Lexus LS400 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Lexus LS400.

Do you Drive a Lexus LS400? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a LS400 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (14) 99% 81% 84% 92% 52% 41%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Dunlop Direzza ZIII (2) 85% 75% 80% 85% 90% 60%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%

Lexus LS400 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 65% (-40-17-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
We race these in Lemons (running 245 in front on 8" wheels and 255 in the back on 9"). They BARELY lasted one event. and were only marginally quicker than our baseline Dunlop ZIII which gripped nearly as well, lasted twice as long and are more precise at the limit. Despite all the media hype, I found these to have a very "mushy" feel at the limit (no doubt due to the very soft compound), and while great for the novice I found them to be too imprecise. I'd much prefer a peakier and more accurate tire. Gets a big "meh" from me and kinda reminds me of the the handling of the ultra lightweight Hoosier bias ply tires I ran in SCCA road racing decades ago.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-17 17:30:46
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza ZIII given 80% (-40-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
These are our "baseline" tires for our 24hrs of Lemons Lexus LS400 (we run 255 in the back). They wear great, are predictable and super easy to drive on, while not being the fastest unfortunately as we are otherwise very happy with them. Good for about 1000 race miles on our car, though we put new ones on each event.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-17 17:23:36
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 90% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I use these as the front Tyre on my 1998 Lexus LS400, they're a tad narrower than standard (215 vs 225) so steering is lighter and turn in better but grip hasn't been diminished and they're great in the wet too, better than Continental Premium Contact 2's anyway. Wear isn't as good as the Continentals or the Goodyear Eagle F1's I have on the back but I'll trade a certain amount of wear for grip any day, after all tyres are what keep you on the road.

Front BluResponse = 215/60/R16 99V
Rear Eagle F1 = 225/55/R16 99W
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-08 12:15:59
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 54% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
The V12evo is quiet performer (low interior noise), but not a soft one: You'll feel the scars on the blacktop. I am not the kind of driver to deliver a proper judgement on how sporty a tire is (at least not with a Lexus LS dinosaur). If I say the V12evo is not responsive, it might as well be the car.
The rubber wears down pretty fast, even for someone going leisurely.
And then the eternal Hankook problem: The tires rumble after a short (or long) rest, and get quiet only after some miles of driving. Obviously the spot the car's weight rests on develop a kind of flatness.

In my view it's a mediorcre product at an adequate price. If someone could convince me a Dunlop, Conti or Michelin last longer (for what they cost more) and are more comfortable, I would drop the Hankooks. Otherwise I'll rebuy them.
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-13 14:50:43
Writing about the Falken ZE512 given 46% (225-60-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
I purchased a set of 4 of these tyres as Yokohama UK couldn't get stock of the usual and excellent AVS dB550 I use, and I needed to get my car through its MOT. I wanted to stick to Japanese tyres with a symmetrical pattern, as assymetric patterns don't suit the LS400. (I speak from experience; a few years ago I had bought a set of P7s but they were so unbearably noisy, albeit grippy, that I had to change them within 2,000 miles). The Falken 512s give a quiet and smooth ride on straight motorways. But they are poor round corners, and on wet roads I am so glad my car has traction control as the grip accelerating from rest on wet roads is poor. They are also wearing out quickly, which is not necessarily a bad thing as this means I can soon switch to some better tyres! I love the engineering on Japanese-made products, but am very disappointed with Falken 512 tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-12 13:13:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre