Firestone TZ200

The Firestone TZ200 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Firestone TZ100 and this tyre has been replaced by the Firestone TZ300.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 70%
Wear 75%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 555,558 miles driven.

The TZ200 is ranked 88th of 189 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Firestone TZ200
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Firestone TZ200
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Firestone TZ200. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Firestone TZ200 Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta (185/55 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very good dry grip, can feel the car starting to lose grip if going round a roundabout a bit on the keen side in the wet. Got 20k miles out of a front pair, worn down to 2.5mm before changing on my mk5 fiesta. Impressed with the Firestones, just replaced with TZ300a's.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2011   
Given 79% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
Much better than Michelin Energy XV1 put by factory.
Good grip in all weather conditions and driving situations (city, mountain road and highway).
Its side it's a bit soft so the steering is not so immediate, but 0.3 bars more can solve the problem (on my Corolla).
It's a bit noisy on highway, from 110 km/h, more or less.
Noticeable reduction of fuel consumption.
Overall, I am quite satisfied.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2016   
Have you driven on the Firestone TZ200 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone TZ200? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone TZ200 >

Latest Firestone TZ200 Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Peugeot 106 (195/45 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I can’t really comment fairly on how these compared to my last set of tyres as I also changed wheels at the same time, however I have to say they are pretty good for their reasonable price. My dad’s new Focus came with Contisportcontact 2 and I have to say, in terms of dry grip, there isn’t much in it, and considering the Firestones are around £20 a corner cheaper, that’s a good result. Furthermore, they seem to be wearing extremely well, so I’d imagine they’re a tyre that lasts a good amount of time. I also haven’t noticed much of an increase in noise as they wear which is a plus, considering I drive quite spiritedly. Although, my Peugeot 106 only weighs about as much as a small paper bag so that must also contribute to the good wear.

What I didn’t like was the lack of road feedback compared to other tyres and they also appear to have a fairly soft sidewall. However, they are quite predictable at the limit and give very progressive breakaway.

I don’t think I would buy these tyres again as you can get better road feedback and similar levels of grip for a similar amount of money with other brands, but I have to say these are not a bad purchase if you’re not bothered about the lack of feedback.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
They're already 7 years old, only some 50 000 kilometers with them and they're almos new. I don't own a very powerful car, but on the corners I have no stress even if they're on 15". Very good grip on the wet. The fuel consumption raised a bit from some 195 65 15 Winter Michelins.
Not very noisy, but the tyre finishing is not the very best though - lots of rubber residue.

Very happy with them, and if I wasn't looking for 17s, I would consider to buy those again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Subaru Legacy GT B twin turbo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I wasn't expecting amazing things with these tyres but they turned out to be surprisingly good. Fitted to my Twin-Turbo Subaru Legacy, I have never lost grip or traction even in extremely wet conditions. Not sure how much of this is down to the 4wd system and how much to the tyres but they felt no different from the Yokohamas I had previously which cost twice the price.

They haven't lasted more than 25000km's but the roads in NZ eat tyres, especially the unsealed mountain/rural roads
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2016   
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Had two new ones fitted to front had to replace them after 12000 miles.One made in Poland down to wear indicators .The Spanish made one still about 4mm of tread left.Wear pattern on both tyres similar.Rather strange??
0 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2012   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus C Max (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 22,000 easy going miles
Not a good tyre especially towards the end of its life on the front of a 1.8 Ford C Max. The tyres became unpredictable and jittery at all speed ranges to the point of becoming scary and I don't drive hard. The tyres gave 22000 miles mainly urban and I kept them to about 3 mil. I am so glad to see the back of them and hope the replacements will give a more relaxed and secure driving experience. I would never drive on a TZ200 again by choice.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2011   
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Nova (185/55 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very good dry grip replaced a set of Yoko's with these as they were cheap, very surprised at the dry weather grip. Would buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2011   
Given 81% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Reasonable grip in the dry, average on cold wet roads, but excellent wear. Got about 24,000 miles out af a front set.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2011   
Given 39% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Noisy - thought wheel bearings getting worn & had garage check but bearings fine - realised was tires (were still legal with probably a year or so left in the tread)- replaced with continental prem contact 2- what a difference! Wont buy firestones again. Are also bit slippy at slow 30mph or less speeds on cobbled streets in town esp on corners. Grip not great.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2011   
Given 63% while driving a Alfa Romeo 155 (205/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Decent but unexceptional mid-range tyres. Dry grip and feel are fine. Fairly poor in the wet - they break traction easily on damp roads, but are resistant to aquaplaning at least. They last pretty well - in 10,000 miles they went from about 6mm to 3mm tread.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2010   
Given 24% while driving a Lexus LS400 (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Wondered what the noise was as I left the fitting station - on a Lexus LS400? Figured they would bed down as the mould spikes wore off. No chance - a motorway drive of 500 miles nearly drove me insane with a constant humming noise regardless of surface. Nearly drove my local garage crazy looking for bearings, final drive wear etc etc in an attempt to find the noise. Finally realised that it must be the tyres and asked the supplier to change them. After some haggling they agreed and fitted cheaper Avons on. Immediately silent. I have probably used thousands of tyres on the road and in racing various bikes and cars over the years and have never come across something quite so weird. Would never fit them again and it would seem either the compound is too hard for our surfaces here in the UK or they set up some strange vibration on heavy (notably silent) cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2010   
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 90hp (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have had the rear set for over 4 years and they are showing no signs of cracking like some tyres I've had, changed the front set just before 4 years, probably could have given them a bit longer to be honest. I do a lot of motorway driving and had no issues, can be a bit 'hit and miss' in the wet, but depends if you know how to drive!
I used these of the track as well and have not 'spun out', they gripped extremely well, just my suspension let me down, but no the tyres. Thats 5 laps at Rockingham and 6 runs up Prescott Hillclimb.

Overall I rate them, but like I said it depends how you drive and I drive hard!
0 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2010   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra V6 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Very good tyres for the price. I would recommend these, they are approved by Vauxhall dealers. I just wish they make these in 19 inch so I can use them my other car...

0 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2010