Firestone TZ300A

The Firestone TZ300A is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Firestone TZ300.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 78%
Wear 78%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 77%

Tyre review data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 315,000 miles driven.

The TZ300A is ranked 57th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Market Overview - Braking Test - 25th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 185/60R14 - 7th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Especially good on dry roads
  • Negative - Compared to the best, a bit weaker in the wet
View Full Test >>

2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Low grip on wet surfaces. Long braking distance on dry surfaces.
  • Overall - In the wet the Firestone TZ300 alpha is too slow stopping the car but in general behave confidently and logically - until they reach the limit of adhesion, when they immediately lose grip. Good resistance to aquaplaning. In the dry they are too slow to react to the steering, and braking distance proved to be the longest in the test. Fairly quiet, but fuel economy is only average.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Firestone TZ300A

Questions and Answers for the Firestone TZ300A

2016-04-13 - Can you please advise me what is the letter d at the end of TZ300d tyre.

Two options. The first and most likely is that some tyre companies are using the D character instead of the alpha a on their online listing, and it is in fact the TZ300A. The second is that Firestone have released a new version called the TZ300 delta, but we've not been told about this.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


TZ300A Prices

Size Price Range  
195/60 R15 £50.16 - £50.16 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £100.40 - £100.40 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Firestone TZ300A Reviews

Given 30% while driving a Peugeot 206 2.0 hdi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL - bought these (recommended by Halfords !!!) - OK for a few hundred miles then drove like I had flat tyres, any movement on the sterring wheel had me slewing over the road, very noisy - like something rubbing.
First heavy rain - aquaplaning aaaaagh - nearly had to stop
Would never suggest these to anyone
46 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Fiat Panda (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Have Firestone tz300a all round on my 2013 panda multijet, I have found them very comfortable over all road surfaces, dry grip excellent, wet weather very good and handles the torque very well from the multijet diesel, have not reached their limit and would not try to, they have worn in well and after 12000 miles still seems to be plenty of wear in them, would certainly buy again.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2016   
Given 96% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Buy these tyres...I am somewhat lucky that the car I drive is a company car & I choose how it is looked after & can spend any amount within reason. I was advised by a chap at Citroen, if I did not want to replace with the original Michelin, then they would recommend these Firestones... Thank you kind chap at Citroen, these are very good. I drive all over the country in all seasons / weather & they have been amazing...I will not buy or recommend any other tyre than these...You will be happy.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2015   
Have you driven on the Firestone TZ300A tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone TZ300A? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone TZ300A >

Latest Firestone TZ300A Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Nissan Micra (175/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 35,000 spirited miles
Good for the the price.
Good on wet road (Continentals a bit better)
Good on dry also (Dunlop sp300 a bit better but worst on wear)

Wear is average and the tires tend to degrade before hitting the marks...although for the price vs performance it is a good buy
1 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2017   
Given 76% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
have had these on front of Citroen c4 grand picasso found them to be a very good replacement for my old Michelin
and a much cheaper alternative , they lasted 25000 miles so very good wear but could be a bit skittish on damp road when pulling off but that could be the weight of car ,although cornering even in wet was always positive and have been perfectly ok in snow, only downside has been road noise which was quite intrusive on certain types of tarmac.
economy wise i got 1 to 2 mpg less than the michelins over the life of the tyres its worth working out that especially over 25k
now replaced with avon Zv7 s which are incredibly quiet in comparison.
to sum up fire stones tz 300 s have very good wear ,handling good on people carrier but noise level poor.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 61% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Good tyres for quiet driving. Very comfortable. The problem: I can't "feel" the road as before (uniroyal rain expert).
0 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2015   
Given 70% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
Too soon to say!!!done only 2000 miles.300a on front. 700 on rear.i like firestone(made by Bridgestone).good all rounders.no probs as yet. I drive carefully in my ford focus estate. I will keep you advised.so far they run fine.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Renault (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 22,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres. Got 22000 from these and replaced with same. Would recommend .
0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo Alfa 156 2.0 TS Lusso (205/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Surprisingly good tyre. Very good in the wet or dry. Sharp handling and yet quite comfortable. Far better feedback and grip than previous Michelin Energy Saver. Fuel consumption of car marginally less good it seems, although this is difficult to calculate accurately. Great value.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2013   
Given 47% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 4,000 spirited miles
These tires ride well and I was enjoying the new tires for several hundred miles. They became extremely loud about a week after the purchase. I ensured the log nuts are tight and checked the air pressure. I can't seem to eliminate the very loud noise coming from these tires. I am deeply disappointed with my selection, but couldn't find any negative reviews about these tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a BMW 530d (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Having always gone for average brand tyres, I just so happened to come across these at quite a good price, and being Firestone I thought I would give them a go.
I was amazed at the amount of grip they had! As these were fitted to the front axle, it became apparent at how much extra grip these tyres had compared to the rear ones (when the rear decided to step out for the first time in the wet!)

You have to brake/corner very hard with these if you actually want them to lose grip. Dry or wet conditions these are very good, quiet with zero vibration and hard wearing.

Highly recommended if you can find them for less than £100 each!
0 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2013   
Given 76% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
looked at the internet for feedback and found these a good mid range tyre have had them on for 5000 miles in bad snow rain thats just the summer! have done well in all conditions
0 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2013   
Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 W202 (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Just a quick update. The Firestones have worn in very well and dealt much better than expected with all the snow and ice. The tyres have become quieter as they are wearing but im sure as they get older the noise will start up again. The traction control light does not come on when accelerating thankfully and the grip is still very good in both wet and dry. It seems the rear tyres are wearing faster than the fronts but as my car is RWD, this can happen so i'm not overly concerned. Overall im much happier now and would definately reccomend the Firestones, so much so that im fitting a set to the Mrs' car very soon.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 308 1.6 e HDI (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
A lot of reviewers are bashing these tyres for not performing on ice and snow while forgetting that it's a SUMMER TYRE. You're going to get a decrease in performance when temperatures drop. This review is for summer performance only.

I've been on a new set of 4 of these for 6 months now in a front heavy diesel that I like to throw about. Simply put I don't think you'll do too much better in terms of grip for my size of tyre on my type of car. I regularly drive quite fast on some tight twisty roads in my locality and these tyres hold on really well. The only problem is the lack of feedback afforded by the fat side walls (65) on the size of tyre I've got fitted. Under steer is more often indicated by the extra steering angle you will notice yourself having to apply rather than any sensation coming back through the wheel. Even past the limit they are quite predictable only requiring you to lift off or brake lightly to bring it back. I have never, not even once, felt that the rear was going to let go.

Diminished grip in the wet is hardly noticeable and I've ploughed through large bodies of standing water without aquaplaning. I haven't managed to get myself into trouble with this tyre in either the dry or the wet.

At the rate of wear I'm seeing I'd estimate (with proper tyre rotation) I'll get at least 20,000 miles out of this set which I think is great considering how hard I'm leaning on them.

They don't seem much quieter then the last tyres that were on the car but most road surfaces here, including motorways, are quite coarse so noise levels tend to depend more on the build of your car than your tyres. They don't drive me crazy with noise so I haven't been harsh with the score.

If I was buying the same size/class of tyres again I'd definitely consider these unless a better deal was available. I bought these tyres fitted and with the old ones recycled for 60 euros per wheel.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2012   
Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 W202 (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Replaced all four tyres as I knew the winter was fast upon us. Dry grip is excellent, great on the Motorways and A-roads. On B-roads i have found them to not respond as well as i would like. Its as if the are suprised by the bumps, this may be due to my soft suspension and its not a massive issue. Grip in the wet is not brilliant, its good but there have been times where the Traction Control light has flashed a couple of times under quite light acceleration. These are not snow or ice tyres, they cope but you have to take it easy as with most summer tyres. The big Merc sits superb on these, very comfortable tyres and suit the car well, they are a tad noisy though but not so that its overpowering. Overall i'm happy with the Firestones, a good balance between price and quality. Must admit that the Bridgestones they replaced were a better tyre all round but I would reccomend these to others, just after i reccomended the Bridgestones.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012