Lexus IS200 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Lexus IS200.

Do you Drive a Lexus IS200? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a IS200 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Uniroyal MS plus 66 (8) 82% 94% 81% 87% 92% 91%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (42) 91% 82% 83% 83% 76% 78%
Nokian WR A4 (22) 84% 88% 72% 77% 77% 87%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Star Performer Winter AS (3) 90% 67% 83% 87% 80% 90%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (129) 84% 76% 76% 77% 74% 82%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (64) 85% 76% 78% 81% 72% 67%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Uniroyal RainSport (25) 78% 88% 68% 78% 72% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (61) 79% 73% 72% 71% 67% 72%
Altenzo Comforter (87) 78% 59% 69% 62% 75% 79%
Toyo Proxes 1 (6) 87% 65% 76% 63% 65% 62%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (52) 74% 68% 62% 62% 64% 56%
Rapid p609 (33) 68% 54% 56% 60% 62% 58%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (69) 69% 38% 56% 52% 68% 62%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
BCT S800 (86) 51% 29% 38% 37% 60% 32%

Lexus IS200 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 89% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Low cost alternative to Pirelli P Zeros or Michelin Pilot Sports. When up to temperature, they are pretty sticky on dry. Amazing water clearing on wet. Can't really say about the wear as I've only done 10,000km on the tire.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-02 13:56:55
Writing about the Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 given 31% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
I had a Max Trek that was only 3 years old and the tyre separated AND there was a gap developing in the tyre side. When I took it to a tyre retailer he said this was about the cheapest quality tyre you could buy for this car (Lexus hybrid). I replaced the front tyres with Michelins. The rear tyres (2 years old) will follow soon.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-18 02:25:58
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 24% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
I would not recommend these tyres. Develops buldge and becomes asymmetrical within 10k of use. It was so bad to the point that my car would steer to the left on a straight road despite after doing toe adjustments. Usually you get what you pay for with tyres. The lowest i would go for tyrebrands (popular in Brunei) are the GT Radial Sportactives or the Kumho Ecsta, which are pretty good tyres in my opinion from a quite reputable brand. Please think about the safety of your family and others when buying tyres if you have the means to.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-27 17:07:57
Writing about the Star Performer Winter AS given 81% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 miles
I must say I bought them new for 45euro each, and not for normal street driving, but to have fun with my rwd is200. So i put 2 of them in the back, but they are much more grippy than I expected. Dry handling is very good, very hard to make the lose traction with the 155hp the is200 has, very stable. Also the wet grip is incredibly more than I expected, they perform as much as makes no difference as a premium tire. To lose traction you have to kick the clutch. Also snow and ice performance is more than average, I made a roadtrip to the mountains during a snowstorm and they performed very good, managed to get moving under all conditions, and they feel safe on any surface. I was expecting some shitty unsafe, sliding around with these chinesse cheap tires, but they managed to wow me. In the front I run some Nokian wrd3 from 2016, so i can say that they are almost the same level of grip over all surfaces.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-12 14:00:45
Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 85% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I first bought half a set of WR A4s in late 2016 as the original Goodyear I got with the car were a bit worn and slidy. Being on my second RWD car I knew that good tires are a must if you don't want to slide into a ditch boot first at the first sight of adverse weather.

On my old Supra I had older Michelin Alpin tires for the winter, but having a few friends running their RWD coupes ont the old WR A3 I went for Nokian, even though I don't usually get much snow.

After a first test where I had to cross a mountain with the old Goodyears at the front and the new Nokians at the back in fresh snow at 1 in the morning, I decided that a full set was necessary.

I've been running a full set of WR A4s since 2017.
The result has been overwhelimingly positive.

As general information : the car is an old Lexus IS200 sedan, RWD manual, no LSD, about 1400kg. Summer tires are a set of Michelin PS4 in 225/18"

Dry grip isn't as good as with the summer tires, but when changing my wheels when the temperature drops, I can feel right away that I'm getting some grip and control back (in temps under 7°c).
Wet grip is good, and I'd say better than with classic symetric patterns. Lateral grip is great in the wet, which stops your rear tires slipping around when going up and down hills and mountains.
Snow grip is perfect. I've driven in snow deep enough that my bumpers scraped the top, and with just the help of snow mode and a light touch on the throttle, the car just chugged along up and down hills at 6 in the morning before the snowplow could get there. Never had to park the car at the bottom of the road like my neighbours.
Ice I haven't crossed yet.

Of course comfort is upgraded by switching from 18" in the summer to 17 in the winter.
They don't wear too fast, and the mileage on my car doesn't change much between them and the Pilot Sports.

The asymetric pattern makes them easy to rotate to even the wear, which means they will wear more slowly in western Europe where roundabouts are everywhere.
The asymetric pattern also makes them look pretty sexy compared to the run-of-the-mill symetric winter tire.

The price is also usually pretty low for a performance winter tire.

The main downside I have found with owning them over multiple years is that they don't like warmth at all, and require a pressure check even before you fit them back in autumn. Mine tend to deflate during the summer months while they're in storage. But once filled back up, they don't require more pressure checks than your average winter tire.

In conclusion, I can't talk to those tires on a FWD car, but if you own a RWD coupé or sports sedan, they are absolutely worth the (little) money you'll pay.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-22 01:03:44
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Sport V105 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
I have been running these tyres on my Lexus IS200 for 2 years now, covering around 20.000 kilometers.
Very spirited driving and I have also used these tyres on track days. When warm these tyres grip very well (both wet and dry) and have never surprised me. Sidewall is stiff and response is also good.
These tyres do not work well in freezing conditions and/or snow. When standing for a week, they need 2 miles of driving before they are round again.
Overall I am very satisfied with these tyres and they suit my sporty driving style.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-19 17:03:54
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 84% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
I carried out a lot of research for 225/40R18xl and 255/40R18xl for my Lexus F Sport. The previous tyres were Continentals and I could not get on with them as well as they were at 3.5mm. Someone suggested I look outside of the box re brands and hence NEXEN. The cost for a mid range was well received at £375 including tracking. The previous reviews were pretty good and in essence they were accurate. I have only covered 1000 miles so this is very much an initial review only. Wet weather journey over 250 miles in heavy rain was an eye opener as the road holding, feeback and braking were very very good! Dry weather braking and road holding were also very good the following day and 250 miles return journey. I cannot speak for the wear as yet given the mileage covered so far. If the last 1K has been an indicative example then it bodes well. The NEXEN warranty and service support is also excellent should I have to avail myself :-), have a look at their www site for details. More to follow in 9k.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-29 13:43:32
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 84% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
I carried out a lot of research for 225/40R18xl and 255/40R18xl for my Lexus F Sport. The previous tyres were Continentals and I could not get on with them as well as they were at 3.5mm. Someone suggested I look outside of the box re brands and hence NEXEN. The cost for a mid range was well received at £375 including tracking. The previous reviews were pretty good and in essence they were accurate. I have only covered 1000 miles so this is very much an initial review only. Wet weather journey over 250 miles in heavy rain was an eye opener as the road holding, feeback and braking were very very good! Dry weather braking and road holding were also very good the following day and 250 miles return journey. I cannot speak for the wear as yet given the mileage covered so far. If the last 1K has been an indicative example then it bodes well. The NEXEN warranty and service support is also excellent should I have to avail myself :-), have a look at their www site for details. More to follow in 9k.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-29 12:48:39
Writing about the Rapid p609 given 41% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
This is a very average tyre grip wise but the down side is they wear out really quickly, rear tyres lasted 4000 miles 2 Lt Auto no wheel spin . The front still had tread but the side walls had dried out and started to crack so had to change as well. Budget tyres are a gamble always check reviews. Estimated true value of these tyres ---£35.00---- +fitting
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-13 09:05:21
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 94% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Bought these tires two years ago. The only weakness of this tire is driving on ice. It is hard to drive uphill with RWD car. But most studless winter tires have the same problem.

Was really impressed with comfort and quietness of these tires. They are superb to other tires I had (Bridgestone, Dunlop, Michelin...). There is absolutely no noise in the car. And what I really like as well that they grip very well on dry and wet roads. This is strange, because other tires I had that were very quite and comfortable did very poor in handling department. I feel very confident then driving with these Nokians.

Now planning on buying summer Nokian tires.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-14 02:42:35
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 81% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-20 06:43:01
Writing about the BCT S800 given NAN% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 easy going miles
These tyres are terrible. The grip is very unpredictable and a complete lack of steering feel made me instantly uneasy on these tyres. After 3 weeks of very easy driving (because they gave me no confidence) the first patch of ice I hit (at very low speed), the rear end stepped out and was completely uncontrollable. I now have a Toyota Yaris and very high insurance premiums as the Lexus was no more.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-21 08:31:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre