Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1

The Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 85%
Wear 88%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 95%
Snow Grip 92%
Ice Grip 84%

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 273,940 miles driven.

The UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 is ranked 10th of 40 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Autobild UHP Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Premium tyres with excellent performance in the snow and wet.
  • Negative - Average dry grip and dry braking.
View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Well balanced performance, excellent aquaplaning result.
  • Negative - Slightly weak dry handling, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 21 tyres

  • Positive - Premium tyres with excellent performance in all weather conditions. Precise steering and good feedback, short braking distances.
  • Negative - High price, high wear.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82H XL   E B 69 7.04kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C B 70 7.68kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E B 68 7.27kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 69 8.40kgs
195/50 R16 88H XL   E B 69 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 71 8.80kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL AO C B 72 9.07kgs
215/55 R16 93H XL   C B 68 8.16kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 70 9.63kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 70 8.72kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL   C B 70 9.91kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 70 10.39kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 70 9.91kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 70 10.35kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 70 9.34kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL *RSC C B 69 11.96kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL AO E C 68 9.48kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   E E 69 9.48kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 71 9.42kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 70 10.07kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   B C 70 10.29kgs
235/60 R16 100H XL   C B 70 10.28kgs
215/65 R16 98T XL   C B 70 9.75kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   C B 70 9.75kgs
215/65 R16 102H XL   C B 69 10.23kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 70 8.38kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 70 8.63kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL   C B 70 8.51kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL   E B 71 11.81kgs
235/45 R17 97V XL   C B 71 9.85kgs
245/45 R17 99V XL   C B 71 10.43kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   C C 70 8.70kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C C 70 8.70kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 70 9.14kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL *RSC C B 72 12.44kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 70 9.91kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.38kgs
235/50 R17 100V XL   C B 71 10.35kgs
205/55 R17 91H XL   E C 69 12.23kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C C 69 9.37kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 70 9.94kgs
225/55 R17 97H XL   C B 70 9.98kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   E B 69 14.80kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 70 10.59kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 70 11.04kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 68 12.37kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 69 12.08kgs
215/40 R18 89V XL   E C 69 8.71kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   E B 71 9.15kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 70 9.74kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   E B 70 11.69kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL   C B 71 9.90kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL AO C B 72 10.60kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 71 10.62kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   C B 71 10.62kgs
255/40 R18 99V XL   C B 71 11.05kgs
205/45 R18 90H XL * C B 70 10.50kgs
215/45 R18 93V XL   C B 70 9.24kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C B 70 9.70kgs
235/45 R18 98V XL   C B 71 10.28kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 71 10.72kgs
255/45 R18 103V XL   C B 70 11.36kgs
225/50 R18 99V XL   E B 72 14.02kgs
225/50 R18 99V XL   C B 71 10.08kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   B B 70 10.69kgs
245/50 R18 104V XL   C B 70 11.92kgs
215/55 R18 95T XL C+ C B 69 12.90kgs
215/55 R18 95T XL C+ C B 69 10.25kgs
235/55 R18 104H XL AO C B 70 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93W XL   E C 71 10.66kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   C B 71 10.85kgs
255/40 R19 100V XL   C B 71 11.46kgs
225/45 R19 96V XL   C B 70 11.50kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL   B A 70 10.24kgs
255/45 R19 104V XL   C C 70 11.88kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL   B B 69 13.90kgs
155/70 R19 84T XL   C B 69 7.63kgs
245/35 R20 95V XL NA0 E B 71 14.00kgs
255/40 R20 101V XL   C B 71 12.04kgs
265/40 R20 104V XL AO E B 72 14.10kgs
285/40 R20 108V XL NF0 C C 74 14.30kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C C 71 11.20kgs
245/45 R20 103V XL   C B 72 6.00kgs
245/45 R20 103V XL NF0 C C 71 12.95kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL   C B 70 14.85kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL   C B 70 14.84kgs
265/45 R20 108V XL   B B 71 13.61kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C B 68 10.63kgs
305/30 R21 104V XL NA0 E C 72 16.00kgs
295/35 R21 107V XL   C B 72 15.30kgs
275/40 R21 107V XL   C B 72 14.70kgs
275/40 R22 107V XL   B C 71 16.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1

2019-01-08 - Are winter tyres worth fitting to a mx5 in the UK during the winter period? My local tyre centre recommended Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance as they couldn't source Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1.

If you want to be safe and mobile in freezing, snow and ic conditions then yes. We've plenty of videos regarding winter tyres, check them out!


2019-09-19 - I need to replace 2 Continentals Cross Contact ( rear ) with new ones on my 4x4 (265/50/r20 ) Would you think these are ok. On the front I have Yokohama Advan sport V105. I do realise summer/winter mix. If not what do you think would be ok. I've been searching through so many

I really can't recommend switching just two tyres to winter, we have videos on this subject on the youtube channel.


2020-11-07 - Hi i live in the UK in rural Wiltshire and am looking for a tyre that will work all year round. The weather and road conditions can range from flooding lots of mud to freezing conditions. At the moment i have being using Avon ZV7 205/55 R16 W (91) which have been great but not so good in the snow. Would this tyre be a good choice?

This is a winter tyre. If you're looking for year round use, the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 3 would be a better purchase.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £70.00 - £78.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £98.79 - £138.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £157.29 - £162.70 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Running 215 width tyres on 16" rims.

Dry grip good but lacks a bit of feedback. Wet grip superb. Got my first go on snow with them this morning with 3 inches of wet snow on the ground and they shone. On slush it's like the slush isn't there. On snow there's a bit of wheelspin unless you are gentle with the clutch (mine is an auto so it's a bit tricky persuading the car to be gentle!). However it's the stopping power of these tyres on the snow I was very impressed with. Yes they slide (but not very much!) if you jam the brake pedal to the floor but braking normally with a bit of caution it's not far off driving on a snow free road. Going round corners and up hills the car felt planted to the road and any sideways wiggle was easily corrected. I've got a heavy diesel engine up front helping with traction too.

They are very soft sidewalls and were a bit squishy at first but an extra 3 psi above normal and the handling was improved.

They run quietly and and are very comfortable too. Would definitely recommend.
53 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Audi A6 (225/50 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I have used these tyres for two winters in the harsh climate of the Bulgarian severe snowy and icy winter with temperatures between -25 and +10-15 degrees and have very elaborate observations.
So, the tyre is perfect on wet and frozen roads below 0 degrees. Actually it slides and drifts on deep snow when it cannot touch the asphat intil the cuts become filled with snow. After that the grip is perfect.
It slides on ice but hardly is there a tyre that does not slide on smooth ice at all. Anyway the grip even on smooth ice is satisfactory.
On light and wet snow it is perfect and the grip is even better than on dry road. You feel as if you are driving in a summer day with perfect tyres. No difference. You forget that it is winter and the conditions outside are harsh and you just wonder why your colleageus drivers are drifting around you with their tyres and it is more difficult to avoid driftings cars than gripping the road.
There is one disdvantage of these tyres - they ARE NOT good for warmer temperatures. As soon as the temperatures go over around 10 degress the tyres become so soft that you are virtually glued to the road. The car starts torturing itself. The acceleration falls sharply and the car becomes slow and lazy although my car i 245 hp and 480 NM torque. The grip is so strong that you feel as if the car loses at least 30% of its power and acceleration only because of the grip of the tyres. These tyres are incredible for super low temperatures but bad for warmer ones. My advice is to swap them some time between middle of March and the beginning of April for the moderate climate zone.
23 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2018   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Cmax (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Superb tyres, one of the best you could ever fit to your motor, nothing I've tried before comes near to these for grip and quality and believe me I've tried several makes over my years of driving. Fit these with confidence and make sure you never become stuck in the winter months :)
20 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2016   
Have you driven on the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 >

Latest Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350 (255/55 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 39,000 average miles
Used for 3 winter seasons totalling 39000 miles. Really happy with wear. Slightly noisy compared to previous winter tyres but performed well overall
1 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a BMW 130i M (225/40 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 14,000 spirited miles
This will be my 4th winter on the Ultragrip Performance Gen 1.
Ran them on a BMW 130i and now an M135i, initially 225/40/18 all round, last year I changed the rears to 235/40/18.
Overall very happy with the tyres, excellent in the cold & damp/wet UK winter and very good in the limited use they've had in snow. Perfectly acceptable when dry although like all winter tyres they do feel a little vague compared to a decent summer tyre. Not often mentioned in reviews but they are also very good on the muddy rural roads around here.
Approx 12k miles from the rears which were changed at 4mm tread depth, the fronts will see me through this winter for a total of approx. 16k miles.
Would buy again but most likely opt for the newer Goodyear Ultragrip Performance + when the fronts need changing for next winter.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 99% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 cdi (225/45 R17 H) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Too early to rate it, but my first impression is - great tire!!!
4 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
It is the 3rd winter I am using these and I can definitely say I love these tyres .
Maneuverability is very good even at high speed and the car feels very stable on the road.
Drove on 8 inch snow covered road during winter and never got stuck with these
Only minus is I find them a bit noisy at high speed on dry road.
11 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
215 45 ZR17 Pirelli Pzero Nero
bought used, but wonderful on sporty road and for safety (everyday use)
more comfort then 16" Dunlop and with less road feedback (but it is however enoughy)
4 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a BMW 120d (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Best sporty winter tyre in "regular car" tyre sizes.

Performs well all round, and allows for sporty driving by having good progressive slip near the limit. Be sensible on the public road, but know that this tyre will not pull any surprises.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Love this winter tyre for the UK.
Disappointed in its dry breaking as it let go a couple of times when I wouldn't of expected it too.
I marked feedback low just because I have an Audi A5 and feedback is numb on anything.
Tyre very noisy but I have never used other winter tyres.
Snow & Ice handled excellently but then I'm using winter tyres on a AWD Audi when I'm used to all season tyres on a BMW.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2019   
Given 82% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports (215/55 R16) on for 10,700 miles
Very good winter ture, if you drive in different conditions. Easy to controll case good feedback for a winter tyre.
When temprature outside more than 7°c to soft. And below ÷15°c a nodic tyre is better. Will highly recommend if you know how to drive on winter roads. Turning off ESP and so on
3 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Tyre with excellent performances.
Will definetly buy them again.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Never felt so confident with a tyre as with these, I've been running winter tyres for nearly 10 years now and that's in cold wet and heavy snowed alpine roads. Slightly high rolling resistance, you can really feel it, but tyre that feels like it's sticking to the road is exactly what you want in a winter tyre no? Wear, well I've just put them back on for a 2nd winter season and it doesn't look like they've lost any tread yet, still feel like they did when I first put them on.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Running these for 2 winter seasons and they are more comfortable than my factory fitted EfficientGrip run flats. I notice no increased fuel consumption and the few times I was on snow they felt fine. Interestingly I drove them in semi-hot environments and they behaved perfectly for a bit of spirited driving. In general I love them as the car does not really feel that much different during the winter season. In my opinion a good "sporty" winter tyre that takes care of all weather conditions.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2018   
Given 96% while driving a SEAT Leon FR Plus (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,650 average miles

Quiet, excellent performance on any type of coating and in all weather conditions.
I did not expect such a balance of performance from winter tires. Impressed.
I recommend to buy.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2018