Firestone TZ300

The Firestone TZ300 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Firestone TZ200 and this tyre has been replaced by the Firestone TZ300A.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 63%
Wear 68%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 70%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 214,929 miles driven.

The TZ300 is ranked 89th of 187 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 19th of 54 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 195/65 R15 - 9th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the dry.
  • Negative - Slight weakness in the wet.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/60 R15 81V   F B 70 6.75kgs
185/65 R15 88V   E B 70 7.23kgs

Questions and Answers for the Firestone TZ300

2016-10-20 - In the tire reviews is it better to have a wear value higher or lower? The wear percentage value means the tire will wear faster as long as the value is higher?

The lower the value, the worst the wear. 1% would be the worst experience with wear, 100% would be excellent wear.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Firestone TZ300 Reviews

Given 61% while driving a Opel insignia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
Have it on Opel Insignia. Good tyre in a dry condition but in wet and rain is really bad. Braking catastrofic, be very carefull. A little bit noisy but confortable. M.
16 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2014   
Given 59% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
not sure what most of the categories mean when trying to mark the tyres but just want to add my feelings regarding wear .... mine have lasted only 16,000 and im no Nigel Mansel !

Just wondered if I should have gone back to Firestone and report this meager mileage ?
3 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2012   
Given 63% while driving a Hyundai Coupe 2.0L (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Just replaced my old Michelin tyres for these on my Hyundai Coupe. The tyres or good, not brilliant but just good. I find cornering is ok, although when pushed they can be slightly unpredictable when compared to my last tyres. There was a big noticeable difference here. My main criticism is straight line speed where they become quite didgety and to be honest quite scary. Steering goes very light over 85mph, and this is not down to my suspension set up as the previous tyres didn't do this. Overall a comfort tyre rather than a sport tyre but thats what they are being marketed as. I might change them over next year back to Micheline or Vredestein tyres if i keep the car.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2013   
Have you driven on the Firestone TZ300 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone TZ300? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone TZ300 >

Latest Firestone TZ300 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very good overall tyre, Very good dry grip as well as in the wet, only loses grip in the wet when really pushed.

Not bad for road feedback but in my opinion not as good as previous Kuhmos

Wear is good though, done 10k on them so far and only about half worn
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Marks given are relative to the OE Dunlop tyres that have been on the car since new. I was never really comfortable with the OE Dunlop 2000's but I migrated to the Dunlop 200's to keep consistency with a view to exchanging after 3 years. As it turned out, we kept the car so when the time came I looked for something better. I used this site to cross reference good reviews vs what the local garages were stocking and I picked the Firestones. Well, they are soooo much better. I live in Scotland so it is all twisty-turny A-Roads with the odd down-pour to deal with. Firestones ace the Dunlops in every respect. They make driving the car fun. And when my other mode of transport is a 1200cc motorbike, that's high praise indeed.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2011   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 56% while driving a Renault 19 (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
Good tyre in the dry and average in the wet.
In summer days when the tarmac is hot the tyres are very noisy and start to loose grip which leads to understeer in sharp corners or roundabouts.
The front ones are wearing even but a little faster than expected.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2011   
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 18,000 spirited miles
Alfa 156 2.4 20v. With it's very heavy engine (and my "keen" driving probably) it's incredibly hard on front tyres. T1Rs did about 12k, Sportrac 3 managed 10k (!). I tried the Firestones through needing something a bit longer lasting, expecting to have to compromise on grip. Nope!

Really really good tyres for the price. Quiet, good firm sidewalls so positive handling when pushing on, almost as good in the wet as in the dry and have managed 18k on the fronts! The rears have loads in em yet.

I've just decided to put another pair on as I can't find anything to suggest another similar priced tyre would be any better.

One caveat - they're not that good in the snow due to the channelled tread design. There are no blocks to "bite in". The Toyo T1Rs I had were superb in snow, if not so hot the rest of the time....
0 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2011   
Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (185/65 R15 R) on a combination of roads for 129 average miles
2003 Astra fitted with Firehawk from new. I'm not a speed merchant but usually 80 + on good roads. Replaced front tyres at 45,000 with equivalent Firestone in 2006! Replaced all round at 87,317 miles with TZ300 88H in Feb 09! now replacing front again at 129,000! can anyone beat that? Poor road surfaces now make more road noise.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2011   
Given 70% while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good tyre to start with, have these fitted to my 1.7 Puma but they are not wearing well. Not even done 20,000 miles. Yes I dont hang around, I dont wheel spin though! Other tyres have lasted much longer. If you dont mind changing tryes sooner rather than later then for the price they arent a bad option.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2011   
Given 70% while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Driven 15k on these Firestones on my Toyota Avensis. Although it's not used up yet, the fronts are wearing a lot faster than I'd have expected at this point (yes tracking alignment has been checked, and wear is even). They do seem to behave very well at least.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2010   
Given 100% while driving a Opel Zafira TDCI (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
Amazing tyres for the price. I have used every brand of tyres, no one is so silent. Amazing in wet and dry roads. I advise to buy with no fears.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2010   
Given 30% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These have got to be the worst tyres I have ever had. The road noise is terrible. It sounds like there is a motorbike without a silencer sitting on my rear bumper. Had them 3 months and going back to Pirelli P7's.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2010   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Whilst not having a charismatic name these are an excellent mid range buy. Price good and good value for the money. Performance perfectly good for normal and spirited road use. Not tried on track so cannot speak for them there.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2010   
Given 86% while driving a Rover 214 Si (195/50 R15) on mostly motorways for 800 average miles
Brilliant tyres.

Installed a full set of 4 tyres the morning before a trip down to Newquay, Cornwall (250ish miles from Birmingham).

I'll be breif: Extremely quite. Extremely 'sticky' (good grip). After 800 miles (after getting home) they barely look used.

They do seem to help eat up the petrol though.

Would definately recommend.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2010   
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
These have been rubbish on our Golf, put a new one on the rear after a flat, the other tyres same make TZ200, have done 8K on top of the TZ300 and its BALD...crap tyre, will not recommend or buy again less than 10K on school runs, wife only does 8K a year mileage...rears going bald before the fronts - totally un heard of.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2010