Barum Bravuris 5HM

The Barum Bravuris 5HM is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 167,320 miles driven, and 10 tests with an average result of 23rd.

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 66%
Handling 74%
Wear 63%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 60%

First On MarketOctober 2018
Wheel Size14 - 21"
Width155 - 295mm
Profile30 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)70 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Bravuris 5HM is ranked 94th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Barum Bravuris 3HM.

Tests Included

10

Best Result

6th

Worst Result

44th

Average Result

23rd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test
13th of 18 tyres
  • None mentioned.
  • Weakness on dry and wet roads.
  • The Barum Bravuris 5HM shows slight weaknesses on both dry and wet roads and does not get more than a satisfactory rating in these criteria. Therefore, the tire is classified as recommendable in the sum of its properties. However, its wear behavior is clearly rated as good.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65 R 14 82 HCB70
185/70 R 14 88 TCB70
185/60 R 14 82 HCB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLCB71
175/65 R 14 82 TCB70
185/70 R 14 88 HCB70
165/70 R 14 85 T XLCB71
165/70 R 14 81 TCB70
15 inch
195/65 R 15 95 T XLCB72
185/65 R 15 88 TCB70
185/65 R 15 88 HCB70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLCB71
195/55 R 15 85 VCB71
195/65 R 15 91 HCB71
195/65 R 15 91 TCB71
195/65 R 15 95 H XLCB72
195/65 R 15 91 VCB71
16 inch
205/60 R 16 92 VCB71
215/60 R 16 99 V XLCB72
215/60 R 16 99 H XLCB72
215/70 R 16 100 HCB71
205/55 R 16 91 VCB71
205/60 R 16 96 W XLCB72
205/60 R 16 92 HCB71
205/55 R 16 94 V XLCB72
205/55 R 16 91 WDB71
205/55 R 16 91 HCB71
17 inch
205/50 R 17 93 V XLCB72
205/50 R 17 89 VCB71
215/55 R 17 94 YCB71
225/60 R 17 99 VCB71
215/55 R 17 94 WCB71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLCB72
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLCB72
225/45 R 17 94 Y XLCB72
225/45 R 17 91 YDB71
215/55 R 17 94 VCB71
205/50 R 17 93 Y XLCB72
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB72
215/45 R 17 91 Y XLCB72
18 inch
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLDB72
235/60 R 18 103 VCB71
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLCB72
235/60 R 18 107 W XLCB72
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLCB72
255/35 R 18 94 Y XLCB73
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLDB72
20 inch
245/35 R 20 95 Y XLCB72
255/45 R 20 105 Y XLCB73
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Barum Bravuris 5HM >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Barum Bravuris 5HM. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Barum Bravuris 5HM Reviews

Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Touran 2.0 TDI 170HP DSG (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 100 average miles
I recently bought a pair of 4 pcs of bravuris 5hm 225/45/17/Y/XL ,tires are ok the balancing on rim - no problem , I will come back after I make at least 3000km with them.
Helpful 381 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2019
Given 94% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (225/45 R16) on mostly town for 1,200 average miles
Had them fitted on my Corsa excellent all round tyre for normal driving conditions. I have tyre learning app on my car But overall a good tyre buy.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Have these tyres on Toyota Avensis for the first summer season, before I had Michelin Primacy 3 as original part from Toyota. These Barums are comparable, dry grip is absolutely OK for normal driving, wet is OK to. Tyres are very comfortable and silent compare to the old Michelins or used Nokian WR D4, which I'm using for winter.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2023
Have you driven on the Barum Bravuris 5HM tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Barum Bravuris 5HM? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Barum Bravuris 5HM >

Latest Barum Bravuris 5HM Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Very good tire.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2024
Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (245/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,500 average miles
I have Barum Bravuris 5hm 245/45/17 on a Mercedes Benz E class, at first they seemed ok,after 10.000 km the noise is unbeliveble, I can not stay in the car any more with these tires, it's like an air plane taking off... At first I thought I had a damaged bearing on the front axle,I can feel the vabrions in the steering wheel and on the pedals, even on the floor of the car, I checked ..they were ok, I went to check the aligment ..it was ok, everithing was green on the screen... When temperature outside is above 33 degrees the noise dissapears almost 80%. When temperature outside is between 15-25 degrees it's the worst, the vibration starts once I get to 40km/h, it sounds like a really damaged bearing.. and I have all 4 tires Barum Bravuris
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 72% while driving a Citroën C Elysee (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Considerably softer rubber than average. I drive a car with possibly the worst sound insulation of the 202th decade but these tyres make it tolerable. Slightly lacking firmness as weather gets hotter: road feedback is squishy/late but holds on after weight balance is maintained. Not unsafe but definitely not suitable for harsh maneuvers. Slippage is controllable and progressive.

I used the same tyres with lower sides on a different car for 200kms. Firmness is greatly improved.

Braking stability is acceptable on a B-sedan with drums on rear wheels. Keeps the line when hard braking from 150kph.

I would expect slight increase in consumption. Cant measure though. First set of tyres on this car, cant compare.

Would buy again as a budget product.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2023
Given 34% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 2.0 tdi 103kw 4motion (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
Bought the tires since the wheels I bought had Barum Bravuris 3HM on them and these tires had surprising amount of grip. The 5HM were on sale for 75€/piece.
Overall first impression is not good. Coming from Hankook Ventus Prime 3, these tires lack latitudinal and longitudinal grip and tend to understeer when cornering harder. The steering has a delay in it even though the sidewalls, having 95 weight index, are rather stiff. But the tires are noticeably cheaper than Hankook tires so let's not draw conclusions yet.
But it keeps getting worse.
As the Hankook tires wore down to 4.5mm in just 15000 km thanks to a whole summer full of spirited driving on Estonian country roads, I decided to try to drive "normally" with the Barum tires. At the end of the season, after about 10 000 km of average commuting, these tires had 5mm of thread left.
At the middle of the next summer, one of the tires developed a hump, even though no potholes were ever hit with these tires.

If it isn't obvious by now, I'll never buy non-premium tires again. I'd rather drive on used premium tires than new cheap tires.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2023
Given 62% while driving a Mazda 3 SkyactiV (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These were mounted on my 2016 Mazda 3 when I recently bought it used. Tyres were brand new. Have driven approx 1000km so far, so these are initial impressions. Fine value tyre for commuting. Soft sidewalls, so comfort is good. Fuel economy also seems to be good. Steering response and handling not so sharp, but ok. They're not sporty tyres. Noise level seems acceptable on all but the roughest asphalt. Grip in wet and dry seems acceptable. The one time the car did start to slide in the wet, it was progressive and predictable. Too early to comment on wear
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2023
Given 57% while driving a BMW 525i (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,500 average miles
I have had these on two separate cars (2008 Audi A4 and E34 BMW 525i) and on both cars I had a tire blow on me while on the highway. I originally bought them because they weren't the cheapest or most expensive so I figured they would be decent but I would never purchase these again. They also seem to lose air easily. I parked my Audi for a few weeks and the tires are all completely flat and the tire pressure doesn't hold great on my BMW either. I would definitely go buy new tires if I hadn't purchased these less than 10k miles ago. I don't recommend these to anyone.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Volvo S60 R AWD (/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
pros: -price is very low for a more all season performance tire. -firm steering feel. -great straight line grip. - good wear characteristics. - fair noise levels. - does not make a lot of noise when pushed to its limits or when slipping. note awd vehicle. cons: - likes to understeer when pushed. - low cold weather grip. - very low snow and ice grip. - very firm ride does not absorb bumps well. solid performer for the price. tire are not very good at the limit. s60r have a lot of understeer naturally. these tires tire do not grip very well for a vehicle that likes to understeer. ride is firm and sporty. noise is acceptable.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Infiniti Q50 (/40 R18) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
I've purchased 3 complete sets of these for 3 very different cars: Subaru Legacy 3.6, Infiniti Q50, & Lexus SC430. Combining the overall experience, I'm very pleased with these tires. Cost is very good yet the tire competes with much more expensive products. Road noise is low. Grip (Infiniti) was great in snow. Rain (Subaru) was equally good. Mountain roads (Lexus) were surprisingly good, especially considering the weight of the SC430. I'm almost in need of tires for my 335i & am seriously considering putting these on instead of the more expensive performance tires that are on it now. I recommend these tires. A daily commute car or weekend leisure vehicle will do well.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Kia Motors Niro (/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 300 miles
I just had these Barum Bravuris 5HM tires put on my vehicle, and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised with my initial impression of them. I haven't yet driven them in the rain, but the dry grip is great, the ride is smooth even on bumpy roads, and they are quiet at hwy speeds. They are responsive in city and hwy traffic both, and they have a nice smooth ride quality.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2022
Ford Kuga (/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 400 easy going miles
First impressions of this tire is that the rubber seams to be quite soft, softer than normal for a summer tire. Car seams to move around on the road more than normal also. Only done 400 miles so far so to early to give any rates. Seam to be comfortable and quiet at 70 mph.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2021
Given 57% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I have these tires on the front. I got the tires in march of 2021 and it is now 6 months and 15,000 miles later they are in need of replacement. most of my driving is done city or highway driving 50 miles a day at the bare minimum. They are pretty good on dry road but when it comes to wet road the tires don't like it. and braking in the rain? for me at least is a no go because i have no abs.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2021
Toyota (/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Surprised how noisy on some surfaces, very comfortable overall. Lack of feedback at limit is more the car than the tire. Wet traction is not great, wet bracking seems find. For the price hard too beat.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2021