SEAT Leon FR Plus Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the SEAT Leon FR Plus.

Do you Drive a SEAT Leon FR Plus? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Leon FR Plus better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (285) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (174) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (55) 89% 80% 85% 82% 63% 72%
Toyo T1R (286) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Linglong Green Max (36) 78% 70% 65% 69% 66% 72%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (57) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli P Zero (155) 84% 69% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (137) 77% 68% 63% 60% 70% 71%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%

SEAT Leon FR Plus Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tires are fantastic! The grip is really high either on dry road or on wet or slimy road. They go very fast in temperature and maintain it without ever losing performance. These tires are silent, with low rolling resistance. I also noticed a slight drop in fuel consumption...very good!
They also have the rim protection.
The guide is really accurate and sporty. It is really a pleasure to drive with these tires, which have an exceptional driveability and stability.
You really feel confident driving at high speeds, especially in mixed roads full of curves. Once you have learned the limit (high) of these tires, you can have a lot of fun and in total safety.
Traction control rarely intervenes compared to all other tyres I have used. Really fabulous tires!
My experience is compared with several other summer sports tyres that I have used: Bridgestone Potenza RE050A, Bridgestone Potenza S001, Continental Sport Contact 5 (the worst in all!), Yokohama Advan Sport V105s, Dunlop Sportmaxx RT, Michelin Pilot Sport 3.

For me this Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) are the best tyre I’ve tried; second place the Bridgestone Potenza S001.
I still can't talk about mileage, but they should last longer than everyone else. This is my feeling that I will check in future.
Life of Potenza S001 and the old RE050A, about 30.000 Km (with spirited driving). All other tires last a lot less. The worst in terms of durability are the Yokohama Advan Sport V105s (about 12.000 Km) and Dunlop Sportmaxx RT (about 15.000 Km).

For me this P Zero PZ4 is the best!
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-06 03:43:18
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-02 15:43:10
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5650 average miles

Quiet, excellent performance on any type of coating and in all weather conditions.
I did not expect such a balance of performance from winter tires. Impressed.
I recommend to buy.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-01 21:38:39
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 44% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Had these already fitted onto my Leon FR! Never again. Can not work out why people think these should go on anything more powerful than a shopping trolley. Wet grip=lethal, dry= bumb clenching. Possibly one of the worst tyres I have ever had on a car. A week after buying the car with these on had Pirelli nero's fitted. Avoid unless you like death.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-27 11:27:47
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Got a great deal on a full set of these tyres after the factory fit Conti contact 5's had done there best. So far i'm very happy with them,not as quiet as the contact 5's but not bad enough to give them a lower score,Dry roads are a breeze but i have noticed they can get a wee twitchy on damp to wet Scottish Highland roads,but there again i'm not hanging around and giving the car some Timpson,,But ,, I'm very happy with them and they are wearing better than the Contact 5's the car came with when new.I will more than likely have these fitted again as ive had no underware changing moments with them like with the Conti's
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-31 18:48:40
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Got these on a leon fr 170hp tdi.Done 10k and still loads of grip on the front 6mm.These tyres turn in well and grip in the wet and the dry, bit of a strange fish in the damp though ,have lost traction a couple of times;could be down to grease n oil on the road/roundabout! Bought mine from camskill and saved £40 and that's delivered to house.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-02 11:21:17
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 89% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-28 01:27:38
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 78% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
Bought these to replace my ps3s, which were amazing in wet and dry conditions, however budget constraints meant had to replace with something cheaper. Initially for the first 500 miles or so they were awful, then after dropping my tyre pressure and they had worn in, they have started to perform well, pretty grippy in wet and dry conditions, can confidently hit bends at similar speeds with ps3s on, will probably try something else but for the money well worth it, far better than other budget brands hands down! Give them a try if you're on a budget, you don't b disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-29 00:45:24
Writing about the Linglong Green Max given 46% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2600 easy going miles
Just awful, cant wait to get rid of them. Very poor grip when cold. I daren't push them in the wet. Came on the car when bought from a franchise garage. I think the the term is ditch finders, they may ok during warmer months but in the col don't bother.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-06 07:41:15
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 70% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
They were my Leon´s FR OEM tyres. They hay good wear for HP tyres, they have good grip in DRY, but in the WET is a different story, they have average grip in wet. They have good feedback, and they are excellent for high speeds in the DRY. I´ll give the tyres a grade of 8 out of ten. I will change tyres soon, I will try this time the Pirelli P7 cinturatto or the Hankook Ventus V12. Any comment?
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-19 19:10:58
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 81% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I had these tyres for after the Bridgestone RE050A's that came with the car from new. When flooring it in second, I used to get tons of wheel judder and wheelspin with the RE050As so when I had these EfficientGrips put on the car, I was amazed at the traction. I could floor it and traction control wouldn't even cut in (on dry days).

I do agree that the tyres have very soft sidewalls - I had to have both tyres replaced at 7000 miles due to damage from pot holes in the road causing bubbles at the sides of the tyre. The plus side of that is that the tyres aren't very noisy (in my opinion) and the ride was a bit more comfortable from my stiff suspension!

Other than that, they are brilliant. Can't fault the grip in the dry at all, and in the wet they are reasonably good too. I have now got Pirelli P Zero Rosso tyres on my driven wheels, and they are not quite as good grip-wise as these were (only had the Pirellis for a few hundred miles though).

Have to say I concur with the people who are amazed at the negative reviews... I don't get it! These tyres were great... I definitely recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-11 00:23:02
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The honest truth about these tyres are there good in hot weather but usless in wet or snow weather. There something i wouldnt pay for if they wasnt fitted to the car from the factory good tyres but just not any good in britain with our weather.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-03 19:20:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre