Skoda Yeti Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Skoda Yeti.

Do you Drive a Skoda Yeti? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Yeti better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87%
Michelin Alpin 5 (23) 85% 93% 84% 77% 91% 89%
BFGoodrich g Grip All Season 2 (7) 69% 70% 77% 74% 90% 89%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (80) 87% 81% 78% 79% 74% 77%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (245) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Michelin Primacy 4 (157) 85% 81% 74% 77% 82% 83%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac (20) 84% 79% 72% 75% 65% 78%
Nexen N8000 (80) 79% 74% 69% 66% 69% 79%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (61) 79% 73% 72% 71% 67% 72%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%

Skoda Yeti Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the BFGoodrich g Grip All Season 2 given 94% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
I went to my dealer for all season Kleber's, but he showed me these tires. He explained it's exactly the same design as Kleber but the price was lower. These tires are everything I wanted. Perfect dry and wet grip, stable cornering, better comfort, very quite and interesting for all season they spent me a money with better gas mileage to my summer tires. I've been impressed with the fact.
Snow grip is excellent and even the ice grip was better than I expected. I definitely recommend these Goodrich as a brilliant decision for one set tires in every climate.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-13 07:59:53
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 76% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 average miles
Only lasted 26000 miles on front. Happy with performance but not durability. Replacing fronts with Goodyear efficient grip performance, saving £50 fitted on the pair.Will see if there is a difference in durability. Rears (primacy 4 also)were changed at same time and still have at least 4mm tread
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-10 08:03:56
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
20,000 miles in on my Skoda Yeti. Tyres are half way through wear.

I've driven with the WR D3 before so have not be surprised about how good these WR D4 tyres are in the snow. Frankly, I wouldn't trust any other tyre to get me around in winter. My Yeti is 2WD but with these tyres I've no problem getting over the Cockbridge to Tomintoul road throughout winter (the road in the Scottish Highlands that you always hear about being blocked on Radio 2!). The grip is fine on dry and wet roads but I tend not to drive quickly in winter anyway so I am unable to advise what these would be like at the limit, but they feel confidence inspiring and a strong tyre. They are also good in modest mud and slush (I visit farms as part of my work and have never lost traction / got stuck). I had Goodyear Ultragrips on once - never again, they were so soft and 'squidgy' feeling and dreadful in the snow - maybe ok if all you want is a winter tyre for that one day of snow in a milder area of the country. I also had Vredestien Wintrac Extremes once, tbh they seemed pretty good, but the Nokian definitely have the edge on snow-grip.

Downsides? Noise. On some surfaces they can be quite noisy, but during winter I am happy for this trade-off given their superb grip in snow.

So, if you regularly drive on snow / slushy mud then these are the best tyres I have ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-11 15:54:50
Writing about the Goodride SV308 given 47% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Inherited 4 x nearly new Westlake SV308s on my Yeti. In the dry they’re passable, but forget about any kind of decent grip in wet or icy conditions. The only thing I can say about them that’s positive is they never seem to wear out. I’m guessing they’re cheap too, but I’m currently looking to replace all four corners with something a little more capable.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-18 01:52:38
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 37% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
WASTE OF MONEY: I bought a pair of Dunlop Sport BluResponse tyres in December 2016. At the time I chose the brand Dunlop as I thought that it had a good name. I fitted the tyres at the front of my 3 year old Yeti 1.4 diesel Greenline which had done under 40,000 miles on the original Continental tyres that were from new. It is now April and the car has done at the most 6,000 miles and I have 4mm left of thread. My 3 year old original Continental back tyres that have more thread than the 4 month old front Dunlop tyres. Yes they are quiet, have average grip and have good fuel efficiency but i give them zero longevity. I intend to stay well clear away from Dunlop or Good year for that reason.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-12 16:24:38
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Good year Efficient grip performance tyres when compared to the set of hardly worn budget tyres fitted to my used approved vehicle when purchased, are in a different league. The premier league.

For my car they may cost roughly double per corner (approx. £95) compared to a budget brand but at the end of the day, a tyre is the only thing between being on the road or in an accident.

After switching from a part worn budget set (the rears still had 7mm) to the Goodyear EGP’s the differences were simply vast and remain very impressive several thousand miles later. The fronts are now approaching the half way stage, but are still excellent in all areas with improved MPG (approx. 3mpg), reduced road noise and improved refinement (particularly on Motorway), superb wet handling and braking, improved ride quality due to compliant side walls and tramlining completely eliminated from my vehicle. The only slightly negative things I can find to say about them are the wear rate looks a little bit above average and drivers who like to drive believing they are Lewis Hamilton may find them a touch ‘soft’ in the corners, but honestly that is it. The Goodyear EGP’s are some of the best overall tyres I have purchased in over 25 years and hundreds of thousands of miles driving.

Cheap tyres are a false economy which compromise the safety and handling of your vehicle. Don’t compromise and strongly consider these for your vehicle.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-05 09:14:11
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 39% (195-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Very disappointed with these tyres. Feedback low and nosie too high. They are also wearing far too fast. Winter has set in, and I have no confidence in these whatsoever. Even though there is still a bit of tread - I will be ditching these and spending the rest of the night checking out other tyre reviews!
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-20 12:40:04
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 57% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
I bought a used and approved 3 year old Yeti 2.0 tdi (fwd wth 17" alloys) with a full set of four fitted to the vehicle, with rears measuring approximately 8mm and the fronts 7mm, so whilst not brand new, hardly used in real terms. I wouldn't normally go for a budget brand, but after reading some positive and balanced reviews on this website, and the tyres so close to a brand new tread depth, I decided to be open minded and stick with them to see how I got on.

After covering 5K on the full set, my report is a mixed bag. Good Points were ride comfort good on Motorways, acceptable wear rate and good stability in hard braking conditions. However my two biggest gripes were 1. high road noise and 2. lack of feedback and grip.

The road noise I could live with as after all they were a budget tyre, so there had to be a compromise somewhere, but the absence of feedback, feel and grip offered by this tyre in anything other than bone dry conditions was for me a deal breaker. I am not a sporty driver, but when driving on a wet dark country road at night (something my daily commute regularly involves), I need to be able to turn the steering wheel in the bends and feel confident there will be grip for me. I also need to be able to pull away from junctions in the wet without the wheels spinning up and the traction control light blinking at me at only light throttle. Add into the equation wheel wobble becoming progressively worse once the fronts were only half worn, I replaced them with a set of Goodyear Efficient Grip performance, which for my vehicle are far superior in every respect and my fuel economy improved by a couple of mpg too, which justified the decision further.

Summary: OK for the money, and if you have a very 'Steady Eddie' driving style, but a classic example of you get what you pay for, and when the only thing between you and the road is your tyres, why cut corners?
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-07 08:18:01
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
I posted a review of these on my Skoda Yeti in December 2014. My thoughts on these excellent tyres haven't changed. They grip well in the dry and are ok in the wet but I hasten toadd,I'm a arefuldriver, not sporty by any stretch.
They have only just got to the point where I am replacing them after over 25000 miles (40000 km). So I am putting 4 more on my little monster, for under £210 fully fitted, which is £80 less than I paid for them late 2014! A bargain without doubt.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-16 15:19:12
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 83% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
I was looking for a softer, quieter tyre for my Yeti to replace the Vredstiens I had on previously as the Yeti can be a bit harsh wehn running on the 17" rims.

Sadly these tyres are not particularly quiet nor are they particularly soft / comfortable, however they handle so supremely I actually don't care! The turn-in and responsiveness of the tyres is superb and they handle standing water and aquaplaning superbly.

So, I did not get the tyres I was wanting but what I have got I am more than happy with....a little more rigidity and noise than I hoped for buy a superb handling and confidence inspiring tyre. The jury is out on wear but I will update my review once I know how many miles I expect to get from them.

Great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-04 15:07:04
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Very hard tyre - would not buy again. Feed back is vague - almost like there is no grip (which there is but trust is a big issue). I expect them to wear well. I have tested many tyres over the years over many thousands of miles - I just cannot feel comfortable with these
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-02 15:18:39
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 89% (215-65-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Cool tyres for my 1.2 skoda yeti. So far I'm using them 1 year mainly country roads, some highway. They are certainly not made for summer above 30C, but below that point I have nothing to complain. In winter they have better grip compare to Conti. Not very progressive, quite soft to drive even below -10C
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-24 12:39:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre