Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2

The Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 71%
Wear 70%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 68%
Snow Grip 10%
Ice Grip 10%

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 60% over 88,600 miles driven.

The Ultra Grip Performance 2 is ranked 39th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Overall - Excellent on snow, just misses out on the top spot thanks to trailing the Conti in other areas
View Full Test >>

2011 EVO Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

    View Full Test >>

    2011 Sport Auto Performance Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 5 tyres

    • Overall - While the Goodyear is closely related to the Dunlop, the different design approaches are obvious. The Goodyear has a much safer approach, which leaves the car understeering when it could develop extra grip at the risk of dynamic instability. Still, a good all round result, only slightly weaker than the Dunlop in the snow.
    View Full Test >>
    Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/55 R16 91H *RSC E C 68 11.45kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL *RSC E C 70 11.45kgs
    215/55 R16 97V XL   E C 69 10.53kgs
    205/60 R16 92H XL * C C 68 8.80kgs
    205/50 R17 89H XL *RSC F C 67 11.44kgs
    225/55 R17 97H XL * E C 68 11.43kgs
    245/55 R17 102H XL *RSC E E 70 17.03kgs
    255/50 R21 106H XL *RSC E C 67 18.97kgs
    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Ultra Grip Performance 2 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 £100.59 - £119.00 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/60 R16 £87.99 - £93.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 Reviews

    Given 51% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    I reviewed these on the 24th Dec 2014, so this is an updated review. I've completely given up on these tyres. Yes, they are quite and comfortable, but their poor grip on snow and the vague feeling on tarmac meant I could not suffer them, so I have given up on them and fitted some Nokian WR D3's instead. What a revelation - the Nokians are certainly noisier, but their road manners are superb and their grip on ice and snow remarkable. So glad I gave up on the Goodyears. If you tootle around the M25 in winter I guess they'd be a good choice, but if you need to drive on winter roads such as the Scottish Highlands they are terrible and best avoided.
    21 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2015   
    Given 100% while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 2.5 (215/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 21,500 average miles
    One of the best winter tires I ever drove
    5 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2015   
    Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    First class product! more expensive than a standard winter tyre but well worth the money as they are a performance winter tyre, i can only say that you get what you pay for in life!, i ran a set of Michelin Alpins last winter on my last car these but Goodyears offer superior traction & grip compared to them especially when braking & cornering on snow & ice there is also great recovery from these tyres if you push to hard they will search & bite for grip, you only have to touch & feel the compound & sipes on them to know how they will perform, they remain very plyable & supple even down to very low temps, i've ran them at minus 18 degrees C & you can still easily bend the outer sipes with your thumb nail, but in normal conditions the sipes remain closed as a tight block until required improving handling in the dry & improving general wear, they are an intelligently designed product!
    The inner directional tread pattern & outer blocks bite into snow covered roads & offer exceptional traction when climbing hills,( i know from experience of where i live, i don't get stuck but other people do! ) the directional pattern helps to evacuate slush & snow quickly so maintaining grip on long subzero temp journeys, & also improving grip on standing water in turn reducing aquaplaning. I'm not worried about tyre wear as these tyres are designed to do a specific job & keep you safe, of course there is going to be certain compromises but so far they are wearing extremely well. In all i have been using these tyres for over 45 days now in these UK winter conditions most of which has been challanging driving on snow & ice & slush, but every time i drive my car they put a massive smile on my face with the confidence & winter performance that they offer... L.T.
    1 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2010   
    Have you driven on the Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 >

    Latest Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 Reviews

    Given 49% while driving a BMW 230i (205/50 R17 V) on mostly town for 100 average miles
    If there was a score of 0 , this tire would earn it for snow and ice. Right out of my driveway, I'm skidding all over the place. Coming to a stop, my ABS is working overtime. Light turns green and I can't get traction, I'm slipping sideways. Light snow on the highway at 50mph is a white-knuckled shit-show.
    These tires are terrible. I felt safer on my all-seasons in the snow.
    1 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
    Given 49% while driving a Skoda Yeti (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    Very quite and comfortable but very poor handling and grip in snow poor.
    1 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2014   
    Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
    Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (205/60 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Bought them recently and the feel with the new tyres is amazing compared to my old Sepmerit Speed Grip I had on my Ford Mondeo. Bought 4 of the recently manifactured Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2. Also very good choice of size for the Mondeo, as it is a bit wider but yet a bit taller than the 205/55/16 tyre size. And the behavior of the grip is immaculate in wet and dry conditions, as long as the outside temperature is too cold. They are not as sticky to the road in too warm conditions.
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2013   
    Given 71% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/45 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    I decided to bit the bullet this winter and get some winter tyres. I bought some steel wheels and ordered the Goodyears from blackcircles although initially I ordered the Hankook Winter i'cept RS but these weren't available however I was offered the Goodyears instead. Having used Goodyear Summer tyres previously and these had good reviews I decided to go with the Goodyears. Despite not having much snow here in Cheshire the times when we did coupled with the large amounts of standing water we had these tyres have given me real reassurance in these conditions both grip on snow and ability to "cut through" standing water without the slightest hint of loss of traction. Only on the motorway where flash floods had turned the motorway into a river did the tyres give any hint of the amount of water on the roads and really it was prudent to take things easy. Going back to premium tyres after having budget and mid range summer tyres recently really made me appreciate the difference in having a premium tyre designed for the weather conditions. Even my wife, after initially questioning my decision, realised the benefits of these tyres after driving in the snow!
    0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2013   
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    I'm amazed at how competent these tyres are even in conditions where summer tyres would normally be used.
    They have been outstanding in the recent snow and extreme cold weather. The amount of improved traction over my Conti 3's is quite startling in the wet/icy/cold conditions. I was never really convinced by winter tyres but am now completely sold.
    Naturally they are not snow tyres so what i've found on roads with layers of ice/snow is that the car can lose grip in heavy patches but once a softer patch is found they bite really well, whereas a summer tyre would continue to skid off the road. I had a couple of examples of this that thankfully kept me on the road.
    A couple of things i have found is that tyre noise is greater at higher speeds compared to most summer tyres, however they are pretty much the same at speeds below 80mph. I also found that the steering does become a little light compared to something like the Conti 3's at higher speeds. These are V rated however i would be a little uncomfortable to push the car towards the 100mph mark, naturally where legally allowed.
    Overall great tyres and would highly recommend.
    0 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2011