felt I had to keep from the car in front was similar to the distance require driving a semi-slick summer tyre on ice.

Needles to say, I am Rapidly looking at replacing this carpet underlay rubber as sooner as a safe tyre comes into stock at the local garage.

TLDR - Avoid these absolute garbage tyres!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2022
Have you driven on the Rapid p609 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Rapid p609? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Rapid p609 >

Latest Rapid p609 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Decent budget tyre does the job and not unsafe
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Handled great however wore quite quick. Happy for the price, not nearly as bad as everyone purports
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 64% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Great budget tyre, no issue as my speed is only 140-160km/h. Price is equivalent to quality, cannot compare with other expensive brand tyre because the price of it is what you get as an average one
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Holden 1995 commodore executive wagon (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Have owned a couple of sets of these tyres in a couple of sizes (245/45-18 and 225/55-17) and found them to be exceptional for a budget tyre. Keep in mind it IS a budget tyre, you are not paying for a performance tyre, you shouldn't expect one. However, very good KMs, good dry grip, average wet grip, good resistance to aquaplaning until low in tread depth. Comfort is average on the 18'S, good on the 17's, feedback is average on both. Noise is minimal and non-intrusive at any speed except really coarse aggregate highways. Will continue to buy these tyres as they are the best budget tyres I have bought and owned.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Audi S1 Sportback (215/40 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
Got them with the car (new tyres from used dealership) Ragged the balls off of this car and doing a fair few power slides too etc. Wear is surprisingly decent. Approaching i think 12k miles on these tyres. Worn down reletively ok, I'm happy as the way i drive doesnt give an easy life. Have done a few thousand motorway miles in all fairness. Dont buy for a performance car. Would fit these to my sister corsa for example but thats it. Dry grip is ok, nothing special. 0 feedback through the tyre. Knowing its a budget, have been a little hesitant to give it full beans but been ok so far. (well about to replace as very almost @ limit) Cant lean on the tyre much though. Wet grip is pretty shit and almost aquaplaned at well over 100 twice before (my fault I guess) Don't have much confidence in the wet with these tyres. Sometimes spins a little when cold in the mornings for example. (AWD Audi S1) Wouldnt buy again as theyre kinda crap but might as well abuse a free set of tyres.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2022
Given 39% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Unless there are a whole bunch of reviewers trying to self-justify their recent purchases I simply can't understand the above average ratings for these tyres - they came with a car I had purchased and were obviously a cheap option to get the car registered - I will be swapping for a proper performance tyre today although only 10% worn (I have had them for abt 1000miles but a receipt indicates the previous owner put 3000 on them before me). I think I have been a little generous in the ratings but sloppy feedback, really average grip in the dry and not so great in the wet ......also given very average handling the transmission of road imperfections through the vehicle is unacceptable (I could accept if at least there was a trade-off in performance). All around just a very below average tyre - I guess if you plan on pootling around everywhere these might be just ok but make for a very uncomfortable (no confidence at all) experience for anything approaching spirited driving on a backroad. One area where these seem to be performing reasonably well is wear - the compound (unfortunately in this instance) seems to promote a decent tread life. Can't recommend these unless the highlight of your week is the trip to the local lawn bowls club. Pay for a decent set of tyres they might save your life one day.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022
Given 36% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0 tdi 170hp (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
DANGEROUS. Premature failure of both tyres on rear of car after few months of fitting and moderate highway mileage. Inner sidewall bulged on both tyres in multiple places with risk of catastrophic failure. They looked perfect on the outward facing side though! I wouldn’t fit these to a wheelbarrow.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021
Given 26% while driving a Audi A1 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Bought 4 tyres in a month the tyre tone into pieces. How can this be. Trust me no good tyres. Buy at your own risk
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Holden 2004 VYII Calais Supercharged V6 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I am a tyre fitter i took a chance on these in a low profile, and was immediately impressed 20,000 KLM's later absolutely will never put ant other tyre on my car. Wear is minimal, performance in the mountains exceptional. Wet grip WOW.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2021
Given 61% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
First of all, its cheap - I needed budget tyres as I was a new driver and just bought a second hand car. Had installed 55 AUD per tyre along with fitting charge. The tyre slips a bit everytime on the dry road when you're over 80 and very risky when turning. I had to slow down everytime when turning. Just a no no for these tyres. Even the second hand goodyear tyres were very comfortable until they got worn out too fast.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2021
Given 40% while driving a (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Horrible tyre
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
if your wanting a decent budget ecomony tyres these rapid 609 are good value for money i got a discount on buying 4 tyres was £70 each but got £100 off 4 tyres fitted inclusive of vat so i only paid £45 each so cant complain i usually go for continental premium conti sport 3 but cant afford the £145 each cost .these rapid 609 will do for now till i can afford premium tyres again
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2020